Skip to content

CRW 1 Food

March 24, 2015

For some people, food is merely fuel for the fire, a way to get the needed nutrition to energize the body and mind. For others, food is much more. It is a warm blanket on a cold day, a kind touch when one is gloomy, a dash of excitement to share with friends. How does food make you feel? This week, let’s talk food.

Students: Choose ONE of the following to write a paragraph. Don’t forget to read other students’ ideas and comment. Include a picture (or a link to a picture) if you like.

1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?
2. If you can cook, what is your favorite dish to prepare? Why?
3. Do you have a comfort food? (‘comfort food’ is food that we eat when we want that warm feeling of Mom’s home-cooking. For example, one of my comfort foods is Mac’n’cheeze.)
4. Do you have a favorite foreign food? What is it? Describe it. (picture please)
5. Does some food have too much salt, sugar, fat these days? Explain.
6. What is the most unusual food you have ever seen? Have you tried it? Would you try it?
7. How important is food culture in making or maintaining relationships in Korea?
8. Is it wrong to criticize another culture’s food? (for example, eating dog meat)
9. Compare Korean food culture with the culture of another country.
10. Your idea

94 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenny permalink
    March 24, 2015 8:04 pm

    Q.What is the most unusual food you have ever seen? Have you tried it? Would you try it?

    A.

    The most unusual food I have ever seen is ‘brain sandwich’. It is like a hamburger but its patty is a brain of calf, not pork or beef. I saw this food on TV program that shows various unique food around the world. When I heard about this sandwich, I could not imagine what it is like. Then, I saw what does it look like and felt like throwing up because I’m not familiar with the shape of calf’s brain and eating it. But TV show said it is ordinary food in specific area of America, St. Louis, Missouri. Brain hamburgers are still selling in America and in some countries that use Spanish, it is made as a taco or burrito. It is known that the quality of meat (brain) is great. Its taste is not good enough to eat itself, so people add hot sauce for better taste. It is really unique, but I never want to eat it !

    • Kenny permalink
      March 24, 2015 8:05 pm

      • Bob permalink
        March 25, 2015 11:30 pm

        I can surely feel it’s unusualness first for it’s name, then for it’s shape. Furthermore, I can’t even imagine the taste of this as I didn’t tasted any animal’s brain before.

      • alex permalink
        March 25, 2015 11:41 pm

        When i first saw this picture before i read your text, I though that maybe it is just kind of burger that uses chicken patty. But it is calf’s brain patty..! I dare not think of its taste. I really never want to eat it.

    • Shannon permalink
      March 29, 2015 1:14 am

      I can’t imagine this taste. Even though it looks like normal hamburger, trying to eat this will be hard. I don’t want to try brain burger…

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 6:16 pm

      ??? I very very wonder it’s taste!! Cause I haven’t eaten brain of something so I can’t imagine that taste. Someday, I will eat that food in America or other country!!

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:06 pm

      I always respect individual preference, but IF someone ask me to eat this, to be sure, I cannot try this at all. Please respect my preference. TT

  2. Ana permalink
    March 25, 2015 1:10 am

    1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    Actually, I have something wrong with my intestines. Greasy and fried food often attack my digestive organs immediately. Therefore, I prefer food easy to digest especially made of sweet potato, pumpkin, lettuce, yogurt, etc which contain lots of fiber. The best food among all these is sweet pumpkin porridge made by my mother. She cooks for me using healthy and fresh ingredients and puts her love in it. It tastes bitter-sweet enough, indeed I feel full of happiness when I chew and swallow pumpkin porridge. This food is not just porridge, but deep affection from my adorable mother.

      • Kenny permalink
        March 25, 2015 10:48 pm

        Oh….It really looks delicious. I like this food too because it is digested well and sweet. I think the porridge is even more delicious than any other food because of your mother’s love that she put in.

    • alex permalink
      March 25, 2015 11:35 pm

      I really like that kind of foods especially sweet red bean porridge. And i can feel your mother’s love for the daughter in your text. It is great thing than any other thing.

    • Shannon permalink
      March 29, 2015 1:19 am

      Personally, I also enjoy eating sweet pumpkin porridge!! It is reaaly good when we are sick. And also, I think it is more delicious because it is added your mother’s love!!

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 6:37 pm

      I really love pumkin porridge♡ Since I was a child, my grandmother would make this for me so I still can’t forget this taste… Oneday, I very wanted to eat pumkin porridge but there no store to sell that. As I really couldn;t wait to eat so I was obliged to buy that of convenience store. It was completely wrong choice. It was disgusting!! Certainly, I realized pumkin porridge must be made by my grandmother.

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:14 pm

      Oh it must comfort my stomach warmly.. all of foods from our mothers are always right!

  3. Shannon permalink
    March 25, 2015 11:03 pm

    http://mblogthumb1.phinf.naver.net/20150205_64/jsunlee0816_1423109505031SLQPP_JPEG/8.jpg?type=w2

    Q. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    A. Every time we think what to have for lunch and dinner because we have an abundance of different types of food. Then, how about going to eat ‘Tokpoggi(떡볶이)’ which is made with long thin rice cakes and vegetables? It is my favorite Korean dish. The first reason why I like eating this dish is that it is one of most spicy dish. When I get stressed out, I enjoy eating spicy food. I can feel the stress falling away after eating it. And also, this recipe is quick and easy. Because this dish is fast, inexpensive and easy to prepare using common ingredients, everyone can cook it quickly and easy at home. Lastly, it is really delicious. It is loved by Koreans, both young and old. Especially many children enjoy eating it because the rice cakes have a chewy texture. And the other ingredients such as fish cake, fries can be added to this dish according to your taste. I am sure you will also enjoying it. You also want to eat it almost every day like me!! ^-^

    • alex permalink
      March 25, 2015 11:47 pm

      Actually, i ate Tokpoggi at engineering college today. In fact i like it like you. So i empathize your opinion ‘almost every day want to eat it’. Because i feel that way too.

    • Lionel messi permalink
      March 27, 2015 4:05 pm

      Ha…I ate dokpoggi for lunch today after writing your comment. Dokpoggi is always right and also good. I espetially like 엽기dokpoggi. It tastes too spicy. You ought to try this and see if you like it.

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:20 pm

      I love to enjoy Tokpoggi, too. Sundae dipped in Tokpoggi’s sauce is also delicious!

  4. Bob permalink
    March 25, 2015 11:23 pm

    1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    I prefer fried foods over other types of food, and my favorite among them is fried prawn. As it’s name describes it’s simpleness, it is quite easy to make, which makes it prevail in anywhere. But it’s taste is never simple. As it is fried food, fried prawn has a batter, which let eaters feel it’s crispy texture. Also there’s a cooked prawn inside the batter, whose texture is soft but chewy, These two opposing textures make a unique harmony of texture when chewed. Moreover, except for salt for basic seasoning, it doesn’t contain particular spices when made, making it tastes bland. So, it can be harmonized with variety of sauces. It can be dipped in soy sauce, chili sauce, tartare sauce, and so on. Whenever I eat all fried prawns of mine, I want some more, but as those are fried, I stop eating them to keep myself healthy. Surely, it is a simple food, but it’s taste is never that simple, and this unique feature is the reason why I love it.

    • alex permalink
      March 25, 2015 11:53 pm

      I like fried shrimp and fried foods. But i can’t eat it often because it is very high calorie foods . So if i often eat it, I will become a fat people.

    • Jong permalink
      March 27, 2015 12:55 am

      wow the fried food on the picture looks soo delicious…. I want to taste that one !
      i can totally understand why you prefer to eat fried food !

    • christiano woonaldo permalink
      March 27, 2015 4:00 pm

      oh….. that look so delicious ㅜㅜ I’m hungry now

    • Shannon permalink
      March 29, 2015 1:35 am

      I also love enjoy the fried shrimp and fried food. It looks very delicious. I want to eat it!!! And also, as you said, even though it is easy to make it, but it’s taste is not simple. I also recommend a lot of people around the world.

    • jennykoo permalink
      March 29, 2015 8:19 pm

      i love shrimp the picture look so delicious

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:23 pm

      Fried foods is some unhealthy food I think… BUT! I love these foods, too. nevertheless, Why don’t you eat less for health?!

  5. alex permalink
    March 25, 2015 11:29 pm

    http://cfile29.uf.tistory.com/image/1571FE0B4B6C319F23C13A

    Q. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    A.

    There are many tasty food in the world. But among the foods, I really like the meat than any other foods. I like most meat such as samgyupsal, pork ribs, etc. Even, when i have a meal, if there is no meat on my table, i feel so empty. And among the meats, i think the steak is the best dish. The reason is that , in the cooking process, steak uses the minimum amount of ingredient than any other foods that need many ingredient. So, when cooking the steak, we just only need a meat, grill, and salt. Therefore, steak makes its taste by just using its own quality of meat. So from the reason, i think steak is one of the gourmet foods. And generally, its cost is expensive. Thus, i can’t frequently go to the steak house. So i go to there with my family or friends on special day. When i eat a steak, i can feel my stress goes away and i feel very happy. Indeed, i feel so good at that moment. And i think almost all the people like steak. Therefore, why don’t you visit the steak house to eat nice steak on this weekend?
    It really makes you happy!

    • Barbie permalink
      March 28, 2015 8:29 pm

      You are just same as my younger brother! He does not eat anything if there were no meat.

    • Shannon permalink
      March 29, 2015 1:39 am

      There are a lot of kinds of meats. However I also think like you the steak is the best dish among them. Eating steak always makes us be happy!!^-^ I think conclusion is good. And also how about going there with family??

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:25 pm

      Samgyepsal!!!! Soju makes it cooler than any other! I hope we meet in Matdon someday. ^^

  6. kimmy permalink
    March 26, 2015 1:34 am

    6. What is the most unusual food you have ever seen? Have you tried it? Would you try it?

    Do you know tomato egg?

    This is the most unusual food to me because I can’t imagine the taste of it at all
    But the interesting thing is that it is popular dish in KHU FOOD COURT
    This dish is quite hot topic in KHU. The reason is that it has reversion, contrary to people’s expectations, the response of people who ate it quite nice.
    Actually I have never eaten tomato egg but I am more and more curious about it
    The recipe of it is very simple and the ingredients are also affordable. So it is easy to make
    Just tomato and egg is needed to the dish and they are stir-fried with some source and oil
    You can try it at FOOD COURT in dormitory !

    • seung permalink
      March 26, 2015 4:15 am

      From what I heard, It is chinese dish. And It has low calorie, so some people has it for diet.
      Anyway, Thanks for the good information! I’ll try it at food court!!!

    • Barbie permalink
      March 28, 2015 8:30 pm

      I really wanna see the picture of it!

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:28 pm

      As a person who taste it, this wiil satisfy both your stomach and wallet! Try it!

  7. seung permalink
    March 26, 2015 4:03 am

    http://photo.naver.com/view/2004012916120083135

    1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    My favorite dish is Bibimbap. Bibimbap is so delicious, and spicy. Bibimbap is made of many food ingredients. We can make Bibimbap like this : On the rice, Put vegetables like carrots, and cucumbers. Put fried eggs, and gochujang. And then, please mix the ingredients well. Bibimbap is delicious and healthy food. Many healthy ingredients are included in a bowl of Bibimbap. So I feel healthy after I eat Bibimbap. Bibimbap was a dainty dish to set before a king. So I feel like a novelman after I eat Bibimbap. At this writing, I would like to eat Bibimbap. Yes, tomorrow’s menu is Bibimbap!

    • Lionel messi permalink
      March 27, 2015 4:27 pm

      I think Young radish kimchi bibimbab is also good. It’s so delicious when You just put Young radish kimchi and gochujang.

    • cocomong permalink
      March 27, 2015 10:29 pm

      Right, Bibimgap is one of delicious food. If you did not eat Jeonju Bibimbap, i want to recommend it. it is really good.

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 7:45 pm

      I love Bibimbap, too!! I think it’s charming point is to cook with every ingredient that one wants!!

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:31 pm

      Bibimbap include many kinds of vegetables, and all of them are healthy and tasty. But, I dare say lettuce is most delicious ingredient of bibimbap.

  8. Lionel Messi permalink
    March 26, 2015 4:49 pm

    1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    I love meat, above all ‘Samgyeopsal’ is my favorite food. When I was 20, I ate Samgyeopsal 3 or 4 times a week. The place where I always go to eat is 맛돈 located at the opposite site of Kyunghee University. 맛돈 sells Samgyeopsal which is very juicy and have a chewy texture. What’s more, the price of Samgyeopsal there is very cheap, so a lot of students go there to enjoy their meals. Also eating with bean sprouts and kimchi get much better its taste. Finally after eating Samgyeopsal, I always eat fried rice. It fills my stomach and makes me feel better. After eating it, I feel much happier for the rest of the day. Moreover, since the taste is so addictive that it makes me want to go there again.

    • Lionel Messi permalink
      March 26, 2015 4:51 pm

      http://blog.daum.net/jgkl2/13568925

    • Barbie permalink
      March 28, 2015 8:31 pm

      Your comment reminds me the samgyeopsal kimbab. It’s really delicious. Have you ever try to make kimbab with samgyeopsal?!

    • stanley permalink
      March 28, 2015 11:10 pm

      That image remind me a soju…

    • Jia permalink
      March 29, 2015 11:55 pm

      Samgyeopsal is very delicious!!! I love it~

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:34 pm

      Hey Messi! I’m Hwaning, you know. ^^ Please take me to 맛돈! Enjoy it with me. TT. Call me please!

  9. Jiwon permalink
    March 26, 2015 10:28 pm

    2. If you can cook, what is your favorite dish to prepare? Why?

    I like cooking desserts, especially baking bread. Last christmas, I made some christmas cookies and cheese cake, and gave them to my family and friends. I was happy to see their pleased expressions, and thankfully, they said my desserts were great. After that experience, I feel happy and excited when I just look a book related to baking. In addition, baking process is quite funny. It is amazing that I can make actual bread with just a cup of milk and powder. I do not have to grill or fry something. Just put the paste in the oven and wait. That is all I should do. It is like magic. Kneading and rolling dough, making shape…. It is like playing, rather than cooking. That’s why I like to prepare desserts.

    • nottting permalink
      March 27, 2015 8:02 pm

      I love bread! While reading your writing, I became confident to bake! I will try it someday!

    • Barbie permalink
      March 28, 2015 8:32 pm

      Why don’t you bring some your home baking bread to the class!

    • jennykoo permalink
      March 29, 2015 8:21 pm

      you have same hooby as me . I love to bake. I wanna try your desserts1

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:37 pm

      Actually, I have wokred in Paris Baguette. Why don’t you sell your breads to people with me?! It must be bestseller!

  10. Jia permalink
    March 26, 2015 11:48 pm

    #4. Do you have a favorite foreign food?

    I have a favorite foreign food, its name is Pad thai. Some people know that, but there are many people who don’t know this food. This is a thai food. We can cook this very easy. It is a noodle which is fried and has many kind of sauce. We can choose sauce as our taste like using chili sauce, mayo-pineapple sauce…etc. Pad thai could be seen hot food, but it isn’t and has a lot of kinds of taste such sweet. Its taste is very delicious and you can cook this not wasting much time. I want you guys to have it!!

    http://blog.naver.com/bin22006/10149742794

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 7:40 pm

      Oh, I really love it!! Somday, I want to cook Pad thai at my home myself to follow that blog!! Thank you~~

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:39 pm

      I have seen food almost like it in Noryangjin. It was really salty. TT. Could you recommend some restarant in which I can enjoy this?

  11. Jong permalink
    March 27, 2015 12:52 am

    2. If you can cook, what is your favorite dish to prepare? Why?

    I love to cook kimchi. 1 year ago, I was going to go America and I had never worried about food beacuse I always liked to eat pizza, hamburger and cheese (American food) . However after I arrived in America it was good just for a week. I couldn’t digest American food anymore and I desperately needed to eat Korean food. in the moment, first thing I really wanted to eat was Kimchi which I uesd to eat everyday in Korea. That was the reason why I started to cook kimchi by myself and why kimchi became my favorite food. I want you all to not forget your nomal food that you eat everyday. because actually that might be your favorite food ! the experience made me to love kimchi . Kimchil will be my favorite ! always !

    • christiano woonaldo permalink
      March 27, 2015 3:58 pm

      I want to put that Kim-chi in my kim-chi jjigae.
      That is look so tasty

      • Jong permalink
        April 2, 2015 12:16 am

        Yes kimchi jjigae is also my favorite ! Haha

    • stanley permalink
      March 28, 2015 11:07 pm

      I have same experience, American food is quite oily so I really want to it Kimchi and red pepper paste.

      • kimmy permalink
        March 28, 2015 11:53 pm

        Wow can you cook a kmchi ? isn’t it difficult ? i think you really good at cooking. because kimchi is the most difficult food to cook in my case 🙂

    • Fairy permalink
      March 29, 2015 11:10 pm

      I guess most Korean love Kimchi and of course I do.

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:42 pm

      I live in Seocheodong lonely. So, I know exactly how important Kimchi is in our lives. Would you cook Kimchi for pitiful soul like me..?

      • Jong permalink
        April 2, 2015 3:46 pm

        I can cook kimchi… but actually my kimchi is not that delicious ㅜㅜ haha

  12. christiano woonaldo permalink
    March 27, 2015 3:57 pm

    2. If you can cook, what is your favorite dish to prepare? why?

    My favorite dish to prepare is Kim-chi jjigae. exactly, I don’t know why I like kim-chi jjigae but I like kimchi jjigae more then steak, It make me more feel full and satisfied. And it is easy to cook but hard to make tasty. I show, my own Kim-chi jjigae recipe.
    First, prepare materials of Kim-chi jjigae. Materials are acided Kim-chi, porkneck meat, chili oil, welsh onion, and tofu. Second, trim vegetables and cut slice. Third, stir-fry porkneck meat with chili oil until meat roasted just half then put the sliced Kim-chi. Forth, roast with Kim-chi and meat until meat roasted all. Fifth, Put the water in the pot.
    Sixth, just wait a few minuts until water boiled. Seventh, put the trim vegetables and tofu.
    Eighth, when the jjigae boiled, turn of the gas and eat delicious.
    How about try it, when you want eat spicy food. It can make you stimulelate appetite.
    Follow Follow me!~~~

    • Lionel messi permalink
      March 27, 2015 4:17 pm

      Wow. Woonaldo!!!! You can also cook?? Oh…you are good at everything! Let’s eat together sometime^^. Could you make kimchi jjigae for me?? I think it must be very delicious.

    • cocomong permalink
      March 27, 2015 10:26 pm

      if i get a chance to tasty your Kim-chi jjigae, i will happy. Steps of recipe written your post looks like a expert.

      • kimmy permalink
        March 29, 2015 12:08 am

        thank you for writing the detailed recipe . it is really helps me to learn plenty of vocabulary in cooking ! 🙂

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:44 pm

      Hey naldo! Please cook Kimchi jjigae in your home. I’d really like to enjoy it with Messi and you.

  13. Barbie permalink
    March 27, 2015 7:35 pm

    #7 How important is food culture in making or maintaining relationships in Korea?

    When people make or maintain the social relationship with others, they usually say ‘Let’s have a lunch or dinner sometimes’. This shows that the food culture is important because it can be the connection between persons to person. For example, each person who has the similar appetite can be the close friends. Also, learning the courtesy of eating foods is important food culture in maintaining relationships. Not eating foods before the adults eat first or, not making a big noise when eating foods play an important role in maintaining relationships with others. And for my case, there is a seasons to make kimchi in our families’ annual. Whole of our family members move to my grandmother’s house, and we make the kimchi and use it for making delicious foods. We share our foods and feel the strong bond of our family members.

    • nottting permalink
      March 27, 2015 7:58 pm

      Right. Making kimchi is an annual event for my family, too!

    • cocomong permalink
      March 27, 2015 10:21 pm

      yes i agree. Food culture is important connection in our relationship.

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:48 pm

      To my great disappointment, nowdays, this culture like Making kimchi also known as Kimjang is disappearing.

  14. nottting permalink
    March 27, 2015 7:50 pm

    I like gimbap because it is easy to eat and also delicious!
    On a square seaweed paper, rice are rolled. Also, wide strips of ham, yellow pickled radish, carrot, blanched spinach, thin fried egg, and anything you want are put on rice. Then, when we roll it into a round shape and cut it into bite-sized pieces, there is what shape we know.
    Many colorful ingredients are wrapped by black seaweed and white rice. Not only harmony of colors but also tastes are great! According to my liking, its taste, colors, and shapes can be changed . Despite its small size, I feel full and satisfied after I eat gimbap. You will never know how much I love gimbap. Last semester, I ate gimbap for lunch everyday!

    • cocomong permalink
      March 27, 2015 10:19 pm

      Gimbap is really delicious. We didn’t forget it when we went picnic!

    • stanley permalink
      March 28, 2015 11:03 pm

      Have you ever eaten ‘야채김밥’ in 김밥천국?

    • Adam permalink
      March 29, 2015 6:15 pm

      I like Gimbap very much!! 🙂 But its calories are tremendous. 😦

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:50 pm

      Gimbab dipped in Tokbiggi sauce is also coooool. You make me hungry… TT.

  15. cocomong permalink
    March 27, 2015 10:12 pm

    http://www.google.co.kr/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAgQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmamanim.tistory.com%2F857&ei=ElYVVe_UJdTh8AWXrYHYAw&psig=AFQjCNFOEr8EpL2RQe-Ih9LPS3H9GiRbmA&ust=1427548050709040
    I think whoever has one comfort food. One comfort food for me is 미역국.
    Sometimes I‘m comfort 미역국 that my mother made me whenever my birthday or when I was sick. Wednesday of this week was my birthday. I received many cakes from my friends. In addition i bought 미역국 at restaurant nearby KHU. But I had an unsatisfied feeling. Because I could not eat 미역국 which my mother makes me. Recently I’m living in my cousin’s house in order to commute to school. So i have not been eating dishes and some food that mother makes. therefore the reason, why 미역국 is comfort food for me, may be i miss my mother.

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 7:36 pm

      Yhea. 미역국 is indispensable food on one’s birthday!

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:52 pm

      My mother cook 미역국 on my birthday always. 3 month are left for it! I’m full of huge expectation!

  16. March 27, 2015 11:51 pm

    Q. Do you have a comfort food? (‘comfort food’ is food that we eat when we want that warm feeling of Mom’s home-cooking. For example, one of my comfort foods is Mac’n’cheeze.)

    A. Have you ever seen this food? It is kinds of soup, which is name of ‘닭곰탕’ (ddakgomtang). It is not my mother’s home-cooking but my grandmother’s main dish. There are many cooking materials are used.

    • stanley permalink
      March 28, 2015 11:00 pm

      Q. Do you have a comfort food? (‘Comfort food’ is food that we eat when we want that warm feeling of Mom’s home-cooking. For example, one of my comfort foods is Mac’n’cheeze.)

      A. (There is some technical problems in my computer, so I re-upload it) Have you ever seen this food? It is kinds of soup (In Korean style, ‘tang’), which is name of ‘닭곰탕’ (dakgomtang). It is not my mother’s home-cooking but my grandmother’s one of the main dishes. It is also one of my comfort food. There are many cooking materials are used. Blanched Chicken, onion, green onion, scallion, garlic, salt etc. However, its recipe is quite easy. First trimming the chicken and boiling it with garlic. And re-boiling with radish, onion, green onion, and scallion. Then keep making the meat broth and bone a chicken. Also, fishing the boiled material out of the meat broth and prepare the ttubaegi. Finally, put the boned chicken in the ttubaegi and re-boil it with big scallion and salt. The ‘닭곰탕’ (dakgomtang), which also have strong taste of the soup and chicken’s aromatic taste is beyond comparison. I think that the food is made of grandmother’s heart. Besides, in Korea many people eat ‘닭곰탕’ or ‘삼계탕’ to improve health. However in case of me, it also gives me not only health but also grandmother’s warm feeling and affection. I highly recommend it! Please try ‘닭곰탕’!

      • Hwaning permalink
        March 31, 2015 11:54 pm

        I have eaten 닭곰탕 when I visited my grandma’s home. I remember It was comforting really.. I Miss grandma..

  17. Hwaning permalink
    March 29, 2015 3:53 pm

    1. What is your favorite dish? Describe it. How do you feel afterwards?

    Fish are always my favorite food. I love grilled fish, steamed fish, raw fish, whatever sort of fish dishes is. Among these thing, my most favorite fish dish is raw fish. In korea, raw fish are cooked into “Sashimi” also known as Hoe(회). Cooking Sashimi needs a sophisticated cutting technique. someone says about it “A knife makes taste of Sashimi.” First, cook remove some parts that are cannot edible. Next, he cut edible parts in slices. Now, this Sashimi is ready to go to someone’s mouse. Enjoyer of it can eat it more deliciously with a special sauce named Chogochujang(초고추장). Wasabi(와사비) makes Chogochujang a lot spcier. Actuallly, I am working in Sashimi restaurant as part-time job. cook of my restaurant usually gives some pieces of Sashimi. The moment I chew it, taste it, swallow it is my happiest moment during the work. Texture and taste of it always deserve its expensive cost. Why don’t you guys enjoy Sashimi with me?

  18. Adam permalink
    March 29, 2015 6:14 pm

    http://postfiles9.naver.net/20140903_296/hae2kong_1409727882456Te7ND_JPEG/%C3%EB%B5%CE%BA%CE2.jpg?type=w2

    6. What is the most unusual food you have ever seen? Have you tried it? Would you try it?

    When I was traveling to Shanghai, China, I went to traditional market in there. Lots of foods were there and I could have tried it all. But there was one thing that I could never try. It was Stinky Tofu. As its name, it was stinky a lot. It was so stinky that I could smell its bad stench everywhere I went. The appearance of Stinky Tofu was also disgusting. It looked clearly decayed, actually it had been decayed already though. For those reasons, I didn’t eat that. And I will never eat such a food. Just one thing now I am wondering is why people eat such a sickening food. If they love this food, I will not stop them. But if not, or if they are about to try this food for fun, I want to tell them not to do.

    • Linda permalink
      March 29, 2015 7:33 pm

      Adam, I have tried Stinky Tofu when I traveled to China! At first, It’s taste was too aweful to eat but once I bite that covering my nose, it was delicious than I expected!!! If there a chance to eat that food, go for it! You can experence new world of taste!

      • Hwaning permalink
        March 31, 2015 11:56 pm

        I have seen this in TV show called Sponge. I was really disgusted then..

  19. Linda permalink
    March 29, 2015 7:24 pm

    Q4. Do you have a favorite foreign food? What is it?

    http://dbscthumb.phinf.naver.net/2730_000_1/20130904113654452_5AF34OJ5P.jpg/fb28_90_i1.jpg?type=w406_fst_n&wm=Y

    A. Yes. I have many favorite foreign foods and one of them is “Dimsum”!!! Whenever I eat that, I feel the ineffable joys of heaven! Dimsum is a Cantonese-style chinese food but these days, there are vatious styles from all over the world. And Its name varies with shape and recipe. Small and transparent thing is named ‘chaotzu’, having thick and soft thing is ‘파오’ and which upper is opened like Dumpling is ‘마이’. Especially, ‘shrimp chaotzu ‘ is the best. As it’s name said, It contains shrimp so I get more of it in every bite, I can taste seafood in dimsum!^^ Other dimsum is also delicious and has its own flavor, so you can choose what your likes!!!

    • Hwaning permalink
      March 31, 2015 11:59 pm

      Its visual is very cool as you know. I have never heard about it, but I want to try it sometime.

  20. Fairy permalink
    March 29, 2015 10:57 pm

    6. What is the most unusual food you have ever seen? Have you tried it? Would you try it?

    http://cfile251.uf.daum.net/original/131F830B4C3D8CB74D26D8

    Can you guess what it is? When I first looked at it, I thought it was just a hotdog. The next time I saw it, I looked the detail of the picture and found out that it is not a usual fried hotdog. It is a fried sneakers bar. Everyone knows that American love oily food and sweets, especially chocolate. Therefore, they combined both of them together and made it to one ultimate food, which is called ‘fried sneakers’. I have never tried this food because I just saw it by picture on the Internet. I cannot even guess how it will taste like. If I get a chance to try it, I would like to do so. The reason why I want to eat it is that I also love chocolate so much. Anyone who knows where to eat this superlative chocolate food must tell me.

    • Hwaning permalink
      April 1, 2015 12:00 am

      It MUST make me fat.. I won’t try it. TT

  21. jennykoo permalink
    March 30, 2015 10:42 pm

    2.2. If you can cook, what is your favorite dish to prepare? Why?

    I would like to cook hamburger. Buying hamburger outside can be unheathy because of lot’s of chemical ingredients. So I would cook my favorite menu hamberger. Hamburger is really easy to make also it take a short time. When I make hamburger at home I only need 15 minutes. Second, I can put lots of vegetables in it. I make it more healther, and also put less sauces. Third, it is really convient to carry. Having short time break at school, I could eat in a time. That’s why I would cook hamburger at home than buying at outside.

    • Hwaning permalink
      April 1, 2015 12:01 am

      McJenny is proper for your restaurant! If you open up hamburger restaurant, I will go there every morning.

  22. Yu-Genie permalink
    March 30, 2015 11:07 pm

    8. Is it wrong to criticize another culture’s food? (for example, eating dog meat)

    I think it is wrong to criticize another culture’s food. Even if I am a Korean, I do not eat the dog’s meat because I raise a dog as pet about for 12 years with so much love. But eating dogs is defending on personal choice. When someone want to eat the dog, I do not have right to criticize them. I know the process of distribution of dog’s meat is not appropriate. However, if admitting the dog as a live stock, relative laws can set up. As a result, the process of distribution of it can be pertinent. Other reason is that all animals are same. If critics had sympathy to a dog, they should have sympathy to every animal such as a pig, a cow, a horse, a chicken and so on. So, they should conduct a campaign which is not ‘DO NOT EAT MY FRIENDS (it means the dogs)’ but ‘DO NOT EAT MY FRIENDS (it means the animals)’

    • Hwaning permalink
      April 1, 2015 12:05 am

      I also think that It’s wrong to critcize another food culture. While I love dogs, I shall not insult people who eat them.

  23. Sally permalink
    September 18, 2015 12:39 am

    Each person including me avoids or feels scared about some foods. For example, many non-koreans hesitate about eating ‘Soon-dae’, organs of pig such as liver, lung, and ears of pig. And I had that hesitation over eating something as a foreigner. That was a heart of chicken.
    I visited USA on my vacation, and went to a restaurant selling expensive and various kinds of meat or fish. There, one foreign friend asked me if I have ever eaten a heart of a chicken and asked me to try once. I was very afraid of eating because it made me think of the heart of human beings. But actually, it was different from my expectation. It was a size like my thumb-nail, and tasted like chickens’ large intestine. (It is more scary..)
    Though I had no chance to eat chicken’s heart twice(because I’m the coward) but that was the food I want to introduce as my unusual dish and recommend you to try for special experience.

Leave a Reply

