Skip to content

New Years Resolutions

January 4, 2012

Hello English 2 students. It’s 2012, a new year for all of us. This time of year is a good time to think about how to improve ourselves and/or our lives. It’s a good time to resolve (with determination) to achieve this. Therefore, I would like to hear what your 2012 resolution are. What will you resolve to do or achieve in this year. Please explain. Please start like this;

 

This new year, I want to _________ because ______.

(Note: You might want to read my example comment below for hints on sentence writing.)

31 Comments leave one →
  1. proftodd permalink*
    January 4, 2012 4:34 pm

    I have made two resolutions this new year. The first resolution is to get in better shape. I plan to exercise more regularly than last year. I want to exercise five days a week instead of just two or three days a week. Also, I plan to eat more homecooked meals instead of eating mostly at restaurants. The second resolution is to improve my knowledge of my hobby, music composition and production. I have purchased new videos and have arranged a tutor for private lessons once a week. My goal this year for my hobby is to write (and hopefully sell) several electronic music tracks.

    • CENA permalink
      January 4, 2012 9:55 pm

      Homecooked meals is very good for you! It is difficult to you that make a food by yourself but I hope hat you can do it! Good Luck Todd.

    • Chaily permalink
      January 8, 2012 1:12 pm

      You always looked burly and healthy, Mr. McGowan! How are you doing these days?

  2. premium permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:40 pm

    I have made two resolutions this new year. The first resolution is to lose my weight and to get in shape. I went to the gym to exercise last year. But, I didn’t go to the gym regularly because of studying. Even I gained more weight:(. I am going to exercise everyday by using my treadmill. Also, I plan to controll dietary and lifestyle. The second resolution is to study english, toeic and toeic speaking. I need a high grade for graduation and getting a job. I am going to have a test once a month after listening to english lectures through EBS. I hope stick to my resolutions to the end.

  3. hihi permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:53 pm

    This new year, i want to enjoy a cultural life. Because last semester was very tigth schedule for me, i want to get some rest in this year. I plan to go to movie as much as possible. And i wanna listen to a good music of my taste. Not only just listening but also seeing a live performance. Finally, i plan to read more book, especially a novel, my favorite genre. With these activities, i hope that will be a better person than last year.

    • CENA permalink
      January 4, 2012 9:52 pm

      I wish that your goal will be finish succesful.

  4. CENA permalink
    January 4, 2012 9:50 pm

    In this new Year, I have made two resolutions. The First resoultion is to be a patience or stable person. I realized that hastiness is not good for me in the last year. Hastiness affect many parts of my life, such as friendship , relation of family. So, I decide to change my thingking mind. Another resolution is to reduce drinking alchoal. I drank an alchoal a 2-3 times in a week consequently I missed precious experiences or my health in the last year. If I want to be a successful person, I must reduce alchoal. Reducing alchoal will give many things to me. I’ll can be more healthy or be a loose my weight, etc…

    • eroh permalink
      January 4, 2012 11:17 pm

      Right. I want to reduce drinking alchoal too. sometimes, I drink alchol too much, and I lose my memories and a possession. I don’t know you can believe, Last year, I lost my wallet 4 times!

  5. Hee-Yoon Kim permalink
    January 4, 2012 9:52 pm

    This new year, I want to learn about piano. because I have never learned piano till today. I can’t treat any kind of musical instrument. But I’m interested in music these days. So I will learn how to play piano from basic in academy, on winter vacation.
    My second plan is weight-control. I reduced my weight because I was very fat. It was pretty successful but I gained weight again, even though not so many days past. In this year, I will reduce or lose my weight systematically, like going fitness center. I will achieve two kinds of plan in this year.

  6. eroh permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:11 pm

    This new year, I have two plan. First, I want to learn a guitar. I have played a acustic guitar, but I want to play a guitar more well. I hope to become Someday My guitar skill looks like professional. Another plan is Stop Smoking and drinking. I like smoking. Last year, when I played soccer, I felt that my breath had a little problem. So This 2012 year, I try to stop smoking. I know that this is very hard. But I believe that I can!. I promise my freind about this. If I can’t stop smoking, I will give my freind a 100,000 won. So i have to stop smoking.

  7. Kyun permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:13 pm

    This new year, I want to travel to Europe. Because that’s my first time to visite there and I want to experience something new. And I have plan to read books of many kinds. Because the books contain all of wisdom of the world. Then from now on, I should have more free time to think about those things to achieve instead of be a slave of grade!

  8. January 4, 2012 11:23 pm

    This new year, I want to take a trip. Because Trip gives me energy! The last summer when i went to the Gangwon-do was good. So, I want to go to the Jeolla-do and famous restaurants. But This year, I have to graduate and get a job. In order to graduate, I should license Engineer Chemical Industry and take a graduation examination. If I have time to spare, I’d love to take a trip!

  9. Mary permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:35 pm

    I have made three resolutions this year. The first resolution is to exercise regularly. I plan to go to the gym, at least 4 days a week. With exercising, I’ll be able to get in better shape and be healthy. The second resolution is getting good grades. Since I have never got a chance to get a scholarship, I want to try it in this year. And I believe it will help me get better job in the future. The last resolution is to read a lot. I will be a senior this year, so I think this is my last chance to read many books and get lots of information. I think if I graduate from my university and get a job, I won’t be able to read a lot.

  10. likedragon permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:52 pm

    This new year, I want to quit smoking. Because tobacco is harmful to my health. I had decided to quit smoking several times. But I had failed every time due to various temptations. Failure is the mother of success. Through the experience of these failures,
    I will succeed in quitting.

  11. Chang Youp LEE permalink
    January 5, 2012 12:09 am

    In this year, i want to pass the civil sercice exam. I have wanted to work at the Museum of Korea since i was a high school student. So i pass the test of curator. However, still it is hard to get a job, because most of museum belong to the government. There is a few chance to be a curator without the exam. Therefore i have prepared that exam. i wish in this year, I will pass the exam

  12. sjsameks permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:34 am

    This year, I want to a going to one of the countries whose first language is English, after working hard my work and learning English to establish it more than Beginners level. Because I have never been on a trip around the world.
    Another my virtue is that I like learning new things, so now I am learning Chinese language.To get a good mark at am exam is another this year’s goal. I wish I could achieve these two goals within this year.

  13. Lee2 permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:37 am

    This new year, I want to studying English. because, I am poor at English and I should study English so hard.
    I don’t wish to take an examination like TOEFL, GRE, and so on. But I should take a TOEIC examination. I wish to get good score for finding a job. In Korea, It is necessary to get good score in TOEIC.
    And, I want to Managing my health. Because , As I become older and older, I feel become myself weaker and weaker. I need regular excercise. I will jog in the park every day.
    Finally, I want to Spending money reasonably.
     I don’t think that I have wasted my money. But there are many unnecessary things that I had purchased last year. I sometimes buy goods impulsively. I will think carefully when I feel like buying something and cut down unnecessary expences.
     At the end of this year, I would be proud of myself to accomplish my plans.

  14. Kelly permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:49 am

    This new year, I want to improve my English ability. Because I’ll go Boston in April. I decided going abroad for language training last summer. I am usally not confident about my speaking ability. So I will certainly communicate my foreigner friends in Boston very well. Also I want to experience a lot of events, friends, and food. I am really looking forward to going!!!

  15. erogi permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:21 am

    This new year 2012!, I have made two resolution. First, I want to study harder than anyother semester abour my major. Because i’ll go on to graduate school, studying about my major is essential for graduate course. My major, future semeconductor, is very complicated diciplines so I feel more study. The second resolution is to improve my knowledge of my english ability( especially TOFLE). I have purchased new books and have arranged a tutor for private lessons once a week. I’m really trying hard to acheive this goal.

    • erogi permalink
      January 5, 2012 2:23 am

      oops! TOFLE!!??? >>>> TOEFL!!

  16. Roovey permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:24 am

    Happy new year~ This year, I would like to have a healthy body. In addition, majors build knowledge of English language skills will increase. And a lot of parents would like to have time to talk to each other. Now you must prepare the job. Than ever to send a busy year will be fruitful to spend time.

  17. Jesica permalink
    January 5, 2012 4:22 am

    This new year, as I studied hard last semester, I want to leave on a trip to Jeju island to take a rest. Also I plan to get a certificate which is related to my major. After then, to study English for my TOEIC grade, I am going to attend an english academy three days a week instead of one day a week. Finally I plan to get a job. After I graduate in this year, I want to meet a good co-worker as well as one’s boss and earn much money.
    In order to achieve these three goals within this year, first of all I have to study hard and get a grade in this class well.

  18. Hazel permalink
    January 5, 2012 12:01 pm

    Happy New Year !! This new year, I have a two resolutions. First, as I am a senior this year, I will focus on study than anything else. I have to get a TOEIC, HSK score. Second, I want to live a well-regulated life. I will sleep early and get up early.

  19. soledadmacho permalink
    January 5, 2012 12:18 pm

    This new year, I wnat to decide on the future course. Yet, I do not make a decision for my future career. Frankly, until now I did not think about my future. However, I will soon graduate and I should enter the society. So, I will invest much times for my career planning.
    First, I will spend a lot of times to thinking what I really want and meeting professional career consultants. Also I will meet my university senior who already had entered the society to listenning the advice. I really hope that I can find future career and next year I will work.

  20. Hee Yoon Kim permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:01 pm

    This new year, I want to learn play piano. I’ve never learned piano till today. I can’t treat any kinds of musical instrument. But I’m interested in music these days. So I will learn how to play piano from basic in academy,on winter vacation. My plan is weight-control. I reduced my weight because i was very fat. It was pretty successful but I gained weight again, even though not so many days past. In this year, I will reduce or lose my weight systematically, like going fitness center.I will achieve two kinds of plan in this year.

  21. messi permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:06 pm

    In this new year, I have three resolutions. One is I should get better grades.Because i didn’t get good grades last year. To get better grades I should work more harder than last year.
    And also I want to study english hard for my toeic score and communication skills. And final I want to be healthy,so i want to exercise regularly. These are my resolutions.

  22. Kook permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:26 pm

    This new year, i want to get a job after graduate.
    And i will study hard english because english is essential for society.
    And also I want to lose weight because i’m over 90kg.
    so i will do jogging three times a week

  23. Kim Hee-yoon permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:29 pm

    This new year, I want to learn play piano. I’ve never learned piano till today. I can’t treat any kinds of musical instrument. But I’m interested in music these days. So I will learn how to play piano from basic in academy,on winter vacation. Second my plan is weight-control. I reduced my weight because i was very fat. It was pretty successful but I gained weight again, even though not so many days past. In this year, I will reduce or lose my weight systematically, like going fitness center.I will achieve two kinds of plan in this year.

  24. It's JJO permalink
    January 5, 2012 11:21 pm

    In this year, I have two resolutions.
    The first one is that I will get JLPT test level 1 when I atten a Japan university on an interchange scholarship. I think interchange scholarship is fantastic opportunity. because I can learn about their lifestyle,culture and language.I’ll learn Japanese a lot and experience a lot so that i won’t regret it afterwards.
    Second one is that I ‘ll regain my health. Last year I have a lot of something to do so I lose a lot of weight. I can feel my body becoming worse.And also I think keeping my health is important. Getting 10kg is my new resolution.
    Happy New Year~^^

  25. house permalink
    January 9, 2012 6:41 pm

    I have made resolutions this new year. The first resolution is to go to militery. the date will be 12/3/5. So, i’m meeting my friends nowadays. going to army will be hard work. but, i will do my best.

Leave a Reply

