Skip to content

CRW 1 Make Me Laugh

May 19, 2015

‘Laughter is the best medicine’ is more than a cliche expression to me. The more I laugh, the more I feel happy and healthy. That’s why I always start my day with a good chuckle..by looking into the mirror.

Most news seems to be depressing, so this week’s blogging activity is humor-oriented. Here are some funny advertisements that were actually published in newspapers. Although their original purpose was for genuine advertising, they are comedic gold.

Examples:

1. Free puppies: ½ cocker spaniel, ½ sneaky neighbor’s dog. (cocker spaniel is a breed of dog)

2. Nordic Track (exercise equipment) $300 hardly used, call Chubby.

3. 1 man, 7 women hot tub. $850/offer.

4. Nice Parachute – Never opened. Used once.

Q&A jokes (question and answer)

Typical examples:

Q: What did the fish say when it swam into a wall?
A: Dam!

Q: What do you call a fly with no wings?

A: A walk.

Q: Why is the number 6 afraid of the number 7.

A: Because 7 ate 9.

Some ‘quickie’ jokes:

1. I went to buy some camouflage trousers for military training the other day but I couldn’t find any.

2. Two cannibals are eating a clown. One says to the other: “Does this taste funny to you?”

A funny story: A guy is talking with his friends about his relationship with his girlfriend. He explains how great their relationship is. He explains, “Her major is communications and mine is theater arts. She communicates well, and I act like I’m listening.”

Students: Do you also use humor to relieve stress and feel better? Post a comment on what kind of things you find humorous. Describe it/them. In addition, if you know of a funny joke/story, write it. If you wanted, you could translate a funny Korean story/joke into English.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. jennykoo permalink
    May 20, 2015 3:07 pm

    Requesting a three day pass

    An Israeli soldier who just enlisted asked the Commanding Officer for a 3-day pass.

    The CO says “Are you crazy? You just join the Israeli army, and you already want a 3-day pass? You must do something spectacular for that recognition!”

    So the soldier comes back a day later in an Arab tank!

    The CO was so impressed, he asked “How did you do it?”

    “Well, I jumped in a tank, and went toward the border with the Arabs. I approached the border, and saw an Arab tank. I put my white flag up, the Arab tank put his white flag up. I said to the Arab soldier, “Do you want to get a three-day pass? So we exchanged tanks!”

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:11 am

      At first time, I couldn’t understand this story. After reading back through this story, I can have a great big smile.^^ It is interesting. And what a great idea!!^^

  2. jia permalink
    May 20, 2015 6:41 pm

    In a freshmen seminar class, I heard one humor. It is composed of question and answer. In Korea, this humor comment is regarded very cold and bring a sigh. However, I like this type of humor, so write some of them.

    1. Question : Where is the banned place for Buddihist monk?
    Answer : CAU

    2. Question : The gun-shooter shot a fire toward a bird which distance between them is 100m. The bullet flies only 10m, but the bird was caught and dead. Why did the bird die?
    Answer : The reason is a gun barrel length is 90m.

    In my thought, if student of CRW1 look this comment, they could draw a long breath and not like this. But I’m agree to their reply. Anyway, I hope you guys to have a fun!

    • Alex permalink
      May 22, 2015 3:33 pm

      I like this kind of humor. KKK Actually, I already know the answer about this question. But, whenever I saw this humor, it makes me smile

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:00 am

      I think humor always makes me smile. I also like this kind of humor. It is interesting.

  3. Kenny permalink
    May 20, 2015 7:13 pm

    When I feel stressed, I watch the Korean comedy program ‘GAG Concert’. It consists of funny story and humorous make-up of comedians. While seeing the program, I can laugh without any needless thoughts. In the program, one of my favorite features is ‘Min Sang Discussion’. It is a discussion with two comedians including Min Sang, Yu. Even though many people, including Min Sang, don’t like to talk about politics in public because political matter is extremely sensitive in Korea, in this program, a sly host forces Min Sang to discuss Korean politicians. It is very funny to see Min Sang being embarrassed.
    I recommend the GAG Concert if there is someone who wants to laugh without any unnecessary thoughts.

    • Ana permalink
      May 21, 2015 5:13 pm

      One of my favorite comedy program is ‘GAG Concert’ also. But these days, it becomes boring to me…. Once, there was a corner named ‘봉숭아 학당’ it was very fun among many others. Sunday night was for ‘GAG Concert’ when I was young!

      • Alex permalink
        May 22, 2015 3:40 pm

        I also agree with Ana’s opinion. Nowadays, ‘GaG Concert’ becomes boring. Therefore, I’m not seeing it anymore.

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:08 am

      ‘GAG Concert’ is really famous Korean comedy program. Sometimes I also enjoy watching this program. It always makes me laugh and smile. It helps me fly stress. I also recommend watching this program many people who want to laugh.^^

  4. Lionel Messi permalink
    May 21, 2015 2:06 am

    There are two funny stories I really like. But some people don’t think it’s funny at all.
    1.
    One highschool teacher gave a question to the children.
    “What will a first year student who smoke and drink become when he grow up?”
    One child said….
    “Second year student”
    Teacher was embarrassed and said “you’re a genius…”

    2.
    One teacher is teaching students in the elementary school.
    Meanwhile, teacher who wears a sleeveless shirts is erasing the blackboard,
    one student suddenly say with a laugh….

    “Guys!!!!!
    There are 300 pencil leads stuck in teacher’s armpit!!”

    • Jong permalink
      May 22, 2015 1:49 pm

      the first one is so funny, I have never imagined the answer haha

    • Hwaning permalink
      May 22, 2015 9:29 pm

      Messi, you are a funny guy, exactly!! That’s why I like you more than Ronaldo actually. show me more!

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:13 am

      Both two storys are funny and interesting!! It makes me smile.^^

  5. Shannon permalink
    May 21, 2015 3:32 pm

    There are two funny stories.
    I hope that you have a good laugh at this joke.^^

    1. The family of tomatoes.

    One day there were tomatoes walking down the street, a mama tomato, a daddy tomato and a baby tomato.
    Baby tomato is walking too slowly.
    So, the daddy tomato goes back, steps on him and sys
    “Hey!! Catch up!!”

    – The reason why this story is funny is that tomato sauce’s pronunciation is ‘Catch up’ in Korean. It is the same pronunciation with the daddy saying on the last.^^

    2.
    Q : Why did King Kong climb to the top of the Empire State building?

    A : He was too big for the elevator.

    • Jiwon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:43 pm

      Childish, but I love it! I certainly have a good laugh at this joke^^

  6. Fairy permalink
    May 21, 2015 4:51 pm

    http://cfile277.uf.daum.net/image/2232454855587D18365786

    This is one of the funniest story I laughed at when I first saw a series of funny captured pictures. The uploader said “I learn guitar ㅇㅅㅇ)/ What would I play with this guitar?” Then, one replier asnwered her “Your head.” The reason why this made me laugh is that the word ‘play’ has one pronunciation but various meanings when it is translated into Korean. ‘Play’ is translated to ‘치다’ and the Korean word ‘치다’ can be meant both playing guitar and ‘hit something.’

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:21 am

      I could understand more easy because of picture. The same pronunciations give us laughter. However, sometimes it also makes misunderstanding. It is interesting but, we should be careful!!^^

  7. Ana permalink
    May 21, 2015 5:33 pm

    Here are two funny stories for me.
    1. The sound slap on the cheek comes from my parents’ bedroom,

    shocked, I ran in to the room as fast as I can.

    Actually, my dad put some toner on his face.

    LOL!

    2. I found really good red muffler from my sister’s room,

    so I put on it cheerfully and went out.

    It turned out that the muffler is a cover for the piano in my sister’s room.

    • Jong permalink
      May 22, 2015 1:53 pm

      piano cover.. OMG .haha. is it your story.? it is so funny!

    • Alex permalink
      May 22, 2015 3:38 pm

      I can listen to the sound what you said in no.1 everyday morning in my house. Because my father doing the exact same thing

    • seung permalink
      May 22, 2015 8:51 pm

      Why does every daddy act the same? My daddy makes a rough sound when he wash his face!!

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:34 am

      Is it your story?? It is really funny!! Especially,the first story is really interesting. Haha.^^

  8. Adam permalink
    May 21, 2015 10:07 pm

    A boy wanted to go 50 Cent’s concert. But he had had no money to go there, so he asked his father a favor.
    Son: Dad, I need some money to go to 50 Cent’s concert.
    Dad: Is your mother home?
    Son: Yeah, why?
    Dad: Tell her to give you a dollar, take your sister too.
    Son: Lol, dad he’s a rapper, 50 Cent is just his rap name.

    • Jong permalink
      May 22, 2015 1:56 pm

      Yeah. actually, nowadays there are so many unique singer’s names and songs. so, thins kinds of sotry can be happend in real life haha

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:38 am

      I also have this kind of experieces. There are a lot of diverse singer’s names and songs. Therefore, it makes us confusing and misunderstanding. It is fuuny story.^^

  9. Jong permalink
    May 22, 2015 1:48 pm

    Funny stroy

    new psychology professor came to class and asked students a question

    Professor: those who think so foolish, please stand up.

    a studet suddenlly stood up.

    professor: why do you think you are foolish?

    studnet: just because I feel sorry you are only one standing.

    • Alex permalink
      May 22, 2015 3:43 pm

      I think the professor was embarrassed at that time.

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:40 am

      Haha^^ It is really funny story!!! I also think the professor felt embarrassed at that time. It is really funny. And also, I think a student is smart. Haha.

    • Bob permalink
      May 23, 2015 6:41 pm

      That student is truly a natural-born comedian with fresh way of thinking.

    • Linda permalink
      May 24, 2015 10:42 pm

      I saw this story somewhere!!! funny!!

  10. Alex permalink
    May 22, 2015 3:26 pm

    Whenever I feel depressed, I usually watch comedy program on TV. Then I feel better than before. Nowadays I find many funny things like the funny picture, story, and so on in the internet by using my smartphone. And this time I found funny stories so I write one of them here.

    Funny story.

    Wrong email address:
    A couple going on vacation but his wife was on a business trip so he went to the destination first and his wife would meet him the next day.
    When he reached his hotel, he decided to send his wife a quick email.
    Unfortunately, when typing her address, he mistyped a letter and his note was directed instead to an elderly preacher’s wife whose husband had passed away only the day before.
    When the grieving widow checked her email, she took one look at the monitor, let out a piercing scream, and fell to the floor in a dead faint.
    At the sound, her family rushed into the room and saw this note on the screen:
    Dearest Wife,
    Just got checked in. Everything prepared for your arrival tomorrow.
    P.S. Sure is hot down here.

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 12:14 pm

      Haha. It is really funny and interesting!!! It is a big mistake. Sometiemes thins kinds of sotry can be happend in real life. So, it is funny!!

  11. Bob permalink
    May 22, 2015 6:39 pm

    I find puns and things that are funny when it is reminded over and over humorous.

    These are the things that I found humorous.

    1. If you don’t brush your teeth for ten years, you will find your teeth decade.

    2. A man showed picture of him standing with various animals to his friend. After looking the picture, his friend asked him.

    “Which one is you?”

    3. A man presented a hearing aid to his friend whose hearing is poor. After a week, he met his friend wearing that hearing aid by coincidence. Immediately, the man asked his friend.

    “Can you hear well now?”

    His friend answered.

    “No, I’m not busy now.”

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 12:39 pm

      The first story is awful. I think I have to brush my teeth.^^
      The other stories are also funny and interesting!!!!

    • cocomong permalink
      May 24, 2015 11:46 pm

      Thank you !! The first story is funny to me.haha

  12. Hwaning permalink
    May 22, 2015 7:33 pm

    Many young students usually do not enjoy old-fashioned nonsense jokes. But except me! Professor Geonsoo Lee tells a lot of jokes throughout his lecture. One Day, while saying about archaeology, he gave example with Nanji Island, famous for Garbage Island. Actually, Nanji Island was a landfill of Seoul.

    Professor. Lee: Thousand years later, archaeolgist will excavate Nanji Island and find so many plastic bags of Ramyeon. Then, they will believe that thousand years ago, the staple food of Korean is Ramyeon! So, It is probably possible that we are misunderstanding our archaeological discoveries like this way!

    Most of students did not smile at all… sadly… But I laughed loudly in my heart! I love this kind of old jokes, which contain some real intentions. How about you, guys! Am I strange??

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 12:43 pm

      Haha.^^ You are not strange. I also think it is really funny and interesting. I also like this kind of jokes. Your experience itself is also funny. Haha^^

    • Linda permalink
      May 24, 2015 10:38 pm

      It’s so funny!!^^

  13. seung permalink
    May 22, 2015 9:04 pm

    Here are some jokes. I wish people would laugh more 🙂

    1. At the hospital
    Patient : Doctor, I have a serious memory problem. I can’t remember anything!
    Doctor : So, since when did you have this problem?
    Patient : What problem?

    2.
    Daughter : Dad, can you write in the dark?
    Dad : I think so. What is it you want me to write?
    Daughter : Your name on this report card.

    3.
    A guy went to a party without his wife. He heard another guy say to his wife, “Pass the sugar, Honey.” and “Pass the honey, Sugar.” He thought this sort of speech is a good idea. The next morning when he and his wife are eating breakfast, he said to his wife, “Pass the bacon, Pig.”

    • Shannon permalink
      May 23, 2015 12:45 pm

      Every story is funny. Thanks you for introducing me these interesting stories. It could make me smile. Haha^^

    • cocomong permalink
      May 24, 2015 11:43 pm

      wow. I will use these jokes when i spend a boring time with someone.

  14. Jiwon permalink
    May 23, 2015 11:37 pm

    I like humorous story. When I feel down, I want something that makes me happy. As someone said, “If you laugh, blessings will come your way.” I like almost all kind of humor. Black comedy, slapstick, comic talk… Especially, I like wordplay. It is childish and some people hate it, but I am never tired of this kind of joke.

    I like creative humor like this. It is brilliant and creative. Just a few conceptual shift made me hilarious.

  15. cocomong permalink
    May 24, 2015 10:14 am

    There is one funny story that i heard when i was 8 years old from teacher.

    There was one women on te bench.
    And she was reading a letter.
    Then, a man was passing her.
    Suddenly, she died.
    What makes her death?
    It was “comma of letter.”
    There was no comma in letter. so she couldn’t breath.

    The reason why teacher made this story and told us is we didn’t use comma at dairy. hahahah

  16. Linda permalink
    May 24, 2015 10:37 pm

    The Silly Mother
    Once upon a time there lived a girl called Maya . One day when she came home from school she went straight to her mother and said ” Mummy , today my teacher punished me for something I didn’t do . The mother was very angry and went straight to her teacher and scolded her , but she didn’t ask Maya what she didn’t do.

    when she came home she said “I scolded your your teacher nicely for just scolding you ” then she asked “by the way Maya what is that you didn’t do her mother asked “My homework” said Maya.

    • cocomong permalink
      May 24, 2015 11:32 pm

      Hahaha. The story is so cute!

  17. kimmy permalink
    May 25, 2015 12:13 am

    Smart Irishman

    An Irishman named Murphy went to his doctor after a long illness. The doctor, after a lengthy examination, sighed and looked Murphy in the eye and said, “I’ve some bad news for you… you have cancer and it can’t be cured. I’d give you two weeks to a month.” Murphy, shocked and saddened by the news, but of solid character, managed to compose himself and walk from the doctor’s office into the waiting room. There he saw his son who had been waiting. Murphy said, “Son, we Irish celebrate when things are good and celebrate when things don’t go so well. In this case, things aren’t so well. I have cancer and I’ve been given a short time to live. Let’s head for the pub and have a few pints.” After three or four pints the two were feeling a little less somber. There were some laughs and more beers. They were eventually approached by some of Murphy’s old friends who asked what the two were celebrating. Murphy told them that the Irish celebrate the good and the bad… he went on to tell them that they were drinking to his impending end. He told his friends, “I’ve only got a few weeks to live as I have been diagnosed with AIDS.” The friends gave Murphy their condolences and they had a couple more beers. After his friends left, Murphy’s son leaned over and whispered, “Dad, I thought you said that you were dying from cancer. You just told your friends that you were dying from AIDS!” Murphy said,”I am dying from cancer, son, I just don’t want any of them sleeping with your mother after I’m gone.”

  18. star_s permalink
    May 25, 2015 1:22 am

    1.One day, A boy bring the white rectangle rice cake in shcool, becaus his mother packed that go eat the shcool. But The son was so hungry that he ate the rice cake in a class. He contiuning eat the rice cake secretly. Suddenly, the teacher turn back, thier eyes met. A boy was so frightened he rubded on the desk for rice cake like an eraser!

    2. There is a student who want to early leave for fake illness. The student thougth that she was make of high heat like cold. So student heat up own ears using hair drier. Then student go to school infirmary, the nuerse could only surprised. Because the student body heat was 176 F.!!

  19. Barbie permalink
    May 25, 2015 11:36 am

    A funny story involving a cop and two ladies:

    There was this car that was driving very slowly down the highway. A state trooper pulled it over.
    “What did I do wrong, officer?” the driver asked.
    “You were going 26 MPH on a major highway, there is a law against that. You must go at least 50 MPH.”
    “But when I got onto the highway, the sign said 26!”
    “That is because this is Interstate 26! The 26 isn’t the speed limit!”
    The driver leaned back into her car seat and the cop saw another woman sitting beside her, she looked as pale as a ghost.
    “What happened to her?’ the officer asked.
    “I don’t know, but she has been that way ever since we got off the interstate 160.”

  20. Yu-Genie permalink
    May 26, 2015 12:27 am

    This is story of my friend.
    She was a casher in donut store. She should said “Welcome, customer, smile~” in the store when customer coming in. One day, a monk came to the store. She thought, ‘it is weird to see the monk in this store.’ That’s because we think usually monk eat healthy food or traditional food. So, she said “Welcome, customer, monk~.” That’s because “S-nim” is the monk in Korean. So, she confused S-nim with smile. Everyone in the store looked her and a monk. A monk also looked at her and laughed. She is so ashamed that she couldn’t look the monk’s face.

  21. 얄루 permalink
    September 12, 2015 12:59 am

    http://cafe.naver.com/babyuyam/131167

    In this picture, the first thing caught your eyes would be a baby’s face. The writing below the picture is saying “Now it is the time to cry”. The look on baby’s face and the writing matche quite well and raise a laugh.
    A couple took a trip with their babies to celebrate their third wedding anniversary. Unlike before trips, it is the first travel with their children. The couple had expected wonderful, romantic and peaceful trip. However, contrary to their thought, it was terrible and hard because of their children. They couldn’t do anything with their crying children such as entering quite museum or gallery and they didn’t even sleep in the night. The parents were exhausted and got tired they just wanted to get a sleep for a while. The last day of the trip, they were going to fall asleep. Dad went to sleep, the first child went to sleep and the mom went to sleep, too. However, sadly, no one knows the cute youngest thought… The surrounding was very silent and peaceful. The cute boy had a mind, “Now, It is the time to Cry..! and make them awake!”

Leave a Reply

