Skip to content

Reading on the Internet: The Economist

December 29, 2011
by

Students are always asking me for sources to find useful and interesting articles, and I always do my best ot keep their focus away from typical choices. The internet is, of course, the best resource for reading that you can imagine. Without it, we wouldn’t be able to easily access top-quality newspapers and magazines from around the world. I’m going to post a few magazines here over the winter break and offer you some links for you to read from.

The Economist is one of the most thoughtful and analytical magazines out there. It is internationally read and respected by the leaders of the world in business and politics. It also analyses current events thoroughly and asks questions that many other newspapers fail to ask, or just ignore. It is also meticulously edited and its writing is of a very high standard. If a student were to ask me for a source for finding worthwhile articles, the Economist would be top of this list, and it would be much higher than anything like TIME or Newsweek, in fact The Economist is in league that these magazines have not been in for a long time!

Once you are here, there is no reason why you shouldn’t search around and find articles which are relevant to you. Right now, The Economist’s twitter feed is running a list of the 10 Most Popular Articles of 2011. They have only reached #4 at the moment but I thought I’d post a few here for you so that you can get a start.

Asia’s Lonely Hearts: Women are rejecting marriage in Asia. The social implications are serious
The Old Man of the Mountain Returns: more evidence for a previously unknown species of human
The Man who Screwed an Entire Country: the Berlusconi era will haunt Italy for years to come

Also, from a language perspective, I find the blog Johnson on the site very worthwhile, as it looks into language use in both Britain and UK, and I think that this is something worthwhile for all language learners.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Chang Youp LEE permalink
    December 29, 2011 10:33 pm

    I thought it is from my class haha…. i should do Prof Todd’s homework.
    hello Prof. Conor how are you?

  2. Kyun permalink
    December 30, 2011 12:50 am

    Wow.. I think there are so many amazing and hidden truth.

    Articles like that always remind me to think thoughtful about the world.

    But sometimes(everytime) an inconvenient truth have no choice itself become obscured by the public opinion.

    Anyway thank you for the links.

  3. Hazel permalink
    January 4, 2012 12:14 pm

    The first article is quite interesting.
    I did not expect those facts would be writtened as an article.
    However I agree with the women’s decision.
    Asian women have suffered sex discrimination enough through the history.
    It would be good to leave them do what they want away from bunch of chores.
    Asian society still blames single moms without marriage.
    If the ole perpective change as the time goes by, women might have babies they value.
    And it would be fair to both sex.

  4. Kelly permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:34 am

    I have not yet read The Economist. I usually read the time when i’d like to know interesting fields.
    I read 3 articles that prefessor posted here. Because I like the science fields very much, so I think the 2nd article is more attractive than any two of them. The new species are discovered. kk Isn’t interesting?
    Thanks for chance of reading articles.

  5. house permalink
    January 6, 2012 7:29 pm

    i checked my paragraph to prof.todd
    however, it was horrorble.
    i will do my best now.

    prof. todd~ thank you

Leave a Reply

