Skip to content

Tragic Events in Japan

March 14, 2011

The recent powerful earthquake and resulting massive tsunami in Japan have caused tremendous loss, both human and economic. Let’s hope the worst is over and that rescuers can get to those in trouble, the severity of damage to the nuclear facilities can be contained, and the hard work of rebuilding people lives can begin.

This video shows the incredible, yet terrifying power of Mother Nature.

Amid all the chaos and horror,there is a story of one man who miraculously escaped after being swept out to sea and later picked up by rescuers.

During times of tragedy, it is always important to remember the human faces so greatly affected and the needs of those in trouble, so this news from the Korean government is heartening. Perhaps, this will also lead to an improvement in Korean/Japan relations.

Students: What are your thoughts on the situation in Japan? Feel free to comment on one/any of the links, other students’ comments, or simply write your own ideas from reports you have read.



32 Comments leave one →
  1. Choi Hui Young permalink
    March 14, 2011 8:57 pm

    I think that disaster is really unfortunate situation. As human being I have to offer my condolences. But when I was high school student I was taught about my countries history. In 1910~1945 Japan ruled my country by their arms. They did inhumane things to my forefathers. And until now they don’t say sorry to us and another victims. So, I accept that situation is really bad but I don’t feel any sorry for that situation.

  2. Yang woochan - critical reading and writing2 permalink
    March 14, 2011 10:17 pm

    It is terrible disaster.
    Although Korea and Japan relationship is foe in past years, I’m very mournful about powerful earthquake and resulting massive tsunami in Japan.
    I hope that there are no more casualty.
    I hope to improve the situation as soon as possible.

  3. KSH permalink
    March 15, 2011 12:01 am

    I’d like to talk about something apart from the disaster itself. Watching the scenes of tragedy on TV for the first time, I felt totally shocked and overwhlemed. The scenes were so horrible and spectacular that it almost felt like those were not from a news program but from a movie. Even though the role of the media, of course, is to fulfill people’s right-to-know, brutal images and sensational subtitles shown through media were rather exaggerated than precisely reported. It seemed like they were eager to grab the viewers’ attention as much as possible. I found it extremely uneasy.

  4. Actor permalink
    March 15, 2011 12:07 am

    What a pity…Although some of us have malignant emotion about Japaness, we should have a duty of aid. It is too sad to ignore. Like above article, this tragedy would be changed to chance if we would help them.

  5. Olivia permalink
    March 15, 2011 1:01 am

    Humankind is very insignificant being in front of the nature diseaster. Mother Nature is one force that we can never beat . I hope Japan to overcome the difficulty soon.

  6. Irene permalink
    March 15, 2011 5:57 am

    When firstly hearing the news of the tremendous earthquake in Japan, I couldn’t believe that the misery situation similar with the postwar was occurred by the nature near my country. At that time even though I went to my hometown to celebrate my birthday with my family, I concentrated on listening the news about the situation of Japan.

    First of all, I astonished the calm attitude of Japanese such as lining when they receive supplements, doing their works without any disturbance, and keeping public orders, even though the lack of water and foods, explosion of nuclear power plant, and spill of radiation are threatening their lives.

    And then, I was really impressed when seeing the article about donation. Without considering the past relationship between Korean and Japan, as we are the human who live in the global village, we should try to help them who are suffering hardships.

    I certainly assure that Japan can get over this catastrophe.

  7. ananymous permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:17 am

    I was impressed by how eager to help Japan we, Korean, were.

    With compassion, we forgot everything related with historical and territorial problems.

    We do not see them Japanese but treat them human beings.

    I hope that this perspective of seeing each other neighbor will remain after Japan getting over the tragedy.

  8. Wow permalink
    March 15, 2011 11:25 am

    I felt terrified when i heard this news. Because Japan is located next to Korea and we have shared many cultures and histories. But i think some Koreans still have unpleased feeling about Japan because of historical problems. So,it’s good chance for korean to make their relationship more friendly by helping them.

  9. S.A. Lee permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:16 pm

    When I whatched the video about the earthquake and the Tunami wiped out japan, it shocked me. It’s really really terrible disaster.
    More aftaid thing is the disaster still on going, i heard four nuclear power plant were exploded so japannise are terrified radiation releases. I hope there is no 2nd Chernobyl disaster and the Japanese get over this situation.

  10. sososo permalink
    March 15, 2011 10:21 pm

    Last 5 days, I have watched so many articles, news, video and so on.
    This is a unexpected tragedy.
    It is silly to mention the past relationship between Korea and Japan in this situation.
    It is natural for helping people in need.
    Especially, grandmothers of victims of colonial period fundraise so hard.
    It is very impressive and moving.
    I hope the damage is recovered as soon as possible.

  11. Sylpid permalink
    March 15, 2011 11:12 pm

    Actually it’s my first time seeing this situation as a video. It was terrible.
    More over, it’s regrettable that the situation is not over.
    I was suprised to hear that we “Koreans” offer to help “Japanese”. Even though there was an indelible feelings between Korea and Japan, we Koreans are trying help them only because they are our neighbors.
    I hope no one gets hurt anymore and this may be a chance to make a strong solidarity between Korea and Japan.

  12. lalala permalink
    March 16, 2011 3:57 am

    Actually, I can’t still believe it. So many people died…I was shocked by the horrifying scene of the disaster! I heard that the speed of tsunami is about 720km/h. Can you imagine how fast it is? I don’t even want to think about it…
    I just saw a article about the donation of Korean entertainers such as Kim hyun joong and Bae yong joon for Japan. Even though relationship between Korea and Japan is abnormal for historical problems, there are lots of Korean worrying about Japan. I think it is very impressive and touching!!!

  13. Joo permalink
    March 17, 2011 10:53 pm

    When i heard this article which is related with massive tsunami in Japan, I couldn’t believe it. This accident caused quite a stir throughout all of the world.
    I think that this problem is not only limited in japan, but also world wide prblem.
    For these reasons, we have to help and support them ,do not remain attached to the past relatinoship between Korea and Japan.
    I also hope that there will be no further loss of life from continuing after shocks.

  14. MIN.Y.K permalink
    March 17, 2011 11:56 pm

    When I heard this news, I didn’t believe it. Earthquake are very common situation in Japan. It always happened. But, this is huge tragedy. Many people were died. Survived people have no home. It has damaged in many places. Also, It has caused world economy.
    By watching video, I feel that it is like a movie. Water is flooded and wind is very furious. I can realize force of nature. It’s so horrible. I’m not sure this disater only happened in Japan. Other nation including Korea are not overlooked. It might be occured in Korea.
    Anyway, I really feel sorry to Japan.

  15. K.H.Chu permalink
    March 18, 2011 1:23 am

    It was a couple of days ago, however, the aftereffects are still on going and actually it is getting serious because of radiation releases. Some japanese workers are trying to solve this problem at the risks of their lives. I was so impressed to see their spirit and actions.

    To be honest, at first, I was not sure that how many Koreans are willing to help them. But, I thought the situation in Japan is so serious, and this is not the time to argue their past historical mistakes. We are living together in the world as a same human being, and we are necessary to help our neighbors when they suffer from hardship and need help from their friends.

  16. PCE permalink
    March 18, 2011 11:10 am

    At first, when I heard that news about earthquake and tsunami in Japan, I thought that it is not that serious and one of earthauakes they had undergone. At the same time, to be honest, I enjoyed their tragic.
    However, when I see the real situation through TV and internet, I cannot help feeling shamed of what I have thought. Their extreme situation was more serious than I have expected. Thousands of people died so easily that I lose my word. Through news, I have seen many people who were gone, saving other people, such as firefighters and the village officers. Seeing them, I fell my tears and felt as if it were my own situation.
    I sincerely hope that their tragety is over as soon as possible and no more people would die.

  17. March 20, 2011 2:46 pm

    First of all, when i listened that news in Japan, i was so embarassed
    I have felt and thought that this thing does not arise to Korea and near.
    But thing does….
    So, I felt nervous.
    then, If i’m in this scene, what can i do?
    I have no idea, especially Korea has wrong and minimum knowledge in disasater.
    thus maybe more danage will arise than Japan which perfectly ready for earthquake.
    above all, in this accident, Sorry to Japanese who lost his family,died and broken hearted.
    Because I wanna direct help to them but I won’t.
    So, I’m going to donate. I know the doantion and foundation in the university.
    Thus, donate! everyone!

  18. DIDI permalink
    March 20, 2011 2:56 pm

    When I heard the news, I was in panic because lots of my friends live in Tokyo and Chiba. At first time, I couldn’t get in touch with them because earthquake caused communication problems. Few hours later, one of my friends called me and told me a very scary story which she been through. When there was the earthquake, she was riding the rides at an amusement park. She was riding a rollercoster, but the earthquake came, so the rollercoster should stop no mattr what. So she had to in the rollercoster upside down about 20 minute. Fortunately, she is fine now .. Isn’t it really scary??

  19. kim soo min permalink
    March 20, 2011 9:52 pm

    In that day, I was in school to practice a performance.
    So when I heard this hideous news, I couldn’t realized that how
    horrible it was. But soon I felt the gravity of this problem. All of
    the news viewed this tragedy widely and it seemed very serious. Tsumani
    washed down everything such as houses, paddies and vehicles.
    I was scared that it could be outbreak in Korea.
    So I perceive the truth that prevention is the most important thing
    when approaching some series of fatal events.

  20. QIAO MI permalink
    March 20, 2011 10:15 pm

    First of all I am sorry to be late, someting wrong with my PC so……
    I am very shocked when I saw the news first time. When I saw the photos after the tsunami I really thought it was a disaster movie’s poster. But it’s was not, It’s really. The forces of nature made me feel the small of human beings. But I also feel the warmth between human beings.
    But the danger still exists, In China, parents are also worried about my safety amd call me every day. I also know, There are 50 Japanese choose to stay in the nuclear power station to keep the most peoples safety. which really moves me a lot. I firmly believe if we are together We can conquer the natural

  21. whosthisgirl permalink
    March 20, 2011 10:41 pm

    When I first heard this tragic news from my friend via bbm I couldn’t imagine how big 8.9 earthquake is since I’ve never heard of that gigantic earthquake in my life. My friend told me that one of our japanese friend can’t contact her mom. I was really worried about her and her family in Japan. After i went home, I got to watch some videos of the earthquake and tsunami and I couldn’t believe it happened in reality. I always thought I could see that tragic scene on movies, not in reality. I feel really bad for the missing people and people who died by tsunami and their family. I surely believe that Japan can overcome this horrible situation soon.
    However, to speak about the donation for Japan, I was really disappointed at our goverment who said Koreans have to donate for Japan. Donating for Japan is nice but seriously our stupid goverment ask us to do? They are ignoring so many other problems in Korea like Free Lunch for Elementary School Students, foot-and-mouth disease and now they want us to donate for Japan just because of Samsung or LG in Japan or gaining face from Japan?! and what did we do for Haiti??
    Japan has a self relient power to recover. They are rich, their companies are strong, their goverment moves quickly for their people but unfortunately, Haiti has nothing. From this event, I got to realize something seriously that the rich will be the rich forever, the poor will be the poor forever.

    p.s> my friend told me this funniest comment. The article was about praying for Japan and one of the comments was “But the japanese are mean to Yuna Kim the champion figure skater ㅠ_ㅠ” hilirious!

  22. whosthisgirl permalink
    March 20, 2011 11:04 pm

    oops! loll one of our japanese friends*
    hilarious*

  23. Youtopia permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:54 am

    In my all life, there are some natural disasters. Although many countries struggled for their life, these were far away stories to me. However, in case of Japan, as a neighboring country, the earthquake and tsunami was shocking. Especially, looking above video, I realize again that human beings are endlessly weak in front of nature. Moreover, the fear of radiation is spreading all over the world that can give us huge aftereffect. Fortunately, Japanese are overcoming this situation well. I think that their composure teach us precious lesson, and I hope they could cope with this hard situation well.

  24. Saebom Park permalink
    March 21, 2011 8:11 am

    I couldn’t believe that situation at first time.
    Sometimes, to be honest, I don’t like some Japanese people who are not aware of history between Korea and Japan. However, I think this is not the time to argue that historical issues. We are the closest neighbor of them, so it is right to help them.
    I hope that they could get over it quickly!

  25. Adam Lee permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:12 am

    i was totally shocked when i first saw the news on tv. earthquake, tsunami, fire, look just like the disaster film . and then, i was aware of how this country was hurt after hearing the news of the nuclear blast.
    i need to say that i feel exactly sympathy for the people who lost their homes and relatives. because my country suffered exact the same disaster in 2008.

    the report of korean sending rescue team to japan made me feel that, human in this world is a big family in this world. helps for each other can easily accross the border.
    in the news, president Lee said, Korea will take this chance to show their sincerity to their neighbor. i couldn’t see any dishostnety on his face.

  26. veraB permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:56 am

    For the time being we need to leave everything that happened between two nations behind and help Japan to get back on its feet again. The major reason is that Japanese government does not seem trustworthy. saying that supplies are running out. The Japanese government has been on the hot seat owing to the lacking management of handling the crisis. When it comes to nuclear plants, the government officials have been reluctant to make announcement of the condition of cooling water pumps in power plant. Other developed countries in such field such as U.S.A or France asked to tell the truth of severity of it but Japan kept their matters to themselves. Also in contrast to the common belief that Japan used to say that they have a large amount of food, medicine and other supplies which people can live off when the war or tragic events break out, people are running out of food and medicine. Even in unharmed Southern region that a score of Japanese people fled to, cities such as Osaka. However some might think Japan does not need help because they are not as poor as Haiti and is paying the prices for atrocities they committed during WW2. I personally, think this tragic event shows that even developed countries can be harmed and humanity should transcend everything once it has been initiated. As we saw in the Wednesday’s rally held by comfort woman at Japanese Embassy in Korea, the elderly women were not protesting but keeping silent for those who died and are still missing as well as the bereaved family from Tsunami.

  27. March 21, 2011 12:41 pm

    This tragedy is really hard to believe and it once again confirmed that human cannot compete with nature power.
    In this situation, Japan suffered really backbreaking time, so we should console their pain.
    Fortunately, Korean citizens and many entertainers have donated for the victims of Tsunami in Japan. Throughout this, Korea and Japan can solidify relationship.
    I hope Japan will overcome this disaster soon. Also, Korea must stay to alert and watchful about nature disasters.

  28. terry permalink
    March 22, 2011 2:04 pm

    I really shocked that I heard the news. I have been there several times. So I am familiar with Japan. I hope Japanese people cope with this terrible situation.

  29. Sunny permalink
    March 22, 2011 4:52 pm

    Japan’s catastrophe is not other’s situation. I think that it might happen in Korea, therefore we have to help japanese not in hospitality related to history between these countries, but in insight and care to make our world better place. Also, people around the world must prepare for facing natural disasters.

  30. Gabriel permalink
    March 22, 2011 7:07 pm

    I belive that it is a terrible disaster ever happened in Japan. At first I was not really curious of the earthquake at all. And I didn’t care much about the loss and people’s death and other casualties. I looked carefully to the situation, how would Koreans feel and react to this disaster and how would Japan overcome. One of the comment I agree was that we won’t need to help Japan because they are wealthy and strong enough to hadle the situation and it’s good enough to feel sorry for them. Japan didn’t ask for food or money to us. They refused our food support. I think it would be fair enough by showing condelence to Japan.

  31. Lee Dong ki permalink
    March 30, 2011 11:45 am

    It waa a disaster or tragedy. This event informed the terror of nature to people. Frankly speaking I forgot the existence of erathquake which is very rare accident to Korean including me. It was very surprising to me beacuse of breaking Japanese famous safe measures. Of course, Japan greatly handled terrible calamity and showed mature citizenship except for damage of the nuclear atomic energy.

  32. SUJI CHO permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:56 pm

    Again!! we could aware that human beings are helpless against the power of nature.

    Earthquakes are common in Japan, one of the world’s most seismically active areas.

    However, this is the worst accident that have happened ever.

    I really hope Japan will endure this trouble. Cheer up please!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

