Skip to content

Descriptive Paragraph

October 14, 2013

This week we will write a descriptive paragraph, similar to the one we analyzed on page 56 of our text book. You may choose one of two writing prompts below;

 

Describe how you felt when _______________________________________.

Give your impression of _________________________________________.

 

Please remember the key features and uses of a descriptive paragraph on p. 56.

 

Approximately 10-14 sentences, 100-150 words.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2013 4:52 pm

    Walking along the neat square, which was green few weeks ago, I could feel humid and cold air blowing my shirts. I walked up the numerous gray stairs and got in to the library. People were lining up in front of the machine to get their seats and I suddenly felt tension about the mid-term test. I had a sit at a worn and reddish brown wooden desk. The chair is a bit lower so, my arm is lifted high and it’s not comfortable because it isn’t as soft as I expected. There is a cup of warm coffee and chocolate on my desk which could provide me some energy and caffeine so that I can study enthusiastically and endurably. The air is quiet warmer and drier than outside which makes relieving and calm atmosphere. People are concentrating on their books or papers making no noticeable sounds. I can only hear people turning pages or writing things. It is so quiet but I feel awful that I also have to study just like other people.

  2. October 15, 2013 7:52 pm

    The day November 8th of 2012 is so memorable event in my life. That day, I took the College Scholastic Ability Test, SAT. At the morning, I was so anxious and tense. Even though, my homeroom teacher and my parents encouraged me to do well on my exam, that didn’t catch my ears. Entering my examination site, I had tremor of the hands and went rigid with nervous tension. Other students seemed nervous too. When the bell marked the beginning, I had a stomachache. Its sound was like horror movie’s sound track. But I tried to take the exam carefully. After finishing the first test, Korean test, tension little bit decreased. However this tension kept until I finished all test. Returning to home, I thought I must fail at my exam, because I was so nervous and anxious. Thus I graded my test papers glumly. However unlike my thinking, I got good test score. I felt as if I could fly. I think the tension makes me do well on my SAT.

    • Katherine permalink
      October 18, 2013 1:01 am

      Oh, SAT was so nervous exam to me,too. But it is good thing that you got a great score in the test:-)

    • banana permalink
      October 20, 2013 5:21 pm

      This reminds me when I took the SAT too.

  3. Daneil permalink
    October 15, 2013 10:17 pm

    It is hard to forget the day July 11th of 2013 in my life. This day, I went travel to Namhae with my friends for the first time. In the morning, we met at a bus terminal in enjoyable mind. When we arrived at a lodging, we saw the beautiful aquamarine sea and the never ending sandy beach. It was so gorgeous that I was really admired. I changed my clothes and run into the sea. It was hot summer, so in the water the lower half of the body was cool but the upper felt like burning . In addition, the waves hit me a lot, so that I thought I maybe drank a liter of salty water. After we finished swimming, we had samgyupsal with liquor for dinner. It was really tasty. Even I felt the meat was melted in my mouth. We drank all night talking about our high school days. Next morning, we went back home. Clearly, I will never forget this travel on July 11th.

  4. October 15, 2013 11:34 pm

    I spent three blissful days when I trip to Jeju-island with my friends. I was touched by its natural landscapes, because it was preserved in its natural state. There were wide emerald beaches, various beautiful flowers and the fresh air. I was really excited from these. I looked around Seonsan Ilchulbong, Marado and Jeju Natural Recreational Forest. During the travel, I appreciate Jeju-island as the world natural heritage. This island was colorful; trees were green and sky was blue. It had different wonderful color with other cities. The environment made me feel very relaxed. For these reasons, I guess a lot of people will be more prefer to Jeju-island. Finally, I hope to share the beauty of Jeju-island with my mother, because she has not been there.

    • Gavin permalink
      October 21, 2013 3:19 am

      I had a week long trip to Jeju Isle during this summer vacation. My best friend and I toured the Isle only with bus and on foot. The weather was scorching, but it was definitely such a priceless experience. Now, we are planing on train travel for this winter, and I can’t wait!

  5. Angela permalink
    October 16, 2013 2:23 am

    Travel to JeongDongJin gave me a great shock of nature’s beauty. The place which is located in the east part of South Korea has the great popularity for a beautiful sunrise. I visited there for the same reason to see an amazing sunrise. The day before see the sunrise, my friend and I took a night train to go that place. It takes about five and half hours which is very long time, so we talked and ate a lot. We could not sleep because we were so excited to be there. After arrived, the first thing that welcomed us was a peaceful beach. Even though it was so cold like freezing, we were waiting until the sunrise with hot chocolate with sweet marshmallow. When I saw the sunrise, I couldn’t breathe in front of the fantastic view that nature makes. It was one of the most unforgettable view in my life.

    • Gavin permalink
      October 21, 2013 3:22 am

      My mom used to live in Jeong-dong-jin. Thus, I used to visit there a lot when I was young. It’s been quite long so I can’t remember precisely. But I do remember this one thing for sure; the sunrise was breathtakingly enchanting.

  6. Katherine permalink
    October 18, 2013 12:56 am

    I can’t forget September 7th of 2013 when I went to the hip hop concert. I love music and concert, so I always said that I want to go to any concert. Then, I had a chance that could go to hip hop concert. Additionally, it is all-night concert! I was so excited and anticipated. In that day, my feeling was very nice that I found myself humming. When I was arrived concert hall, I was surprised about concert hall’s view. Because there was crowded by many people, stage was so large and sound system was excellent. In the early of concert time, I kept front row for watching musicians closely. But front row’s air was hazy and smelled musty. I couldn’t endure that anymore. So I went out from front row to back row. However, back row was more wonderful! Although, back row’s people couldn’t see musicians’ face, people could dancing and get into the rhythm. I was deeply impressed that the place’s mood was free, enjoyable and feverish. They had not a regard for others attention. In that place, I felt youth, passion with strong beat. So, until now I can recollect that time vividly.

  7. October 18, 2013 1:49 am

    It might be October of 2012, about this time last year. When I was in senior highschool, that day was so memorable in my life. It was Sunday before a moke exam. In those days I was living in a dormitory with my best- friend. In the evening, we went to one restaurant to eat dinner. That restaurant was the place where I have often been with family. Therefore I was acquainted with an owner of the restaurant. Anticipating the delicious dishes, we ordered ribs of pork. That time I was really hungry studying very hard. Also my friend seems to be very hungry. However, A serious problem had arisen. Suddenly, the friend who was supposed to pay our bill, said that as she was being checking the pursue, there had been no money. After hearing it, I was really embarrassed. And my heart started beating as I think how to solve this difficulty. However, this nervous made me settled myself down to say. I said the owner that we would make a deposit. Then I called my mom to solve this trouble. And she made it for us. Thus, It was really hard dinner for us to eat the pork of ribs. However we ate it with satisfaction and had no regrets for that. I felt as if I walked around in heaven and hell.

  8. tnpqnp permalink
    October 18, 2013 2:06 am

    I still cannot erase the terrible memory which happened a few years ago. When I was in the military, our troop was sent to stop a massive anti-government demonstrations in Seoul square. And the rain was teeming down, the square was packed with angry citizens. In the rain, we had to fight, at least four people was wounded in our platoon and hudreds of citizens was seriously injured in clashes. As night fell, the city hall were shrouded in silence. However, I was extremely nervous at that time, so I spent a sleepless night. The next morning, after all, severe protest was terminated, and the crowd dispersed into their home. However, The memory of that day still haunts me.

  9. Rachel permalink
    October 18, 2013 11:23 am

    September 20, 2013 is a fantastic day that will forever live in my memory. That day, I went to Seopjikoji in Jeju Island with my mother. When I walked around Seopjikoji, the fresh cool wind brushed my face as if it wipes every care from my mind and the glossy brown field of reeds swayed in the wind like the waves. So I felt very refreshed and invigorated. As night fell, the bright full moon like the sun was high up in the sky and the moon reflected on the surface of the water. Also, the sky was crowded with twinkling stars; it seemed to be raining stars. When my mother and I walked together in the moonlight, I saw fireflies which glow a fluorescent green in the dark. It was an unforgettable and fantastic experience because I saw it for the first time in my life and it is difficult to see fireflies in the city. So I felt as if I were in a dream. Moreover, as I saw the silent and dark sea, I emptied my mind of all distracting thoughts. Therefore, I will remember a night in September 2013 all my life because the scene of Seopjikoji brought on a peace of mind for me.

  10. Lisa permalink
    October 18, 2013 7:03 pm

    The vacation during the last summer with my family was unforgettable.
    The first week of August, my family and I went to Dong river in
    Gangwondo. It took for two or three hours by the car and when we
    arrived the resort , I was struck with its woderful landscape.
    The sunshine was dazzling and the resorts built like an small town in Europe made me feel that I was in Europe. The air was so fresh
    unlike urban ones and the sounds of the birds fastinated me.
    Behind the resorts, there were enormous bluff and mountains and at the
    foot of the mountains, the Dong river was flowing. I could feel the
    power of Nature.
    After passed the gravelly field carefully, I got to the riverside .
    The river looked calm but was flowing little fast and other summer
    visitors were dabbling in water or trying to catch little fish.
    I and my family also had fun in the water. At first moment, the water
    was too cold for me but soon It became fine. The water was so clean and pure that I could see many litte fish passing through my legs.Ater then, we had a barbecue party.And when I took a walk after dinner, the moonlight was bright and the wind was blowing so it was cool and made me feel happy and relaxed.
    Therefore, It was the best vacation I’ve ever had.

  11. October 20, 2013 3:49 am

    It is impossible to forget the days September 28th and 29th of 2012. I went ski resort with my best friends. My favorite hobby is snowboarding, but I couldn’t go ski resort because of entering college test. We had promised when we were middle school. I said to my friends “After the ending of the entering college test, we are going to play in ski resort.” When I was high school student, I wonder this appointment will be performed? But it really came true to us. I was really happy and felt achievement about our appointment. Especially, when I stand on the top of the mountain, I was really excited and thrilled. This memory is one of the most precious moment in my life.

  12. Zion H permalink
    October 20, 2013 11:43 am

    Last year, Seoul International Fireworks Festival was hold at Yeouido. Though I couldn’t went to festival this year, I still can’t forget last experience. It started PM6:00. I should have arrived an hour ago. But I left late because of friend’s sudden situation. I worried that I can’t see beautiful scene of fireworks festival. I was so nervous. Eventually I arrived there narrowly 5 minute ago. But I was amazed by the spectacular views before my eyes. First, I could see firework well. Bang! Bang! Went off the firecrackers. It lit the night sky. Various colorful firework made me bounce. Unique firework such as rabbit, chili, heart shape was also very impressive. I’ve never seen this surprise scene. I felt as if I was in romantic movie or sometimes war movie. The festival concluded with a grand fireworks show. Next year I will seize an opportunity of fantastic festival.

  13. banana permalink
    October 20, 2013 5:15 pm

    My favorite perfume is Parlez moi D Amour Eau fraiche by John Galiiano. Its bottle looks like a letter and it even has a stamp on it with a silver cap. Inside the bottle there is a light green liquid, almost colorless, which also matches its name(fraiche means fresh in French). First thing i smelled when I wore the perfume, it was something like a grapefuit. However in about twenty minutes, it became feminine. Fruity scent changes into flower: rose, jasmine and white current. It doesn’t have a strong scent rather its like a white cloud on the blue sky. It has so clear and delicate scent which makes you refreshed and feel good. The fragrance has the similar image of spring or a girl in her twenty, pure and innocent. It also makes me fall in love and make my own spring of my life.

  14. cs9999 permalink
    October 20, 2013 9:09 pm

    One of my best memories is trip to country of Mayan Civilization, Mexico. It was May of 2009, when I was 17years old. When the car that I was riding, drove through the beach of San Carlos, the smell of salty water pungented my nose and my heart started pumping like that I had run for a long time. I got of the car after I arrived at hotel, I ran to the beach. It was the color of lucid and clear emerald with shimmering pearl on it. There were a gentle breeze passing through my hair and shiny sunlight was glaring down the ocean. I felt like I was in the paradise that I only looked in the pictorial. I jumped into the picturesque ocean and had a wonderful time. After the Sun went down, I walked along the moonlight, calming down my pounding heart and I was very thankful that I could see this out of description scenery. That night, I was laying down to cozy and warm bed just like I was in my room. My mexico trip was unforgettable recollection of my life feeling like I was in heaven.

  15. Gavin permalink
    October 21, 2013 3:11 am

    I will never be able to forget my 2weeks of August when volunteered as a translator for RSA Para team at 2013 World Rowing Championships. We didn’t know about each other, so the awkward atmosphere continued for a while. As their goal was to get a medal and they had to focus on training session, I really hadn’t much chance to hang out during the day. But as they get used to Korea and relaxed, we naturally shared much time. I watched them training and even tried ergo meter together. They worked hard, and made to the finals winning the bronze. I ran straight to the podium as they won, just like I promised. They gave me their first hug and whispered to me. “Stella, you are our biggest supporter.” I can’t forget that words and feelings. I cried as if I won that medal. However, as it was destined, time to say good-bye came. I helped them buy some souvenirs and had lunch together at the airport. Then, suddenly, tears sprang out from my eyes. They gave me warm hugs one by one, and I returned back. Our last was just simple like that. We promised to keep in touch through Watsapp and Face book, and I even sent a package to South Africa 2 weeks ago. They are now gone to South Africa, but they are still in my memory.

  16. evergreen permalink
    October 21, 2013 3:39 am

    My unforgettable memory of Je-Ju Island is to walk along the Olle Roads with colorful spectacles. Olle Roads have diverse courses to walk down comprised of 21 courses. In those roads, I encountered the course 6 consisting from Shaesokak to Waedolgae. Following the tracks, signs for showing the way which some are battered or tiny greeted me amiably. With this, I can see a vast spread of water smelling clean and salty along the warm dirt road. Sometimes I stopped my steps to forward and took a deep breath as if I drink all of the nature’ smells including ocean, wind, flowers, trees, and soil. While walking down the road, I dropped by manless café driven by a smell of aromatic roasting coffee. The scene that people in the café gathered by twos and threes, made small talk watching the picturesque scenery spread out before them made me feel more comfortable. Still I remember the feeling and appreciation of the time, and I will not release my beautiful memory eternally.

Leave a Reply

