Skip to content

What does music do for you?

April 16, 2013
by

The exams have just finished and I imagine we could all do with taking it a little easy while we prepare for the second half of the semester. We’ve only got a few more weeks left here and I thought I’d give us something we can all enjoy before we start back into more serious topics.

One thing that makes me feel better, always, is when I turn on some music I like. I think it’s safe to say that music has a positive effect on everybody. Even people who don’t really listen to that much music enjoy music. Music has so many different effects on us, both good and bad – it can make us happy, angry, reminiscent, optimistic, depressed, and so many more emotions. And it does more!

Music is so diverse that it can effect us in so many ways. People are so diverse that we like to listen to music in different ways. I like to listen to music when I’m walking down the street where I can just shut off everything that is going on around me, sailing by all the usual nonsense that goes on in the street that doesn’t effect me! When I am at home I like to turn on my stereo, put a CD in (yes, I still use CDs) and turn up the volume, and then I dance around my apartment – of course I only do this when no one else is home!

Here is your assignment for the week:

Choose a song and find a link for it so that your fellow students can listen also (youtube is a good place to look as there are usually accompanying videos). Write down the name of the singer and the name of the song. If you can, post a link to the video so that we can listen in as well.

Then pick one of the tasks below:

1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

4. Why do you dislike this song or kind of music?

5. How do you like to listen to this song, and why this way in particular (e.g. in a club, through headphones, a stereo etc)? How does this way of listening allow you to experience the song differently than other ways?

If you want post more than one song, fell free to do so, but please don’t get carried away (I know I always do).

To get you in the musical mood, I’m going to include three songs that I like.

This song is called My Number and it’s sang by Foals. It’s a very upbeat tune, and what actually caught my attention to this song first was that it was a staff pick on the video sharing website Vimeo. This song comes off Foals third album Holy Fire, and like their previous two albums it comes highly recommended. The song has a great feel to it, with complex and intricate arrangements that really come together. It’s a very well produced song, like all their work.

The next song is (Night Time is) The Right Time by Ray Charles (of course). The thing that I love about soul music is the big band sound, but also the voices of the singers are so unique and enrapturing. These days so many singers seem to sound the same, but when you listen to guys like Ray Charles or (even better) Otis Redding, then you can really see that you don’t need to sound like everyone else to be a great singer, you just need to be able to sing with all your heart. I’m always listening to this kind of music – very loudly – whenever I’m home alone, maybe doing some cleaning or messing around on the computer over the weekend. It’s really hard to get work done (even write this assignment) when I turn on a song like this because all I can do is tap my foot and shake my shoulders and head to the sound of the music – but maybe I’m like this with all the music I listen to.

This song is from a band called The Stone Roses. It’s not one of their most famous songs but it’s one of my favourite, and it’s called What the World is Waiting For. When I was growing up, The Stone Roses were basically the band that got me really interested in music; before I used to listen to really bad chart music and wasn’t really impressed by what I heard. I think it’s safe to say that my world became a better place when I first heard these guys playing. Again this song is a really upbeat and positive sound that just encourages me to get up and get things done, and I can’t be anything but happy listening to it. Musically, the balance between the four members contribution just hits the perfect balance, and while this isn’t their best song by any stretch of the imagination, it’s definitely the one that I listen to the most because of the effect it has on my mood (already I’m happy writing about it).

Remember to listen to other people’s songs and post a few comments. It can help you to get more comfortable communicating in this way, I think, and it’s also fun to talk about music.

96 Comments leave one →
  1. JWJWJW(T) permalink
    May 1, 2013 3:23 pm

    Carly Rae Jepsen – “Call Me Maybe ”

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    This song makes me smile and be happy for two reasons. First, this song makes me happy because its melody is very cheerful. I usually like to listen to some songs that have cheerful melody because I become active and happy when I listen to them. Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call me Maybe” is the best of them, so its melody always makes me happy and active. Second, my experience related to this song gives me a good energy, so this song makes me happy and smile. I went to a high school as a praciting teacher for a month, and a foreign teacher and I taught students what the rhyme is with this song. Students were very interested in this song, and they really enjoyed learning English rhyme. I was moved because they learned it very enthusiastically with this song, and this song gave me a good impresson and memory. Then I feel happy when I listen to this song after that time.

    • Seven C2 permalink
      May 2, 2013 7:56 pm

      Last year, this song was big hit!!!
      I like this song.. Mostly girls like this song though..
      It is not only energetic but also cute!

      • Christine(T) permalink
        May 3, 2013 9:25 am

        Yeah! It was really big hit!
        I can even hear this song until now in the street and everywhere!

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:21 am

      Yes, this song was my blog BGM for a while. It’s really sweet and exactly fit good with spring.

      • Chiodos(T) permalink
        May 4, 2013 12:25 am

        fit WELL not Good sorry haha.

  2. Betty(CR2-Todd) permalink
    May 1, 2013 4:10 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    This song makes me feel happy and cheerful. First of all, the melody of this song is so nice and exiting. sometimes, I feel like dancing when i listen to this song. And the lyrics of this song is very sweet. The song is about a gril who don’t know how beautiful she is and singers confess their love to girl. So, through listening this song, I can feel like being a popular and beloved gril by handsome boys like ‘One direction.’ The last thing why this song makes me feel good is that ‘One direction’ sings this song. I’m not that big fan of them, but they are really handsome and cute. I watched this music video many times and now, I can immediatelty think about them when i listen to this song. It feels like I am being with them, popular and cute boys. For these reasons I like this song so much.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:29 am

      In a way that you are is enououough~
      Hope there’s one who can love my face with no makeup!! haha

    • Avec des Fries -C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:59 am

      So cheerful!! exciting melody and good rhythm, above all, the lyrics is so nice!!!^^

  3. gdlabel(T) permalink
    May 1, 2013 10:36 pm


    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    This song is ‘Wonderful place’ by N.E.R.D. and the vocalist of this group is Pharrell Williams.
    Actually, since I listened to this song for the first time from the BGM of one man, I was fascinated by his voice and everything about him. So I search for all the music of N.E.R.D on the internet and his solo album too. He is famous for singer and record producer who has trained a number of great singers in the United States, but he is also outstanding in many different fields – fashion, design, and his own business.
    It means that his creative inspiration has an effect on various artistic works.
    To return to our subject, this song which is also one of his artistic masterpieces makes me feel peaceful and calm because of entire melody including the starting sound of whistle, and the lyrics, which say the world as wonderful just like the name of this song. Although there are incomprehensible words seemed to be arranged by the writer’s stream of consciousness, these things also make me feel enrapturing and let me imagine a remote wonderful place.
    So it is good to enjoy at this vital spring season and I want to share this feeling with you.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:36 am

      What a strong impression that artist name gives. N.E.R.D…haha
      Though I heard them for the first time, I like his voices!! It’s gorgeous and sweeeet! No wonder you can feel the peace inside this music. Real good one.

  4. Micheal(T) permalink
    May 1, 2013 11:01 pm



    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    This song is Bruno Mars`s “Just Way You Are”. Personally, this is my love song. Whenever I listen to this song, it makes me smile and feel happy because it reminds me of my lover. I think that the reason why this song makes me happy may be because of its lyrics. The lyrics do not have hard parts to understand. It shows the singer`s emotion from the bottom of his heart. He said like “love just the way you are”. He just expresses straightforward her beauty. I also told my lover how much she is beautiful by using simple words, not implied words. Therefore, this similarity is likely to fascinate me. Whenever I listen to this song, I imagine that this song is my love letter for her.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:41 am

      That’s so sweet of you. Yes, straighforward lyrics indeed. This song makes me feel like I’m getting proposed by someone. I think that’s why I like this song too.

  5. lullu+C2 permalink
    May 2, 2013 3:29 am

    Singer: Bang, Ye-dam
    Song: Baby (Justin Bieber)

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    Even though this boy, Ye-dam, is not a professional singer, this song fascinates me. It was first time I’ve heard this song, by chance, from a TV program, K-POP STAR, the one of Korean audition programs. He was a contestant in the audition. I think the reason I’m fascinated is because he is a little boy and he also has a beautiful and clear voice. It makes me feel artless or genuine because I prefer this feeling to glamorous musical skill. I hope he will grow up to be a world-famous singer with this pure sensibility in the future.

    • Dreamcatcher C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:13 am

      I love this song too!! wow, he is so talented. His voice makes me cry because it is so beautiful… As you said, I hope he grows up to be a world famous singer!

  6. Mary C1 permalink
    May 2, 2013 12:07 pm

    3. This song is called the Heart Songs and sang by the Weezer. I’ve been known this song when I was high school student. The lyrics were written over the history of how the band, Weezer formed and the singers whom they favored. Especially, one of my favorite lyrics are from the chorus ” These are my heart songs. They never feel wrong.” Through the lyrics, I can feel the firm belief of their own thinking and sincerity of the band’s music perception. Whenever I listen to the song, I try to learn to live sincere life and struggle to climb up to the dream just like as the band had reached the top.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:57 am

      Wow. They are really good. It makes me rethink about myself and my behavior. They look so beautiful as they sing about the passion they have toward singing.

  7. James(T) permalink
    May 2, 2013 1:38 pm

    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

    I always wanted to be a vocal memeber of a band. I joined my department’s band as soon as I became college student. This song is the song I sang at my first performance. Actually it was not what
    I wanted but considering other instruments and condition, I couldn’t help singing. My team practiced it for 2 month. Unfortunately, we all very nervous so everyone did some unusual mistakes. Plus, one of string from the guitar was cut off in the middle of the performance. At that time, I was planned to go to military service so there wouldn’t be next performance for a while. I was really sad about it. That was 5 years ago. Thesedays I put this song on my play list so everytime when I turn on my mp3 player, I listen to it. Whenever the song is playing, it reminds me of the performance day and all that 2 month of practice. I don’t feel sad anymore but I miss those moment a lot. All team members are now busy and it’s been so long time to be together. This song is a precious memory box of my freshman life.

  8. choco(T) permalink
    May 2, 2013 2:43 pm

    • choco(T) permalink
      May 2, 2013 3:06 pm

      DAFT PUNK Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

      1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

      This song makes me be active and gain strength. Lyrics of this song simple and concise. However impactive and repeated words give me strong awakening that arouses I have to do something harder, faster, better and stronger. I listen this song when I am tired and I have a lot of work to do. It makes me concentrate on assignments and get power to move. It is proper for this song to be called my power energy.

  9. jenny C1 permalink
    May 2, 2013 3:38 pm

    July-“In love”

    PSY-“gentleman”

    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

    When I study something, I usually listen to the music. But I listen music without words. One day, when I studied English, I wanted to listen songs which have words. But I didn’t concentrate studying English and turn off the songs. So I found out that if I listen to songs which have words, I don’t do anything. Finally as I study something, I never listen to the music with words. These day, I usually listen ‘In Love ‘ by July
    And I always listen to the music with words. For example, I go to the university from my house by buses. When I take buses to go the university, I’m very bored. So, at the time, the music is like friends. And I prefer exciting songs to beautiful songs. Especially I like gentle man and often listen this song.

  10. Amy(C1) permalink
    May 2, 2013 4:19 pm

    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?
    -This song is called [The lazy song] and it’s song by [Bruno mars]. I usually listen to this song in my bed and when I oversleep on Saturday. I turn this song when I wake up after long sleep, I still feel like sleeping, and I don’t feel like doing anything. I like the song, because the lyrics of song tell totally what I want to talk. The voice of Bruno Mars is so sweet, so I like all of his song.

    There is another song that I listen to that in particular situation. That is called [Raindrop] and it’s song by [IU]. I listen to this song when it’s raining. I also listen to this song when I am home alone or when I am taking a bus alone. The atmosphere of song is dreamlike. I like its lyrics and its melody, because it made me calm.

    • Amy(C1) permalink
      May 2, 2013 9:41 pm

      Something wrong in my comment. I will comment again!.

    • May 3, 2013 2:37 pm

      It’s funny you brought up The Lazy Song. A few years ago I was teaching a class full of Italians in a summer camp in Dublin. Each class had to do a project and decided to write a song and then do a video. They chose the music from The Lazy Song and then put their own words to it about their time in Dublin. It was a lot of fun! Here’s the song (they even mention me in it!) http://youtu.be/oMvmj7wKXOk

  11. Seven C2 permalink
    May 2, 2013 7:58 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    This song is called ‘The Yeosu Night Sea’ and it’s sung by ‘Busker Busker’ which is Korea pop group. Busker Busker’s first album was released in 2012 and ‘The Yeosu Night Sea’ was not a title track of their album. But it catched huge popularity as much as the title song; Cherry blossom Ending. This song is about the love story after breaking up with one’s love. Many people empathized its poetic lyrics and smooth melody reminding their ex-love. Especially Koreans tend to listen to ballad music putting their expression into the song. So did I.

    Be honest, my hometown is Yeosu, Korea, that is why I was interested in this song at frist. However, it does not mean that I like this song just because its name. After listening to this song first, I was fascinated its lyrics and melody, so I repeated it again and again. I thought it was totally my story! Whenever I listen to ‘The Yeosu Night Sea’, it reminds me a lot. “I want to walk this sea along with you” It is part of the lyric from the song. I used to walk along with my ex-girlfriend! Besides in a music video, I can see several unforgettable places which I went before. Even though I have lived in Suwon Since graduating from high school six years ago, the most precious memories are still alive in Yeosu. Not only old school days but also love story with my ex-girlfriend. Furthermore, when this song was released, I was studying abroad. At that time I got a kind of homesick missing my family and hometown a lot. This song helped me to relieve my homesick.

    • transformer(c2) permalink
      May 3, 2013 11:16 pm

      I love this song. At last year, I went to the 2012 Yeosu EXPO. And on the Yeosu beach with gleaming stars, I drank beers with my friend listening this song. Thank you for your posting which make me come up with my valuable memory.

      • Seven C2 permalink
        May 4, 2013 1:27 am

        I am glad to hear that!
        I really like drinking beer with my friends near by the sea!
        It’s really awesome!
        I hope you had a really good time in Yeosu.

  12. Lora(T) permalink
    May 2, 2013 9:55 pm

    You and I both – Jason Mraz
    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    Whenever I listen to this song, l feel very comfortable and it makes me pretty leisurely. I exactly don’t know the reason, but when I heard this song for the first time, l listened to it over and over again. At first, I like the melody of this song and then l was attracted by his voice. Moreover, after I understood the meaning of lyric, I began to enjoy listening to this song. I am addicted as I heard more the song and I followed up with melody and his voice. After I know this song, every time I am concerned about something, I listen to it repeatedly. In addition, it makes me concentrate, when I start doing or finish something. Especially, what listen to this song in the morning makes me more fresh. I hope you enjoy this song and have a similar feeling to me.

  13. smoker permalink
    May 2, 2013 10:05 pm

    No words can describe this one, awesome!!!!

    • smoker permalink
      May 2, 2013 10:07 pm

      c2

    • May 3, 2013 2:32 pm

      Alas you will have to find words to describe it otherwise it won’t be considered as a completed assignment.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 3, 2013 11:31 pm

      Hahahah Sorry couldn’t stop laughing by you mentioning no words to say for the assignment. You are the bomb for tonight. Haha

  14. Clock - C1 permalink
    May 3, 2013 12:14 am

    http://music.naver.com/video/popupPlayer.nhn?videoId=8003

    Big Bang’s How Gee

    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

    The music culture of Korea is being eaten by African-American music. Of course, in the case of PSY, even though he, rather, is reaching at all over the world on his own way, most Korean music is being affected by American music, especially African-American music. In this context, this song was affected by African-American music, and its name is ‘How Gee’. As this song’s rhythm is very very active and its tempo is also very fast, when I listen to this music, I feel very funny and exciting, although as its lyric has so many slangs and informal English, I cannot understand this song’s meaning. For these reason, I enjoy listening to this music in the street. In contrast, when I experience bad things, or want to think of something in depth, I listen to the music ‘Hear me’ by Jim Brickman. This song is very still, quiet, calm, and even sorrowful.

    • Seven C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:40 am

      Wow!
      I know this song.
      Bigbang made this song by sampling Black Machine’s song.
      That is why this song is familiar with us!

  15. Ronie(T) permalink
    May 3, 2013 12:20 am


    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?
    I imagine a boy eager to tell a girl whom the boy likes his love. The boy is festive and has an appointment with the girl for a date. But she does not realize his mind to her. Though he is exciting, he is little sad to her because she seems to consider him just a friend. Nevertheless, he is planning to go on a picnic to a nice park where is near a beautiful pond. The time has not come yet so he is wating for her in a park sitting on a bench. He is practicing his words again and again for the proposal

  16. Alice(T) permalink
    May 3, 2013 12:25 am


    [Beenzino- Nike Shose]
    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

    This is a song about girl who put on nike shose and the lyrics of the song tell she is the most gorgeous woman among the Seoul city. When I hear this song, I am excited about thimping beats of song, flowing raps of Bennzino and the Quiett and fluttering lyrics telling ‘you don’t need to wear expensive luxury item, you look good although you are putting on casual nike shose’and this makes me high and provokes smiles. While listening the music, I imagine myself with nike shose walking around the Han river. Just listen! It will makes you feel better.

  17. Lemon tree -C2 permalink
    May 3, 2013 12:30 am

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    It’s a sweet song. It’s about a woman and man who want to find a way back into love. So it’s a duet song which is sung by Hugh Grant and Hailey Bennett. Yes, this song is OST of ‘Music and lyrics’. When I was high school student, my music teacher showed a movie ‘Music and Lyrics’. The movie was really good to me. I like the main characters, Hugh Grand and Drew Berrymore and the film’s musics especially ‘Way Back into Love’.
    I felt lovely and warm when I watched this movie, so when I listen to this song I also feel lovely and warm. I sometimes watch romantic movie when I’m lonely or want to see cute couple. I think it’s because I don’t have boyfriend every day so I want to feel some romantic thing. But when I’m busy or don’t have some space to watch movie, I listen this song. It makes me feel love and warm. It makes me better. I recommend you this song, when you are tired or lonely. It’s lovely and sweet song. While you are listening to ‘way back into love’, LOVE might be coming to you.

    P.S: I am sorry that I could not attach the video because I don’t know the way.

    • Lemon tree -C2 permalink
      May 3, 2013 12:37 am

      Please ignore P.S ….

    • Seven C2 permalink
      May 3, 2013 9:31 am

      Thanks for posting this song!
      Whenever I heard this song, I was curious about its name!
      this is really sweet!

    • Micheal(T) permalink
      May 7, 2013 1:07 pm

      oh my.. this song reminds me of the momoiry in high school
      I listened this song before go to bed
      so sweet!! it makes me relax…

  18. kelly +C1 permalink
    May 3, 2013 1:31 am

    Travie McCoy – Billionaire

    http://blog.daum.net/dasomi0811/852

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    ‘Billionaire’ sung by Travie McCoy is one of my favorite pop-song. When I listen this song, I feel joyful and delight. The melody of this song makes me feel this way. I also feel some hopeful because of this song’s lyrics. The song’s lyrics touched my heart. At the current society, most of the rich does not give their earned money back to the society. As a result, the rich-poor gap is much more enormous. But a singer sung this song doesn’t like this circumstance. So the singer hopes to become a billonaire, give his entire fortune to all people. I feel sympathy with the singer.

  19. Lia (C2 T) permalink
    May 3, 2013 1:51 am


    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

    A title of this song is Payphone and a singer is Alex.G. (Alex. G did a cover of Maroon 5’s Payphone.)
    I usually listen to this song in my room right before I go to sleep. The ultimate reason why I listen to this song in my room is that my room is the most comfortable place to me. Whenever I listen to this song, I feel calm and comfortable because the singer’s voice is soft and sweet. That’s why I want to feel this song lying in my bed with an easy mind. My room is the best place for me to be absorbed in this song and the singer’s voice. Another reason is that I can listen to this song only through an internet. If I want to listen to this song, I have to enter YouTube. I couldn’t find mp3 file because this song is cover song of Payphone. If I use my smart-phone to enter YouTube, the internet occasionally is disconnected. That’s why I have to use me notebook computer for smooth connection with internet. For these reasons, the most suitable place is my comfortable room when I listen to this song.

    Another song that I frequently listen to is 청춘 (Spring time) by Dynamic Duo. I like to listen to this song on the bus to my house. I strongly recommend this song to my classmates when they feel gloomy because of feeling regret for the past, also future.

    • Lia (C2 T) permalink
      May 3, 2013 1:52 am

      This is 청춘 (Spring Time)

    • transformer(c2) permalink
      May 3, 2013 11:32 pm

      Oh! do you love maroon5?? I really love them!! I posted another maroon 5’s song right before. I agree with your thought about the singer’s voice is not only soft but sweet. And one more thing, his voice is so sexy.

      And I love Dynamic Duo too. “청춘”‘s lylics shows the real problem and worry of the twenties, I think.

      I recommend another song of Dynamic duo, “막잔하고 나갈게”.

      This song is about the worry of young worker.

      • transformer(c2) permalink
        May 3, 2013 11:36 pm

        Sorry;;;; I’ve just linked a page,,but,,,, I don’t know why other VOD is embeded..

        Conor,, Couldn’t I remove the wrong comments?? T-T..

      • transformer(c2) permalink
        May 3, 2013 11:41 pm

        It would be the “막잔하고 나갈게” video;;;;;…… Sorry for my mistakes ㅠ.ㅠ

  20. Christine(T) permalink
    May 3, 2013 9:22 am

    Michel Teló – Ai Se Eu Te Pego

    5. How do you like to listen to this song, and why this way in particular (e.g. in a club, through headphones, a stereo etc)? How does this way of listening allow you to experience the song differently than other ways?

    Actually I learned this song when I was in US for language school. There were so many brazilian students in the program. They came that school by exchange student. Firstly, one korean said that this song is so famous that every brazilian know and like it. Their mother language is Portuguese , so of course the lyric of the song was really unfamiliar for me at that time. When I heard that song for the first time, I didn’t like it. But the song is really addictive. It made me very exciting and pleasant whenever I listened it. I became closer with brazilian friends by the song. By teaching and learning the tune and meaning of lyric, we became more closer. Until now, I can make a contact with some of friends. I couldn’t believe it, but it was really popular music among brazilian! like a gangnam style. But I am not sure about their likeness. I usually listen this music when I miss them and the song reminds me of the time in US with them.

  21. Leblanc (C2) permalink
    May 3, 2013 12:30 pm

    Leeeunmee – both sides now

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    Whenever I listen to this song, I have a feeling of peace and serenity. First of all, the voice of the singer is so low and comfortable, so I can listen to the song light-heartly. Especially, I like the latter part of the song most because the meloday and the voice is so magnificent that I can get involved in the song more easily. In addition, every single word of the song touched my heart. I heard the singer wanted to gave people comfort, courage, and most importantly hope through this song. Like tha name of the song, life has both bright and dark sides. Although you think that you are in the dark side, I want you to believe that the dark side will end soon. By the way, the original singer of the song is Joni Mitchell.

  22. rainbow(T) permalink
    May 3, 2013 1:37 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    Every December, we can hear this song in every streets or stores and then we know Christmas is coming. There is no doubt that almost every people say “All I want for Christmas is you”, if I ask a question that “What comes to you mind when you think of Christmas song?”.
    When I listen to this song, it makes me really get excited and I eagerly look forward to Christmas, Not only I, many other people also look forward to Christmas and feel the Christmas spirit by hearing this song. The sound of a bell in the front part of this song makes people are already in the Christmas mood and walking through the stores that which this song came from, seems the Christmas spirit is already all around us.

    • rainbow(T) permalink
      May 3, 2013 1:40 pm

      All I Want For Christmas Is You – Mariah Carey

    • Cookie (T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 5:45 pm

      Oh, this is my favorite Christmas song. I am eagerly looking forward to the coming Christmas!!!

      • May 4, 2013 10:46 pm

        Christmas? Christmas? Guys it’s May!!!

  23. James C1 permalink
    May 3, 2013 5:34 pm

    5. How do you like to listen to this song, and why this way in particular (e.g. in a club, through headphones, a stereo etc)? How does this way of listening allow you to experience the song differently than other ways?

    This is a song called Etude of the sun by Tanaka Akihiro. I listen to this song when I am using my head phones. It’s not because I want to feel something wonderful ,but beacuse I want to catch little part of the song so that I can play a guitar better. By using the head phones, you can even hear the little string sliding sounds, which can be easily ignored. However, those little sliding sound can give some clues how It was played. So actually those little sound help me be a better player. Earphones are fine, but headphones give more three-dimensional sound, so it is easy to catch small sounds. Actually I listen to songs with my head phone whenever I am practicing new songs. I am just listening this song nowadays just because I have been practicing this song. It may change soon.

  24. May 3, 2013 8:14 pm

    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?
    When I listen to this song, I always imagine two years ago. Because my boyfriend sang this song for me at first day when we became couple. Two years ago, we had dating like watching movie and eating delicious food. That night, we called 2hours. He told me that he loved me and wanted to associate with me. I also loved him and accepted his propose. Until now, we loving each other very much and he often sang this song for me. When I listen to this song, I imagine my boyfriend and feel very happy.

  25. Amy(C1) permalink
    May 3, 2013 8:21 pm

    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?
    -This song is called [The lazy song] and it’s song by [Bruno mars]. I usually listen to this song in my bed and when I oversleep on Saturday. I turn this song when I wake up after long sleep, I still feel like sleeping, and I don’t feel like doing anything. I like the song, because the lyrics of song tell totally what I want to talk. The voice of Bruno Mars is so sweet, so I like all of his song.

    There is another song that I listen to that in particular situation. That is called [Raindrop] and it’s song by [IU]. I listen to this song when it’s raining. I also listen to this song when I am home alone or when I am taking a bus alone. The atmosphere of song is dreamlike. I like its lyrics and its melody, because it made me calm.

  26. Adrian+C2 permalink
    May 3, 2013 8:29 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    I would like to introduce “Englishman in New York”. (below (“The English”)”The English” is a song by Sting, from its 1987 album ….

    I was really into this song when I was abroad. Last 3 years, I had been Spain for a year and half, China for 14 months. There’s reason why I had such a wandering life. I’m very greedy for learning foreign language. My major is Spanish. I did my military duty in U.S. Army as a KATUSA. To learn Chinese, I had been working at the mobile phone factory with Chinese laborers. Most of that time I was totally alone. Hopely, I didn’t get homesick that much, but I was like
    being other ‘thing’, especially when they(Spanishes, Chineses) saw me awkward. I didn’t take it offense, but it did remind me I’m differnet from them. At that moment, I turned on TV, and I watched this song performed by DayBreak. When I heard its refrain “I’m an alien, I’m a legal alien
    I’m an Englishman in New York”, I felt like I shouted it out like this. “Yeah! Same Here!” Since then, whenever I felt this kind of loneliness, I listened to this song. It gave comfort to me. Hope you guys enjoy this song!

    • Seven C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:29 am

      I love this song!!!!!!!
      But actually I like original song..
      I know Daybreak is good group though..

    • Cookie (T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 4:46 pm

      I also like it!
      I know various versions of this song, and Sting is the best. 🙂

  27. Misty(C1) permalink
    May 3, 2013 9:21 pm

    Daybreak- Silly

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    When I listen to “silly” of Daybreak, It remind me of my first love. So I am lost in old memories. I met my first love May, 2012. It has been already a year. A year ago, I fell in love at first sight. I devoted the most of time to my first love. This song’s lyrics is about shy confession of love. Like this song’s lyrics, I often sent silly love message for my first love. I was emotionally unstable at that time. Once, It feels as if I’m in heaven. And after It feels as if I’m in hell by my first love’s acting. I regret severe mood swings to this day. I miss my first love. And I want to meet my first love one last time. This song is also formerly my first love’s ring tone. There were waves of longing for my first love.

  28. transformer(c2) permalink
    May 3, 2013 10:58 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    When I heard this song, I feel comfortable. The acoustic guitar sound make me feel ease. Especially, Adam Levine’s voice is very unique. No one can mimic the sensibility of him, I think. His voice is heard not only sexy but sweet. The harmony between Adam Levine and accompaniment will attract your interest. Also, I can recall my first semester in this university with this song. Because, at that time, I was fascinated by the song and I heard the song about a million times, maybe. Whatever I do, I heard the song simultaneously.
    Sometimes, I play this song with my guitar. This song is heard very simple and easy to play, but this song is very hard so I need to practice many times to play the song, especially to convey the sensibility of original song accurately. When I play this song though I can’t sing at the same time, I feel as if I were maroon5!!

    Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the original album version of acoustic this love. If I find the album version of the song, I will post that in this commnet. If you use melon, mnet or some music streaming website, search the “This love acoustic”. You can appreciate the harmony of guitar, piano and djembe.

  29. transformer(c2) permalink
    May 3, 2013 11:07 pm

    http://blog.naver.com/jacknick?Redirect=Log&logNo=50121645378&jumpingVid=6CF969530B171B2C3D80F4E6810851D4D8A5
    Also, through this link, you can appreciate the album version of acoustic this love. It is little bit different from the live version which I linked formerly, this linked version include piano and djembe sound.

  30. perfect guy (Cr2) permalink
    May 3, 2013 11:24 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    The blower’s daughter – Damien rice

    When I listen to this song, this song make me remember first moment that I met person who I loved. I like ‘I can’t take my eyes off of you’ part of song. The singer sings this part again and again. This means just saying once about feeling of love is so insufficient. This expression also honest. Falling in love is not only beautiful moment but also sad . It makes us just remember lover’s face and repeat ‘ I can’t take my eyes off of you’. So I always feel both happy and poignant. I was very happy while I met him, but I had very hard time to forget him. So This song always gives me beautiful and sad memory of love.

  31. Julie(C2) permalink
    May 3, 2013 11:49 pm

    Empire State Of Mind (Feat. Alicia Keys) – Jay-Z

    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

    When I listen to this song “Empire State of Mind”, I, of course, imagine New York City. I felt like I am in the middle of New York City listening to this song. I am more excited to imagine the images of that city, maybe because I have never been NY. Especially, the beautiful night view of NY occurs to me every time I listen to this song. In NY, there are street lights that are bright all night and many gorgeous buildings point into the sky. It is such a beautiful scene!
    However, not always good and beautiful images are there in NY. On the contrary to the symbol of wealth in NY, there are many people who suffered in poverty. The crime rate is also high in this city.
    But still, I want to visit New York sometime! It is my dream city. That’s why I listen to this song quite often and I like this amazing song very much!

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:09 am

      Ohhhhh I heard of this song every time like everywhere! I didn’t know the title of the song until now… It’s such a good song to hear!

  32. Suffle_C2 permalink
    May 3, 2013 11:52 pm

    Davichi-Accident

    3. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?
    Title of the song, or accident, means to fall in love. This song is released when I was freshman. At that time, I fall in love before I knew it. But, I did not express any emotions because I was shy guy. I used to listen to this song while I was in unrequited love. Now is more like 4 years old since then. Nevertheless, I always think about image of girl who I loved whenever I listen to this song

  33. Chiodos(T) permalink
    May 4, 2013 12:00 am

    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

    La valse de Amelie by Yann Tiersen
    I love watching performances and b-boy performance is my fovorite. This song, more like a melody, cause there’s no lyric, was used in one of my favorite b-boy performance. Actually as some of you guys might have reckon, it’s the OST of the lovely french movie “Amelie”. (It’s really sweet movie which sometimes called as the movie that brought Frech new New Wave.) I listened to this song every time I get frustrated, tired, lonely, hardsome etc. It always calms me down and bring up my happy memories in childhood. There’s no particular place for me to listen to this particular song. If I become sentimental, I just push the PLAY button. (I also have CD for OST of Amelie.)

    Chiodos – Scaremonger
    However there’s my other favorite song which I listen to when I want to overcome my stress and enjoy the moment, get excited. It’s the Chiodos (my nickname here) “Scaremonger” This song really works good on getting rid of my stress and enjoy. I love this both real contrasting songs for different reason and feelings. However they both makes me cheer up when listening.

    • Chiodos(T) permalink
      May 4, 2013 12:06 am

      Sorry. This is Chiodos “Scaremonger”

  34. Yeonny + C2 permalink
    May 4, 2013 1:04 am

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    Only a few years ago, actually, I didn’t like listen to music, but now, I used to it when I feel sad or tired. I think that there is not special reason which is I like music but just my boy friend love to listening to music. Especially, this song is very special to me because my boyfriend confessed that he loves me using this song, so I usually call my lovely boyfriend to mind when I listen to this music. This song’s lyrics and rhythm got me and it makes me smiling. Every time I hear that song, I feel happy and my heart flutter because the song reminds me of my happy experience.

  35. May 4, 2013 1:05 am

    What do you guys know about Irish music? I saw someone from one of my classes posted a Damien Rice song, and of course the movie Once was really popular here. That was filmed in Dublin, Ireland’s capital city, and many of the locations are very familiar to me. There’s also Westlife who were popular here too, and of course U2 are one of the biggest bands in the world and they are also Irish (yes I know two of them are from England but they started out in Dublin originally).

    Here are a few bands and performers I like from ireland who you may not have heard of, although some of these songs are a few years old:

    Bell X1 (Damien Rice’s original band!)

    Delorentos

    Villagers

    Cast of Cheers

    Ham Sandwich

    Ok I got a little carried away. Better go to bed….

    • Dreamcatcher C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:50 am

      hahaha the video for the second one, Delorentos is so funny. The people’s faces. They look so guilty. lol.
      And I love the voice and the mood of Villagers. I can feel his soul.

  36. Dreamcatcher C2 permalink
    May 4, 2013 1:38 am

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    http://blog.naver.com/bmg8233?Redirect=Log&logNo=130122198382

    This is the song which makes me feel comfortable and think deeply at the same time.
    This song is called ‘Sarang ha neun saram ah’ meaning ‘Dear, the person I love’ by Lee Hae Ri of Davichi, a Korean female duo. This song is the original sound track to a drama which i haven’t watched.
    Firstly, this song makes me feel comfortable because it is a quite song with the pretty voice of Hae Ri and the sound of guitar. I listened to it on my Christmas trip about two years ago when the world was covered with pure white snow, and everything felt so peaceful. Every time I listen to this song, it takes me back to this special memory of mine.
    Secondly, this simple song makes me think deeply about my life and love. This is about a girl recalling the finished love and knowing that this sad moment will become a beautiful reminiscence which she will be able to smile at in the near future. I also experienced broken relationships and I think it is the most difficult, but the most important thing to take the painful situation as positive as possible. I can sympathise with this lyrics a lot.
    I listen to this song usually while I’m moving, on the bus or when I am walking to school when I can let myself wander with the music completely. I also enjoy Listening to this song right before going to bed.
    So I would like to suggest you to listen to this song when you want to rest yourself before bed.

    • lullu+C2 permalink
      May 7, 2013 12:59 am

      Actually, I didn’t know this song. As you suggested, however, I listened to this song when I took a rest and I felt relieved. Simple melody sounded more emotional. My hobby is playing the guitar, so I’m gonna challenge to this song. Thank you for your recommending a beautiful song! :>

  37. Avec des Fries -C2 permalink
    May 4, 2013 1:50 am

    “You know better than I”

    Are you suffering from any kind of troubles in your life?
    If you are in that situation,I recommend that you try listening this music.

    Last month, I’ve wathched the movie”The prince of Egypt”
    This is a famous animation movie of which story is based on Bible about Joseph’s life and God’s love.
    “You know better than I”is a OST(original sound track)of it and I really love this song!

    I’ll tell you why I like this song.

    3 weeks before, I was in a very bad mood. There were so many reasons why
    I was so depressed and it was due to the uncertainty about my future, stressful studying, and
    bad relationship with my family.

    I felt so gloomy and began to complaint about myself to God, nonethless I believed in God.
    “Why my life is so mess! Where are you,God? Are you really caring for me?”.

    But when I watched the movie and listened this music “You know better thatn I”, I became absorbed in the music and
    felt sympathy with the song. Because the song was the confession of Joseph who was suffering from so many troubles in his life, and he was
    singing that even though my life is so hard, I believe you lead my life in your love.
    Why he is saying like this?

    His life story is as follows.

    Joseph was the youngest of the family and he was beloved the most by his father. His brothers were jealous of him, so
    his brothers sold him to a slaver as a slave and he was imprisoned. He was so depressed but he relied on God and after several years, he
    came out of the prison and became a ruler of Egypt and met their family again. Finally, he forgave their brothers and lived toghther.

    Even though he lived in adversity, he could endure all the suffering through faith.

    While wathcing the movie and listening the song,I could take the load off my mind and recovered.

    The lyrics of the song made me to relax and gave me great courage.

    “You know better than I”, Yes I decided to surrender to God’s love!

    • Avec des Fries -C2 permalink
      May 4, 2013 1:54 am

      1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way? – this is the question !

  38. Kurtz (C1) permalink
    May 4, 2013 2:39 am

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    This Song Title is “Everything”
    Michael Buble is called “Post Frank Sinatra” I knew him when I was 18 years-old.
    He’s all songs are good !!

    “Everything” is making you happy.
    This song express beautifully for loved ones. In addition, This song seems to be a courtship to their loved ones.
    I listen to this song when my feeling depressed or bad.
    However, this is also listening on the way to meet my lover 🙂

  39. Cookie (T) permalink
    May 4, 2013 5:38 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    ‘Maroon 5’ are an absolutely awesome group. Adam Levine, lead singer of Maroon 5, is my favorite and his voice is soulful and captivating. I love all their albums and this song in particular, ‘Sunday morning’, is better than any other songs. When I listen to this song, it always sets my mind at ease. That is because, I think the word ‘Sunday’ itself may make everyone comfortable all the time. The title of this song cheers me up, and puts me in a good mood when the music begins. The lyrics in this song means that a man wants to keep a woman by his side. He say “Come and rest your bones with me.”, which can also warm my heart. Sometimes I hope to be a woman in this song. 🙂

  40. Emily Jeong permalink
    May 5, 2013 5:05 pm

    CR2/ Todd

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?
    MY favorite type of music is the ballad, which touches my heart.
    This music is different from other music genres in that one can feel the emotions conveyed in ballads.
    Soft and sweet music touches my heart and enhances my feelings.
    Because music in this genre can harbor joy and sorrow at the same time, it is emotionally rich when compared to other music genres.
    박효신 voice is very unique
    I felt lovely and warm I also feel lovely and warm.
    That’s why I like this type of music.

  41. May 6, 2013 3:30 am

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    The song name is ‘sax man’. A band lonely island who is the singer of this song is my favorite band. this song is one of their song that I like. when I listen this song, It makes me laugh. the lyric of this song is very funny. it is like a dialog rather than a normal lyrics. in the middle of song, there is some shouting and cursing to the ‘sax man’. and the more the man shouting, the more the sax man getting worse. bad saxophone’s sound is point of laugh. I listen this music when I feel gloom or sad. I think it’s better to listen funny music like this rather than a sad song.

  42. bianca C2 permalink
    May 11, 2013 1:42 am


    [Bruno mars marry you]
    2. Where do you listen to this song the most and why do like to listen to this particular song in this particular place? Are there any other songs you like to listen to in different situations?

    I heard this music when I saw someone proposing to his girlfriend in the American reality show. Both of them looked so happy that made me happy too. Since then, I started to listen to this song when I am riding buses. Sometimes rush hours make me frustrated, but when I listen to this song, I feel good even if I do not have a boyfriend. Maybe because the spring came. haha..

  43. Isabelle-C2 permalink
    May 14, 2013 5:44 pm

    The name of this song is “Just The Way You Are”. It sang by Bruno Mars. The lyric of this song is the reason I love to listen to. Especially, this line is very cool: ‘you’re amazing / just the way you are’. People often misunderstand that their boyfriend or girlfriend should be changed as they want. They tend to make the new people like robot. But in this song, he loves his girlfriend as she is. When man and woman are making special relationships, they only see what they want to see. As time goes by, they are disappointed about the defaults of each other. However, not all the people can be perfect and suitable for only ONE person. They should admit the bad things of their lover and stop complaining.

    Here is the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjhCEhWiKXk

  44. misskim(T) permalink
    May 27, 2013 3:03 pm

    1. How does this song make you feel and what is it about this song that makes you feel this way?

    I chose Joseph William’s ‘Hakuna Matata’. The song “Hakuna Matata” is a very famous song which was featured in the animation movie, Lion King. The reason I chose this song is whenever I hear this song, the exciting melody gives me lots of energy. And also, I believe the phrase “Hakuna Matata”, which means “no worries” can inspire me to be happy even in a discouraging situation.

    here is the link.

Leave a Reply

