Skip to content

Job Hunting Advuce From A Seasoned Professional

January 27, 2012
by

I read a blog written by New York Journalist Caitlin Kelly quite regularly. I’m not sure why I started, but I think it was because one post caught my eye and I kept coming back.

She posts very personal accounts that involve the reader and get you thinking. At the end of each post she always asks a question that invites you, the reader, to become part of her blog by offering your own experiences. She gets lots of comments but she always does her best to reply to them, and this is encouraging as you can feel comfortable becoming involved in her blog posts.

Her writing is very simple and is always easy to follow. She doesn’t show off; her subjects are so simply put together they are never a chore to read (actually, you could almost say she is showing off because she makes it all look so easy – which it definitely isn’t – but, that’s just me being bitter and cynical). I would recommend her as a model writer whose style and diction are there to take example from.

More important than this, I find many of her blog posts inspiring and thought provoking, that’s why I am posting about her blog today. By reading her posts you can see how easy it can be to make day-to-day activities, personal interests, and even your job sound interesting.

Also, Caitlin has been writing for some of the biggest publications going, notably The New York Times, and she has published two books. So, when it comes to writing she knows what she is talking about.

She has been working full-time in a very, very competitive industry for more than half her life. When it comes to work tips, Caitlin is a person you should listen too, especially when you consider how tough the job market in Korea is these days! These are tips learned from her own experience and she shares them with you because she knows how tough the real world is. I don’t think you will find a lot of her advice in books or websites.

The post I am recommending you to read today is based on job searching, or what I think would be better described as job hustling, because it’s easy enough to find a job, but to actually succeed in obtaining the position is a completely different kettle of fish! You have to work hard, and often engage yourself in tasks you are unfamiliar with , or which may not be related to your job choice at all!

Click here to read Caitlin Kelly’s job hunting advice on her blog!

Why not post a comment on her blog and see if she replies back to you! Remember to engage her in conversation and involve your own experiences – good or bad!

Let me know how you got on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ohmygoodness (c2) permalink
    March 15, 2012 7:43 pm

    Hi I just went to her blog and posted a comment on it. I’m happy to read that cause the writting is very useful to me and also to every students in Korea. As you know these days its way hard to find a jod in korea. And just in my opinion, korean students study hard but they seem like not to know what they have to do for their future including me. Shes giving a advie about how to work better and how to be better person on work field. I love her advise. I’m totally agree with the sentence ‘Talent, i.e. being really good at what you do, is the least of it’. Lastly what i want to do for living in the future is a publish planner, from now on i’m so determined to improve all my skills for the job.

    • March 15, 2012 8:08 pm

      I’m glad you liked it. Good advice is hard to get and I’m glad you can recognise it when you see it!

  2. mintlover permalink
    March 18, 2012 10:39 pm

    Her posting was very impressive. Because that posting made me realize what I have to do right NOW. I thought same as with her once. But it is hard to carry out something regulary. Unless we do nothing, we are not able to get anything. And I never visit other’s blog(especilly written in English)but if I want to write essays well, I’d better read other’s writing.

Leave a Reply

