Skip to content

CRW 2 Nominees for Best Movies Include…

April 6, 2015

As per a student’s suggestion, this week’s topic will be about movies. Let’s imagine that you have been asked by a nomination committee to select awards for best movies and actors of all time. Which ones would you choose? Explain you reasons.
Choose ONE of the following categories:
1. Best film of all time (any genre)
2. Best comedy of all time
3. Best drama of all time
4. Best romance movie of all time
5. Best action/adventure of all time
6. Best Sci-fi of all time
7. Best actress (in a particular film)
8. Best actor (in a particular film)
9. Best supporting actress(in a particular film)
10. Best supporting actor (in a particular film)
11. Best soundtrack
12. Your idea

63 Comments leave one →
  1. Rubberduck permalink
    April 7, 2015 3:23 pm

    6. Best sci-fi of all the time.

    My best scientific fiction movie is ‘inter stellar’ which was directed by Christopher Nolan. Christopher Nolan is a movie director that made Batman verses superman eta. Maybe most of people would watch this movie because it won 1st in movie chart of its opening season. Therefore I would skip over its summary plot. However there are several reasons that I like this movie most. First of all, all of the actor and actress were not too striking in the film. This movie was focused on traveling universe by government project to save people’s life. So if the main character or other people were striking in plot too much, this movie’s attraction and concentration will be decrease. Secondly, because of movie director, this movie focused harshly on reality than any other scientific fiction movie. For example, the wide corn field, which main character family lived, is a real field that director actually cultivated so that it seemed naturally than any other fields. At last, this movie shows lots of theories of physics but director explained them easily for people, who don’t know well, in order to understand lots of theories during watching movie. Although this movie has a long showing time that audience could be bored, but Christopher changed bored into amazing graphic technology that made people could focus. In sum, the best scientific fiction movie that I like most is ‘inter stellar’.

    • CRWtwo permalink
      April 10, 2015 9:34 am

      One of my best movies last year was Inter-stella, as well. I watched this movie 3 times at the theater because It was actually a bit difficult for me to understand at once. even though the story was difficult for me, I really loved the scenes which seemed pretty realistic but not real such as space scene in another planet and a high-dimensional space we haven’t experienced yet.

    • stanley permalink
      April 10, 2015 4:55 pm

      I’m big fan of Noaln, and also I have been seen all about the Christopher Nolan’s movies as well. EspeciaIly, I think that the best thing of the movie is the sound track, which is made by Hans Zimmer!!

    • Yoon permalink
      April 11, 2015 12:40 am

      I have watched ‘Inter-stella’,too! It was so interesting! Although I couldn’t understand all of movie, I was impressed to theoris in the movie. I could not take my eyes off the movie for 3hours.

      • JUN permalink
        April 12, 2015 5:12 pm

        I like Inception as well as Inter-stella, Inception is about unconsciousness. Actually it covers human’s dream of dream of dream… These two movies of Nolan are difficult little bit, but amazing. I think Christopher Nolan is a genius in direction and has a various original ideas.

  2. so young permalink
    April 8, 2015 3:26 pm

    If I can choose one movie as a best film of all time, I will select ‘TITANIC’. There are three reasons why I recommend the movie ‘Titanic.’ First, the movie was directed wonderfully. It was a movie based on historical event in 1912 and the director ‘James Cameron’ made a real ship for two years and used 64,300,000L of water to reenact the event realistically. Although it was made in 1997, this movie does not suffer by comparison with movies of today.
    Second, the movie was well cast. Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet had been cast of main characters. I think forbidden love story depicted by two amazing actors was enough to move every people’s heart. In addition, they were not only good looking and pretty, but also delivered outstanding performance. Even though they had to act in the cold water for most of the time making the film, they did well.
    Lastly, the sound track of TITANIC made by James Horner is also one of the masterpieces. Every time I think about scenes in the movie with his music, it makes me thrill. Especially, Celine Dion’s Titanic theme ‘My hearts will go on’ had been hit in the world. The lyric and melody brought sad love story to people’s mind, so that the sound track also contributed to make TITANIC impressive movie.
    For these reasons, I think the movie ‘TITANIC’ deserves being selected to best film.

    • proftodd permalink*
      April 8, 2015 6:43 pm

      I agree it is a wonderful movie. Funny story: When I first saw Titanic, I was on a date, but I was really tired from a lack of sleep. I fell asleep halfway through the movie and I started snoring a little. (Strangely, I usually never snore.) Luckily, my date had sharp elbows which quickly woke me up. I vaguely remember that she and I broke up shortly after that.

      • yong permalink
        April 10, 2015 12:28 pm

        lol it’s fun and sad story.. I have also experience to fall asleep watching Korean movie called Yonggary when I was at seven or eight or so. I just remebered I got enough sleep..

    • April 10, 2015 1:44 am

      I also love this movie. When i first saw the film, i was 9 and at that time i did not understand why it is so famous and popular movie. But, i can feel now why it is. As most people think, the background music is very beautiful.

    • Irin permalink
      April 10, 2015 9:28 pm

      I really agree with your opinion. Particularly, the sound track is wonderful. When I listen TITANIC’s music, I still admire greatly and imagine movie scenes. Maybe this great movie will remain in a lot of peoples memory for a long time.

  3. Daisy permalink
    April 8, 2015 9:16 pm

    4. Best romance movie of all time

    If I am asked by a nomination committer to select awards for a best film of all time, I will select ‘500days of Summer.’ Although, the movie, ‘500days of Summer’ is about a love story, it’s different.
    There are several reasons I select this film, and one of them is that the film is totally different with other common romance movies. The film starts narration which said “This is a story of boy meets girl. But, you should know upfront, this is not a love story.” Many people who listened or watched the title of this film, ‘500days of Summer,’ they would have been think that the film is just a love story for 500days. However, it is the story about the memory of that a couple fell in love, why they fought, and the reasons of they broke up.
    The second reason I chose this film is that ‘500days of Summer’ gives people fresh and new feelings whenever they watch. People can understand each character’s situations and criticize differently according to watchers’ situation. Like ‘Little Prince’, the film is open to interpretation. For instance, while some people can think the main female character, Summer is a bad women, others can think she was a women who only love Tom. Likewise, there can be various opinions in this film.
    For these reasons, I think the film, ‘500days of Summer’ deserves this awards for a best film.

    • yong permalink
      April 10, 2015 12:36 pm

      I have also watched this film but I don’t remeber that movie welll. what I remembered that was pretty fun and sad. If I have a chance, I am going to watch it again.

    • stanley permalink
      April 10, 2015 5:10 pm

      when I saw this movie, I really felt sympathy of Tom’s situation… Have you ever seen the movie, ‘About Time’, and ‘All About My Wife’?? If you have not seen yet, I really recommend theses moives!!

    • Sion permalink
      April 10, 2015 10:33 pm

      I love this movie too. I felt a tremendous empathy with Tom. And I like its soundtrack.

    • Yoon permalink
      April 11, 2015 1:13 am

      I really wanted to watch this movie! I heard that it was the best romance movie.
      I can empathy each caracter’s situation when I watch it!

  4. Leo0701 permalink
    April 9, 2015 1:18 am

    4. Best romance movie of all time

    My favorite movie is “A Moment to Remember” I still cannot forget the feeling of the moment when I watched this movie because I felt my heart break. It was the first time that I cried so hard while watching a movie. The main character of the movie is Sohn Ye-jin. In this movie, she gets Alzheimer’s and gradually forget her husband and everything. Nevertheless, the male main character, Jung Woo-sung, looks like he can give his life for her. I am very impressed by his love. After I watched this movie, I dreamed about experiencing this kind of love. I strongly recommend this movie to the person who wants to know what sincere love is.

    • Rubberduck permalink
      April 9, 2015 8:56 am

      Although I have heard this movie but I didn’t see this movie. The most remarkable reason that this movie makes people said is because of characters. Especially, Jung Woo-sung who has shown miserable and speachless character makes movie more impressive. However I want to know more about your feelings. How about describe more?

    • April 10, 2015 1:51 am

      I have not seen the film before, but i always think about what is the real love. If i can find the partner who have dementia but i still love the person, it might be a real love.

    • yong permalink
      April 10, 2015 1:12 pm

      Yeah. I agree.. that movie was really sorrowful. forgetting whom is one of the dreadful tragedies, especially forgetting loved one. Last week, I had gone to senior care center for volunteer work. Taking care of old woman, I saw a family picture by chance written with some words, ‘I am not going to forget my dear faimily’. After that, I became to know she has Alzheimer’s disease. I was extremely sad and hoped she will be okay

  5. Bruce permalink
    April 10, 2015 12:06 am

    4. Best romance movie of all time

    I love 90’s~00’s American romance movie, especially ‘Serendipity’. It is story about miracle love. Actually, I don’t like unrealistic movie because i can’t concentrate on and impressed by unrealistic story. However, I remember ‘Serendipity’ was very special romantic movie for me.
    First of all, I impressed by the name, ‘Serendipity’. In the movie, it is the name of cafe where two main characters first in date. the word means unexpected event. I felt it is very beautiful word, also it sounds nice even though i am Korean( when i traveled Newyork, I found there and so happy). I loved the name because it imply every story of the movie just one word.
    And i loved relaxed story development. Hollywoods movie always make people enjoy thrill, even in romantic movie. There are always accident or unexpected terrible event. However, this movie develop storyline very calm. But it didn’t miss comedy. So, people who can watch this movie can enjoy everything by following the scene without tention.
    Also, dreamy scene of Newyork was wonderful. Every people who are live now can imangine Newyork as best modernized city all over the world. So, I never thought the city with romantic. But this movie make Newyork as very wonderful and romantic city. I decided to go there someday with my wife as honeymoon travel(but now changed!).

  6. Irin permalink
    April 10, 2015 1:10 am

    1. Best film of all time

    My best film of all time is “Harry Potter”. As you know, this movie captured people’s heart for 10 years. This is a very long time. Most interesting is that we can see a growth process of three main characters through the movie. And when they grew up, I also grew up. I was a elementary school student when the first series was released but I was a high school student when the final series was released. So I felt that they are my friends. In addition, this movie’s special effects are great. Because of great special effects, I can see a variety of magic show and I dream of going to the Hogwarts. The movie’s diverse music adds to mystery. By watching surprising magic and listening to mysterious music, I fall into the movie. Most of all, I like this movie because I can indirectly experience new world that I can’t in reality and the movie stimulates my imagination. If you didn’t watch “Harry Potter” yet, I really recommend this movie to you.

    • April 10, 2015 1:48 am

      One of my best films is Harry Potter, too. This series has been so long but people in the world was waiting for and longing for the movie’s ending. I have the series of the films and books. Why ‘Harry Potter’ is popular in the world is that there are all kinds of value such as friendship, courage, forgiveness, and love.

    • Rubberduck permalink
      April 10, 2015 8:50 am

      I also watch the movie ‘Harry Potter’. Maybe most of students would see that movie when they were young. I totally agree with your feelings of like the music that sounds like mystery. And it is obvious that HarryPotter shows a huge computer graphic skills. I love it!

    • april pig permalink
      April 10, 2015 11:57 am

      Harry Potter is my first movie that i seen in movie theater. At the time, I was the second year of primary school. Harry was really grown with me. not only it is the first movie seen in the theaters, but also so much fun, I still can not forget the day.

    • stanley permalink
      April 10, 2015 5:26 pm

      I really like the ‘Harry porter series’ as well. It realizes my imagination. Powerful magics, wizards and witches and lots of other things move my heart.

    • Solomon permalink
      April 10, 2015 9:41 pm

      I love Harry Potter series. Especially the first and second films. As the early films of Harry Potter was about a boy who got into a magic school, it was all about magics and amazing things. I love that impression of the magical and mind-blowing school life.

    • Daisy permalink
      April 10, 2015 11:50 pm

      I love Harry Potter! I love especially the first movie. In the first film, the boy who is in character of “Harry Potter” was very cute and attractive! And I love the song which was heard when Hogwarts appeared. If I have a chance to travel to London, I’ll visit Harry Potter studio!

  7. April 10, 2015 1:42 am

    10. Best supporting actor (in a particular film)
    I think ‘Heath Ledger’ is the best supporting actor in the movie of ‘The Dark Knight’. Joker played by Heath Ledger is one of the greatest villains I have ever seen. The role of him, Joker, is a psychopath and expresses causeless evil to the public not guilty. Every wicked act is games and fun things for Joker and the crime aims at anybody. So, when Heath Ledger played the character, he must have faced difficulties regarding how he expresses the mindless violence and badness. By poking himself up in a hotel room for considering the character and becoming one with the character, he buried himself in his acting. With his fruitful effort, Joker’s facial expression, physical habits such as steps or smacking lips, ad-lib, and the way of speaking are formed perfectly. With his play, the dusky atmosphere of the movie could be made up and the overall theme was likely to be got across to the audience. Too much focusing on the character, he ended up getting the depression and the character led him to the death.
    To pick a one scene of his best playing, there is the scene of blowing up the hospital. When the director took a shoot the scene, the timing of bombing was not matching the director and Heath Ledger had talked about the appointed bombing time. But he played ad-lib instantly and properly, so the scene has been on everyone’s lips for admiring Heath Ledger’s playing. In sum, Heath Ledger delivered the finest performance in the running time of the film.

  8. Yoon permalink
    April 10, 2015 1:59 am

    7. Best actor(in a particular film)

    My best actor is Benedict Cumberbatch in ‘The imitation game’. I watched this movie a month ago. Actually, I did not expect to watch it because I had thought it was about difficult study. However, it was a kind of thriller movie so I immediately concentrated it. By concentrating on it, I became concerned about Benedict Cumberbatch whose name is Alan in ‘The imitation game’. I have heard about him because of ‘Sherlock’ which is popular in Korea. When my friends talked about him, I did not be concerned him because his impression was bad for me. But, it was a moment that my stereotype was turned into. There are two reasons why.
    First, he acts well in the movie. It seemed to be hard to act a role which is ‘Alan’ because Alan was not normal and had a homosexual relationship. Also, it was hard to understand Alan’s real emotion. But, he brilliantly played a role in the movie. He was not awkward by acting ‘Alan’ through the movie. I could empathize with ‘Alan’ thanks to Benedict Cumberbatch’s acting.
    Another reason is that he was really attractive in the movie. He tended to be engrossed in his work so it looked great. In ‘The imitation game’, although there were negative view to his work, he was not concerned it and acted up to his belief. Of course, it is not Benedict’s actual feature. However, I fell into ‘Alan’ and then naturally fell into Benedict.
    For these reasons, my best actor is Benedict Vumberbatch.

    • CRWtwo permalink
      April 10, 2015 9:26 am

      I was impressed by the character Alan performed by Benedict Cumberbetch as well. I enjoyed watching his serious look in that movie. he looked like weird genius with so much passion on his work making the machine,

    • April 11, 2015 8:14 pm

      I really wanted to watch the movie but i could not. Benedict Cumberbetch is already famous for Sherlock Holmes on BBC, so i have heard about his reputation. I think the best merit of him is to totally be absorbed in certain characters when he plays.

  9. Samanthan permalink
    April 10, 2015 10:13 am

    9. Best supporting actress(in a particular film)

    I won’t never forget actress Natalie Portman who was playing Matilda, in movie LEON, 1994. When I was see LEON first, last year, I was so impressed with her wonderful act. Actually, She was only teenager! Teenager actor commonly act ‘lovely child’ who don’t seem to have any worry. But Natalie was not the same. Her act was so special. Her eyes was alive and because of her eyes director selected her. Why character Matilda have to special eyes is she witnesses his family’s death when she is young. So, she decide to kill them to take her revenge. And this she met Leon who lived in next door and asked him for help to kill someone. The little Natalie portman act this revengeful but attractive girl and deep in love girl. Furthermore, she also show wide ‘act’ spectrum so far. If I pick a good masterpieces out of the lot her movie, The Other Boleyn Girl, 2008 and Black swan, 2010.

    • Owl permalink
      April 10, 2015 10:18 pm

      When I knew the girl was Natalie Portman, I was shocked a little bit. Because in the movie, she showed perfect acting unlike the teenager. If you like an acting which teenagers showed us, I recommend the movie “Interview with the Vampire.” In this movie, you can watch Kirsten Dunst’s acting that she was teenager.

  10. CRWtwo permalink
    April 10, 2015 10:35 am

    Best actor.
    Thomas Horn / Extremely loud & Incredibly close (2011)

    I am a person who usually get deep impression seeing young child actress’s performance. Watching a little kid who is for over 10 years old younger than me acting is huge refreshing. I can’t help looking at his acting in admiration. One of my favorite child actress is Thomas Horn who starred in ‘Extremely loud & Incredibly close’. This movie is about the disturbed time a little boy who had his father die by the 911 terror is undergoing. Thomas Horn played a young 11 years old sensitive boy ‘Oscar’ who has espeically lots of intellectual curiousity and affection for his father. To guess Oscar’s feeling after he lost his father, he must have experienced great confusion and sense of loss. But I couldn’t estimate how much that hurt would be and wondered the way Thomas Horn will show this hurt. Thomas Horn expressed that feeling smoothly enough for me to empathize. I remember the scene he shows his upper body which was injured by pinching himself. In that scene, his face was so calm but his big blue eyes were filled with sorrow. I was moved to see his natural expressions all the time. And I fell for his energy so powerful that could lead a whole movie about 2 hours long. Therefore, If i am being authourized to award, I will award a prize to Thomas Horn in order to praise his performance.

    • Irin permalink
      April 10, 2015 5:59 pm

      I watched this movie. And I’m also really impressed by his acting. It is amazing that young and inexperienced child can play with depth and great emotion. I’m sure that he will be a famous movie star a few years later. I want to see him again in another movie!

  11. april pig permalink
    April 10, 2015 1:14 pm

    11. Best sound track

    I regard movie sound track as very important. it is because after the movie end, ost has much effect on the image of that movie. It’s primary role is that, how it forms a lingering at the end of the movie. from this point of view, ost of ‘ Howl’s Moving Castle’, ‘Merry Go Around of Life ‘ is really well-made music. the great thing of this music is that it can make people the whole movie flashes before your eyes, only 5misuts time through this music. In particular, the scenes which this ost insert, walking in the sky scene with Sophie and Howl Like the title, remains as a most beautiful scenes in the minds of people. This well-blend with the orchestra playing. I can play violin, I feel so happy that I could play this music with my instrument.

    • Owl permalink
      April 10, 2015 10:13 pm

      I agree your opinion! I also like that music. Especially, when I watched that part with sound, it is perfect. 🙂

    • April 11, 2015 8:17 pm

      I totally agree with your opinion. Music can make the certain atmosphere of movies. Although such a movie is low quality, music has a power to make the movie seem better. As you mentioned, ‘ Howl’s Moving Castle’’s music is clearly well-made.

  12. yong permalink
    April 10, 2015 2:48 pm

    Best action movie

    My best movie I have watched is Drunken Master ll of Jackie chan who is Chinese actor usually using kungfu. First, the reason I like the most Drunken Master ll is not only he is my favorite actor but it contains about his all action things among a number of his movies. Until that time when the movie was made (1994), Jackie chan was quite so young that he could digest what he wanted to do one hundred percent without help of special effects or machinery such as super kick and 1080-dgree revolution. In short, that time was his heyday he could show whatever he wanted. So, while watching Drunken Master ll, it feels like blinking eyes is thought to be waste. All action scenes are perfect, powerful and thrilling. Especially, the last drunken fighting scene at factory is the best. Second, it has also many things to see except action. For example, since background of the movie is early 1900s of China, audience can see early 1900’s China town, traditional building, food, clothes and so on.

    • christiano woonaldo permalink
      April 10, 2015 6:30 pm

      I also knew that movie. and jackie chan is my favorite hong kong movie actor.
      why don’t we talk about that movie with drink alcoholic later. I think it’s very fun for us~^^

  13. April 10, 2015 3:44 pm

    best film of all time
    My best film of all time is Mr. and Mrs.smith, which is played by Julie and Pit. I appreciate the beauty, the dance with music, and the humorous and so on. For first reason, Julia and Pit are both beauty guys, a good vision could get from the movie. It also is reported they get married for this movie, which is may a real love feeling in it, including the sweet dancing time, having shopping together, and even fierce tussle between them. So, I watched it several times. Secondly, I like the movie, which is told to me from the romance loving to common marriage life, suddenly it is becoming an exciting killing life with the closet companion, finally find the best way to love and live together. it a good lesson to the couple tired of their marriage. Thirdly, I am fond of the comic plot from the movie. Just from seeing the doctor at the beginning and the ending, it would bring some fun. and I also like they are chatting at the car when they are pursued just behind them and have to deal with the problem survive and death in the moment of truth. That moment, the dialogue between them is very cool and interesting, filling with fun.

    • Irin permalink
      April 10, 2015 6:28 pm

      I watched this movie several times. Although ‘Mr. and Mrs.smith’ is definitely action movie, it is never cruel, but rather comic. So I like this point and Hollywood couple’s acting is also great.

    • April 11, 2015 8:21 pm

      I saw this movie when i was in middle school. With it, i first knew Brad Pitt, my favorite actor now. I think the advantage of the movie’s action is very well-done at controlling tempo about action, which means visual effects are used properly.

  14. April 10, 2015 3:56 pm

    12. Best Fantasy movie

    The best fantasy movie in my life is ‘The Lord of the Rings : The Fellowership Of the Ring, 2001’. Indeed I love The Lord of the Rings Trilogy(includes The Two Towers and The Return of the King), but if i should choose one of them, i choose the first series of trlilogy. When I was 14, I saw the movie in multiplex with my friends. After the thrilling 3 hours, My friends was so excited and talked about the movie restlessly, But I assure that they were not as impressed as I am. I overwhelmed by the spectacles of the Lord of the Rings, from visual effect to storytelling, moreover, I was totally caught by the world of the MiddleEarth, which is the view of the Lord of the Ring’s world. Plentiful fantasy sources like Elves, Dwarfs, Hobbits, Orcs, Trolls, Wizards, and so on, are well-arragend in the MiddleEarth, not groundless. After that time, I become a fantasy-movie-lovers, and until now, I’m a big fan of fantasy movie, sci-fi movie, and computer game. My god, the one movie determines my taste in a moment!

  15. christiano woonaldo permalink
    April 10, 2015 6:26 pm

    1. What do you think are the physical benefits of playing sports?

    Most people already knew that the benefits of playing sports. And either I also knew that. However, It is not easy to make time to play sports everyday. But There are lots benefits of playing sports. One of the biggest benefit of playing sports is ‘Can make healthy body.’ As the proverb says ‘Healthy mind made from healthy body. So healthy body is the basic of our life. And When we have healthy body, we can do something more effectively. For instance, study needs lots of calories. and burned up lots of calories. so if we don’t have enough strength, we can do study hard. strength is requirement of everything what we can do. So we have to try playing sports. That can make our life more liveliness.

  16. min permalink
    April 10, 2015 7:26 pm

    1. Best film of all time

    My best film of all time is ‘The Secret Life of Walter Mitty’. This movie was premiered in 2013 and directed by ‘Ben Stiller’. At first, I was very impressed by the movie’s colorful scenes and beautiful music and this first emotion was lasted until the movie’s ending credits. This movie is some kinds of adventure, drama, and fantasy movie that drew the adventure of ‘Walter Mitty’, who is ordinary worker for nowadays, to find his real ‘life’. During all time of the movie’s screening, the beautiful Island’s backgrounds, colorful and analogue scenes and grand sound tracks captivated my eyes and mind. And many dialogues and messages of the movie like “do not hesitate, do it now with courage” also made me impressive. If you are disappointed or feel hesitate and tedious about now, this movie will be a good chance to put in a comma to your daily life and to think about your real life.

  17. Grace permalink
    April 10, 2015 8:35 pm

    My best soundtrack in film is ‘Kazni Naru ( by being wind)’ in ‘The Cat Return (2002, Japan)’. The first reason I choose this song is that it matches movie very well. This movie is the story about a girl who goes to the kingdom of cats, because she picks up life of cat who is the prince in this kingdom. Like, ‘Alice in wonderland’, she experience several events and get back her real life. The motion and mood of cats is expressed very skillfully in this song, and it brings out the image of girl who has a joyful curiosity about a new world. Also, the lyrics are so beautiful. The general content of it is a treasure find on a spring picnic. The treasure is love or memories with someone in nature and the place of spring picnic is a hill in the kingdom of cats. It expresses this spring picnic place metaphorically and sweetly. My favorite part of this lyrics is that they ride a bicycle and go up hill, taking some memories. Therefore, I choose this song for my best soundtrack.

  18. Cindy permalink
    April 10, 2015 9:56 pm

    1. Best film of all time (any genre)

    The best film I’ve ever been watched is ‘The Clockwork Orange’. This film was directed by Stanley Kubrick, who is one of the master in film history. Also, this movie is one of the his masterpiece. Although this movie was released about 40 years ago, there is not an aspect of old-fashioned in direction of images and image beauty, but it is refined. This movie is X-rated because of its violence and nudity, but it has profound philosophical message. This movie contains a deep consideration about ‘Can evil of human purified by an artificial method?’. This message can be a little bit tedious, but the film surmount this tedious theme by a shocking direction technique and video editing. Also, this movie evoke our thinking about the existence of evil and moral. Even now, I always recommend this movie to my friends. Though some people feel this movie uncomfortable because of its violence and nudity, I think this movie is extremely innovative in containing message, and a way of delivering message. Additionally, his movie was released in 1971! Probably, even if I watch an enormous number of movie, there is no film that surpass this movie. ‘The Clockwork Orange’ gave me a strong impression that much,.

  19. Owl permalink
    April 10, 2015 10:10 pm

    My best film is “Before Sunrise” which was by Richard Linklater. It was first part in series of ‘Before’ line that are Before Sunrise, Sunset, and Midnight. The reason why I choose this flim in the best is because of its nuance. I watched it over 3 times. Whenever I watched it, it was different. First time, I could feel something fresh. Because it showed us subtle relationship between Jesse and Celine. In the film, they were people who met first each other in Vienna. Although they first met, they walked around the city all day. As watching that at the first time, I felt something fresh. And then, second time, I could saw the technique of the film. I was studying about the movie technique in the class. So, I found ‘Long take’ technique, it gave me another feeling unlike the first. Finally, I saw it again in the writing class. When I watched it as the third, I could concentrate the rest part of movie, namely, the part that people can miss if they watch it at the first time. In sum, because of these things, it is my best film in the world. Also, through my opinion, I hope that other people watch it when they have time.

  20. stanley permalink
    April 10, 2015 11:24 pm

    11. Best soundtrack

    Soundtrack is one of the most important factors, which compose the movie. What is the movie soundtrack really about for you?? In my case, the movie soundtrack is extension of the movie and it is the landscape drawing by the sound. Also, the movie soundtrack is a small breathing, which causes resonance in the inside of the big structure, which name is the movie. Today, I want to introduce the best three of the soundtracks that I really like!!
    Have you ever seen the movie ‘Cinema Paradiso”?? The story of the movie is about the heart-ending friendship with a kid named Toto, who seem to think the movie means everything in the world and Alfred, who is a projectionist and work in the cinema of the old small town. When the Alfred is died, he gives a present to Toto, who become a movie director and come back his hometown, and the present is one of the greatest kiss scenes collection that have been not shown because of the deliberation. This soundtrack flow out when the Toto watch the Alfred’s present alone in the small cinema of his hometown. Also, it really coordinate with their heart-ending friendship and the collection. I think it makes you a great moved certainly! Please listen to it with the beautiful images.

    Next movie is the ‘Leon’. Have you ever seen this movie? The story about the movie is really interesting. It is about the Mathilda’s revenge process whose family is exterminated by stands filed, the corrupt police. The witness of this incident and the hit man whose name is Leon makes her a hit woman and helps revenge process. Finally, the Mathilda finds the corrupt police and revenge alone. But, she is arrested with no way out. Even though, Leon rescue her immediately, the corrupt police finds out all about the Leon and exhaust every means to kill him. However, finally Leon gets her on the run to safe place and died with stands filed, the corrupt police. And, Matilda plants his precious plant in the school yard, and the film is ended with this soundtrack, which is name of the ‘shape of my heart’ by Sting. It really coordinate the atmosphere of film and represent loneliness, emptiness of her feeling for miss the Leon with the tones of the guitar. Please listen to sweet.

    The last movie is the ‘inter stellar’ almost everyone in this class have watched about this film and also, known about the whole story. So, I do not mention about the story. In this movie, the scenario, the graphics, and the characters are really impressive. But, I think the best thing in this movie is the soundtrack, which is made by ‘Hans Zimmer’. He really represent well about the vast universe images, tense situation in the movie scenes, for example the strong docking scene. And, it also coordinate with the overall atmosphere in this film. Please fall in his universe of the music and appreciate an excellent piece of the soundtrack collections!!

    • stanley permalink
      April 10, 2015 11:29 pm

    • tassi permalink
      April 10, 2015 11:32 pm

      When I read your writing about best soundtracks, I can feel that you really like movies and know them well! I enjoyed your writing with good music! I also like the one in your writng from movie Leon. For you reminding me the songs, maybe tommorrow I will re-watch Leon again.. ><

      • stanley permalink
        April 10, 2015 11:49 pm

        Thank you^^, if you have any recommedation about your famous films, please give your list!

      • stanley permalink
        April 10, 2015 11:50 pm

        give me your list!

      • tassi permalink
        April 13, 2015 1:17 pm

        If you like to watch a movie with various musics, how about “The perks of being a wallflower”. The story is a little bit gloomy but the background songs are so good!

    • April 11, 2015 8:25 pm

      Wow. There is my best song, Shape of My Heart in Leon. It creates more special atmosphere regarding the movie’s theme.

  21. tassi permalink
    April 10, 2015 11:27 pm

    Best romance movie of all time

    I usually went to theater except for romance movie. I thought that most romance movies are boring and have similar story lines. However, one movie changed my narrow eyesight for romance movie. That is the one, “Pride and Prejudice” which was released in 2005. Actually, for some romance-haters it still seems as same movies like other romance genre, but the “pride and prejudice” have some characteristics that makes me love this movies.
    Firstly, the movies’ love story is very peaceful unlike current fashion of romance story. Usually most drama or movies deal with complicated love story like triangle love lines with a wicked woman. It triggers me headache when watching those movies. However, in pride and prejudice, even though there were several crisis, most emergencies end happily. Also, main characters overcome these crisis independently not depends on other people’s help so much.
    The other good point in this movie is that I can share main characters feeling. For example, Elizabeth find in the end that she had prejudice for people and decide their performance on that narrow thinking. I agreed with this words, because I often misunderstand other people from their outward performance or look and assume them good or bad. I was able to reflect on myself through Elizabeth and now I try to not judge people on my own prejudice.
    Lastly, as movies’ setting is a small village in nature, I can enjoy nature landscape with green field and classical background music. When I watch this movie, it makes me calm down and happy when I have bad mood or feel gloomy.
    In short, the movie pride and prejudice has a story line and main characters that I can enjoy and have empathy. Also this movie makes my mind quiet. Sometime, you want to escape from noisy and complex stories in current movies. Then, how about watching this movie tonight?

  22. Sion permalink
    April 10, 2015 11:41 pm

    12. Best film composer
    I chose Hans Zimmer for the best film composer. He composed film scores of many masterpieces: Dark Knight, Pirates of the Caribbean, Inception, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, Lion King, Mission: Impossible II, Gladiator, Kung Fu Panda, Man of Steel, and so on. There are several reasons that I chose him. Firstly, Zimmer’s music is very revolutionary. Before him, there were only film composers who focused on the musicality of the film scores. It caused the audience to concentrate on the music, but not on the movie. Specifically, the melodies distracted the audience from the actor’s lines. However, Zimmer took into account cinematic moods. He readily gives up the musicality of his music for better quality of the movies. In addition, he is brilliant at combine sounds. he made a lot of special sounds for himself. It made the movies more vivid and exciting. For example, he recorded Japanese Taiko drums and transformed it into a very majestic sound. This sound gives the audience a sense of tension and grandeur in “Dark Knight” and “Man of Steel.” He has created new sounds each time so many people anticipate his new sound. Zimmer represents film composers of the 21st Century. Many prospective film composers dream of becoming the next Hans Zimmer.

  23. orzhov permalink
    April 11, 2015 3:00 am

    8. Best actor (in a particular film)

    Heath Ledger
    A performance of Joker who is a villain in the movie ‘Dark knight’ of Christopher Nolan has attracted many people’s attention. It captivates an audience until now. And The fact that an actor of Joker died before the movie is in release makes many cinema audiences distressed. Heath Ledger who was the Joker in the movie didn’t step out of a room in a hotel to make a study for his role. And he made a great effort in many kind of way, such as recording diary with The Joker’s feelings. One of the facts that is unknown well is that Heath Ledger had developed his Joker’s style making a model of young Tom Waits who is a singer and actor.
    When you see the Tom Waits’s behavior, you can see the Joker’s figure in the movie ‘Dark knight’. Watching his effort to take after Tom Waits, I can believe that I can be a something great myself. because I know the fact that Heath Ledger did effort to take after someone, I’m willing to find my ideal to emulate then to be a fabulous one.

  24. Solomon permalink
    April 11, 2015 6:15 pm

    5. Best action of all time.

    One of the most important factors in action film is thrill. The film Kingsman builds it well in its storyline. That means there is no unnecessary actuon scenes and all actions scenes are well developed. There are some particular scenes in film, the pub scene, the church scene and last fighting scene. First of all, the pub scene is also famous for its line “Manners maketh man.” In this scene, it does not only show main weapons of Kingsman which appears later in the film but also main character’s splendid fighting. In the last scene, in the same place, heroine character says the same line which proves that he is now real Kingsman. Secondly, the church scene is breath-taking because it is in one take and has lots of complicated action flows. It might be a little bit brutal. However, Colin Firth’s action is elegant and shows natural desire for killing which is appropriate for the scene. Lastly, the finale scene is in the fortress of antagonist. Despite the numerical inferiority, the two character’s idea and physical ability develop the scene in it’s own way. Especially, the head-bombing scenes are quite spectacle and they even make them not brutal. Surely there are more actions and they are all great. For these reasons, I want to recommend this film as a best action of all time.

  25. Jiwon permalink
    April 11, 2015 11:03 pm

    6. Best Sci-fi of all time
    My best scientific fiction film is a series of “Back To The Future” which came out first in 1985. “Back To The Future” is the movie directed by Robert Zemeckis and made by Steven Spielberg. Its plot is that the main character, Marty McFly does time travel with a sports car, DeLorean adapted for a time machine. I watched the film when I was 14 years old by my mother’s recommendation. The storyline and sources of the film such as the time machine were completely interesting, so I appreciated all 3 series of the film in a day. I was surprised at the creator’s imagination. I thought, ‘How did Steven Spielberg imagine to adapt a sports car as a time machine?’ Also, the most shocking fact was that the creator produced the film in “1980s”. In the film, the sports car and other vehicles fly and these scenes are absolutely natural. Even if computer graphics was likely to be poor in 1980s, it was hard to find artificiality in “Back To The Future”. A hover board which is a skateboard floating without wheels was also a revolutionary stuff for me. I quite agree that this is the most vivid film to feel what is a time travel film and how the future would be like.

  26. JUN permalink
    April 12, 2015 4:54 pm

    Recently, ‘Whiplash’ became one of my best movies. The main character, Andrew Neyman is a freshman of the best music university in America. He has a strong aspiration to be a top jazz drummer in the world. One day, Fletcher who is a competent conductor but a crazy tyrant scouts Neyman to his band. Fletcher tries to make Neyman exceed limitation by inhuman words and violence. The conflict between Fletcher and Neyman is a main plot.
    Although the plot of this movie may seem monotonous, an excellent direction keeps a tension continuously to the end of movie. In addition, this movie not only amuses the audience by rich jazz music but also leaves a message to the audience. This message is about how much Fletcher’s inhumane behavior can be justified. It is obvious that Fletcher’s cruel education is not desirable. However, in order to take a leap forward, advance certainly accompanies pain and sacrifice.
    Also, Neyman who was infected by Fletcher’s crazy education said goodbye to his girlfriend because he has no time to get along with her for his dream. Is it right to lose everything even an important person to achieve a dream? Is it a sacrifice to be a best? This is another question for people to think about.
    There is a word of Fletcher saying “There are no two words in English language more harmful than ‘good job’” This word is meaningful to people including me who have a weak mind and easily to be frustrated depending on the surroundings.

  27. nabi07 permalink
    April 12, 2015 8:33 pm

    “Life is beautiful” is the best drama of all time. First, this film showed us the horrors of a Nazi concentration camp during the Second World War. The movie relate us the life of prisoners in the concentration camp and the horrors that happened during the Nazi regime. In addition, the principal actor Guido said to his son that everything is a game in which one they are competing for get the prize. Finally, Guido is executed as the other Jewish in the concentration camp but he manages to save his son who in the end of the movie meets his mother. Without a doubt this film is the best drama because shown us the drama of the Jewish in the Nazi regime.

Leave a Reply

