Skip to content

CRW 1 Music is a Drug

September 21, 2015

Musicologists and musicophiles have long wondered why music provokes such intense emotions in people. In 2001, a McGill University study by Anne Blood and Robert Zatorre provided some interesting clues. The two neurobiologists discovered that when people listen to pleasurable music, the neurotransmitter dopamine is released in the brain. Dopamine plays a major role in reward-motivated behavior and can provide a euphoric effect such as when one has sex, good food, or an addictive drug. What causes music to stimulate dopamine release is still not fully known, but experts who study music cognition suggest that it is a complex interplay of expectations and desires. Although the leading theory is complex, it goes something as follows. People have certain expectations or make predictions related to sonic events, like a song. The expectations and predictions could come from the melodies, notes, chord progressions, lyrics, etc. When their predicted outcomes are met, their desires are satisfied and dopamine is released. Therefore, music is a drug!

Students: Find a song and/or video that you like and provide a link to it. Describe why you like it. How does this song and/or video make you feel? What is it about the song/video that makes you feel this way? What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

If you would like to post more than one song, fell free to do so.

Here is an example of a song/video I like:

The song is called Doom and Gloom and it’s by one of the greatest rock bands ever, The Rolling Stones. Although the band has been around for decades (the band members are between 71-74 years old and still rockin’, crikey!), their music is still great – skilled musicians playing well-written and produced music. This song and video has a pseudo-political feel meant to raise awareness of the poor state of the world, including ideas such as income inequality, greed, war, and fracking. Also throughout the video is a romantic element, perhaps indicating that the problems are so big that individuals can only try to love one another. However, IMO, it seems as if the video is saying that if we (humans) continue on this path, the result will be serious environment destruction and/or nuclear war, arguable the two largest threats to the human race. Although I like the pumping feel and melodic elements of the song, it makes me think of what kind of future we are headed towards. Human greed, taken to the extreme and without consideration for others, will most likely doom us as a species.

BTW, the female model throughout the video is Noomi Rapace, a popular Swedish actress from Prometheus and Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows.

118 Comments leave one →
  1. Comet permalink
    September 22, 2015 10:37 pm

    One of my favorite songs is Stop Crying Your Heart Out by Oasis, the English rock band. This song was released in 2002. At that time, it got a high rank on many countries’ charts for several weeks. Furthermore, it was included in the movie Butterfly Effect(2004) as a final sound track. When watching the movie, I heard this song for the first time, but I didn’t pay attention to it. Later, when I listened carefully to the whole music again, it refreshed me. I realized that the minor key of the song is changed into the major key, which is my favorite music pattern, such as that of Humoresque by Dvorak. This modulation of keys or changing the atmosphere of the song inspires me to positively think about or perceive all the world. It is as if the song said to me, “You have the power to proceed forward.” This feature is reflected well in its video. Being nervous, the girl in the video is wandering, and a lot of electronic display boards are turned off, which makes audiences feel bleak. However, when the key of the song is modulated, the girl’s expression or face is getting bright, and the electronic display boards is also turned on, broadcasting scenes of the sky. With the hopeful lyrics, the dramatic melody lines and the images of its video, this song indicates that we can overcome any adversities and be brave to take a step forward. Clearly, I recommend that you try to listen to this encouraging song, Stop Crying Your Heart Out, when you feel frustrated.

    • September 23, 2015 12:52 am

      I’m also fan of the Oasis, Noel Gallagher. I have listened their music since I was middle school student. I really love their special melody, base, and voice. One of the my favorite songs is “Don’t Look Back In Anger”. But, there are many other masterpieces such as “Woderwall” and “Slide Away”

      • Comet permalink
        September 23, 2015 12:19 pm

        Yeah, also, Whatever, She’s Electric, Morning Glory and Supersonic, you name it. However, the fact that Oasis was disbanded because of the fued between Noel and Liam makes their fans downhearted. Could the brothers reunite?

    • peanut permalink
      September 23, 2015 6:31 pm

      To be honest, it’s first time to listen Oasis’s music. This song is interesting and charming. Many of my friends love Oasis. I get to know why they love it.

      • mike619 permalink
        September 25, 2015 1:31 am

        I also listened this song for the first time. But this song is really cool. I might be find some other songs of Oasis!

    • gounn permalink
      September 23, 2015 11:03 pm

      Oasis is one of my favorite rock band. They are represented to one of british rock bands. I also saw movie Butterfly Effect(2004). It iwas very intersting story. My favorite song of Oasis is Live Forever. This song makes me feel good and comfortable. And I like a lyrics of this song. I recommend you listen to Live Forever.

    • sleeper permalink
      September 24, 2015 1:09 am

      I’m impressed with an indifferent look of vocal. His voice and singing is soulful but it is a contrast to his look. I think it makes me able to feel more about his voice. I’ll like this song, I think.

    • jellyman permalink
      September 24, 2015 5:28 pm

      Wow, I’m really surprised that there are so many fan of Oasis in our class. I always listen this band’s music during my break time. My favorite song was ‘Whatever’. Their song’s lyrices and melody were extremely wonderful. And….Noel and Liam’s interviews were also very exciting.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 24, 2015 7:36 pm

      I like ‘Whatever’ by Oasis. Its lyrics remind me that I’m a free presence. And like the lyrics, Noel seems to live his free life. Some people say bad things about him ,but I think he just want to be free and frank.

    • pugn permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:26 am

      I also watched the movie Butterfly Effect(2004) but I didn’t realize this music was used as a final soundtrack. Now that, I think its lyrics match with the plot of the movie. I enjoy the sound of this music, especially the part of minor key. Thanks for recommend it! I fall for it. I’m listening it repeatly now haha.

    • asdf permalink
      September 25, 2015 6:51 pm

      I have never seen a Korean who doesn’t like Oasis. I think one of the reason for this is maybe Oasis’s love for Korea, not to say their great music. My favorite song of them is “Champagne Supernova”. So sad that the Gallaghers are not going to unite together.

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:22 pm

      I’m so impressed that there are a number of fans of Oasis in this class. In my case, I don’t know about them. But this song and lycis give me the courage to deal with some adversities. I think I’m going to love this band.

    • MINA permalink
      September 29, 2015 3:42 pm

      I like Oasis too..! and I’m really sad about their dissolution. The members of Oasis, Noel and Liam are brothers but their style toward music might be different or they just had some trouble… anyway Oasis have many good songs.

  2. sleeper permalink
    September 24, 2015 12:57 am

    This song is called Friday(금요일) song by Oohyo(우효)! Oohyo is a solo female singer in Korea, made her debut last year. Friday is single released in 2015. Her dubut album in 2014 is also fantastic so I recommand you to listen this too(especially Vineyard and Piano Dust). In her debut album, the songs are calm and make me feel relaxed. But Friday is a little bit different. The melody is bright and cheerful than her other songs. And it has a sweet lyrics. The lyrics are about highly admiring Friday! 🙂 ‘Tomorrow is Friday that I have missed, and I love’ like this! I think everyone likes Friday, including me, because after Friday we do not have to work or study(sometimes may be not..) and can have fun. So when I listen to this song, I think about my Friday, and also my weekend, and it makes me feel satisfied(actually it’s not Friday! but I feel it’s already that day) and blissful. And this Friday I’ll meet my high school friend that I met last month, so I can imagine that I’ll meet her and have a delicious lunch with talking our recent days and hang around with eye shopping when I listen the song Friday. So if you have a hard weekday, listen to this song, and you can imagine your happy Friday.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 24, 2015 7:03 pm

      Oh, I love korean indie music so much! But, this is the first time to listen to song by Oohyo(its name is cute…). It songs make me cheer up! and I want to try to listen her other songs Thank you 🙂

    • Gloria permalink
      September 24, 2015 8:56 pm

      I am not interested in indie music at ordinary times, but this music is so attractive! Although I have a class on friday unfortunately, I would try to enjoy my friday listening to this song.

    • mjk permalink
      September 24, 2015 10:19 pm

      Oh very cute song!! 🙂 This is first time to listen to this song too. I love her cute and beautiful voice. As tommorrow is friday but i have a class, i am so tired and am exhausted. But after hearing this song, i can cheer up and think more positive. So next time whenever i think i need to cheer up, i try to heard this song. Thank you 🙂

    • asdf permalink
      September 25, 2015 7:12 pm

      Nice song! It is first time to listen oohyo, but I think I just have became a fan. Some indie artist give us unique impression that is distinctive from major pop music. It is very happy personal achievement to find an indie musician whos musics are just match for his or her taste. We call this “taste sniping” It seems Oohyo is a extremely lethal taste sniper!

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:16 pm

      The name, Oohyo, is interesting. 🙂 Is it an onomatopoeia? Anyway, this song is so cute, as her name. Also, Her voice is very pure. I think the vocal tone is to the singer what the voice is to a teenager.

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:30 pm

      Oh I really love Oohyo, too!! I love her particular voice and pure lyrics. My favorite song is Vienyard. I’m so happy to find someone like you who like her. I want to know Oohyo’s face, but she seeks mysticism. I feel sad about that.

    • jellyman permalink
      September 26, 2015 12:01 am

      I haven’t heard this song before, so this is first time to know this song and the singer. As other classmates said, her voice is really pure and lovely. At first I was little scary because album’s cover was red and white, like blood on snow ! 😦 But It wasn’t. This song has very cheerful melody! Thanks to give me a chance for hearing such a nice song!

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:23 am

      Oh! It is first time to hear about the singer and the song, your recommendation really attracts me. Because I love every Friday in which I could relax myself and imagine wonderful weekends, I have to listen this song!

  3. jellyman permalink
    September 24, 2015 5:18 pm

    Link

    I will introduce the song ‘Everybody’s got somebody but me’. This song’s lyrics are very sorrowful. The lyrics exactly fit our love story. For example, if you go for a walk in our school, you will probably see at least three couple. They have their partner, but you don’t. After stroll, you visit the restaurant. Unfortunately, on your both sides, there are couples have meal in romantic mood. Everybody’s are couple except for you. How do you feel? Maybe you will experience a great fury and sorrow. Yes, this song’s lyrics is about that. It is talking about single’s loneliness. But, its atmosphere is not dark or heavy. Instead, it’s like a very lovely pop song. This song uses a cheerful melody and the singer, Hunter Hayes’s voice is also cheerful. The reason why I love this song is it has funny lyrics in a sweet melody. I hope you to be happy after listening this cute song.

    • September 24, 2015 7:12 pm

      The stroy of this song is exactly matched with my case. I want to fall in today. HaHa. And I recommend another song, “I wish I could fall in love today”. I think this song is similar to your song. Both of lyrics describe a wish to love.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 24, 2015 7:12 pm

      I agree with you. The song could be quite sad song for people who don’t have girlfriend and boyfriend. but, because of singer’s tone , it doesn’t make sad atmosphere. More than that, it arouse bright atmosphere. I love this song! Thank you 🙂

    • mjk permalink
      September 24, 2015 10:11 pm

      Today, it’s first time to heard this song for me. I love this song 🙂 As you siad, this song’s lyrics are sorrowful but for me when i listened it, i can be happy little bit because of melody. i love guitar sound and wonderful singers tone. I’m sure i can have a good night before chuseok. Thank you for introducing.

    • Gloria permalink
      September 24, 2015 11:15 pm

      I really empathize with the message of this song:( I’m sad a lttile bit, the sweet voice of vocal makes me cheerful . From now on, I will enjoy to listen to this music.

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 9:56 pm

      Yeah, This song is a little ironic, in that the atmosphere of it is very bright but the contents of it is self-mocking. And, that point makes this song very attractive. Anyway, Jason Mraz is refused by even a elder woman in this video. It is so funny. 🙂

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:37 pm

      So cute song! I can understand those situations because the lyrics exactly describe me^^;;;I love this song especially because of the atmosphere. I feel as this cheerful song gives me some comfort and tells me, “Don’t be lonely, single girl!”

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:29 am

      I think this song’s charming point is that it expresses single’s lonliness in cheerful, lovely melody. I think single cannot be one who has to feel gloomy. But single can be a strong one if s/he cherishes oneselves! Then the single would be attractive person and, finally, others come to her or him.

  4. Todgo permalink
    September 24, 2015 6:59 pm


    I want to share with you about the song of Nujabes, one of my favorite musicians. ‘Aruarian Dance’ is one of his many masterpieces ,and the song is famous for its silent and pieceful atmosphere. I have listened to this music since I was a high school student, for 6 or 7years ,but It still remains as my favorite song. I used to listen it at dawn with studying .and I think it’s the best song suitable for atmosphere at dawn. In addition to its atmosphere, its melodie line makes people peaceful and sentimental. So I have found some radio broadcaster producers who is in charge of dawn zone use it their theme music. The other special thing of the song is it doesn’t have lyrics ,but we can feel what Nujabes want to express and share. Nujabes is called ‘Genious’ and ‘Pioneer’ because Jazz hiphop starts from America ,but now it is regarded as Japanese music because of his great works. Sadly, Nujabes has gone by traffic accident in 2010 , however, he is still regarded as a great legend in Jazz hiphop field. And to me, he is still alive in many wonderful songs he made. I hope you enjoy this song when you want to be pieceful.

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 9:34 pm

      Wow, I like this song. It recalls what I feel when I’m in the bed at midnight. It is a little calm, peaceful and somewhat mysterious. I think this can match well Fly Me To The Moon. Oh, both are a kind of Jazz, right?

      • Todgo permalink
        September 25, 2015 11:07 pm

        Yes, this kind of music is called ‘Jazz Hiphop’ even though I think this is not typical of the music

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:43 pm

      Wow I love this silent atmosphere. Usually I enjoy the songs without lyrics. These songs have the advantage that I can imagine anything hearing the song, without limitation of thinking from lyrics. I think these kinds of songs are good at some situations when I have to concentrate.

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:35 am

      After I listened this song, I totally agree with you. This song is really peaceful and make me calm. Sometimes, a song without lyrics has strong power to console a listener than a song that has lyrics. When I am in deep sorrow, I also listen this kind of music.

  5. RIP permalink
    September 24, 2015 7:06 pm

    Music: https://youtu.be/ek2BP6ZJnJQ
    AD : https://youtu.be/rbNP_c0wUxE

    This song is ‘True Romance’ by CITIZENS!, a English pop group. Also it was inserted in the ≪Beauty Inside≫(2015), a korean romance film. When I heard this song at the end of the movie in a theater, I was captivated by melodical tone of this song. At the same time, the ending credit of this movie, used sensuous graphics, also make me impressed. Since I had no idea about this song at that time, after coming back to home, I searched this songs and also found an advertisement related to this movie.
    In my case, a combination of 3 factors, a film ≪Beauty Inside≫, a song ‘True Romance’ and an advertisement ‘Beauty inside’, creates synergy effect. This combination is enable for me to remember all these factors more memorable. In detail, the movie were produced based on the ad. And common topic of this movie and ad is Beautifulness of inner side and they send a massage that true love is related not to appearance but to inner side. I think the title of this song, ‘True Romance’, is really suitable with this massage. Besides, a cheerful beat and soulful vocal of this song double afterglow of this movie. That’s why I choice this song as a my best song in recent times. If you want to be saturated in emotional feeling, why don’t you hear and see this combination of 3 factors. I recommend you to hear this song first, to watch the ad and finally to watch the movie, having enough time to enjoy mellow afterglow.

  6. mjk permalink
    September 24, 2015 9:59 pm

    One of my favorite songs is ‘You belong with me’ of Taylor Swift. There are several reasons why i love this song. When i was a middle school student, i was a drummer in school band for 3 years. In 2010, on the music concert, our band played this song. First reason why i love this song is because of ‘memory.’ when i listened this song, i can indulge in reminiscence. For this reason, when i am tired and am boring, i try to listen this song. Second reason is self-confidence. This song helps me have self- confidence more. A part of the lyrics of song is ” She wears short skirts. I wear T-shirts. She’s cheer captain and i’m on the bleachers.” A main actress falls in love but that man has a beautiful girlfriend. At first, she is lacking in confidence but later she try to meet him. When i listen the song especially that lyrics, i get more self-confidence. Third, the most surprised thing is music video. There are two girl in the video. One is very beautiful and popular and the other is naive and pure. However these two girl are the same person in reality. She is just Taylor Swift. For these reasons, i love this song. When i listened it, i can indulge in reminiscence, can get self-confidence and can be happy. If you want to get self-confidence about love, friendship or anything, try to listen this song. ^^

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 6:46 pm

      I listen to her music ‘love story’ when I was a teen. Now She is famous for her ex-boyfriends ,but I still like her musics

      • yeye permalink
        September 25, 2015 11:30 pm

        Oh, I like ‘love story’!Because it’s lyric is pretty and like a fariy tale! And melody is also sweet! It harmonized with taylor’s sweet voice 🙂

    • yeye permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:21 pm

      taylor’s voice is so sweet..! I like this song!

    • jellyman permalink
      September 26, 2015 12:10 am

      When I first heard this song, I was middle school student… This song recalls my memory from middle school. The singer became more popular than past…Time is so fast 🙂

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:43 am

      Oh! I love this song too! As you said, this lyric make me confident about me! It is first time to watch its music video. I like it too because It could deliver brave and confidence to girls who listen the song! I think the lyric means that “I am me, I am a precious one as I am”. It is really meaningful!

  7. Gloria permalink
    September 24, 2015 10:45 pm


    A song that I want to introduce is bohemian rhapsody. Maybe, a large number of people already knew this song. This song is composed by Queens, a famous band in the united Kingdom, and gave a great shock to people at the time of its release. That is because the lyrics and structure of the song was strange to people at that time. Starting with the lyrics of the song, when I was a child, my father played this song whenever I took the car. In spite of an early age, I love to listen to this song without any reasons. However, as I came to understand the message in the song, I cannot enjoy to listen to this song with a pleasant feeling. The reason is that this song is about a man who is executed by electrical torture by a reason of killing someone accidently. Queens tried to apply this tragic story to the composition of bohemian rhapsody. Especially, Freddie Mercury, a main singer of Queens, recorded the part of opera 180 times in order to express the emotion of the man who killed someone dramatically. In addition, an interesting thing related to the structure is that this song is composed of various movements such as ballad, opera, rock. I think that bohemian rhapsody is a magnificent music which nobody dare not to make.

    • Gloria permalink
      September 24, 2015 10:52 pm

      sorry, Queens -> Queen

    • gounn permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:03 pm

      I love this song very much. Queen and this song are world famous. They are legend of legend. There are world famous many songs of queen such as “We are the Champion” and “We will Rock you”. Queen is the ancester of rock music.

    • Sunn permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:40 pm

      i also like this song!
      i knew the reason of the song through this text. it was so sensible and shocking!

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:10 pm

      Queen has been made more than 40years… I think it’s true one of Rock bands

    • MINA permalink
      September 29, 2015 3:51 pm

      Yeah, Queen is a legendary band. This song is famous and little unique 🙂 Very long and something like musical! I heard, at that time around when this song was released, a regulation of song’s length(?) was eliminated. Right, The lyrics also very shocking.

  8. gounn permalink
    September 25, 2015 12:35 am

    I love music, especially rock music. I want to share this band and this song. The band is Guns N’ Roses. Gun N’ Roses is very very famous rock band during late 1980s-early 1990s, The song is “November Rain” which is also very famous. The video has more than 432,844,234 views since it was uploaded now. I always listen to this song when it rains in November. How a beautiful, sad, powerful song! “November Rain” is a song in the style of a power ballad by the American rock band Guns N’ Roses. Written by the band’s lead singer Axl Rose, the song was released as a single in 1992 from their third studio album, Use Your Illusion I (1991). It features a sweeping orchestral backing and is one of Guns N’ Roses’ longest songs. “November Rain” peaked at number 3 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart, making it the longest song in history to enter the top ten of that chart. Guitarist Slash is fantastic. He play the guitar very well. His guitar solo and perfomance is execellent in not only “November Rain” but also Other songs. He always play the guitar with a cigarette in his mouth. Singer Axl Rose’s voice is very lovely, husky, powerful and special. Also, music video is well-made, but it’s difficult to understand. You must listen to this song and other songs of Guns N’ Roses.

    • proftodd permalink*
      September 25, 2015 11:46 am

      The songs brings back memories. Great track. I also love “Welcome to the Jungle.”

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 9:45 pm

      Wow. Awesome!. I think the guitarist knew how to be fabulous. In the scene, where he plays the guitar in front of a church, facing the sandstorm, I am really impressed. He is a real tough guy.

  9. 5sman permalink
    September 25, 2015 12:38 am


    Billy Joel is legendary singer-songwriter that represents the USA. And he is a pop singer which Korean most love. The ‘Piano Man’, Billy Joel’s trademark, and ‘Uptown Girl’ are quite famous even in Korea. However, I would come up with ‘We didn’t start the fire’ at first, When I think about Billy Joel’s songs. ‘We didn’t start the fire’ was released in 1989. ‘We didn’t start the fire’ is maybe unfamiliar in Korea, on the other hand, this song reached the top of Billboard chart at that time. When I first heard this song, I was fascinated by movie. Then I surprised to know lyrics of song. The first person to hear this song may be puzzled by lyrics like me. Billy Joel puts the historic events between 1949, the year of Billy Joel’s birth, and 1998 in lyrics of song. They are all of lyrics without chorus Billy Joel just spits historic keyword out. Listening closely, we could hear North Korea, Panmunjeaom, and Seung Man Rhee, that was hot issue, in this song. This song is criticized by music magazine for a terrible song, and Billy Joel abandons to perform this song in concert because, lyrics are too complicated. Although this song has a bit educational lyrics, on the other hand in the movie, Billy Joel’s feature may tell us some messages of anger. What is the subject that Billy Joel wants to convey through this song? The most important thing, I think, is not each historic event, but what does Billy Joel want to show in this movie. There is an interesting episode which has Billy Joel make this song. When Billy Joel overs age 40, he talked with his young fan. The young man argued. “The world is a mess, and not seems to improve.” Billy Joel said. “When I was young, I thought like you. But as I older, realize that is not true.” Then, young man said. “You lived in 1950s. In 1950s, I know that your generation never tried to improve. You not only caused the World War II, but drive the world to Cold War and to risk of nuclear weapon.” I think, ‘We didn’t start the fire’ is the answer and excuse for young man. The movie shows a process that typical newlyweds get old. Through all ages, people just get old and die. The Billy Joel said angrily in front of burning place. The trigger of historic events wasn’t us. We just did our best and struggled in our life. This is a Billy Joel’s message to provocation of young man. Whenever i hear this song, I feel that I was part of huge flow of history.

    • pugn permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:45 am

      Wow, it’s a kind of interesting music. The lyrics are quite puzzling as you say, but your explanation help me to understand:) I think this music implies some important messages for us.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:12 pm

      Oh… It’s different from what I have known about Billy Joel’s style. and now I can see he made another good work.

  10. September 25, 2015 12:53 am

    I have a wonderful song that I really want to share with you. It’s called See You Again, by Charlie Puth and Wiz Khalifa. When you listen to this song carefully, you’ll find that the lyrics are touching and sorrowful. The song was included at the end of the movie The Fast and The Furious: The Seven. The director decided to make and put this song to cherish the memory of Paul Walker, a Hollywood actor who died by car accident while filming the movie. All the actors of this movie have been together from the first series. Therefore, Paul’s death was so shocking that they even considered stopping the series. But finally they thought Paul will hope them to finish the movie successfully. So they determined to put this song to make everyone remember Paul. Fortunately, the movie was box office and as a big fan of this movie’s series, I feel so mournful when I listen to this song. Surely, you’ll be more touched by this song when you listen to it after watching all of the movie series.

  11. mike619 permalink
    September 25, 2015 1:29 am

    This song ‘FEAR’ was sung by the rapper Song Min Ho, who is in idol group “WINNER”. He made this song in the program “Show Me The Money 4”. This song is about rapper Song Min Ho’s hard life of becoming a singer. This song made me feel really odd and moved. I also had several hard time, and I was sympathized with this song’s lyrics. I think translate lyrics by english can be little hard because of difference of intonations of Korean and English. I though most people have their own fear and sorrow, and they can cure their sadness by listening to music.

    • ye jin permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:51 am

      I watched this stage in television. i was so surprised and impressed to him. before i watched this stage, i just thought that he is just handsome idol. Also until he is handsome now, he have good talent too.

    • yeye permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:25 pm

      Usually I didn’t like Tae Yang and didn’t know Min ho, but I can change my view as this song. Melody and Tae Yang’s voice is so attractive

  12. September 25, 2015 2:05 am

    This is one of the my favorite song that I listened recently. this song has really powerful lyrics and energetic rythmn that make me cheer up. when I feel tired and stressful I listened to this fight song. especially lyrics make me strong and heal my mind which is hurted by many stressful situation. also this song make me never give up. there is line that ‘my power’s turned on, and starting right now I’ll be strong’. this is my favorite line.
    when you feel frustrated or want to give up something, I recommend this fight song. please listen while remind the lyrics that make you strong!

  13. ye jin permalink
    September 25, 2015 11:45 am

    This song title is ‘shut up and let me go’, sung by The ting tings in uk. This song is about her saying to bad guy who beg to her. i also experienced bad guy, i exactly agree this lyrics; shut up and let me go!’ I performed this song with my band. I recommended this song to my members. because this song is really addictive. base sound and drum beat is so unique, and make me dance on stage. When i listen this song, i am really excited and get into the rhythm.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 6:42 pm

      I love this group too, but I don’t know why they don’t release new albums…since 2012

    • gounn permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:08 pm

      I like this song. Whenever I listen this music, I am very excited. Title of song is intersted for me. This song make me want to go somewhere.

    • yeye permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:15 pm

      I like this song because I experienced like this lyric. Sometimes it makes me think past memories…

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:46 am

      Oh I am impressed by your saying that this music related with your real experience. I believe that, if the lyrics match with what I have experienced before, the song would be attractive to me than any other.

  14. pugn permalink
    September 25, 2015 1:01 pm

    blob:82B9205A-3D45-4444-9E8F-A5A72E48E78D

    I want to introduce the song ‘Dealbreaker’ by Rachael Yamagata. Rachael Yamagata is one of my favorite singer and among her music, ‘Dealbreaker’ is my favoirte. When I was 18 years old, I heard her song ‘Be Be your love’ for the first time and since then I have fallen for her songs. ‘Dealbreaker’ is quiet and a bit gloomy as you listened. Her low and whispery voice touch my heart and make my mind melancholic. I like to listen it while lying on my bed, turning off all lights in my room. Also, this song has sad, but touching and beautiful lyrics. It is about missing her lover while looking at daily things and confessing that all of this means nothing without lover. It could be such a cliche story that most love songs have, but the melody and atmosphere are charming and make me calm. I think it is good to listen at automn night like these days. Enjoy the song!

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 6:38 pm

      One of my friends used to listene this music all day long for months. Her voice is sorrowful and It’s very charming

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 9:10 pm

      Oh, the voice is so husky that someone, who doesn’t know Rachael Yamagata, can mistake the singer for a man. But, as her voice is husky, so it is very attractive and appealing. And, as you mentioned, this song matches well autumn night. It reminds me of a somewhat bleak street, which is covered with fallen leaves.

  15. pugn permalink
    September 25, 2015 1:03 pm

  16. Sally permalink
    September 25, 2015 7:38 pm

    The song I want to introduce today is ‘hopeful’ by a group BAM, Bars And Melody. The time I knew this group was when I was in highshcool grade 3. This group is composed of two canadian boys and they participated at British’s got talent. The theme of the song is anti-bullying and they wanted to give hope to others. One boy of BAM was bullied by friends when he was in elementary school. So he made the song and was about to deliver hope to other students. Middle of the song, another singer sings for delivering hope. I could empathize how students in bullied situations feel. So I want you to listen this song and feel about that too.

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 8:42 pm

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 8:54 pm

      Wow, these boys really ‘got talent!’ Anyway, I heard that bullying, even cyber-bullying, becomes a big problem these days, especially in the lower grades in elementary school. So , I want this song to help the students, who are suffering from bullying, to overcome it.

      • Sally permalink
        September 25, 2015 10:20 pm

        Thank you for the video!!:D

  17. asdf permalink
    September 25, 2015 8:10 pm

    Is there anyone who likes Radiohead? I myself is a huge fan of Radiohead. The first Radiohead song I had heard is, as you expected, “Creep”. The sorrowful appeal and atmosphere was so impressive that made me find other songs of Radiohead. The other songs were even more fantastic. Espically I liked the 3rd album, OK computer when I was a highschool student. The later albums like “Kid A”, “Hail to the Theif” were a bit difficult to enjoy and I had thought that only old songs of Radiohead are good. But now, my most favorite album is rather “In rainbows”, which is the 7th album of Radiohead and a monumental masterpiece.
    One day, I said to my friend “Do you think it is possible that I see the live concert of Radiohead before I die?” Next week, the news was announced that Radiohead will visit Korea for Jisan Rock Festival. Of course I went! Their stage was unbelievable.
    Here is a song I want to recommend for you.(It was really hard to pick just one song)
    Paranoid android. It is known that the motif of song is an paranoiac robot from the book “The hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy” The lyrics are artistic expression of the inner side of a Paranoid, but true value of this song is its melody. For a relatively long time of 6 and half minutes, beautiful guitar riff and kaleidoscopic rhythm please my ear. Thom yorke’s appealing voice also makes this song splendid.
    Please enjoy!

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 8:40 pm

      Radiohead is one of my favorite musicians! I love Karma Police and No Surprises, including this song that you recommended. Anyway, although The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy is a comedy book, this song’s atmosphere is very psychedelic and implies the agony of the mentality. I think that this song’s main point is ‘I may be paranoid, but not an android.’

    • gounn permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:18 pm

      I love radiohead and their songs. But I especially love 1st album “Pablo Honey” and 2nd album “The Bends”. Their sound is somting special. They creat new world of Rock genre. “Creep” is not my type. I don’t like quite music.

      • Comet permalink
        September 25, 2015 10:30 pm

        Yeah, even Radiohead themselves don’t like Creep. Creep, however, is the most famous song of theirs, and it made them be known to the world. It’s irony. 😉

      • asdf permalink
        September 26, 2015 11:21 pm

        It is interesting that although we are same fans of radiohead, but our taste of music is distinct. I actually don’t listen Pablo honey so often. However, I’m sure that there will be no disagreement about the excellence of 2nd album, The bends. Even B side tracks of the album are fantastic.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:14 pm

      Radiohead often visit Korea, Aren’t they? I believe they love to have a performance infront of korean spectators

      • asdf permalink
        September 26, 2015 11:26 pm

        Sadly, nope. As I know, they visited Korea only for once. They liked the response of Korean audience, but I think their skyscraping guarantee prevents them to have concert in my country.

    • peach permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:47 pm

      Oh, I really like the song ‘Creep’. Thank you for telling me the other good song of Radiohead!

  18. peanut permalink
    September 25, 2015 9:46 pm

    (sorry I couldn’t find the video )

    I think most of young people prefer a dynamic, exciting or newly released music, but I do prefer calm and old one. The music I’d like to introduce is ‘Hotel California’ which is the song of Eagles. Perhaps you can’t figure out every lines of the song, but the melody would be totally familiar to you. Furthermore you have heard the name of band; Eagles. The band is beloved by many listeners in the world, especially by Koreans. One of the peculiar features of this band is that the main vocalist is a drummer.(Honestly, I got to know it this time.) When you travel to somewhere at the midnight or you are in the cafe alone, if you listen to this music, you can get some impressions.

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:04 pm

      Is it okay?

      • pugn permalink
        September 26, 2015 1:56 pm

        Wow… I listen this song after a long time.. I listened it for the first time when I was a middle school student while searching my dad’s mp3 player list. At that time, I loved that song and used to play it very often. I’m surprised that you guys know this, because it’s a very old song!!

      • asdf permalink
        September 26, 2015 11:32 pm

        I love this song, too! A funny Korean joke about this song is. At the beginning of the song, “On a dark desert high way~ ” sounds exactly same with “어느덧 대전 하이웨이~”.

    • Comet permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:06 pm

      Also, I think Desperado is one masterpiece of their songs. 🙂

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:15 pm

      Oh, It’s really really famous song. I have listend many times when I wan a teen. And….It’s still good !

    • MINA permalink
      September 29, 2015 3:56 pm

      I really like this song. The guitar’s melody make me fall in this song!! There are some versions of ‘Hotel California’

  19. Sunn permalink
    September 25, 2015 10:27 pm

    ‘hope’, ‘lighting’ is the my favorite emotion . everytime i listen to this kind of music , it makes my heart flutter and overwhelming and bring me a energy which i can overcome the difficulty in the future, i think many person like it.
    so i introduce one of the my suprem music ‘ We are young’ . it is about young people’s fire. the lylics deliver us ‘ there’r many tough or sad or vunerable event in one’s life. but we re young and again stand up to set the fire.’ this music is often used in highteen drama for young student. either i listend this song from a drama ‘glee’ . the scene which the songs appear is that many friend are singing together and encourage each other.
    i recommend you if something make you unstable. maybe you can earn the force to begin something agiain.

    • Sunn permalink
      September 25, 2015 10:32 pm


      another vesion!

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 26, 2015 12:00 am

      I have been getting energy from this song. Glee’s songs are lively and I love their atmospheres. This song’s lyrics encourage me:)

  20. asdfgg permalink
    September 25, 2015 10:54 pm

    This song is called Defying Gravity and one of my best songs. I’m sure a number of people who watched GLEE, American drama, know it. I really love this song because I can get power to cheer up from it when I feel tired and want to give up everything. Preparing collage admission, I had tough time because the result of study had never advanced. This fact terribly distressed me and my confidence fell down deep inside of the ground. As I tortured myself, I felt there’s nothing that I can achieve. At that time, my best friend, knows well about my situation, recommended this song. Its lyrics are about the words of bravery and hope to go through some obstacles. This story sincerely touched my heart and gave me the courage that I never try to give up again. This song made my sense of shame fade away. Whenever I become depressed, I hear it and try to surmount difficulties. Also, I imagine my reflection that overcome those crises and be proud of myself. Therefore, I want to suggest this song to everyone who is suffering from the problem of self-confidence.

    • Todgo permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:20 pm

      I don’t know the name of her ,but the woman signer has powerful voice….. I liker her voice

  21. yeye permalink
    September 25, 2015 11:12 pm

    Now I would like to introduce this song which is my favorite song recently. The song name is ‘Dumb Dumb’ sung by ‘Red Velvet’ who are famous and popular idol girl group in Korea. Why I choose this song for my favorite, this song’s melody, lyric and general concepts are attractive to me. At the first melody, it’s very bubbly and lively sound. So I was addicted this melody and lyric, especially the repetition of the rhythmic lyrics ‘Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb’ is very exciting. Surprisingly, ‘Dumb’ which is included in this song is repeated 209 times. This song’s story is that a shy girl has a secret crush on a boy but she could not tell him and whenever she stand in front of him, she is always at loss what to do. This song’s lyric expresses the girl’s thought. I could sympathize with the shy girl’s mind. And the concept of ‘Dumb Dumb’ is a doll or robot, Red Velvet member looked like so pretty and cutie. Also dance is powerful, so I liked that and memorized how to dance it. Furthermore, you can notice music video’s set is so colorful that you will feel charm.

    • asdfgg permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:50 pm

      I really love Red Velvet, too! Each of the five girls is so beautiful and lovely. I’m big fan of them. I have already addicted this songs melody and think about the melody ‘Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb’ almost every moment. Cute girls make me smile:)

    • mathjeongsuk permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:55 pm

      I really love them a lot….!! They are really cute and singing reaallly well. It is very interesting that ‘the dumb’ sounds 209 times!!!!

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:50 am

      Wow! I love this song too!!! Although the song were released a few days ago, I listened it thousand times. haha:) I get addicted to its melody and repetitive lyrics ‘Dumb Dumb’. Its melody and lyric are lovely and attractive!

    • asdf permalink
      September 26, 2015 11:45 pm

      They became the no.1 girl group in my mind… Their debut song “Happiness” was so energetic and fresh… and the next song “Icecream cake” was even more fantastic. Now I’m addicted with this song Dumb dumb. The fact that they are so adorable is needless to say. Pretty, cute, songs are good and dance well. What is their shortcoming on earth?

  22. peach permalink
    September 25, 2015 11:35 pm

    One of my favorite song is ‘See you again’ sung by Wiz Khalifa.
    In this summer I saw the movie, Fast&Furious 7. Actually I didn’t see any previous series of Fast&Furious. So Furious 7 is the first series of Fast&Furious I saw. And as many of you already know, ‘see you again’ is the OST of Fast & Furious. But that is not the reason why I like this song.
    At the ending credit of the movie, ‘See you again’ is played with a video clip. This video showed Paul William Walker. Sadly November 30th, 2013 he passed away. So the filmmakers made that memorial video of him. And the song, ‘See you again’ made people (including me) more sad. At the teather when I heaed this song with that video, my eyes were moist and I almost cried.
    When I was depressed I listen to this song. ‘See you again’ is kind of sad song, but for me this song can console me. So I like this song.

    • peach permalink
      September 25, 2015 11:36 pm

    • lazyenough permalink
      September 26, 2015 12:00 am

      My fav song ! this song makes me touched cuz of the memories of the actor !

  23. September 25, 2015 11:50 pm

    I guess most people have their favorite song. I also have my favorite one. It is ‘Across the Universe’ sung by The Beatles. This song is also remaked by Fiona Apple. I heard this song at the cafe by chance. When I studied in cafe, the song flew through the amplifier. The lyrics in this song impressed me a lot. ‘Jai guru deva om, nothings gonna change my world.’ The former lyrics mean that in Sanskrit, ‘Prophet, please give me answer.’ I went through a hard time at that moment, preparing graduation test. That song give me energy. There’s nothing that can block or interrupt my life. What I have to do is live through my life what I want to do. I think thanks to this song, I was able to endure that difficult time. I think the music has very mysterious power, the driving force makes people to get back up again.

  24. September 25, 2015 11:57 pm

    When I was a middle school student, one of my friends introduced me some unusual songs. At that time, I always listened to only K-pops like idol music, so I was a layman that I did not know about not only British music but other music. He lent me his MP3 player and said that “have a listen to this British music, it is really fantastic!” It was the first time that I have listened to British music, especially British rock. He also kindly explained about classic pops and masterpieces of British music and since then I have fascinated by British rock music.
    I really want to introduce and share my favorite British rock music list, but there are too many music in the list, so today I want to introduce one of the famous British rock bands the “Cold Play” and their well-known song “Viva La Vida”. Have you ever listened to such a wonderful song? When I listen to this song “Viva La Vida”, I am deeply moved at this song. I do not know exactly why my heart is affected by their music but, on the other hand, I think that the British band Cold Play’s music, which has some distinct features of the beautiful melody, intimate poetic lyric and above all things that sensitivity heart moving music create a sensation to me. The song “Viva La Vida” is a Cold Play’s well-expressed song and you can feel their sensitivity and emotion. I truly want you guys to enjoy this song and to be cheered up, and also listen to their great albums.

    • Silvia permalink
      September 26, 2015 9:56 am

      Oh I rarely listened British rock music. But this song is wonderful. The melody is harmonious with the lyric. As you said, the singer expresses delicate sensivity and emotion!

    • pugn permalink
      September 26, 2015 1:39 pm

      Oh! I love this song too!! When I was a middle school student, I was interested in American and British pop music and listened a lot. At that time, I listened ‘The scientist’, one of the Cold Play’s famous song for the first time and fell in their song. ‘Viva la vida’ is a wonderful song and I also like ‘Yellow’.

    • asdf permalink
      September 26, 2015 11:49 pm

      I have a similar story of mine… Yes, sometimes the musical enlightenment comes with friend’s mp3 player.

  25. lazyenough permalink
    September 25, 2015 11:59 pm

    This is a song that i really love! The artisit is Sting, perhaps everyone might know :).
    The song title is Englishman in New York. I really like this song a lot. The reason why i love this song is I was really crazy about the U.K. I started to love U.K. When i became 5th grade in elementary school because of Harry Potter movie series. Harry potter was English and I started to be interested in his country U.K.
    When I listen to this song, I feel like I am in the U.K ! haha
    These are the reason why I like this song! Enjoy!

    • MINA permalink
      September 29, 2015 3:58 pm

      Wow…. I really~~~like this song. I enjoy the song almost every day! The title is so interesting 🙂

  26. Silvia permalink
    September 26, 2015 9:19 am

    The song named ‘Lost stars’ make me calm whenever I get stressed. Whenever I feel burdensome about my study, future and feel gloomy because of trouble with family, friends, I listened this song. Its lyrics and melody are really helpful to being comfortable. First, the lyrics main idea is that the young people could feel their lives are difficult to overcome many obstacles. So they are ‘lost stars’ who try to light up the dark! How wonderful this idea is! It means that, although they are always faced with obstacles, they can beat the difficulties. Secondly, the melody is quiet but has strong power to deliver the meaning of the song. The combination of melody and the singer’s voice is harmonious. When I listen this song, I can imagine my bright future. In sum, I love ‘Lost stars’ because of the meaningful lyrics and calm melody. I really want to recommend this song to others.

  27. Hani permalink
    September 27, 2015 6:53 pm


    I’m a big fan of Maroon5. Especially I love Adam Levine’s voice tone. He can use his voice quite freely. When he sings sad songs, he use in a low key and gloomy voice. In contrast, when he sings energetic musics, he use ins a high and bright voice. In this song, the title is ‘sugar’. It expresses the sweetness situation when a man fall in love. It has really sweet lyrics and melody. Also, this song has addictive chorus, so many people can sing along the chorus together. In this song’s music video, Marron5 visited some wedding party secretly. Brides and grooms felt big surprise and pleasure. I guess that many of you guys know this song already, but I want to recommend this song again. Have a sweetness day with ‘sugar’!

  28. MINA permalink
    September 29, 2015 3:31 pm

    My favorite song is ‘Can’t take my eyes off you’. The singer of this song is Frankie Valli. This song was released in 1967! In fact, I really enjoy old pop songs. ‘Can’t take my eyes off you’ makes me feel very happy and be loved. It’s very lovely song. When I listen to this song, I automatically dance because the melodies and rhythms are exciting. 🙂 The lyrics and the title also very very lovely. I like especially this part.
    I love you, baby,
    And if it’s quite alright~
    Many other singers remaked this song. Also many advertisements still use this song. Maybe all of you have heard this popular song at least once. ‘Can’t take my eyes off you’ was also inserted into several movies such as ’10 thing I hate about you’ I want my boyfriend to sing this song for me 🙂

  29. October 1, 2015 2:54 am

    This is the song i like introduce to you. The reason i like to introduce is that this is acutally the first song i can sing from the begin to the end without lyrics in english. Beside, litterary song is about the honesty. I used to practice this song to sing myself. As i practiced myself, i did find some lyrics really sorrowful because it’s about honesty hard to belive and untrue. when it comes to honesty, it’s still hard to belive and so untrue in my real life as well. Therefore, i always listen this music when i am in sorrow. i don’t like to people untrue. i just like to people changed after listen this one.

  30. 얄루 permalink
    October 2, 2015 10:23 pm


    My favorite song is “Nobody’s home” by Avril Lavign. Most people may know Avril Lavign, a popular amercian rock singer. she became famous for “Sk8er boi” and I’m sure you have heard of this song. When I was in elementary school, one of my friends recommend sk8er boi and I became a big fan of her. I love her every song but what I really like is “Nobody’s home” This song may sound blue and gloomy because the song is telling about a runaway girl who wanders around. The reason why I like this song is that I heard it when I felt I had too much trouble in my life and no one is on my side. However, when I heard this song, I could understand the lyrics of song and felt I am not alone. I felt profound relief. Until now, this song makes me feel relaxed.

  31. October 13, 2015 8:52 pm

    Hotel California of The Eagles is my favourite song I think. When I first listen it I was attracted by its rythm. Generally, songs are have short prelude because the long prelude will let listener lose patience, on the contrary, Hotel California has a much longer prelude than other songs, and the important thing is its long prelude also attractive to audiences, that all owe to The Eagles’ good instruments skills. After that, I began like it. I listen Hotel California when relax time, it makes me more enjoy the relax, When I feel upset, I listen Hotel California, because its rythm can let me feel find faith again, and can let get out from bad mood. I really think Hotel California is excellent song, and a very good drug to me to get out from bad situation quickly. The Eagles is genius, Thanks The Eagles^^

    • October 13, 2015 8:55 pm


      Here is the link, I don’t how to post video in comments, er ..

Leave a Reply

