Skip to content

Forget What You Know About Good Study Habits!

September 7, 2010

This is an article from the New York Times highlighting recent research that conflicts with the established view that finding a regular study space that you stick too is the best way to go about studying. I can kind of agree with it. When I was a student I always found a change of scene beneficial to progress and I was able to concentrate more. But not all the time. I often found that when I moved around a bit I usually regreted not having resources that I would usually have with me if I were in my regular location.

Forget What You Know About Good Study Habits

By BENEDICT CAREY
September 6, 2010

A familiar posture for many students!

Every September, millions of parents try a kind of psychological witchcraft, to transform their summer-glazed campers into fall students, their video-bugs into bookworms. Advice is cheap and all too familiar: Clear a quiet work space. Stick to a homework schedule. Set goals. Set boundaries. Do not bribe (except in emergencies).

And check out the classroom. Does Junior’s learning style match the new teacher’s approach? Or the school’s philosophy? Maybe the child isn’t “a good fit” for the school.

Such theories have developed in part because of sketchy education research that doesn’t offer clear guidance. Student traits and teaching styles surely interact; so do personalities and at-home rules. The trouble is, no one can predict how.

Continue reading at nytimes.com →

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

