Skip to content

Chuseok Style

September 24, 2012
by

Well it’s that time of year again when we all have to trek off down through hours of bumper-to- bumper traffic to spend time with screaming cousins, countryside air, and of course, overeating. Yes students, Chuseok is in the air!

Yes, some of us love family holiday occasions like this. And then again some of us couldn’t really say we like it at all. We all have our own reasons. Maybe we have fond memories. Maybe we’re a little homesick. Maybe an aunt or uncle still makes fun of you for something you did when you were nine years old. Maybe you just can’t put up with whatever it is your family are talking about because you’d rather be living it large in a Yeongtong noraebang… But what are you going to do?

20120924-202231.jpg

Your assignment for this week is simple. You must choose and write one of the following short stories. Remember to include all the important supporting information, and also think about how you can make your experieince stand out from other students.

1 – The very best Chuseok I have ever had!
2 – The worst Chuseok I have ever had!
3 – The craziest or weirdest Chuseok I have ever had!

And remember, it really must be the best, worst, craziest, or weirdest Chuseok you ever had!

If you’d like some ideas about how to spell and talk about Chuseok in English, take a read of this blog post of mine where I wrote about my experience of Chuseok last year (don’t worry you don’t have to write as much!).

Chuseok Diary

43 Comments leave one →
  1. We-ro permalink
    September 25, 2012 11:51 pm

    um… My professor is Tod!
    I wonder ‘should I write on this place that you write?’
    🙂

    • September 26, 2012 7:52 am

      Yes, every week we change the blog post’s author. This week it’s my turn, and last week it was Todd’s.

      • We-ro permalink
        September 27, 2012 9:24 pm

        Thanks !!
        Have the nice Chuseok! 🙂

  2. Dalin(T) permalink
    September 28, 2012 11:11 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had!

    -Professor Todd

    Korea traditional festivals are usually not that pleasant for me. Our family is patriarchal just like other conservative families in Korea. Therefore, traditionally, during holiday, men are playing such as watching TV and playing computer games. On the other hand, women are working all day long. As I am a woman, I have to work during holiday, as well and last Chuseok was same like other holidays. I woke up at 7o`clock with my mother and sister to prepare for ancestral rites while my father and my brother was still sleeping. I quickly took a shower and rushed to kitchen. Then, I cleaned dishes and put foods on the plates. Kitchen was incredibly busy and works were tough. The worst moment came to me when I was carrying a plate to the table for a memorial ceremony. The plate was too heavy for me to carry so that I mistakenly dropped some of japchae on the floor. As soon as my father saw it, he yelled at me with my uncles and I felt extremely embarrassed and terrible. Although it was my fault to dropped some of foods, they did not help me at all! They were just sitting on the sofa and watching TV. It was obviously sexual discrimination and unfair. Suddenly, my eyes were filled with tears. I cried in the bathroom for a while and determined not to live like this when I would be independent. Anyway, it was my worst Chuseok experience I`ve ever had and I hope it will be different this time.

  3. Ronie permalink
    September 28, 2012 11:55 pm

    1. The very best Chuseok I have ever had!
    In the day before Chuseok 5 years ago, my family, cousins and aunt watched a comedy movie. Generally, my family members gather at the cousin’s house and make and prepare food or other things for Chuseok. Then we used to be back each home. But at that time after preparing Chuseok tommorow, my aunt suggest watching a movie to us. It was so unique propose that I enjoyed that night.

    2. The very best Chuseok I have ever had!
    In 2010, I was living in Seoul apart from my home alone. It was the third time for me to prepare the entrance exam. I used to be gloomy and shamed on myself. I decided not to be back home so I spent Chuseok alone in my tiny room.

    3. The craziest or weirdest Chuseok I have ever had!
    Actually, I’m not sure that I have craziest or weirdest sotries ever you said…When I was a little boy, I went out my grandparents’ house to see the full moon. The house was in a calm countryside whrere mountains and porches were aroud there. At the moment my cousin went to washroom, I was alone in a garden then felt fear because the legend of scared story head from my cousin occurred to me. Though it was a moment, I didn’t like sounds around the country side night.

    • Ronie permalink
      September 28, 2012 11:57 pm

      -Professor Todd. Oh, I misunderstood this assignment. After finishing writing, I realize that I don’t have to write each stories for those three categories…

      • Ronie permalink
        September 29, 2012 12:01 am

        Plus for story No.2, most people might eat delicious food with their families or talk stoies and play games but I ate some doughnuts and walkd along the lonely street. After being back my room, I went up to rooftop, saw the sky. It was too gloomy and said.

      • proftodd permalink*
        October 2, 2012 10:56 pm

        Reading instructions carefully is important. I enjoyed all three stories. Cheers!

  4. yuji+c permalink
    September 28, 2012 11:56 pm

    It’s was Chuseok that i was 13 years old. It looked like flowing well without a hitch. As usual, i ate meal. There are many delicious things like sanjeok(Korean kebab), fried food, japchae, boiled octopus…
    I really like Chuseok dishes. Especially, I liked seafood. so I ate boiled octopus hurriedly. It was okay by then. After about 30 minute, there was sign in my stomach. I felt like my stomach was melted. I came and went bathroom again and again. I felt dizzy and like all water in my body was got out. Even i was vomit. vomit was going on and on. I was exhausted gradually.My grandmother was pricked my all ten finger. It was Koreans home remedy that pricked with needle. After that i could sleep barely. During the rest of Chuseok, i had to eat porridge. It was my worst and hard Chuseok.

  5. Tank permalink
    September 28, 2012 11:57 pm

    2. The worst Chuseok I have ever had
    – Professor Todd

    I think all Chuseok was good. But I had worst experience for last 2 years.
    Because I was ROK Army. For 2 years, I spent New Year’s Day and Chuseok.
    In there, we also enjoy ourselves by making kite, watching TV, and playing traditional games. Especially, arm-wrestling is most hottest game! It is a man’s pride. We tried to hard to win. We also watched recent movie altogether. Actually we had seen in there, all is war film. Because of gather all, it also fun. We cook some foods ourselves, gimbab, tteokbokki, and ramen. For last 2 years in Chuseok remained my memory. Maybe it also good memory. I didn’t meet many relative family. Because just 1 reasons, I wrote ‘worst Chuseok’ at bigginning. But it can be another reason that I can meet many relatives gladly this Chuseok!

  6. Sally permalink
    September 29, 2012 12:02 am

    My mother and father’s hometowns are too far. My mother’s is 전주, father’s is 부안. So we always have been tied up in traffic in chuseok. It is trademark of korean holidays. Usually inside boring car, my father is angry and mother is sleeping and I imagine flying car listening the music. But that day, Fortunately, there was no traffic jam! So we arrive much faster than other days in chuseok. When we arrived, my cousins have made 송편. I washed my hands immediately, and made 송편 together. In other day in 추석, 송편 are already madeㅜㅜ. That was the first time I have ever made 송편! It was very interesting! Because l can make variety of figures of 송편. I made star, heart, and so on. After steaming the 송편, we ate together. It was very tasty! Next , we have barbecue party at night. Our house has wild front yard, so we could set up the grill and enjoy the party. We talked about our memory of journey and things happened last chuseok. After taking a hearty meal, we displayed the fireworks. The sparks are wonderful, but a night sky is so fantastic. Countryside’s night sky have a lot of stars.
    Anyway, We had a such a meaningful holiday! That’s my the very best chuseok I have ever had.

  7. Broccoli permalink
    September 29, 2012 1:17 am

    The best Chuseok I’ve ever had!

    It was last year. As usual, my grandma and grandpa came to my house in the morning on the first day of Chuseok. After spending a day and a night talking and sharing lives with grandparents, my family delightedly welcomed the friendly visitors, each of who brought something to eat together. It was all the same as the last year or the year before last year, having dinner together and hanging out with families. by But then after dinner, when no one was really sure what to do next but playing cards, my dad started to talk about Wii, the famous family game player, telling the rest of us what large choices of games he’s brought his son. He suggested that we play the most-recently-bought dance game together. It was played by holding the remote control on the right hand and carefully but exactly moving the body, arms and legs as the screen shows. The player can choose the song and the big aunt become the DJ. Before anyone started, half forced but half volunteering, my younger brother and I danced to show the example of how it worked. We had two remote controls, so we could have dance battles: me versus the older female cousin, the big aunt versus the small aunt, and so on. Even the two uncles had dance battles and the rest of us laughed so hard at how stiff and off-the-rhythm such men could ever be. At last, I had a chance to dance with my grandma, and she was pretty good – even better than the small aunt. My grandpa didn’t want to dance, and he was so determined. But this year I want to see him at least holding the controller. Tomorrow morning, my grandparents come, and on Sunday, the rest of our big family comes again. I want to have fun again dancing and watching each other’s stupid motions. What one big united dancing family!

    • Artpen permalink
      September 29, 2012 1:40 am

      It looks like you really did have fun with your family! 🙂

  8. Artpen permalink
    September 29, 2012 1:35 am

    _____Last year I had the best Chuseok I ever had in my life. It was very special and fun because this time I actually cooked with my family and spent a wonderful time. All of them where at my home, my uncle, my aunt, grandmother and father and my cousins. I was very glad to see all of them because I wasn’t able to see them frequently as when I wasn’t in university. My ample living room which most of the time is empty now was full of people. We all started cooking. I was charged cook the Dong-guran-tteng, small flat meat balls. To be honest my favorite dish from Chuseok are the Dong-guran-tteng. I love them. Once we all finished cooking the delicious dishes we were ready to eat. My Chuseok looks very simple but I haven’t experienced Chuseok with the whole family. I was very happy in last year’s Chuseok and I hope this year’s Chuseok to be twice the fun!

  9. yoon +c permalink
    September 29, 2012 2:12 am

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    When I was 15, I have had the worst Chuseok. I was going to have the test 4 days after Chuseok. So I always worried about the test throughout the period. Although I felt bad, I went to my grandparents’ graves. I had have to smile in front of relatives but I couldn’t do it because of worring about the test. Relatives were worried too because of me. So I was more in a bad mood because despite of happy Chuseok, they were not pleasant because of me. I felt very sorry that they didn’t have happy Chuseok. And then, We even went to relative’s house in Ansung. It was a little far from my house. Frankly, I wanted to go to the house to study. Because I thought that I had to study for the test. But my family went to relative’s house without thinking about me so I constrainedly went to there. The same situation was happened in relative’s house. They were worried and I felt bad too. So we could only come back home with feeling sorry. When I got home, I finally didn’t study anything and only was upset. For this reason, that day is my worst Chuseok. Untill now, I felt sorry to my fanily and relatives. I am going to have the best Chuseok in this year.

    • Woopia permalink
      September 29, 2012 3:14 am

      (Professor: Todd)
      Title: Worst and weird Chuseok what I’ve ever had.
      ‘Chuseok’ is one of the Korea traditional festivals.(This is Korea ‘Thanks giving day’) Many incident occur at Chuseok. Actually, I have worst and weird memory about Chuseok.
      A few years ago, when I was a elementary school student, I played with my cousin.
      And this day, the weather was very good, and very peaceful. My cousin and I played in the room at grandmother’s house. We played with trump card and it was very interesting. A few minutes later, we were getting a bottle of water. Because of we are very thirsty. And the bottle was made of glass. After the card game, me and my cousin did do play tricks.- throw the card somewhere. One of the card was hitting the bottle, and it was broken. We are very embarrassed.
      It’s just card, not hard things like knife or stone. In these days, I don’t understand why it was broken.
      In addition, at the evening, my cousin and I was breaking a jar.(I want to believe that it was broken by accident.)
      I felt sorry to my grand mother.

  10. christine permalink
    September 29, 2012 8:11 am

    1-The very best Chuseok I have ever had
    (Professor : Todd)

    The very best Chuseok I have ever had is when I was 9 years old.
    I firstly bought my Han-book which is traditional clothes of korea.
    I really like that clothes, but it was so sad that I have to wear only two time in a year(Chuseok& Seolnal). Anyway I wore hanbook for all that day. Also, all of my cousins gathered and made traditional food, 송편, 전. I usually miss these days, because we are busy for our lives and cannot gather easily at now. Lastly, I played with my cousins. All of them are younger than me, so I had to play with them. The play we had was 윷놀이, playing with four wood stick and making steps with map. The other thing was One card , the game playing with card and you can win when all your cards are in the middle. I had best holiday, Chuseok, when I was 9. I miss these days.

  11. handcream permalink
    September 29, 2012 8:53 am

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    When I was 14 years old, I experienced the worst Cuseok!! My big family gathered Busan my grandparent lived. Busan is so far from my house so most of us was very tired and irritated because of traffic jam. When we gathered, we talk about each family’s welfare usually. And after family’s memorial service, the incident broke out. Suddenly grandfather and elder father shouted. It was not serious matter but they didn’t want to reconcile each other. We didn’t know what should we do. We all kept silent and eventually my elder father left the place. It was my terrible Chseok in my life. I can’t eat traditional food play Yut and get pocket money that day. After that Chuseok I heard that they made better peace and I could have a good time at each Chuseok. This Chuseok, I hope my family would be happy too.

    Proffesor Todd ^o^ Happy holiday~~

  12. Niles permalink
    September 29, 2012 1:21 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    When I was young, I remembered one of the worst my experiences.
    It was the biggest traffic jam. While driving the car for a long time, My father was completely tired and my mother also. Then I was to sleep deeply. But I couldn’t sleep anymore because of seven hours in the car I did sleep.. So as soon as I wake up, I had ask my mother. Where am I? Why our car does stopping here? My mother says do not worry, we will arrive on time. But I was aware that something was wrong. Our car was still stopped. Usually, two hours if we had arrived there. But then we came home at ten o’clock after a long time. It was the worst experiences to me in Chuseok and the tradition (traffic jam) is being continued right up until the present day.

  13. Fresh permalink
    September 29, 2012 2:41 pm

    Professor – Todd

    Maybe 5 or 6 years ago, I have had the worst Chuseok in my life!
    My cousin’s house is in Busan, which is close to my home. So my family always go there. We went Busan that year withou exception. We ate Songpyon and various food. And we left for Maternal grandmother’s house. About 2 hours is the usual time required. But in that day, I was tied up in traffic for over seven hours. We kept repeated stop-go driving in heavy traffic. I was so tired that I fell asleep quickly. But I kept on getting up. After 7 hours later, we had been able to arrived there. We had a horrible time getting through traffic.

  14. We-ro permalink
    September 29, 2012 4:10 pm

    ‘Monday, 09. 12, 2011’ is the best Chuseok I have ever had!! 🙂

    I woke up 07:00. A pulsating headache bothered me. I skipped the roll call. Because I was a sergeant to retire after a month, nobody would touch my nerve. About 08:00, I went to eat a meal. There were many Chuseok snacks such as Songpyeon, crackers, sweet jelly of red beans and so on for soldiers. Since I like sweet jelly of red beans, I snapped at it. Oops. I felt as if I was about to puke. Not only I had a headache but also I lost my sense of taste. After I throw away the every snacks, returned to barracks and called my family. My grandmother asked me to eat delicious foods. I was under the necessity of lying. Smiling bitterly, I entered my barrack and lay down on my bed.
    How much time has passed? I looked around the room with my eyes opened. There were no bunkmates. Maybe all soldiers would play soccer for Chuseok competition. Of course, I don’t like playing soccer so I went to Cyber-Knowledge-Information room, called PC room in the outer world, society. 14:00, I did watch webtoons. 15:00, 16:00, 17:00, and about 18:00…… a bunkmate entered into the room and asked me whether to eat dinner. I was hungry but had no appetite. In addition, webtoons was exciting! So I drank two 250ml military milk cartons keeping in my locker. Unexpectedly, the milk was delicious. But not long after that, I was having a stomachache. Ha ha ha… The Chuseok night grew darker with my aches so.
    What do you think of it? I think last year the dreadful day is the best Chuseok I have ever had!! 🙂 …boohoo…

  15. ourabi+C permalink
    September 29, 2012 9:29 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    2. in 2010, When I was in the army in seoul , I had to stay away from my family Everybody except me got together in Daegu where my grandmother lived. They had a great time but I could not join them. I wished I had been there but I just watched “Home alone” on TV which was selected as the worst movie by netizen because they showed the movie every Chuseok and Christmas. Fortunately I ate SONGPEON and Korean pan cake. I also had Soju which is thought of as the famous drink of Korea but it made me feel more miserable and lonely. I think I will never have another lonely Chuseok, and I tell everybody I meet that whatever Chuseok you have it is better than my lonely Chuseok in the army.

  16. Harry permalink
    September 29, 2012 9:30 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    – Professor Todd

    When I was young child, I often used to have an upset stomach. It was beginning of the event. grandmother, cousins, and so on family came together at my home. I help my mother to make some foods. Everything was good before eating dinner. There are a lot of foods on the table. I really expect to eat them. So when I eat these foods, I chew the foods roughly. After dinner, I went to bed because I was tired. But It was my mistake. When I woke up, I feel bad because I have an upset stomach. My head and stomach were sick so I let the blood out. But It didn’t work and I vomited. It was really terrible event to me. I don’t want to think about that day.

  17. Olivia Min permalink
    September 29, 2012 10:32 pm

    Professor: Todd
    My worst chuseok happened in last year. I was a high school student who had an upcomming SAT in just 50 days. I thought it’s a waste of time to go to grandma’s house at that period. So I decided not to go with my family. Instead, I stayed at home to study the test. But It was such a stupid decision. Because I didn’t even open a book for whole holiday. What a regretful decision it was! If I had went to grandma’s house with my family, I could not only meet my relatives, but also get pocket money from them. Since then, I never promise myself to stay home because of study.

    • Jin permalink
      September 30, 2012 12:21 am

      Worst but unforgettable Chuseok what I’ve ever had.
      Chuseok is one of the biggest holiday where people have a good time with their family. But, when I was schoolchild, I’ve had a worst experience in chuseok. My family went to GangJin where grandma lived in first day of chuseok. Whenever chuseok come, in grandma’s house, My family and relatives always perform commemorative rite for ancestors in chuseok. But incident happened from this rite. When performed rite, we filled a glass with alcohol. And ,after performed rite, we had custom that drank this alcohol because we believe drinking that alcohol brings luck. At that time, Because I had wondering about drinking alcohol, I pestered my parents for drinking. In the end, My parents permitted drinking alcohol. So, I drunk a sip of alcohol that tasted very bitter than I thought. But problem was happened after a few minutes. My face became red like a fire engine and i felt dizzy. On this account, my family and relatives were embarrassed and grandma scolded my parents as she got angry. So, since this accident happened, my family and relatives have naver offered alcohol.

  18. Jin permalink
    September 30, 2012 12:21 am

    Proffesor: Todd

  19. Zhansaya +C permalink
    September 30, 2012 5:42 am

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had…

    As far as I know Chuseok is one of the traditional festivals in Korea. It is one of the traditional holidays which you spend with your family and relatives. Actually, in my home country we spend New Year’s Day and Nauryz with our families and we travel long distances to be with them these days. I don’t have any relatives in Korea, so I had to spend Chuseok in a dormitory, in my room with my roommate.
    I slept till 4 p.m. and then me and my roommate and her friends, also exchange students, decided to go outside and eat something. Most restaurants were closed, so we didn’t have a choice. We went to KFC and ordered some hamburgers and Coca-Cola.
    So ununsual that there are few people in the streets, and it is so cold outside.
    After getting to the dormitory I talked with my parents in Skype.
    My roommate went to sleep and I’m listening to the music, drinking hot chocolate, commenting on friends’s statuses and doing this assignment.
    Nothing special or exciting.
    I hope next time I won’t be alone in this holiday.

  20. Jacob permalink
    September 30, 2012 9:59 pm

    The Worst Chuseok what i’ve ever had.
    When i was a middle school student, maybe 7 years ago, i was an exchange student in Canada. And since i was in Canada, i couldn’t enjoy the Chuseok very well. I didn’t eat Songpeon which is a traditional rice cake and i couldn’t meet my cousin. Well, there was a thanksgiving day in Canada but it was kind of different with Korea. Because of i’m the only child, i feel like i’m alone often so I called my mom to say how is she doing and she asked me did i have some korean food or got any special gift. And i said i had really good korean food that my homestay’s mother cooked it for me. It was not a lie since she cooked some korean food for me, but it was not that good.
    But anyway, i am having really great Chuseok right now, but if i think of that Chuseok in Canada, i feel so sad and i will not spend the big holiday in Korea alone!

    -Pro. Todd

  21. Ann C (Professor Conor) permalink
    September 30, 2012 10:07 pm

    1. The very best Chuseok I have ever had!

    When I was 16, our family went Vietnam to meet our relatives on Chuseok. Actually, we planned to go there a week before Chuseok, but we couldn’t. Because, there were some problems that my father had to deal with before going there. So, we had no choice but to delay our plan to go there. Therefore, we had to spend our Chuseok in Vietnam.
    Anyway, when we first arrived there, we could meet our relatives.
    We were very glad to meet them, because it’s been over a year since we’ve met them. So, we had some talk there and went their home. It was really great. There was a swimming pool, something like I’ve seen on TV. Anyway we had dinner there and took some rest.
    From the next day, they guided us for Vietnam’s hot places. (I mean the tourist attrractions.)
    It was really fun and I spent wonderful days in Vietnam.
    Threore, those days were the best Chuseok I’ve ever had.

  22. Kelly permalink
    September 30, 2012 11:04 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    Chuseok is one of the most famous and meaningful holiday in Korea. Because my father is the elder son, my family have performed ancestral rites. Last year, I had a worst experience. The day before chuseok, my family began to prepare food for ancestral rites table in the early morning. I was very tired, but I prepared food hard. the next day, To hold ancestral rites, we got up at the crack of dawn. I am very tired and I did not feel good condition. When every people bowed, I suddenly felt dizzy, had a stomachache, and then I fell ill. So I couldn’t perform ancestral rites anymore, I had to take a rest. I did not eat both breakfast and lunch. I ate a bit of dinner. But I tossed my dinner all I had eaten in several times. I couldn’t eat the dilicious food and couldn’t enjoy Chuseok with relative.

  23. Zhansaya +C permalink
    October 1, 2012 7:46 am

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had…
    As far as I know Chuseok is one of the traditional festivals in Korea. It is one of the traditional holidays which you spend with your family and relatives. Actually, in my home country we spend New Year’s Day and Nauryz with our families and we travel long distances to be with them these days. I don’t have any relatives in Korea, so I had to spend Chuseok in a dormitory, in my room with my roommate.
    I slept till 4 p.m. and then me and my roommate and her friends, also exchange students, decided to go outside and eat something. Most restaurants were closed, so we didn’t have a choice. We went to KFC and ordered some hamburgers and Coca-Cola.
    So ununsual that there are few people in the streets, and it is so cold outside.
    After getting to the dormitory I talked with my parents in Skype.
    My roommate went to sleep and I’m listening to the music, drinking hot chocolate, commenting on friends’s statuses and doing this assignment.
    Nothing special or exciting.
    I hope next time I won’t be alone in this holiday.

  24. hehe C permalink
    October 3, 2012 12:53 am

    The best Chuseok I have ever had!

    When I was 14, I visited to my grandmother and grandfather who live in rural with my father and mother.
    At that time was very nice because all midterm exam finished before Chuseok holiday beginnig, weather was so clear as real autumm(blue sky and moderate temperature),
    I met many puppies, I picked a bunch of chestnuts and sweetpotatoes I like and
    I ate many delicious foods like tteok, rib, sanjeok(Korean kebab),dumpling.
    Above all things, my birthday was in the one of the Chuseock holiday,
    so I got a lot of allowance and recieve a cake and presents from my relatives.

    After the Chuseok I made a bankbook and deposited all my money and
    ask my mother to put my bankbook for a while and forgot!
    But few years later mom used up all my money.

  25. Kitty+ C permalink
    October 3, 2012 1:46 am

    My best Chusoek I have ever had.

    When Chusoek, We can meet our cousins, grandparents and eat many kinds of tasty food.
    But I think, Chusoek has bad things too.
    One of that is traffic jam. Since I was young, I used to go grandparent’s house. Their house is so far from My house, so It takes many hours to go there. it was always bothering me.
    The other one is I have to cook for Chusoek. For many hours, I have to sit down on the floor, and I cook many dishes. it is so painful too.
    But this Chusoek, I didn’t go anywhere and also, I didn’t cook any food! Because, My parents had some trouble with cousins family. So we didn’t go grandparent’s house! yahoo
    So I stayed home and take a nap, watching TV and so on.
    ABSOLUTLEY It was greaaat Chusoek I have ever had.

  26. Shirley + C permalink
    October 5, 2012 10:33 pm

    The worst Chuseok I’ve ever had.

    I love Chuseok because I don’t have to go to school. And I can eat many delicious food. But when I was 15 years old, I didn’t like Chuseok at first time. As soon as the holiday ended, a midterm exam started. So at that time, I had to prepare my exam. Fortunately, my cousin also had to prepare an exam. My cousin and I started to study and promised that we wouldn’t watch TV. But it was loud outside the room because of the noise which my family made by talking. Especially, I couldn’t concentrate on my book because of the TV. As a result, we planned to watch TV a little. But when we stopped watching TV programs, it was already 11 pm. And also, next day, we didn’t keep our plan. We didn’t study hard. We didn’t enjoy Chuseok completely and didn’t study for the exam enough to take an exam.
    I regretted not doing my best for the exam. I thought I wasn’t patient. When I came back home, I studied very very hard until dawn. So I think Chuseok in 2006 is the worst for me. After that, the second semester mideterm exam started before Chuseok. I realized that studying during the holiday is terrible.

    • Shirley+C permalink
      October 9, 2012 11:49 pm

      I also posted twice…

  27. lhnhsms C permalink
    October 6, 2012 12:24 am

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had

    It was when I was 18 years old. As usual Chuseok, our family, father, mother, me and my younger sister went to my grandmother’s home(father side). We always went to father side grandmother’s home every Chuseok. Because their home was close to my home. My mother side grandmother’s home was way far from my home. So we didn’t go as much as we went to father side grandmothers’. Afrwe arrived to grandmother’s home. My mother and I was cooking all kinds of foods. Usually in Chuseok, many housewives exhausted for cooking. My mother was same as them too. So she was sensitive. In my mother’s perspective, father was just laying down on floor, watching TV. She got upset because of she always working every Chuseok, and never went to see her mother. Next day of Chuseok, when our family came back to home, my mother eventually exploded her emothion. I was so sympathized with her. I felt sorry for her. I couldn’t treated that just adult’s thing. So that was my worst Chuseok ever. My heart was heavy for them.

  28. May ( prof.Todd) permalink
    October 6, 2012 12:04 pm

    The worst Chuseok I have ever had.

    Chuseok is our most important holiday in Korea.
    Thanksgiving Day in America, like Chuseok in Korea, is a time for families to get together. Chuseok visit a family member’s grave in the morning. before Chuseok prepare the food. Last year, I had a worst experience. I had a bad cold and flu in Choseok. so I had no appetite. I was pleased to meet relatives, but I had no power.
    no great relatives came. so I must help my mother. because relatives can not help her. Although I had a bad cold, I helped my mom. For this reason, I had a cold grew worse. Chuseok for this year is almost here. I hope to be healthy.

  29. Shirley+C permalink
    October 6, 2012 6:08 pm

    1.The worst Chuseok I’ve ever had.

    I love Chuseok because I don’t have to go to school. And I can eat many delicious food. But when I was 15 years old, I didn’t like Chuseok at first time. As soon as the holiday ended, a midterm exam started. So at that time, I had to prepare my exam. Fortunately, my cousin also had to prepare an exam. My cousin and I started to study and promised that we wouldn’t watch TV. But it was loud outside the room because of the noise which my family made by talking. Especially, I couldn’t concentrate on my book because of the TV. As a result, we planned to watch TV a little. But when we stopped watching TV programs, it was already 11 pm. And also, next day, we didn’t keep our plan. We didn’t study hard. We didn’t enjoy Chuseok completely and didn’t study for the exam enough to take an exam.
    I regretted not doing my best for the exam. I thought I wasn’t patient. When I came back home, I studied very very hard until dawn. So I think Chuseok in 2006 is the worst for me. After that, the second semester mideterm exam started before Chuseok. I realized that studying during the holiday is terrible.

Leave a Reply

