Skip to content

I don’t hate Macs…

March 2, 2011

I don’t hate Macs, but they do give me a syncing feeling

They make you feel good, Apple products – until you try to do something they don’t want you to do.

 

In 2007, I wrote a column entitled “I hate Macs”. I call it a column. It was actually an unbroken 900-word anti-Apple screed. Macs, I claimed, were “glorified Fisher-Price activity centres for adults; computers for scaredy-cats too nervous to learn how proper computers work.”

From The Guardian’s Comment is free section

 

Continue reading at guardian.co.uk »—›

 

– Well, what do you think? Do you have an iphone or mac comptuer? Is there anything that frustrates you or do you think this journalist is crying over nothing?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanne permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:54 pm

    This was what I was always thinking..Apple’s ‘closed(?) behavior’ is the only reason I do not have an Apple product. The factors writer not satisfied about Apple are exactly the same ones I don’t satisfy with. Yet, the number of people who admire Apple is keep increasing and I can see iPhone or iPad everywhere. Apple is trying hard to get more customers, and nowI think I am going to be one as well. The new iPad2 is keep attracting me…

    • March 8, 2011 10:42 pm

      Exactly! And once you’re in you’re hooked – Right now I need a new computer and I’m thinking should I buy a normal one or should I buy a mac and be superman (or at least feel like it?) What is it with that company and people’s egos?

  2. Sunny permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:44 pm

    I agree with the writer’s thinking. Actually I am an user of iphone and like it. But as korean I feel uneasy over Apple’s policy which doesn’t care korean users ranked 2nd in the entire iphone users of the world. I can’t understand why I have to pay application of iphone in dollar unlike other countries (Japan, China, and etc…) in addition, it is hard to be used to doing work with itunes required by the Apple. this is because itunes is different with other many programs on computers in Korea. well, in spite of these things I love Apple products, which is so irony 😉 this is as same as I don’t like parents but their children

    • March 9, 2011 12:15 am

      What do you mean “I don’t like parents but their children”?

      • Sunny permalink
        March 9, 2011 8:01 am

        The Apple company, which makes products, is like a kind of parents.

  3. Olivia permalink
    March 12, 2011 12:33 am

    Most of the young people using I phone everyday, everytime. They use it during in the bus, during the class even if during the date. And they talk each other by their smart phone. They world become similar to the movie ‘Surrogate’.

    • March 12, 2011 7:54 pm

      Hi Olivia,

      It’s not just young people who are addicted to iphones. You can also see people addicted to instant messaging services, computer games (old news), and Facebook – which is probably more serious than iphones.

      That’s interesting about what you said about people using their iphone all the time during a date. How do they use it? I can imagine a number of ways…what ever happened to romance and imagination?

Leave a Reply

