Skip to content

My Music

October 28, 2013

This week’s topic is music, something pretty much every student enjoys. Musical favorites come in many genre and flavors. Tell us what you like or dislike and describe it.

 

Students: Find a song and/or video and provide a link to it. Then pick one of the tasks below:

1. Describe how this song and/or video make you feel? What is it about the song/video that makes you feel this way?

2. What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

3. Why do you dislike this song or kind of music?

4. How do you like to listen to this song, and why this way in particular (e.g. in a club, through headphones, a stereo etc)? How does this way of listening allow you to experience the song differently than other ways?

If you would like to post more than one song, fell free to do so.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2013 1:08 am

    Bruno Mars’s Just the Way You Are

    I hope to recommend a music video, Bruno Mars’s Just the Way You Are in several reasons. Above all, the title is impressive, because it has romantic meaning. When I see this music video, I feel as if I watch a movie and being a heroine of the movie. It is really interesting. One of the reasons why I like this song, the lyrics are meaningful. The lyrics include a man’s love for his lover. I usually sing along for enjoying them. Finally, this song has a haunting melody. It makes me humming. I always feel happy and ecstatic because of the melody and lyrics. For these reasons, I suggest it for women who fall in love.

    • banana permalink
      November 1, 2013 2:00 pm

      I also recommend this song for those who want to have a plastic surgery and who have a low self esteem.

  2. banana permalink
    November 1, 2013 1:58 pm

    One of my favorite song is 널 생각해(Thinking of you) by One More Chance. This song sings from the perspective of a boyfriend whose girl friend complains that he was not thinking of her and his love for her has changed. The lyric tells and shows how much he actually has been thinking of her. Listeng to this song, I usually imagined that this girl was me, and it makes me feel loved. Also the lyrics itself is simple but is sincere. The voice is soft and gentle that makes my heart flutter. For these reasons, I recommend this beautiful song.

  3. November 1, 2013 3:03 pm

    Black- G-dragon ( feat. Jenny Kim )

    One of my favorite music is Black by G-dragon who is the leader of Bigband. I love this music because of its sweet melody and his mellow voice. It captivates us to listen it every day. Also, his rapping and Jenney’s voice is very attractive. This music tells the pain of love to us. Therefore, people who experienced the farewell at past feel empathy for this sorrow lyrics. In this music video, we can find the every color of the background is black. It has something in common with its title. In addition, the hero and heroine are tormented by the pain of love, missing each other. It can remind me the old days of my x-boyfriend. When I listen to this music, I always feel sentimental. However, it doesn’t make me depressed. Although it is so sad music, I think listening to this music is so fantastic experience in your life.

  4. Daniel permalink
    November 1, 2013 5:25 pm


    Craig David – Insomnia

    Although there are a lot of songs I like, Insomina by Craig David is one of my favorite song for some reasons. First, the voice of Craig David is very attractive. HIs mellow tone is so unique that it is hard to be forgotten. In addtion, electronic sound and melody of this song is impressive. Especially, the highly addictive chorus and the electronic sound mingle in well balance. However, most of all the principal reason why I favor this song is the heartbroken lyrics. The lyrics are about the guy who does not put x-girlfriend out of his mind. The guy in lyrics resembles me. When I just broke up, I could well sympathized the guy. Still, whenever I listen this song, I remind the sadness which I felt before. Thus, if you have a heartbroken experience in love, I suggest you to listen Insmonia.

  5. Katherine permalink
    November 1, 2013 5:40 pm

    Bangtan Boys – 좋아요 (I like it)

    This song is one of my favorite songs. Because its melody is soft, singer’s voice is so sweet and lyrics is interesting. This song express that one man misses his X-girl friend and regrets breaking up with her during surfing her facebook. When I listen to this song, I have a regrettable feeling as if I am the man. Because I can imagine that the man has half a mind to call her. Relevant to this song, I have an episode. I searched this song’s singer because of their romantic voice. But I was shocked. They are too young to make my heart flutter 😦 So, if you want to feel romance, do not search the singer.

  6. evergreen permalink
    November 1, 2013 8:34 pm

    A song what I want to introduce is very popular and general song in my age of 12 years old. ’empty street, empty house, oh my love I’m holding on forever~.’ As you can guess, it is the song named ‘my love’ sung by Westlife. This song is really special to me, because it gives me diverse inspiration and encouragement. When I heard the melody of song at first, I felt calm and peaceful. Sometimes it allowed a still and quite time to me, so that I could think something over. Until now, ‘My love’ gives me emotional feeling and thoughts. Once I watch the music video, I almost indulge in plentiful sensitivity owing to the picturesque backgrounds of music video. First scene is started in the relaxed airport background. This one make me wish to go abroad somewhere I can see beautiful scenery and take a rest peacefully. The second scene is moved to the platform of train station, and members of Westlife have fun with having a lark each other. With this scene, I feel like I would like to meet and travel with people who I love. A secluded street turns up in the next scene and then the seashore which looks chilly, but leisurely is spread. The most impressive scene that gives me much more inspiration is the ocean with tremendous cliffs. This magnificent view make me feel very refreshed with freedom. Although the place is not a reality, I can feel bracing of a sea breeze and a sound of wave, and regain my vigor. Like this, the song ‘My love’ including melody, lyric, and backgrounds is one of my precious song to awake to my full mind.

  7. Lisa permalink
    November 1, 2013 8:35 pm

    This song makes me feel so good thesedays.
    The singer is “Browneyed Soul”. There are four men in this group.
    I love them because of there warm voices and susceptibility.
    Each singers has their own vocies and individuality but their harmony is the best one in my mind.
    This song was made absolutely for their fans.This group debuted 10years ago.
    However, they have released only three regular albums for 10years
    because they value quality of each songs and albums than quantity. So I regard them as not just singers but artists.
    So they thanked to their fans who always waited for them and love their musics.
    And I can feel a lively sense of gradtitude for fans through this song.
    Music video of this song is also pretty good.When I watch the scenes and listen their voices, I feel happy and have calmness.
    In addition, the atmosphere of this song and music video can make many
    people pleasant and warm up their cold hearts if they are not the fans
    of Browneyed Soul.

  8. November 1, 2013 9:20 pm

    I am interested in New Age music recently. I’m confident when you listen to this song, you will have comfortable feeling. When I first see Yuhki Kuramoto, the first appearance was looked like a apartment security guard. But the reason why I like his song best is the beautiful melody I think he has amazing ability to compose music. These days I had to do too many things. So my body and soul was really tired. I was healed by meditation time with this music. When I play this music, I felt the pure river and clear air. Somebody thinks this is exaggerated expression but this is my opinion. If you don’t agree my opinion, please listen to this song with your eyes closed.

  9. tnpqnp permalink
    November 1, 2013 10:07 pm

    I choose the band ‘koxx’ and song name is called ‘trouble maker’. In this music video, they were depicted a ‘real’ trouble makers living in 홍대; they woke up lately due to so much drinking, and leave their home hastly to prepare a scheduled concert. Such scenes were vividly shown by viewers. To make the music video realistic, the director filmed the koxx members based on their ordinary day. This song was still now remained as the most famous song in their whole song lists. Now,unfortunately, we cannot see their live concert because they entered the military a few month ago. Therefore, whenever I recalled this group and reminded of feeling when I went to their concert, I listen to ‘trouble maker’.

  10. Angela permalink
    November 1, 2013 11:35 pm


    A song I want to introduce is Celine Dion’s ‘My Hear Will Go On’. This song is famous as the main theme song of blockbuster film Titanic. This song gave Dion’s biggest hit, and become one the best selling album in the world. The first time I heard this music was when I see the movie Titanic which is one of my favorite film. I can enjoy a great film with plentiful background music. When I listen this song, I can imagine all the beautiful scenes of the film. It makes me feel comfortable when I listen this song. When I feel too tired from my assignments, tests, and other events, I relax my mind with this song. I recommend to listen this song to my exhausted classmates. Also, I recommend to listen this song with watching the movie Titanic.

  11. haruharu7070 permalink
    November 2, 2013 12:58 am

    Jason Mraz The remedy(I’m not give up)

    My favorite musician is Jason Mraz. And In May, I go to the concert of him in Seoul. That day, although I stand up all day, but it was really fantastic and enjoying to heard his voice. Especially, I like his song that the title is ‘The remedy.’ At first I don’t know the lyric’s meaning. However, just hearing this, I fell in love with its melody, rhythm, and his voice. Then I searched to what the lyrics mean, and then I know it’s for loving person. Therefore it feels like a little bit unctuous as well as ashamed. However so as the lyrics are lovely, the meaning is firm to express of courtship. Thus, among the lyrics, I like this statement best,’I had to learn what I got, and what I’m not.’ Because it sounds like he had to know what he can do or not to love her.

  12. November 2, 2013 1:28 am


    This song is “Voice” by one of my favourite singer ‘스웨덴세탁소’. It’s saying that even just hearing a voice of broken up lover triggers tears. The singer’s voice is soft as cotton and melting ice cream which touched my heart so much and causes sadder mood. I usually listen to indie or acoustic musics. I love to listen to these musics at the back seat in the bus by myself because most of my musics are quiet. Looking outside and listening to those musics through the black lines of a earphones make me to think about things that I must do today or to look back the whole day and keep me calm. I consider this times as the only relieving and comfortable times, blocking my ear from other people or noises thinking about myself.

  13. Gavin permalink
    November 2, 2013 9:07 pm

    Sak Noel-Paso(The Nini Anthem)

    My favorite genre is EDM, so I usually listen to this kind of music. I like Skrillex, Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike, but today I want to talk about this song. I don’t know much about this genre, but I know this one thing for sure; these songs uplift my feelings. I usually listen to EDMs while taking a shower, but this Paso is an exception; I play this music when I don’t want to study. The lyrics are quite interesting as the most emphasized word is ‘PARTY’. I think people who don’t want to study have to listen to this song. It won’t make you disappointed. When I listen to this song, I picture myself partying, partying, and partying. But the truth is the opposite; I’m sitting on a chair studying, studying, and studying. In this way, the lyrics became a way of escape and make me feel better. I recommend you guys to listen to this song after doing this blog posting. =)

  14. Rachel permalink
    November 2, 2013 10:46 pm

    Katy Perry – Firework

    My favorite music video is “firework” by Katy Perry. Two years ago, I saw this music video coincidently when I fell into despair because of my grades. In the beginning of this music video, people who have low self-esteem like a gay and an overweight girl appeared. Then, Katy Perry said, “You don’t have to feel like a waste of space. You’re original cannot be replaced.” and “There is a spark in you and you are a firework.” I think she wanted to say that you should not be afraid and you should express who you are confidently without worrying about other people’s thoughts and I guess firework means passion or hope. Every time I hear this song, my emotions are gradually running high and after that, my emotions explode like a firework. Moreover, I imagine fireworks burst from my chest like a scene of this music video. Like this, I love this lyrics and the story of this music video because they are so hopeful and I was greatly encouraged by them. If you feel frustrated and lose your confidence, remember this song’s lyric and listen to this song. I’m sure you gain confidence and you want to express your true color.

  15. November 3, 2013 3:18 am

    My favorite song is Two melodies by Zion t. Usually, I love Zion t as singer. His voice is very unique and attractive. Many People like his song. Especially ‘two melodies’ is meaningful to me. When I parted from my boyfriend, this song consoled me. In song’s lyrics, ‘peole’s emotion is obvious.’ And ‘obious love’ are very impressive. When I listening this song, it make feel comfortable. And my sad memory is forgotten. This song say. “Hardship is nothing.” My mind is relieved. Even Two melodies is my ring back tone, Color Ring. My nickname is Zion H. If you suffered hardships as parting, try to llistening this song, ‘two melodies’ by zion t.

  16. Zion H permalink
    November 3, 2013 3:24 am

    My favorite song is Two melodies by Zion t. Usually, I love Zion t as singer. His voice is very unique and attractive. Many People like his song. Especially ‘two melodies’ is meaningful to me. When I parted from my boyfriend, this song consoled me. In song’s lyrics, ‘peole’s emotion is obvious.’ And ‘obious love’ are very impressive. When I listening this song, it make feel comfortable. And my sad memory is forgotten. This song say. “Hardship is nothing.” My mind is relieved. Even Two melodies is my ring back tone, Color Ring. My nickname is Zion H. If you suffered hardships as parting, try to llistening this song, ‘two melodies’ by zion t.

  17. November 3, 2013 9:16 pm

    The song which I post is “That’s what friends are for”.
    At first, I heard this song through some korean vocal group and then It’s so good to me, so I found another version by foreign singers which I posted.
    When I listen the song, I feel like that there is my friend and she talks to me giving power and encouragement.
    Therefore, I can feel something special warmth looking their figure on that video. And the after I fell in the song very quickly and It became a my favorite music.
    Especially, the reason why I like is that Its lyrics are touching and intimate for me.
    In addition, it had been brings a lot of good memories with my friends and I learned that how to I love my friend.
    I prefer listening the music through the earphone, because It’s more directly and comfortable than any other way.

  18. cs9999 permalink
    November 4, 2013 10:24 am

    I would like to recommend ’22’ by Taylor Swift to others for some reasons. Taylor swift is sweet, young musician who writes her own music since she was young. So she has clear color of her music. I did not lie most of her song, but this song as different. When I listened to the ’22’, I could feel how wonderful thing it is to be 22 years old. I had some dread of being 22 years old next year, and I did nothing prepared to be an adult. But in this song, It said “We’re happy, free, confused and lonely in the best way”. It made me feel free the pressure and enjoy the present that gifted to me, because even though I am getting through hard time, this might be the chance or time I would never get any more. Therefore, I propose ’22’ to young adults, who are pressured by themselves.

Leave a Reply

