Skip to content

CRW 2 Laughter as Medicine

May 19, 2015

‘Laughter is the best medicine’ is more than a cliche expression to me. The more I laugh, the more I feel happy and healthy. That’s why I always start my day with a good chuckle..by looking into the mirror.

Most news seems to be depressing, so this week’s blogging activity is humor-oriented. Here are some funny advertisements that were actually published in newspapers. Although their original purpose was for genuine advertising, they are comedic gold.

Examples:

1. Free puppies: ½ cocker spaniel, ½ sneaky neighbor’s dog. (cocker spaniel is a breed of dog)

2. Nordic Track (exercise equipment) $300 hardly used, call Chubby.

3. 1 man, 7 women hot tub. $850/offer.

4. Nice Parachute – Never opened. Used once.

Q&A jokes (question and answer)

Typical examples:

Q: What did the fish say when it swam into a wall?
A: Dam!

Q: What do you call a fly with no wings?

A: A walk.

Q: Why is the number 6 afraid of the number 7.

A: Because 7 ate 9.

Some ‘quickie’ jokes:

1. I went to buy some camouflage trousers for military training the other day but I couldn’t find any.

2. Two cannibals are eating a clown. One says to the other: “Does this taste funny to you?”

A funny story: A guy is talking with his friends about his relationship with his girlfriend. He explains how great their relationship is. He explains, “Her major is communications and mine is theater arts. She communicates well, and I act like I’m listening.”

Students: Do you also use humor to relieve stress and feel better? Post a comment on what kind of things you find humorous. Describe it/them. In addition, if you know of a funny joke/story, write it. If you wanted, you could translate a funny Korean story/joke into English.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. Rubberduck permalink
    May 20, 2015 1:45 pm

    I found some humor conversation on the internet.
    Q : Why did the farmer bury all his money in his land?
    A : Because he want rich soil!
    -Another Q : Why did King Kong climb to the top of the Empire State building?
    A : He was too big for the elevator.

    And I have a funny story. My friends and I were walking on the dormitory hall, when we skip the restaurant called ‘Kyung Hee Tasty village’. And one of my friend A say “I haven’t been there why don’t we eat for a lunch in there?” But I say “The food in that restaurant is awful, I hate it” So A say “Why? It says ‘Tasty village’!” And one of my friend said, “It is Bad taste village” And we laugh a lot.

    • May 23, 2015 12:38 pm

      The reason King Kong climb to the top of the Empire State building makes sense. It is funny.
      About ‘Bad taste village’, i understand what you said, so it made me laugh. I think something humorous is always related to how we can sympathize about it.

  2. Irin permalink
    May 20, 2015 11:12 pm

    I found a humorous conversation. It is like a nonsense quiz.
    Q : If mouse lost its tail, where would it get a new one?
    A : At a retail store.
    – In this answer, ‘retail’ means tail grows back.

    I also found a funny story.
    Two students were arguing with each other. Teacher said “What’s the matter?” Students answered “We decided to give 10 dollars to who tell a big lie.” Teacher said “Shame on both of you. I didn’t even know what lie is at your age.” Two students gave 10 dollars immediately to teacher.

  3. yong permalink
    May 22, 2015 2:31 pm

    What I want to say is quite famous funny story. Especially, it is well known among korea students. You guys would probably know this satire story.

    A few months ago, Yoo Byung Jae who is famous comedian in Korea, satirized social problem in SNL. In his play, he was a student who is finding a job for the first time. So to get a job, he submitted many resumes to lots of company and then took a lot of interview, but he failed every final interview. The reason why he failed was that every company wanted an experienced man who built his or her career in companies during several years. After he knows that reason, he talks to himself with bad words, “Fxxx if every company wants an experienced man, how to get a job like me?

    We cannot but laughing out loud when we watch it, if we think it with social atmosphere in Korea. In reality, many companies reject interviewee in Korea because they are just beginner. Every student would think of this unreasonable situation at least once but since we are underdog, we have no choice but only to follow. So this social satire of famous comedian seems to come us more vividly.

    • april pig permalink
      May 23, 2015 8:04 am

      The next scene also funny “Does it hurt the youth? youth? the hurt are patient Fxxx!”

    • May 23, 2015 12:34 pm

      I love Yoo Byung Jae’s joke. It is clearly satirical with a sympathetic response. In his joke, there are always something to penetrate to the pitch in our society. So, it is fun and creative but bitter at the same time.

  4. Sion permalink
    May 22, 2015 3:10 pm

    Beethoven’s friend: Beethoven! Is it true you have become deaf?
    Beethoven: Yes, it’s true.
    Beethoven’s friend: ???

    • May 23, 2015 12:31 pm

      Haha.. It makes me laugh.

    • Owl permalink
      May 23, 2015 7:52 pm

      hahaha, it makes me laugh! 🙂

    • stanley permalink
      May 24, 2015 12:11 am

      hahaha, it makes me laugh!

    • so young permalink
      May 24, 2015 8:42 pm

      It is a short dialoug but so funny!

    • Irin permalink
      May 25, 2015 10:11 pm

      Yes It is short conversation but it makes me laugh!

  5. orzhov permalink
    May 22, 2015 3:49 pm

    Usually, I have used funny jokes for Icebreaking with people. Next following sentence is what I know about funny jokes.
    What starts with “T”, ends with “T” and is full of “T”?
    -The answer is A teapot. because It starts with T, ends with T and is full of Tea.
    In addition, What I know about some funny story is about a fly.
    Mary walked into the kitchen and found Henry stalking around with a fly swatter.  “Have you killed any yet?” she asked. “Yes,” Henry answered.  “Two males and a female.”  “How do you know?” Mary asked.  “Well, “ said Henry, “two were on a beer can and one was on the telephone.” 
    Next one I know for fun is about frog.
    These two ladies were walking down the street when they came across this frog. The frog said, “Kiss me and I will turn into a handsome Texas oil man.”
    One lady reached down, grabbed the frog and put it in her purse. The other looked at her and said, “Aren’t you going to kiss that frog?” She replied, “Hell no! A talking frog is worth a lot more money than a Texas oil man……”

    • so young permalink
      May 24, 2015 8:48 pm

      The last story is funny but, a little bit sad for me. because this shows our society that money is best.

  6. Samantha permalink
    May 22, 2015 4:20 pm

    A: My eyesight keeps getting worse. I don’t know why.
    B: If you don’t want to horrible vision like me please make you sure to relase your eyes.
    It’s only advantageous when I to look at something gross or ugly.
    A: That is exactly what I want!
    I was surprised with This funny conversation rellay similar to what I talked with my friends before.

    • solomon permalink
      May 23, 2015 1:49 pm

      I also have bad eye sight but I usually don’t wear contact lenses or glasses, because when I see the world with bad eye sight, it looks more beautiful. People looks more handsome or pretty, sunshines makes the view brighter and even myself in the mirror is better than the one with glasses! Even though sometimes it is inconvenient to see things like movie, I like it.

  7. Yoon permalink
    May 22, 2015 11:01 pm

    When I feel sad or get stressed, I like to read funnu story and watching comic program. It is a funny story I know of .

    Two elderly couples were enjoying friendly conversation when one of the men asked the other, “Fred, how was the memory clinic you went to last month?” “Outstanding,” Fred replied. “They taught us all the latest psychological techniques – visualization, association – it has made a big difference for me.” “That’s great! What was the name of that clinic?” Fred went blank. He thought and thought but couldn’t remember. Then a smile broke across his face and he asked, “What do you call that flower with the long stem and thorns?” “You mean a rose?” “Yes, that’s it!” Then he turned to his wife and asked, “Rose, what was the name of that clinic?”

    • May 23, 2015 12:40 pm

      Quite a funny story. Clearly, when feel sad or disappointed, watching or hearing funny story can help me get refreshed.

    • solomon permalink
      May 23, 2015 1:41 pm

      Kkk.. Is his memory getting better or worse? Anyway he actually uses those techniques..

    • Daisy permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:06 pm

      It’s quite funny! I think that his effort for his memory was useless!

  8. Jiwon permalink
    May 22, 2015 11:04 pm

    1. Here is a funny story ; on the one hand, it is clearly absurd.
    Two hunters were in a forest and one suddenly fell in a faint. Thus, the other man called 911, and said “My friend is dying! What should I do?” Then a telephone operator replied, “Oh, calm down. First of all, let’s make sure he is dead.” There was a moment`s silence, then bang went a gun. The man said through his cell phone, “Okay, I made sure he was dead. Then now, what do I have to do?”

    2. This is another funny story which happened to my boyfriend.
    My boyfriend is taking one strict professor’s lesson in this semester. The professor always emphasizes using ‘Chinese characters’, so whenever the professor demands his students to do tasks, he requires them to change all Korean words in Chinese characters. Thus, lately, my boyfriend should also do that when he did his homework summarizing one thick book. Then, the largely funny mistake happened when he did the homework. One of many sentences he summarized, there was a word ‘음모’ which means ‘conspiracy’ However, he misunderstood the word and changed it into wrong Chinese characters which sound same with ‘음모’ but mean ‘pubic hair’ After he submitted the homework, he found this mistake. Fortunately, the professor did not mention about this, but my boyfriend was too embarrassed to face the professor.

    • solomon permalink
      May 23, 2015 1:38 pm

      OMG! I’m sure that the professor was also too embarrassed to talk about it.

    • JUN permalink
      May 23, 2015 11:44 pm

      Sometimes other people’s small mistakes make me laugh.

  9. april pig permalink
    May 23, 2015 8:54 am

    The true story came up on anonymous board in internet cafe.
    writer say ; Today in the school, boys would tease me ‘ you are ugly”
    because the boys who usually used to joke, I was just a moment trying to laugh with them without enough thinking. but that moment, my friend sitting next to me, hold my wrist with a serious expression. and say ‘you hold on please’

    • Owl permalink
      May 23, 2015 9:56 pm

      I knew this story. when I read it, I was really laugh!! LOL

    • solomon permalink
      May 23, 2015 10:41 pm

      I know another version of this “pretty or ugly” story.
      Say that you think you are ugly to your friends.
      If your friends reply “What did you say? Go away,” you are pretty.
      If your friends reply “No, you are not. You are pretty enough,” you are normal.
      If your friends reply “Face is not everything,” you are ugly.

      • april pig permalink
        May 26, 2015 11:39 pm

        that’s really funny. oh the test is very systemicall!

  10. May 23, 2015 12:26 pm

    I found a story on the internet.

    Ring Ring~~~
    A information clerk : Hello, what can I help you?
    Customer : How can I turn off my computer with a safe way?
    A information clerk: First, if you open some windows, close the windows. Then, click to Power button….
    Customer: (without listening to what clerk said) Wait a moment please!!
    (30 seconds later) I close all the windows in my house, then.. do I have to power off the computer?

    • so young permalink
      May 24, 2015 8:52 pm

      A play on words is esay to understand but funny. windows… haha

    • stanley permalink
      May 24, 2015 11:22 pm

      hahaha, the customer seems dense.

  11. solomon permalink
    May 23, 2015 1:34 pm

    A:”What does IDK stand for?”
    B: “I don’t know.”
    A: “OMG, nobody does!”

    Wife: “How would you describe me?”
    Husband: “ABCDEFGHIJK.”
    Wife: “What does that mean?”
    Husband: “Adorable, beautiful, cute, delightful, elegant, fashionable, gorgeous, and hot.”
    Wife: “Aw, thank you, but what about IJK?”
    Husband: “I’m just kidding!”

    • JUN permalink
      May 24, 2015 12:17 am

      haha, the husband is naughty. His wife maybe lose her smile

    • Irin permalink
      May 25, 2015 10:21 pm

      He is impish but his joke is funny!

  12. Owl permalink
    May 23, 2015 7:51 pm

    When I have some stress, I often watch some video clip in facebook. Sometimes, it has many funny videos for reducing stress. I have some funny story which heard another people.

    When high school students were going to their home, one of them had a bicycle, so he was riding for going his home. but suddenly, he fell down from his bicycle. At that time, his friend found him, and they ran. Writer who looked them thought that his friend are going to him for helping. but they did not help him. They also lied down near him. They said they have to make his friend does not experience shameful accident.

    • solomon permalink
      May 23, 2015 10:33 pm

      Oh I heard of it. Funny friends:)

    • JUN permalink
      May 24, 2015 12:12 am

      It’s interesting! When I was a high school student, my friends and I also used to do funny behaviors.

  13. Daisy permalink
    May 23, 2015 11:03 pm

    I found a funny story on the internet.
    President Clinton decided to buy a puppy as a present for Hillary. He snuck the puppy under his coat into the White House and as he was walking down one of the halls he comes upon AlGore. Clinton could not hold back his joy and shared his surprise with the VicePresident. “Look what I got for Hillary!” exclaims Clinton, holding up the puppy. AlGore stares for a moment, then his eyes brighten up as he says, “Nice trade, sir!”

    • rubberduck permalink
      May 24, 2015 1:16 am

      Wow is the trade means with her wife? Actually i cannot understand easily 😦 isn’t any one who want to help me?

      • Daisy permalink
        May 27, 2015 8:45 pm

        Sorry for answering late 😦 It means that Clinton brings a puppy for a present, so he said, ” I got for Hillary !” At here, the word ‘for’ means in korean ‘위해’. However, AlGore understand the word as ‘instead of’, which is in korean ‘대신에’. So AlGore said ” Nice trade, sir.” In other words, he understand that Hillary will be replaced to a puppy.

    • CRWtwo permalink
      May 24, 2015 10:14 am

      oh.. sadly I can’t fully understand either. Would you explain a little more?

      • Daisy permalink
        May 27, 2015 8:46 pm

        Sorry for answering late 😦 It means that Clinton brings a puppy for a present, so he said, ” I got for Hillary !” At here, the word ‘for’ means in korean ‘위해’. However, AlGore understand the word as ‘instead of’, which is in korean ‘대신에’. So AlGore said ” Nice trade, sir.” In other words, he understand that Hillary will be replaced to a puppy.

  14. Leo0701 permalink
    May 23, 2015 11:27 pm

    I often look over some facebook pages which provide people funny stories to relieve stress. I found a little off-color joke but it’s pretty funny.

    While playing in the backyard, Little Johnny kills a honeybee. His father sees him killing the honeybee and angrily says, “No honey for you for one month!”
    Later that afternoon, Johnny’s dad catches him tearing the wings off a butterfly. “That’s it! No butter for you for one month!” says his dad.
    Later that evening as Johnny’s mother cooks dinner, a cockroach run across the kitchen floor. She jumps and stomps on it, and then looks up to find Little Johnny and her husband watching her.
    Little Johnny looks at his father and says, “Are you going to tell her, Dad, or do you want me to?”

    As I understand it, little johnny would say to her mother “No cock for you for one month!” Am I right?

  15. JUN permalink
    May 24, 2015 12:07 am

    I found some funny stories on the Internet. Laugh makes me enjoy my life.

    1. A man carrying two huge suitcases to meet with a circus boss to apply for a job. The boss asked:

    “What do you know?”

    The man took out some big stones from one of the suitcases, threw the stones high in the air and used his head to catch the stones.

    The boss nodded. Great. What is in the other suitcase?

    “Painkiller!”

    – I think getting a job is not easy haha.

    2. A curious child asked his mother: “Mommy, why are some of your hairs turning grey?”

    The mother tried to use this occasion to teach her child: “It is because of you, dear. Every bad action of yours will turn one of my hairs grey!”

    The child replied innocently: “Now I know why grandmother has only grey hairs on her head.”

    – Actually, child is sometimes very clever

  16. Cindy permalink
    May 24, 2015 1:15 am

    Since Korea is very iconic country with internet, there are many communities that we can visit and play such as ‘Reddit’ of U.S. I usually stop by the section which is users write the title of pictures. The most memorial and hilarious photo and title that I saw was this. There were the North Korean leader Kim Jung-eun and some of his soldiers were on the boat with smiling face in the photo and the title was “You had never expected we escape from the north?”. It made me laugh out loud not only because of political issue, also their face was perfectly matched with the title.

    • CRWtwo permalink
      May 24, 2015 10:40 am

      that’s funny~. I saw lots of funny contents about a stubborn North Korea leader.I also think it’s a kind of interesting.

      • stanley permalink
        May 24, 2015 11:20 pm

        I found the picture on the internet, that picture is really funny hahaha

  17. CRWtwo permalink
    May 24, 2015 11:06 am

    I saw a slight joke on the Internet. It’s a story about 4.5 and 5. The number 4.5 which is lower than 5 always served 5 as a boss. But suddenly, 4.5 showed a completely changed attitude toward 5. 4.5 started to talk roughly and showed crud behavior. Confused by the sudden attitude chage, 5 asked 4.5 with a little anger. ” What’s wrong with you? I am higher than you!” Then, 4.5 answered. “None of your cheek. I removed my mole!”

    To add some explanation, 4.5 suddenly became 45 by removing his mole between 4 and 5. As a result, 4.5 became much bigger than 5 which doesn’t have to serve 5 as a boss. It was silly but funny story to read!

  18. so young permalink
    May 24, 2015 8:40 pm

    I don’t intentionally use humor to relieve stress, but when I see them, it makes me feel better.
    I want to share a well known story on a radio.

    A girl was taking a packed subway and she was holding in her fart. Because she knew that if she farts, the subway will turn into a hell. Suddenly, she noticed that a man started to touch her hip! She was so made that she decided to let out a fart! “Poop.!!!!” At the same time, the man shouted “WHAT THE Fxxxing HOT! MY! HANDS!!!!!”

  19. stanley permalink
    May 24, 2015 11:11 pm

    I found some funny stories on the internet.
    Man: Just look at that young person with the short hair and blue jeans. Is it a boy or a girl?
    Bystander: It’s a girl, she’s my daughter.
    Man: Oh, please forgive me, sir. I had no idea you were her father.
    Bystander: I’m not. I’m her mother.

    Pretty Peggy approached the secluded lake after looking around carefully, slipped out of her clothes, and was about to plunge into the water when the sheriff appeared.
    “Pardon me, miss,” he said, “but swimming ain’t allowed in this lake.”
    “Why didn’t you tell me before I got undressed?” she exclaimed, blushing furiously.
    “Well,” said the sheriff, “there ain’t any law against undressing.”

    Kid: Mom, is God a boy or a girl?
    Mom: Well, God is both boy and girl.
    Kid: Mom, is God black or white?
    Mom: Well, God is both black and white.
    Kid: Mom, is God straight or gay?
    Mom: God is both straight and gay.
    Kid: Mom, is God Michael Jackson?

  20. May 25, 2015 1:03 am

    I found a interesting story on the internet.

    The story is :


    A curious child asked his mother: “Mommy, why are some of your hairs turning grey?”

    The mother tried to use this occasion to teach her child: “It is because of you, dear. Every bad action of yours will turn one of my hairs grey!”

    The child replied innocently: “Now I know why grandmother has only grey hairs on her head.”

    And I think that humor, sometimes, makes me relieve. Although it cannot be solve actual problem, it helps me to control my anger. Like the title, little humor can heal the big stress.

  21. nabi07 permalink
    May 25, 2015 11:11 pm

    One of the funniest stories that you can find on internet is related to April fool’s day. In the story a professor has stated a rule that if a student’s cellphone ring they must answer it on speaker. His students decide to make a joke and during the class a girl’s cellphone rings and she answers on speaker, as stated. The call was from the hospital telling her that she is pregnant when the professor hears about it he apologizes for the rule. After that the student says to him that her baby’s name is going to be April Fools. I think that is a good April fool’s joke.

Leave a Reply

