Skip to content

Not Now! I’m Listening to Music.

May 2, 2011

Midterms are over and so hopefully is some of your stress. Apart from laughter (and thank you for the links to some funny videos last week), music can also be a great stress-reliever. We all know that music is emotionally evocative; pop music can make us happy, whereas classical music may soothe our mind. 

I enjoy EDM, electronic dance music, especially funky tech house music, for example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXhNKNw02-M, or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLjeyuyq4T0. The first song has a deep fat (wide) grooving bassline and interesting percussion elements, including the usual deep big kick drum, snares and hats, as well as congas, shakers, and some horns. In addition, there are some vocal hooks. This style of music is quite repetitive, but within the songs are various layers of sounds, many subtle, which come in and out. As opposed to typical pop music with only a few layers of different sounds, this music has far more layers and the quality and sound engineering are far more sophisticated. Honesty, I can’t listen to this type of song without bobbing my head and breaking out my dancing shoes.

However, I also enjoy music with all the technology stripped out it.  Here is one example of an acoustic cover (a cover is a remake of an original by another artist) of Fast Car. Tracy Chapman did the original and it is beautiful, a real classic. This remake is by Boyce Avenue, three brothers from Puerto Rico, and Kina Grannis, an Asian-american singer who has become very popular through Facebook and Twitter. Their cover version is also excellent.

Students: What kind of music do you enjoy? Do you have a favorite song(s)? What emotions does it evoke? Provide a link to a favorite song and a description of how it makes you feel?

41 Comments leave one →
  1. sososo permalink
    May 2, 2011 9:58 pm

    My music preferences could be varied depending on the mood. When I feel good, I like fast tempo of music. But I usually prefer the guitar sound or the piani sound very much. I do not enjoy the music with the lyrics. Because if there is a complex lyrics, It is difficult to concentrate the music itself. Instrument playing music gives me comfort and beauty.

    This is my favorite song and my favorite contemporary jazz group.
    There are multiple versions of this song. This is very beautiful and a great classic song.
    It makes me relax.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 3, 2011 4:02 pm

      I like jazz improvisation. My Mom and older brother used to play lots of music like this when I was younger although I, unfortunately, could not do much of the finger work.

  2. anonymous permalink
    May 3, 2011 3:36 am

    These days, I am struck with rap music, because rappers sing what they have in their mind.
    My favorite song is ‘lose yourself’ by Eminem.

    In this song, the mild introduction melody creatse a tranquil state of the atmosphere before a severe storm comes. But, once the rap starts, the singer pours out the rhyme and flow of languages as the storm usually does.
    The plain rhythm of percussion and simple melody continue till the song ends, making people naturally jump into the music and shake their bodies. The empty space between sparse notes is filled with embellished lyrics, which are emphasized by the simple background music.
    The combination of repeated beats, rhyme and flow allow me to temporarily get out of the ordinary constraints and wear another self in the music.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 3, 2011 4:19 pm

      I think many students who give speeches can relate to part of the lyrics of this song, especially when Eminem talks about having ‘stage fright’ just before a performance and not doing well. He chokes on stage and loses a chance, while students often only get one chance to perform a speech well, but don’t always perform their best.

  3. May 3, 2011 4:11 pm

    In my thinking, most people agree that music is an amazing gift for mankind from God. I usually try to appreciate most genre of music from classical music to rock and roll because every kind of music has its unique instruments’ sound, tone, and atmosphere depends on ways to express singers’ feelings. However, whenever being tired, I usually select a well-known pop song, You Raise Me Up, sung by Westlife.

    The harmony between tranquil sound of piano and rich tone of vocal makes the song more attractive and touching for me to be absorbed in the calm and peaceful lyrics. Surely, most of Westlife’s songs are bringing us peace and inspiring us to wake up.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 3, 2011 4:37 pm

      I have this song on my iPhone and can’t play it enough. My grandmother used to love the traditional Irish song “Danny Boy” from 1910, which includes the original melody for the song “You Raise Me Up.”

  4. Gabriel permalink
    May 4, 2011 7:30 pm

    I enjoy listening to hiphop music. Hiphop makes me release stress and invigorate. Everywhere I go I listen to hiphop music whereas in the car or by iphone. I usually turn on hiphop music to keep my feelings stable and to loosen up. Here is my recommendation for the hiphop music. This song is one of my favorite and The music video is by Jay-Z’s Empire State of Mind featured by Alicai Keys. Everytime I see this music video, I have butterflies in my stomache. Hope you enjoy as well.

  5. May 5, 2011 2:25 pm

    As much as I like individual songs, I have always preferred listening to entire albums. Everybody knows The Beatles, right? But most people are only familiar with their popular hits. My favorite songs are the ones buried deep inside the albums – such as The White Album, which is o e of my favourite.

    These days I’ve been listening to a band called Foals a lot, but I could go on forever about the music I listen to.

  6. Adam Lee permalink
    May 5, 2011 9:51 pm

    i have to say that im always a Perfectionist on music. i dont have an iphone nor do i use i tunes, i dont feel like arrange my musics and songs by artists or albums. instead, in my music folder, i have ‘dancing music’, ‘party music’, ‘happy music’, ‘sad music’, ‘stage music'(played when models walking on the stage), ‘rock music’, ‘r & b’, ‘rock’n roll’, and ‘quiet cafe music’… of course a folder of’my favorite music’. different kinds of musics are play when im different mood, or doing different things.
    my songs are in mainly four languages: chinese, english, korean and japan. and these are also many music has no lyrics like Banderi’s music or Chopin’s piano.
    it is extremely hard for me to tell which song i like the best. i here i just would like to introduce a song i like to sing these days. it’s ‘4 Real’ in Avril Lavigne’s 4th album. i like this song because i enourage poeple to be honest and real in love, because that’s the only way to find your truest and happiest love.

  7. KSH permalink
    May 6, 2011 8:13 pm

    I like such broad genre of music and it’s really hard to pick one. The musician that I am currently in love with is Damien rice, though. He is an Irish singer-songwriter. His name might not be that well known in Korea, but some of music must be familiar with you.

    What I love about his song is its frankness. I mean, he delievers what he feels without exaggeration. His songs are really intense and mild in some way and it reminds me of lots of memories from the past. Also, his voice is mystic. Although it is hard to say that he sings well in technical aspects, his voice and singing style has very specail and unique strength. It inspires huge emotion to the listener.

    Following is one of his songs ‘Elephant’.

  8. Chu permalink
    May 7, 2011 1:11 am

    I prefer listening to soft and calm music. When I am on a bus or I am absorbed in deep thought, I feel sentimental while listening it. I post this type of song which I like the best.

    A friend of mine let me know this song two years ago, and I was drawn to it at first listening. Her lyrical voice and background guitar sound make me feel sentimental and calm. I usually listen to this whenever I feel melancholy or depressed. In addition, the sad words in this song evoke sensation deep in myself. How fast time flies and how transitory life is.

  9. Sunny permalink
    May 7, 2011 3:31 pm

    I like jazz and old pop songs such as this because rethemical and classic melody make me fresh ironically. It’s so romantic. In addition, I don’t sick of it.
    For example, http://www.youtube.com/embed/jk3Ol1VgzAk.

  10. Sunny permalink
    May 7, 2011 3:36 pm

    or, http://www.youtube.com/embed/QV_SfpGOBOo
    I’d like to show you other music I love, but I can’t find it on YOUTUBE. TT

  11. Wow permalink
    May 7, 2011 11:07 pm

    I seldom listen to music but sometimes I need to do. When I feel bad or down, I look for Korean R&B and soul music. My favorite Korean singer is Jung-in. This is a music video in which she is singing.

    This video is her live stage.

    I like her husky voice and calm melody and these songs make my feelings good and comfortable.

  12. QIAO MI permalink
    May 8, 2011 4:50 am

    Some people said when you feeling bad you should listen to some happy music, but I like to listen more sad song. When I am feeling fun I would like to listening the funny songs make me more fun when I listening a song I will pay more attention to the lyrics of a song if the lyrics of this song it accurately reflected the thoughts of my heart, I would think it is a good song to listen to . And find my favorite song is easier than to find my favorite Authors, I have a favorite lyricist, he wrote every song has a deep meaning. A lot of inspiration to me. I said all the Chinese songs. So I would not share with everyone I have to share a song “candles” in the TV drama program “Glee”. Although the original sound is good, But I am more like a cover version of the television show, very warm and a very sweet love song , So the music TV drama program “Glee” also very interesting .

    • QIAO MI permalink
      May 8, 2011 4:55 am

      Some people said when you feeling bad you should listen to some happy music, but I like to listen more sad song. When I am feeling fun I would like to listening the funny songs make me more fun when I listening a song I will pay more attention to the lyrics of a song if the lyrics of this song it accurately reflected the thoughts of my heart, I would think it is a good song to listen to . And find my favorite song is easier than to find my favorite Authors, I have a favorite lyricist, he wrote every song has a deep meaning. A lot of inspiration to me. I said all the Chinese songs. So I would not share with everyone I have to share a song “candles” in the TV drama program “Glee”. Although the original sound is good, But I am more like a cover version of the television show, very warm and a very sweet love song , So the music TV drama program “Glee” also very interesting

  13. S.A. Lee permalink
    May 8, 2011 4:24 pm

    I don’t have strick musical taste. It depends on the day’s mood or weather, selecting music is different. My current favorite music is this song. Silvio Rodriguez – “Del sueño a la poesia” Despite his voice is not my favor, this song is very arrtactive and addictive.
    Start with someone’s snoring and playing guitar. This song describes dreamy condition, between dream and reality, right before awakenig from sleep.
    I like this melody flowing from his guitar.

    ps, I failed to find the source of this video 😦

    • S.A. Lee permalink
      May 8, 2011 4:29 pm

      the image of the video is describing the lyrics literally.

  14. whosthisgirl permalink
    May 8, 2011 11:25 pm

    omg! when I first saw this posting I thought this topic is the most difficult one to leave a comment since there are too many songs that I love. but at the same time, it’s definitely most enjoyable commenting for that reason 😀 I literally enjoy every music except heavy metal and country.

    Hmm.. since I have so many favorite songs, I decided to post up only two songs that I’m obsessed with thesedays.


    Melody and beat are great but the thing that I love the most for this song is lyrics.
    When I first listened to this song, the lyrics caught my ears. It is a love song that every singer talks in the world but it has something special on it. It has hopeful meaning and is not corny. Also it’s not dirty as how american songs are like lolll
    Also, Ryan Tedder’s vocal fits really well with this song. Everytime I listen to this song, I feel like I’m actually being a rocketeer, flying in the sky with my love, even though I don’t have a boyfriend or a person that I have a crush on :p
    p.s) I have a group on bbm for group chatting and the name is rocketeer since all of my friends are fan of this song 🙂


    Drake is my favorite rapper just because of his godly voice!! Seriously, every time I listen to his voice on songs I feel like I’m melting. no joke haha. He also sings on this song. Now imagine how I reacted when I first listened to this song. lolll With her godly sexy voice, the female singer, Lykke Li’s dreamlike vocal goes really well with this song. lyrics is pretty interesting too. Melody is good and especially the loud beat is amazing! Like the lyrics, the beat increase a tension on this song. love it!!! 😀

  15. April. Park permalink
    May 8, 2011 11:54 pm

    I used to listened to jazz music and some electronic music 2 years ago, however, these days I enjoy acoustic music especially IU.
    IU has become a famous Korean singer nowadays. However I have liked her since I heard she was singing with playing the acoustic guitar on the radio 2 years ago. Her voice sounded very natural but had strong appeal. When I listen to her music, I feel relived and relaxed. She is especially good at singing on lonely mood and I am really into it. My favorite is ‘Mia(missing child), and Riding the train.’


  16. Sylpid permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:31 am

    I usually listen to balad music when I feel gloomy.
    I’ll introduce you a music which recent has upcome.

    This is a song named Don’t cry. I think her voice is very attactive.

  17. VERAB permalink
    May 9, 2011 11:40 am

    The music I would like to introduce to you is the first song proposed GLEE, American Musical Dram. http://youtu.be/rteAeFjB7S4 I hope you guys would know this drama but it does not matter. Now you are exposed to know the best music this drama has ever sung.
    This is the music make you cheer up and never give up. Whenever I listen to this, I strongly believe that music is not only to alleviate some stress but also afftect the mind. Suppose you are walking on the street alone feeling under the weather somehow and you encounter one music from the shoe shop. Coincidentally lryic is just about the situation you are engaged in and then the melody just thaws your icy and hard feeling towards someone or something you are angry at. Perhaps these kind of people are sort of ’emotional’ enough to sway around to music that they just listen to. However still I rely on music and believe that music has a power of healing. Again The music ‘Dont Stop Believing’ has this kind of effect that makes me not give up on things it does not seem that I can solve and finally continues me to work on it.

    Lastly but not leastly, I would like to introduce this one! Check it out~
    http://www.youtube.com/pomplamoosemusic#p/c/F125407272F3C1A4/6/oIr8-f2OWhs

  18. Dongki permalink
    May 11, 2011 1:51 am

    Ok, I also like many musics and songs. I mostly listen to black black music such as R&B and Soul. Howerver I’d like to itntroduce original sound tracks. Firstly, that is what is musics of Ennio Morricone who is the master of O.S.T. he made mamy musics which are , and . he received many Academic awards. his musics give tragic and lofty feel. SO, people who listen to musics of Moricone, fall in sorrow.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpZjvbSC9_M

  19. Terry permalink
    May 11, 2011 12:10 pm

    I am sorry. I cannot focuse on this assignment. Because I was breaking up with boyfriend. I am really sorry.

  20. book permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:26 pm

    I like R&B or ballad that make me smooth. Especially, I love Brown-eyed Soul music. Their music very delicate and each members’s song was unique but their harmony greatly match. When I was getting stress or feel melancholy or want relax, I listen to the their music. This music is one of the my most favorite song.

  21. Actor permalink
    May 11, 2011 9:12 pm

    My favorite music genre is “Shibuya-kei”, which is sub-genre of J-Pop music which originated in the Shibuya district of Tokyo. Following is sort of Shibuya-kei music. I like this kind of music because i wnat smooth and fresh rhythm, not lyrics.

  22. May 11, 2011 11:59 pm

    My favorite is jazz impovisation and balad. Especially, the rainy day like today, I like listening calm and romantic music and writing diary.

    This song is one of my faorite!

  23. Hyo Yeol Kim permalink
    May 12, 2011 7:07 pm

    I like listening to popular music than classical music. For example Korea famous singer like IU, G.NA..etc, at their song, there are repeated beats and melody, that facts can make songs more lively.
    In addition, most popular singers have beautiful face and good body shapes. So when I watch them, i feel more happiness.
    Below song is sung by IU.

  24. May 12, 2011 8:17 pm

    I do not much like musics with dance beats boom-booming. I love songs with acoustic guitar on the background. So I like most of the acoustic covers.

    One of my favourite, FAVOURITE singers is David Choi, a youtube star musician. He is a Korean-American whose songs sound somewhat like James Mraz’s ones (my other favourite).

    You should definitely search ‘David Choi’ in Youtube.

  25. May 16, 2011 7:35 pm

    I am crazy about music. I listen to all genre music. Nowadays, I’m into a musican, Coldplay. Many people know them from famous song “Viva La Vida”. It recorded enormous success in 2008. I like this song. But, I think real coldplay’s song is “In my place”, “Yellow”, “Trouble”, and “The Scientist”. I’m impressed by this song from the movie named “Wicker Park”. Song lyrics present love is not able to change by scientific power. In addition, melody is very melancholy to weep. I like sadsong. My ID is “sadsong”. I recommend you to listen definitely.

    • MIN.Y.K permalink
      May 29, 2011 8:58 pm

      Please click to my name. then you can listen to the music.

  26. PCE permalink
    May 22, 2011 12:19 pm

    It goes without saying that my favorite song is Tamia’s .
    Maybe, many people would know this song and it is so famous that have been sung by a lot of singers in different version throughout the world.


    This is the version of Korean singer IU.

    If keeping listenning to one song repeatedly, I usually feel bored. But, no matter how many times I listen to this song, I feel pleasant and comfortable.

  27. May 23, 2011 11:45 pm

    I’m mad in band rock music nowadays.
    Do you know rock band S.O.N.G in english dept ?
    In that band, i’m playing a role of bass.
    bass sound is so heavy and low.
    So ordinary listener do not hear easily. but that beat and amazing skill gives me great impact.
    Especially, slapping is a great skill.
    Band Red Hot Chili Peppers reapresents that skill.
    This song ‘can’t stop’ is a song of slapping.
    listen and feel

  28. Yang woochan - critical reading and writing2 permalink
    May 24, 2011 11:16 pm

    Nowadays, I am crazy about TV program : ‘I am a singer’.
    This program hold singing competition participating best singers in Korea.
    One of them who caught my attention is a ‘lim jaebum’. listen and feel!

  29. soyoung shin permalink
    May 26, 2011 10:59 pm

    Before introducing my favorite song, did you watch the movie of ‘ Tangled’ ?
    It is animation movie , released by disney. The main character Rapunzel has amazing and beautiful hair in the world. Even though she is a princess, she grow up under the witch. who want to maintain young for a long time, since Laupunzel’s hair brings youth and power. Under witch’s protection, she meet a handsome guy, Youjin. This song ‘ I see the light’ is released, when Rapunzel and youjin are in the boat on the lake. Above the sky, there are many light that is to find losing princess, Rapunzel. Anyway, under the beautiful lights, they share their love. It is best scene in the movie I think. Thanks to the melody really calm and beautiful that I can concentrate better on the movie and also want to find owesome boyfrined:)
    I am sure all of you like this song.

  30. Joo permalink
    May 27, 2011 12:07 am

    I like listening to indie band and I have a lot of interest in the music of indie band.
    The most favorie band is Epitone Project. Especially, the music of Epitone project is out of the ordinary arrangement. This music album made by Cha Sae Jung who is composer and vocal melted all of our hearts.

  31. LJH permalink
    May 27, 2011 1:21 am

    I like classic music. When I listen to performance of orchestra, I am thrilled. Harmony of various instruments is beautiful. And I like to listen to performance of piano.
    Especially, my favorite piano music is ‘Pathetique’ sonata of Beethoven.
    Whenever I want to feel calm, I listen to it.

  32. Kim Soo Min permalink
    May 29, 2011 8:06 pm


    I really love eletronic house music too! It excites my heart beating so fast that I cannot sleep when I listen to house musics at night. And this song’s name is ‘Mr.Saxobeat by Alexandra Stan’. It’s fantastic rhythm and Stan’s voice are very harmonious. This rhythmical bounce makes me feel like that I’m in exotic places such as Brazil or Argentina.
    And her another song ‘Lollipop’ is also good.

    This is the second song that I like to listen in nowadays. Originally, B.E.P is my favorite artist. most of their songs are made by Will.I.Am who is a member of B.E.P. He is a genious.
    He have maden many songs that keep mega-hit scores.
    There is a reason that attracts publics to this song : It has two faces.
    The beginning of this song’s mood is very hopeful. But another part’s base sound is exciting.
    Because of this facts, I’m addicted to this song.

  33. lalala permalink
    May 29, 2011 8:29 pm

    These days, I prefer indie band’s song than popular musics which is really commercial and has no genuine sentiment. Actually, 10cm is not indie band anymore because they are popular enough now! I started learning acoustic guitar because of them. Their song is not only sentimental but also fun to recite the lyrics! When I listen their musics, I feel calm and peaceful!!!! 🙂 Enjoy it~!!!

  34. Choi Hui Young permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:48 pm

    Recently, I listen to soft music. Soft musics like 10cm-죽겠네http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSMNTV1fpvw
    Well, I heard this song is classed as acoustic. Don’t be misunderstand that I said acoustic. I don’t have any special knowledge about music genre so I said acoustic is purely heard thing.
    And second thing is Kim yeonwoo – If you’re like me(김연우-나와같다면). This song is not his song but he remake it as his style.

    All these songs have good melody. To be honestly, when I listen to music I don’t care about the lyrics. My only priority is melody. These songs have good melody so I like these music I can’t sure that you guys like these song but, I hope you will.

Leave a Reply

