Skip to content

CRW 1 What’s Going On?

March 17, 2015

Look closely at the images below. What is going on in these pictures? Choose one of them and write a description of what you think is happening. Whether your description is funny or serious is up to you.

good-start-th

03-01(182)

images (1)

images

68 Comments leave one →
  1. Adam permalink
    March 18, 2015 10:50 am

    Some people says that having a crush on something is really needed. But how dare I crush on person? It’s inhumane. So I decided to crush on my car. 🙂 Yeah! I crushed it! I’m so brilliant and humane! 🙂

    • proftodd permalink*
      March 18, 2015 3:31 pm

      He does seem to have a proud look on his face, doesn’t he.

    • cocomong permalink
      March 21, 2015 12:01 am

      I agree with Proftodd’s comment.^_^

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:38 pm

      Wow.. you’re so humane^^

  2. jennykoo permalink
    March 18, 2015 8:23 pm

    #4 picture

    I think daughter and dad are watching world cup. The score was tie. Right now , they are watching shoot out! They look really nervous. Also so concentrate. Hope their team win!!

    • cocomong permalink
      March 21, 2015 12:03 am

      I remember watching World Cup with my family like the daughter.

    • Barbie permalink
      March 21, 2015 11:41 am

      My face is exactly the same when I watch the world cup! 🙂

    • Kenny permalink
      March 21, 2015 9:21 pm

      I’m curious about the result of the game! kk

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:41 pm

      They seem to very nervous!! World Cup is really exciting thing!

    • Shannon permalink
      March 23, 2015 8:37 pm

      They look very nervous!! They won the game?? I hope their team won this game!!

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 9:50 pm

      They look very nervous and I wish their team to win

  3. Ana permalink
    March 18, 2015 10:27 pm

    #The last picture
    There was a big terror at Washington D.C. Hundreds of people are injured and died because of this horrible terror. Policemen and Firefighters are trying to rescue sufferers. People who are watching this terrible accident are worried about the victims. The breaking News about this terror is on the electronic display which is at the fifth avenue in New York. Citizens are watching the News sadly.

    • yong permalink
      March 20, 2015 12:04 pm

      Yeah. I also think they look like watching some kind of breaking news or terrible accident.. something like that..

    • Barbie permalink
      March 21, 2015 11:44 am

      I agree. I saw many of that scenes in Korean disaster movie like ‘해운대’ or ‘감기’.

    • Kenny permalink
      March 21, 2015 9:21 pm

      I hope the things like this situation do not happen.

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:45 pm

      How terrible it is!! I hope there will be no terror like that in the world!!!

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 9:51 pm

      I hope everything is all right

  4. Kenny permalink
    March 19, 2015 2:59 pm

    #The Last Picture.

    Few days ago, we had an president election. One of candidates have promised that if he is chosen for the president, he will make a huge robot for safety of the city. In the election, he was really chosen for the president and yesterday was the day that the huge robot named ‘ROVIX’ is launching ! Every citizen was coming outside and so did I and my daughter. We were waiting for the ROVIX to appear. Then, with beautiful fireworks, ROVIX emerged from a gigantic factory. All people gave an exclamation together. Then, suddenly, as fireworks touched ROVIX, it made a loud noise and started to work wrong. My daughter was curious about the situation and I didn’t know how to explain it. We just hope that nothing serious things happen because ROVIX is a necessary robot for city’s safety.

    • yong permalink
      March 20, 2015 12:14 pm

      Your description is really specific. I suddenly came up with Robocop.

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:50 pm

      ROVIX is okay to work??^^ I hope it work normally for city’s safety.

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 9:55 pm

      So, How did the result turn out?

    • Shannon permalink
      March 23, 2015 10:44 pm

      Wow!! It is interesting story!! As yong said, your description is really specific. So, I’m impressed a lot.

  5. Lionel Messi permalink
    March 19, 2015 5:53 pm

    #The second picture.

    The place I am at right now is Burj Khalifa building which is located in Dubai. As you all know, this building is the tallest building in the world that has 162 floors. What I have to do here is to clean all the windows of the building today. I am desperate because I have only cleaned windows up to third floor. I still have windows of 159 floors to clean. Haha how exciting! Although my job is to clean the windows of buildings but I actually have a fear of heights. I am so scared that I feel like I am going to wet my pants since it is the first time for me to clean such a tall building like this. How tragic it is that I have to do this kind of thing in order to make money for a living. I have no idea I would be able to clean all the windows of 159 floors but let’s cheer up!

    • yong permalink
      March 20, 2015 12:25 pm

      I think the second picture seems to show a scared figure of the window cleaner who wearing orange glove because he sees himself reflected on the window..

    • christiano woonaldo permalink
      March 20, 2015 7:49 pm

      hey!! lionel messi!!
      I’m christiano woonaldo!!
      How about playing soccer??
      I want settle with you!!
      who is best of world soccer player~^^

    • Barbie permalink
      March 21, 2015 11:48 am

      Haha! Your comment reminds me the moment when I did bungee jumping.

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 9:57 pm

      I have acrophobia too. I can’t see below. What a scary scene to see.

  6. yong permalink
    March 20, 2015 1:42 pm

    The fourth picture.

    It shows situation of morning way to work. The reason focusing on the only three people is they are main characters in this picture. Actually they are one family. The two men are homosexual couple and the girl was adopted by the two men ten years ago. One day, as a usual day, the two men are going to go to work after sending their daughter to school. However, on arriving in the subway station, they start feeling some kind of unnatural atmosphere of the place. All people in the subway station don’t move and are just looking at electronic display which explains current situation of the subway. After watching electronic display, they can figure out a reason that all people are staring at electronic display. This is because two subways have broken down. So the all family members end up late and can arrive very painfully at their destination.

  7. Barbie permalink
    March 20, 2015 3:27 pm

    Today is the thanksgiving day! All of our family members from cousins to mother-in-law are gathered in my apartment. We bake the delicious pie, drink the toast and enjoy our wonderful thanksgiving party! And then, I found my wedding videotape while I was searching for my daughter’s diaper. I was so excited that I lift my daughter up in my arms and include the videotape calling everyone in my house to the livingroom! And the very next moment, I lost my words. It’s not the wedding video! In fact, one young lady is dancing with the pole in the club. Yes.. I love pole dancing! But, that young lady is my wife!!! Everyone in the livingroom may knows who is she and why my wife is running out of the livingroom right now, except my cute little daughter………

  8. Shannon permalink
    March 20, 2015 4:41 pm

    #The second picture.

    Have you ever seen ‘Experiencing extreme job’ on ‘Infinite Challenge program(무한도전)’ which is one of the most popular shows in Korea? All members experienced four different extreme jobs such as mining work, parcel delivery service, telemarketer and cleaning the windows of a skyscraper. They showed us there are numberless people who are having such painful lives in the world. The above picture is Park Myung Soo who is one of members is cleaning windows of a skyscraper. This building is ‘Northeast Asia Trade Tower’ located in Inchon Sondo. As you all know, this building is the tallest building in our country that has 68 floors. His mission is to clean all the windows and repair the broken windows of this building. I feel dizzy just at the thought of the incident. I am so scared and terrified that I can’t do this job. Like me, he was in white terror before doing this job. However he accomplished his tiring and challenging duty by overcoming his fears. I gave a very big applause to him. I learned his courage and thought there are many workers working in hazardous and unhealthy conditions. I always cheer every woker!

    • christiano woonaldo permalink
      March 20, 2015 7:45 pm

      I love too.
      who is your best entertainer in that tv program??
      I love hong-chul no … but we can’t see him..no more..

    • Kenny permalink
      March 21, 2015 9:27 pm

      I really enjoyed this episode. Members of 무한도전 showed that how difficultly some people do their jobs. I realized that I should thank to them!

      • 정하윤 permalink
        March 23, 2015 10:32 pm

        I watch 무한도전 all the time. I love it!!!

  9. christiano woonaldo permalink
    March 20, 2015 7:38 pm

    # I’m interested in the first picture.

    There was a one man who smiled and behind him, a van was overturned in a forest.
    I thought his smiling face doesn’t real. I thought that van was his father’s car. Fortunately, he escaped an accident by a hair’s-breadth. he was very relieved and smiled. However, after he was relieved, he realized the van was his father’s car. Then he took a picture before die by his father…I can sympathize with that picture. Because when i was 20years old. I got a driving license.I was very excited, then i drove my mother’s car secretly. Then i got into car accidents in the apartment parking lot. That time, i really wanted to go military service. I entrust you imagination of the aftermath. But i’m steal alive.^^ Either I want he is steal alive. Most the twenties want to drive by themselves. So i want his father forgive him generously.

  10. christiano woonaldo permalink
    March 20, 2015 7:48 pm

    hey!! lionel messi!!
    I’m christiano woonaldo!!
    How about playing soccer??
    I want settle with you!!
    who is best of world soccer player~^^

  11. Linda permalink
    March 20, 2015 9:27 pm

    https://englishlanguagepages.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/03-01182.jpg?w=300&h=199

    There are so many masters in all over the world. And I also a master of cleaning the window of skyscraper. Actually, I’m the top of this field!!!^^ However, at first, It was very very hard for me to clean the window of high rise building more than 100 stories. As I had acrophobia, I was really horrible whenever I hang on the window… I had to risk my life. But I continuously try to overcome my weekness. Because I have responsibility to support my family! Finally, I get over it and be the best cleaner of the sky. All told, I am a great man by just looking at my working apperance but…actually I’m a woman! The only female in this work site!

  12. Jiwon permalink
    March 20, 2015 10:57 pm

    #The second picture.

    I really love to feel thill. My favorite ride is roller coaster. Plus, my hobby is enjoying extreme sports like bungee jumping, rock climbing and skydiving. I like that scaring, but exciting feeling really much. One day, I was walking down the street and saw a help-wanted advertisement. It said ‘We are looking for person who is not afraid of heights.’ I was interested, so I immediately called the number at the bottom of the ad and said that I want to take that job. The man on the phone said that I should start working tomorrow. So the next day, I went to work and start my job. It was cleaning window of high building. At first, It was exciting. I washed and washed and washed the window. After cleaning dozens of window, I was so tired and did not have time to feel thill and excitement. So I decided to quit this job. I’ll never do this job again!

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 8:17 pm

      Hobby is distinct from job! We can’t always feel thrill or exciting from the job!

  13. Jong permalink
    March 20, 2015 11:00 pm

    #The second picture.

    First one people consider when they get a job is a salary. most of people pursue a lucrative job, so they don’t care how dangerous the job is. Especially people who have to support their family are willing to take a risk which threaten their life. on the picture, most of them might work just because of money, because nobody wants to clean window in the air. since they just work for money, they don’t feel happy from their work. but if they get a job which they have wanted, it can be rewarding. Getting a job they really want is very important. money is just secondary. since we spend half of our life working, a job can affect our whole life. Happiness should be the top priority when they choose a job so that they can smile during working hours ^^

    • Kenny permalink
      March 21, 2015 9:29 pm

      I agree that happiness should be the top priority when we choose a job, but our society makes us to persue money by our job. I want a society that I can earm enough money to spend with job which I want to have.

      • Jong permalink
        April 2, 2015 3:48 pm

        Yeah ~! exactly ~ ! thanks for agreeing with my opinion !

  14. Purin permalink
    March 20, 2015 11:45 pm

    In first picture, I thought of harmful effect of SNS. Overturn of car on this picture is serious accident. But the men took a picture without doing any action. Many people today are doing the same thing like him. Due to the development of internet technology, worldwide people can share their thinking through SNS. There are many useful information in the SNS. But also there are too many sensational information. Many people have posted groundless rumor and controversy picture and writing to eye-catch. And like this picture, people do only take a picture sesational sight without doing action to be famous in the SNS. Most serious problem is that so many people trust blindly. We should take a responsibility on our posted gossip in the SNS. And we have to sort out information and have an objective attitude toward information.

    • Barbie permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:28 pm

      Wow. What an analytical idea!

  15. Hwaning permalink
    March 20, 2015 11:46 pm

    #Picture 3

    I’m a student who come back from military service. Filled with huge expectation, I visited semester opening party. BUT, to my big disappointment, there were few students greeting me, even knowing me… Instead of those things, they just looked at me without face, emotion, soul just like the picture. Actually, I had greatly been looking forward to meeting new students, and new relation before I was discharged from army. But for the weakest soul like me, It was so sad…. that I went back home and fell a sleep sorrowfully. Some people call those who come back from military service as Fossils or relics. It is too cruel for us. I really want to get familiar with you FRESHMAN! Please, DO NOT turn away my face coldly. PLEASE! (It was just a fiction. I do not join the army. 🙂 Just for laugh! Feel sorry to real ‘Fossils!’ )

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 21, 2015 12:02 am

      Sorry~ It’s Picture 4 not 3!

  16. cocomong permalink
    March 20, 2015 11:59 pm

    #The second picture

    Have you ever seen ‘VJ 특공대’ that is a TV program in Korea.
    Some times the program introduces many extreme jobs.
    This picture is the one of extreme jobs.
    The two men depended on rope when they were washing the windows of skyscraper.
    Usually the job cleans windows of Building and always endure the danger.
    Can you feel the risk?

    • Fairy permalink
      March 23, 2015 11:10 am

      I also wrote about a episode in TV program. I now realize that there are people who run risks and do extreme works.

  17. Hwaning permalink
    March 21, 2015 12:31 am

    #Picture 4
    I’m a student who come back from military service. Filled with huge expectation, I visited semester opening party. BUT, to my big disappointment, there were few students greeting me, even knowing me… Instead of those things, they just looked at me without face, emotion, soul just like the picture. Actually, I had greatly been looking forward to meeting new students, and new relation before I was discharged from army. But for the weakest soul like me, It was so sad…. that I went back home and fell a sleep sorrowfully. Some people call those who come back from military service as Fossils or relics. It is too cruel for us. I really want to get familiar with you FRESHMAN! Please, DO NOT turn away my face coldly. PLEASE! (It was just a fiction. I do not join the army. 🙂 Just for laugh! Feel sorry to real ‘Fossils!’ )

  18. nottting permalink
    March 21, 2015 1:01 pm

    The first picture.
    I think he drove his parents’ car secretly without license. As expected, he made an car accident. Therefore, he called his parents. At first, his parents got mad at him. However, they decided to forgive him this time and warn not to let it happen again. They took his picture and the picture is hung on the wall of living room.

    • Bob permalink
      March 22, 2015 1:52 pm

      I hope his parents got insurance on him and their car. Or he will be in a big trouble.

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 10:00 pm

      Driving without a license is a very serious offense. He must never do it again

    • Jong permalink
      March 27, 2015 12:26 am

      Driving a car without a license is liegal.. maybe even if he is smiling now, he can’t drive agian.. haha.. ㅠㅠ

  19. alex permalink
    March 21, 2015 11:48 pm

    #pic1

    When I was young, I was a complete weakling. So I was often beaten by other boys.
    One day, My parents knew about it and they were very sad for a long time. After seeing that scene, I decided to work out regularly to build up my body. And after the years of my efforts I felt much better and finally I got a compact and muscular body. So i’d like to test my power. I went to our backyard and pushed a car. And this picture is the result of my power!

    • seung permalink
      March 22, 2015 12:50 pm

      It’s a relieve that he becomes strong.

  20. Yu-Genie permalink
    March 22, 2015 4:00 am

    The last picture.

    I’m a member of dancing club. Our club had a plan to do the performance on a shopping mall. My family wanted to see the performance and they came to shopping mall. Our performance schedule consists of two parts. My turn is a second part. When the first team did the performance, people loved it! That’s why this happened.. I was so excited about what I’m going to do it. So, I took the shirt off in front of audience and my family. They shocked because I’m a grandmother.

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 8:10 pm

      Wow…. grandmother??^^ She was really excited about showing the performance but she had to calm down for audience and her family!!

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 10:03 pm

      She should have controlled her feeling..

  21. seung permalink
    March 22, 2015 12:47 pm

    #The last picture

    I’m a criminal and here is the airport. I’ll run away to other country with my daughter. I bought glasses and people will not recognize me in this guise. This is perpect and everything is working out as planned.
    Unfortunately, There is a problem. The airport TV broadcasts a breaking new. The main character of news is me!!!!! oh my god!! In a moment, I become the most wanted man in the U.S.
    What’s should do?

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 8:05 pm

      Em… It’s highly unfortunate that you are on the news! But I think It’s too late to fine other mean of escape.Good luck!!

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 10:06 pm

      you must escape from there before the crowd become aware of you

  22. Bob permalink
    March 22, 2015 1:43 pm

    #the first picture

    A man in this picture just experienced his luckiest day. One day, he found out that he won the first place in lottery. He was very happy that he dropped his brand new cell phone and jumped out of old sofa. But he needed to go to receiving place, So carrying his identification card and lottery ticket, he ran to the closest bus station like a lightning. Then, about the moment he ran 80 steps, he suddenly heard ear-splitting braking noise. A huge car got lost control and it was dashing to him. He thought that he have to avoid that, but he was so scared that he couldn’t move a inch. Only he was able to do was just closing his eyes and praying. He heard the noise coming closer to him. But luckily, to his surprise, the car stopped just in front of him like this photo. More luckily, the driver was also completely okay, except for his car, though he got a insurance on his car. The man completely relieved, in who won lottery called some surprised pedestrian to take picture on this lucky moment. Surely, it is his luckiest day of his life, while the driver isn’t that lucky.

  23. star_s permalink
    March 22, 2015 10:48 pm

    #First picture

    I think this picture is kind of commenorative photograph.
    Before he took a picture, There were a Hurricane strike his town.
    While Hurricane hited the town in a splint second, the man of picture hid in the his basement.
    After the Hurricane is over, He came out of the house and took a commenorative photo for survive in the Hurricane.

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:59 pm

      He is lucky guy! What if Hurricane hits Korea…??? Do you think you can be a lucky person like him??

    • alex permalink
      March 23, 2015 10:15 pm

      The picture shows terrible disaster site. He is very lucky guy!

  24. Fairy permalink
    March 23, 2015 11:08 am

    #Second pic.
    In an entertaining TV program named ‘Infinite Challenge’, all actors had to do extreme works. One of them was to clean window of tall buildings. Everyone was afraid and scared to do it, so an expert came out to help them. He said that they will get used to the work as time flows. The most impressive saying by him was that the frightening thing is not the height, but the money. The second picture also shows the moment of people who struggle to earn money to eke out their living. Although the building is too tall and they are afraid, there is no time to hesitate for them. They ‘have to’ do it.

    • Linda permalink
      March 23, 2015 7:56 pm

      Yeah. It’s too hard to earn money… But, ironcally, It’s too easy to spend money!!

  25. kimmy permalink
    March 24, 2015 1:54 am

    #The Last Picture.

    it was last monday . i had a presentation in my class but I hadn’t completed the work of presentation and it was disaster because i fogot the USB which is really important to do presentation . so i just did present without any paper with the imformation of presentation .
    in my view, they looked like dissapointed and tried to understand what i meant even i didn’t know what am i talking. the facial expression tells me how was my presentation.

  26. Jia permalink
    March 25, 2015 12:14 am

    #the second picture

    there are some people to clean the windows of building which is very tall!! I could think what I watched TV program named 무한도전, one comedian cleaned the 63building window all of them. It would be really scary and tired. I could see that picture tell us every person do their job best any times and I think they worked hard too…It’s amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

