Skip to content

WHO Doesn’t Like Bacon

October 27, 2015

I try to live a healthy lifestyle. I eat lots of fruits and vegetables, get enough sleep, have little stress, and get a regular check-up. However, I realize I will die someday; that is certain. While living healthily is important, so is partaking in some of life’s pleasures, which may not always be good for me. For example, I enjoy the occasional drink, sometimes participate in dangerous sports and activities, and second-hand smoke. (I refuse to pay for lung cancer by smoking cigarettes when I can simply get it for free by hanging around with my smoker friends.) Now, there is the idea that eating certain kinds of meat can be deadly. When I read the recent World Health Organization report that said processed meats cause cancer, I was somewhat saddened, but not entirely surprised. The list of things that cause cancer has grown tremendously. I’m waiting for a study that says studying English too intensively can cause brain cancer.

Students: Read the following link from the BBC and comment. (BTW, is this news sensationalist? It is an observational studies, which can identify correlation, but not causation. Is more peer review needed?) Might this news influence you to change you eating habits?

79 Comments leave one →
  1. Comet permalink
    October 28, 2015 2:48 am

    Recently, International Agency for Research on Cancer(IARC), a WHO-affiliated organization, publishes a study that processed meats and red meats can cause cancer, especially colorectal cancer. This study has stirred up anxiety among ordinary people now that meat sales have been plunged by up to about 60 ~ 70 percent (KBS said). For me, however, it does not look like that much fatal. The first reason is an absurd classification of IARC. As IARC categorizes alcohol, tobacco, and asbestos as a major carcinogen, so does IARC classify coffee, kimchi (exactly, nitrite in kimchi) as the same thing. Then, what can we eat? Actually, except for caprolactam, a kind of a synthetic fiber, WHO has regarded nearly 900 substances as carcinogens. According to this categorization, we have ingested food containing carcinogens since we was born. Another reason is the vague cause-and-effect relationship as to processed meats or red meats causing colorectal cancer. While yearly consumption of meat per capita in U.S. is about 120kg, that in Korea is about 54Kg (Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs of Korea said in 2013). Nonetheless, in accordance with WHO, Korea has the highest incidence rates of colorectal cancer. These two facts indicate that the causation between colorectal cancer and processed or red meats need to be more clarified. Clearly, although it is important for us to avoid eating the excessive amounts of meat, we do not have to feel concern about eating meat itself.

    • Comet permalink
      October 28, 2015 9:54 pm

      have been plunged -> have plunged

    • asdf permalink
      October 29, 2015 12:24 am

      I cannot agree more with you and professor. I think the reported studies are questionable because they do not show the sufficient details and evidence. It is hard to say that the correlation between the meat-consuming group and cancer patients group show the cause and effect.

    • 5sman permalink
      October 30, 2015 2:07 am

      I agree in part with you. WHO regarded too many materials as a carcinogen, even sun’s ray. Though their researchs are all true, we can’t care all these things.

    • Gloria permalink
      October 30, 2015 2:39 am

      I entirely agree with you. If we follow LARC classification, there is no food we can eat because almost all foods have carcinogens.

    • Todgo permalink
      October 30, 2015 5:59 am

      As experts research a correlation between the processed meat and cancer, I think they have focused on components academically. Even though it could be right partially, in reality it doesn’t mean everyone shoud avoid the meat. So, personally, we have to consider our health status about whether we may eat the meat or not.

    • yeye permalink
      October 30, 2015 9:42 pm

      I agree with you. There are other factor that give rise to cancer as well as processed meats. So even though I believe this article, but this contents is too much.

    • pugn permalink
      October 31, 2015 1:23 am

      You’re right. We don’t have to worry about so much while eating processed meats. I think the correlation between cancer and processed meats seems to be exaggerated.

  2. mjk permalink
    October 29, 2015 12:26 am

    The WHO designated a processed food especailly meat or ham as one of the cancer-causing agents. Of course, according to the news, although the processed food is very harmful because it causes cancer, i think i ‘ll not be changed. I like and love the processed food although i knew it’s not good for my health. I’m proud that i keeps very regular hours and lifes. One of the reasons is to eat my lovely proccessed foods. To eat the food and to try to keep my healthy, i do lots of exercising. To explain it more easy, for example, smoker know smoking is very bad for health and it causes cancer, but the people didn’t stop it. Like this, i already know processed food is bad for health and i learned this news more detail according to this news, but i can’t stop it. Maybe i will do excersise more and eat the processed food but from now on, i’ll try to cut down my times to eat the processed food. Because eating delicious food is the power of my life. 🙂

    • mike619 permalink
      October 29, 2015 11:15 pm

      Especially I like SPAM a lot. I’m crazy with it. I hope the price of SPAM will low through those results of WHO.

    • RIP permalink
      October 29, 2015 11:18 pm

      If people neverous about all danger of food, there are no eatable ones. And I predict the stress of this problem will more harm our health than this problem itself.

    • 5sman permalink
      October 30, 2015 2:19 am

      Recently, I fall in fish cake bar which sells in convenience store. Every morning I eat it and maybe tommorow I’ll eat too. I never stop eatting, before I cloy it, even if anyone say about my lovely bar.

      • Sally permalink
        October 30, 2015 11:35 am

        Eating what i love can not be stopped for any reasons! ;D

    • Gloria permalink
      October 30, 2015 2:52 am

      You are right. People already know processed meats is harmful, but cannot stop eating them. Processed meats have addictive taste.

    • Todgo permalink
      October 30, 2015 6:02 am

      Yeah we know such things to cause cancers. Choice to avoid the things belongs to people

    • 얄루 permalink
      October 30, 2015 5:44 pm

      I absolutely agree with your idea. Because I do love processed meats and I believe the important thing for my healt is not that I eat food with cancer causing but what I do for my health such as exercising. So I will not change my food habits, too.

    • yeye permalink
      October 30, 2015 9:39 pm

      your opinion is same with me! I know the processed meats are not good for me but I cannot cut off it..

    • Silvia permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:41 pm

      I totally agree with you. Although I can’t stop the processed meat, I will try to cut down consumption of the meat and eat vegetables with it.

  3. asdf permalink
    October 29, 2015 1:36 am

    Somebody please tell me that the studies are wrong!! I am a so-called “Dwae-gee tarian” (Dwae-gee means pig or pork). Though I don’t really eat meats very frequently, I love the mood of the Korean barbecue restaurant and enjoy to eat them with my favorite friends and people. Especially for special days or after the hard labor, meats are indispensable.
    What should I do if those lovely meats are critical to our health?
    Well, after some “unbiased” contemplation, I decided to not to change my eating habit.
    Here are my excuses.
    First, I think we are having healthy diet enough. The reported studies emphasizes the processed meats are especially bad, but is there anyone who doesn’t know that the processed foods are bad for health? We are already getting good amount of warning from our parents or media. In thins regard, I think there we(Korean) don’t need to cut down the consumption of meats. If so, thinking on more time before buying junk foods like hot dogs or Chicken skewers from vendors is enough.
    Second, Although it is little abstract but I believe our body’s defensive, recovery mechanism. We avoid salty food after eating ramen or we cannot eat 3 Mcdonalds hamburger for 3 days in-a-row. (If you are eating like that, that could be a problem!)
    I think most adults prefer to keep balance between homemade foods and processed meats because it is more tasty and pleasant way, thanks to our body’s natural mechanism. Even we are keeping balance between white meats and red meats. No body eats only chicken or pork, right?
    For these reasons, I believe we do not have to afraid of that BBC news. (Of course, I do not guarantee!!) If there is a reason for cutting down the meats, it will be the reason of morality, not vitality.

    • RIP permalink
      October 29, 2015 11:15 pm

      I am not meat-terigan, but I also think this report has no conclusive evidence. However, processed meats and red meats have low possibility to cause cancer, though, excessive intake of them is unhealthy. So I think we need to be careful about eating meats.

    • Todgo permalink
      October 30, 2015 6:19 am

      We have known some foods are harmful to our body ,but, at the same time, we need the nutriant of the foods. Therefore, I think the balance is important.

    • Silvia permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:49 pm

      Wow, I think your second reason why you are not afraid of the article is quite fresh. I was persuaded by you. Because average people have strong defensive, recovery system than we think, it would be safe to eat red & processed meat keeping moderation!

    • gounn permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:47 pm

      I heard “Dwae-gee tarian” first time. It is very funny and creative experssion. You don’t need to worry about eating pig or pork. Every pig is not processed meat. It is limited to sausage or ham etc.

  4. RIP permalink
    October 29, 2015 11:10 pm

    Although WHO reported that processed meats can cause cancer and red meats –pork, beef, lamb etc.- probably will be carcinogenic, it won’t impact people’s eating habits right now.
    In fact, this report is lack of credibility because of its limited evidence. Also there are some doubtful points. One is unclear classification of ‘processed meats.’ According to the attached article, processed means ‘either extend its shelf life or change the taste and the main methods are smoking, curing, or adding salt or preservatives and they include bacon, sausages, hot dogs, salami, corned beef, beef jerky and ham as well as canned meat and meat-based sauces.’ If this definition is correct, why did not people of the past contract cancer? They also ate red meats, using ‘processing ways’ – smoking, curing, adding salt. In other words, the main cause of cancer is not the ways to process. Then one possibility is left, and it possibly will be chemicals added to processed meats, which have unknown factor related to unhealthy problems –only processed meats producted by food industry, not home made one. However, there aren’t still conclusive evidence to support this.
    Another doubtful point is logical contradiction WHO’s report has. If this insistence is correct, people can predict two suppositions about what brings about cancer. First supposition is that red meats are trigger of cancer. Under this supposition, certain cause-and-effect relationship is possible that red meats cause cancer then processed meats made by this ingredient also cause cancer. However it can not be accomplished because, the possibility that red meats cause cancer was not demonstrated. It is reversed logic.
    And second supposition is that the main cause is processing itself. But there are also other possibility to refute this supposition. If processing is really problem, why can’t other processed food cause cancer? How about tuna can, smoked salmon and tomato paste? Is main cause of cancer really problem of processing? It is uncertain and unclear. For these reasons, this report by WHO is not much powerful and has no impact to change people food habits until perfect evidence appeared.
    Besides, in terms of my case, I will hardy be affected from this. Because I don’t usually enjoy red meats and its processed version except korean native cattle.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:16 pm

      Some articles say that sodium nitrite is the factor that cause colorectal cancer. This sodium nitrite can make processed meats look more edible or palatable by getting red as a color coupler. If sodium nitrite is combined with amine which is located in meat, these two generate nitrosamine, the one of the carcinogens. However, we have ingested over 80% of this nitrite from numerous vegetables, like spinach. Also, sodium nitrite functions as an inhibitor from food poisoning bacteria. So, quitting its use right now is a rash decision.

  5. mike619 permalink
    October 29, 2015 11:13 pm

    I also read the article of processed meat might cause cancer. Because of those news, every market’s hams and artificial porks are now dropping of sales. Many customers were not trust those foods anymore. But I think those dangerous artificial porks will be used in public area. Such as foods for soliders, in school lunch, etc. Many food companies might use bad conditioned foods to people. So I think government should strongly manage those dangerous foods to our public.

    • 5sman permalink
      October 30, 2015 2:27 am

      I agree with you. We all are always mad about processed meat dishes in school or anywhere.

    • Todgo permalink
      October 30, 2015 6:32 am

      Yes, some people are under situation that make people can’t helping eating the meat without intention. So, systemically, people who don’t want to eat the foods have to be protected.

    • yeye permalink
      October 30, 2015 9:45 pm

      Your opinion is so great. I could not think your thinking. Yes. It is dangerous to use artifical forks in public area. But I think the government do not working now. This situation makes me irritated

  6. Lily permalink
    October 30, 2015 12:29 am

    I definitely agree with the Meat Advisory Panel’s saying in the article. Just like what he said, I think reducing the possibility of cancer is much more closely related with smoking, drinking alcohol, and balancing the body weight rather than the amount of intake of processed meat. Also the article says that WHO’s report had limited evidence, which gives an image that the research is not that much credible. The strongest reason why I am not considering too much about the processed meat is that there’s no one who suffered from eating processed meat around me. Hotdogs, which contains sausage is one of my favorite food and I think the pleasure I get at the moment I eat it is much greater than the potential dangerousness of the processed meat.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:44 pm

      Yeah, I also have not heard yet around me that someone died from eating processed meats. Death from eating hotdogs? I think that it does not make sense.

  7. gounn permalink
    October 30, 2015 12:37 am

    My mom said that when I was a little child, I really liked processed meat such as ham and sausage so I could eat with rice. Maybe we have known processed meat is very harmful for our bodies. In these reasons, I am not surprised to this news about risk of carcinogenicity. It don’t affect to me because I seldom enjoy eating processed meat. I only like other meats. In addition, I am really crazy about onion and garlic which is representative anticancer food. I am not worried about cancer. If I like processed meat, it’s insignificant than smoking and drinking alcohol. Never mind, nothing is perfect in the world. In addition to processed meat, there are many kinds of carcinogen.

    • ye jin permalink
      October 30, 2015 4:11 pm

      Yeah, almost people know this problems and are not surprising. Although we know this, we are not worry. i like many vegatable too. if i worry about food causing health problems, i can not eat anythings.

    • jellyman permalink
      October 30, 2015 7:30 pm

      There’s no such a person who only eat processed food. I don’t think this is a serious problem. I think obesity is more serious problem.

    • peanut permalink
      October 30, 2015 8:43 pm

      Right. I was not that surprised to the news that it is harmful, but it was still shocking that the processed meat is ‘carcinogenic’

  8. 5sman permalink
    October 30, 2015 1:57 am

    Recently, since World Health Organization (WHO) includes processed meats-ham, sausage, and bacon– in first-degree carcinogenic classification group, social unrests are spreading more and more. IARC, a WHO-affiliated organization, published report that 50g of processed meat a day increased the chance of developing colorectal cancer by 18%. Although, this is an objective research, we need to receive the sensational information critically. Even the case of USA, Amount of eating the meat is higher than others’ it. However the amount of the processed meat is less than 30g. So, even if we increased the amount of eating the processed meat, it wouldn’t cause serious harms. Obviously, there are certain intentions: WHO tends to make a sensationalist. However, I think this issue is not only just a fault of organization, but also people’s it who receive the new information. For very short period of time, there has been noticeable decrease in sales of processed meat, about 40%. Such phenomenon happens frequently, when sensational news related food’s issue is published. Clearly, people need to have a critical-thinking, as they encounter sensational or unfamiliar information.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:34 pm

      Yeah, when we encounter new information, we should not blindly accept it. I agree to your point that people need to think critically.

  9. Gloria permalink
    October 30, 2015 2:28 am

    I heard this news several days ago. Although I knew that processed meats is harmful to our health, the fact that those cause colorectal cancer was somewhat surprising to me. However, I think it is unnecessary for people to consider the news seriously. First of all, there is no clear evidence that processed meats and red meats cause cancer. In this article, it is said that the chemicals involved in processed meats could increase the risk of cancer. Of course, it is true but too obscure to explain clearly a cause-and-effect relationship between cancer and processed meats. Also as mentioned in the article, it will be okay if people do not eat processed meats excessively. Controlling amount of intake is important because the risk increases with the amount of meat consumed. Thus people should maintain balance of their diet rather than blindly stopping eating processed and red meats. In other words, if people eat fresh vegetables and fruits sufficiently with meats, the probability which eating processed meats leads to colorectal cancer will be decreased. According to this factors, I stick to my eating habits. I think depriving people of eating such tasty processed and red meats is too harsh.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:46 pm

      I also think that a regular life and exercises can overwhelm the likelihood of colorectal cancer from eating processed meats and read meat.

    • Silvia permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:53 pm

      I agree with you. The article does not show any clear reason why the chemicals involved in the processing cause cancers. Your reason for sticking your habit is critical and logical!

    • gounn permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:32 pm

      I agree it is insufficient for the causal relationship between cancer and processed meats. If we maintain a well-balanced diet, it is not a big problem.

  10. Todgo permalink
    October 30, 2015 7:08 am

    The processed meat is mostly eaten in countries with high life-expectations, and the colorectal cancer is with geriatric prevalence. So if one do not eat meat the man is probably not reaching the age when this cancer type is important. And if we eat the same amount of proteins with another food, then we must add the risk of this new protein source.
    I believe this research is needed to be specified and more evidence. So, it’s not late for us to stop eating the meat after enough researchs are made.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:21 pm

      Yeah, if we cease eating processed meats right now, we will jump to a conclusion. We need to mull this issue over.

  11. Sally permalink
    October 30, 2015 11:15 am

    There are plenty of rumors and controversies about processed food these days. I think it’s because people start caring about their health and eating good-ingredient foods
    I have a little worry when I eat jelly, because my highschool teacher said jelly is made of rubber and other bad things for our health. After hearing that, I cannot help avoiding jelly.
    There is no duty about not eating processed foods but if a person wants to avoid foods that possess controversial arguements, I think he has a right not to eat processed foods.

    • jellyman permalink
      October 30, 2015 7:03 pm

      The word ‘jelly’ surprised me…lol
      I have same idea with you. Reduce consumption of processed meat is just a matter of pesonal choice.

    • peanut permalink
      October 30, 2015 9:09 pm

      Yes, I agree that there is no duty not eating the processed meat, but I imagine, someday, goverment restricted selling the processed meat to young people just like cigarette.

  12. asdfgg permalink
    October 30, 2015 11:35 am

    I already have known that processed meat is clearly harmful maybe because media used to deal with this topic about once two years. However, the concern of most people lasted for a little while, they usually eat the processed meat again. Of course, people should be aware of the contents of the article and check their diet. But I think the evidence is limited and the seriousness doesn’t same with the seriousness of smoking and alcohol. As mentioned in the article, what people should do is just pay particular attention to the amount of processed meats’ consumption, never eat the meats. It might be efficient having lots of fruits and vegetables rather than not eating processed meat. There are no processed foods which are beneficial to body except for those fresh fruits and vegetables. It is impossible that people never have processed foods while they live. I think the logic that processed meats causes cancer is same logic that people who ate an apple each day die. It’s natural that people take processed meats of their lives. Therefore, people should maintain proper amount of consumption of processed meats and eat a lot of vegetables and fruits.

    • Sally permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:36 am

      I agree with your idea!
      We can find other alternatives instead:)

    • jellyman permalink
      October 30, 2015 6:39 pm

      I also already heard about the harmfulness of processed meat. But In my opinion, even thogh processed food is harmful, people have eaten these food for long time, and they will continue to eat. Maybe consumption of these food will be decrease, but won’t be a great influence to related food industry.

  13. ye jin permalink
    October 30, 2015 4:08 pm

    In the article, WHO said harm about processed meat. i think that many people already know that it is harmful to human body. it can affect to people to do not eat temporary but i can’t change to eating just vegetable. Already, there are many dishes using processed meat. Even expensive and high quality. People are tamed by this familiar flavor. Also there are many another reason which cause cancer and health problems. For this reasons, People will not change thier taste and consumption about meat.

  14. 얄루 permalink
    October 30, 2015 6:11 pm

    According to the article, WHO makes public that processed meats can cause cancer. However, before changing my food habits, I believe we would be better to point out that there are a lot of carcinogenic things that WHO already mentioned. If we have to avoid all of them, then how can we live? So it’s true that eating prcessed meats for everyday is harmful for your health but important thing is that it is not the all that causes cancer. If we exercise regulary and eat healthy food such as vegetables and fruits then we can live with healthy body. In addition, according to latest news by WHO mentioned, They say people do not have to abstain from meat and flesh. Therefore, I believe it doesn’t have a power to change my food habits.

    • stanley permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:53 pm

      I totally agree with your idea “If we exercise regulary and eat healthy food such as vegetables and fruits then we can live with healthy body.” because, it is what I always to do…hahaha

  15. jellyman permalink
    October 30, 2015 6:31 pm

    Most of the food has its own pros and cons. For example, the cucumber is well known for its abundance of vitamin. But ironically, the cucumber also has ingredient that destroying vitamin. In my opinion, the processed meat is similar case. It is impossible to cut off all the processed meat at a time. For a long time, processed meat has been one of the most fundamental ingredients of cooking. It has been used in wide selection of foods. Finding another ingredient for replace processed meat will take a lot of time and effort. Thus is doesn’t make sense to assert consumption of those food must be stopped. Therefore, whether the processed meat can be carcinogenic remains to be seen. As in the past, this study research can be changed into totally opposite to the previous studies.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:25 pm

      Oh, I did not know that a cucumber has ingredient destroying vitamins. It’s interesting. Also, You sharply point out that replacing processed meats will be difficult. I think It is a good point.

  16. peanut permalink
    October 30, 2015 9:04 pm

    When I was about ten-year-old, I ate a hamburger first time in my life. Like many of your parents, my parents have already known processed meat is not good for health. I don’t think I usually have healthy diet, but I tried not to eat processed meat such as hamburger and hot dog as much as possible. I have seen many organization have affirmed some kind of food is not good for your health. I think almost all of delicious food is harmful. Nowadays, people can not eat what they want to maintain their health. It is really miserable. I bet one of the happiest thing in the human life is eating delicious food. As some or many people smoke, drink and do drug, it can be accepted to eat some unhealthy food for one’s pleasure. Although these are carcinogenic, we can get cancer even if we do not consume any processed meat!! If even I get cancer, I would die after eating every food I want to eat.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:11 pm

      Yeah, we all can die from other diseases or accidents. We cannot afford to pay attention to every danger of death.

    • gounn permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:24 pm

      It is really important to eat delicious food you want. I think there are many healthful foods in the world. You should not conclude all of delicious food is harmful.

  17. peach permalink
    October 30, 2015 9:24 pm

    “Processed meats do cause cancer”-WHO
    I think this report is not serious issue that much. In this report, Eating 50g of processed meat and red meat a day increased the chance of developing colorectal cancer by 18%. We already know that processed meat is not good for our health. But there were many other factors causing cancer. So we can’t sure that we don’t get sick just by reducing the eating processed and red meat. Therefore I think this WHO report cause unnecessary, exaggerated panic to our society.
    WHO said “Eating 50g of processed meat a day increased the chance of developing rectal cancer by 18% and Eating 100g of red meat a day increased rectal cancer by 17%” However WHO didn’t say exact cause and data. So which one is exact problem? Additives which is used in manufacturing of processed meat is the problem? OR Meat in itself is the problem?
    As many experts said, meat is important source of nutrition such as protein. So red meat can’t disappear on our dining table. For me, WHO report that “Eating red meat much can increased the chance of developing cancer, so be careful to eat sausage, processed meat and red meat.” feels like saying: If you want to live long and don’t get a sick, you should live deep in the mountains and just eat vegetables. So I think it’s more useful and important for our health to eat regular meals with essential nutrients.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:06 pm

      I agree with you. The causation between processed meat/read meat and cancer should be more specific.

  18. yeye permalink
    October 30, 2015 9:36 pm

    ‘Processed meats – such as bacon, sausages and ham – do cause cancer, according to the World Health Organization (WHO)’ – Should I get shocked by this fact? Certainly ‘No’. I did not surprised this report. In my opinion, even I think WHO’s report gave an extreme. We can not charge off the responsibility to processed meats. Rather there are something that causing cancer than processed meats; smoking and drinking.
    I already used to listen this fact that is ‘processed meat bring about bowel cancer’ through the news, newspaper and people’s saying. Even at that time, I did not worried. My faith is, ‘When I eat something, do not think anything’. So even though processed meats are harmful for my health, I did not care about eating processed meats. Rather I worried about those prices. (It is too expensive for me.) Instead of avoiding to eat processed meats, I used to try to eat processed meats a little. And I usually exercise at least 30 minutes in every day. If we do everything moderately, it will be not problems about our health.

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:01 pm

      Yeah, exercises and a regular life are the most important foundation to manage health care.

    • gounn permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:18 pm

      I agree modertate eating is most important. We need to exercise regularly.

  19. stanley permalink
    October 30, 2015 9:47 pm

    As you can see in the article, these days all of the people in the world have been exposed to the threat of processed food. Not only is the processed meats, which are mentioned in the article, but also there are a lot of carcinogenic or harmful food that WHO has already mentioned. But, most people maintain their eating habits or diet even if they realize the threat of the processed food or meats. Because it is cheap and tasty food and easy to prepare and fast to cook, also most people know about that it is not only a reason causing some kinds of cancers and unless we eat only processed food or meats every day, it is not seem to have that effect. Also, it is already an important part of most people’s lives (their diet), so maybe it is really hard or impossible to live without processed meats and processed food. So, I think it is just your choice to eat those kinds of food, which was mentioned in WHO. If you think that eating processed food or meats little bit can cause some diseases or some kinds of cancers then you should not eat those kinds of food. Like the preceding, if you think that it is okay that eating processed food or meats moderately with exercise regularly for your health, then you should eat those kinds of food. In other words, if the article indicates and depicts that processed meats is danger for your health comparing with drinking alcohol and smoking, but it is only yourself who have ultimate choices and judgment to eat these double-edged sword food. I will keep my eating habit, (eat much processed food) because it is really delicious!!

    • Comet permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:18 pm

      I totally agree with you. Eating processed meats and read meats is to our health what smoking is to our lungs. They entirely depend on individuals.

    • Silvia permalink
      October 30, 2015 10:57 pm

      Oh, your expression, double-edged sword food, is very proper one. Red & processed meats could be dangerous, but could be okay with moderation. And I respect your choice! 🙂

    • gounn permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:54 pm

      I respect your habit to eat much processed food. Although it is dagerous and harmful, eating delicious food is most valuable in the life.

  20. Comet permalink
    October 30, 2015 10:01 pm

    Yeah, exercises and a regular life are the most important foundation to manage health care.

  21. sunn permalink
    October 30, 2015 10:59 pm

    acrodding to this article, processed meat has a probability of causing a cancer. i agree the idea because the processed meat contains lots of fat, natrium, cholesterol, it may be fatal to person’s health. but , should i stop eating that process meat? the answer is “NO” supposing a situation. if the people declare ” i absolutely stop eating bacon and ham ,sausage, and all of the other process meat! they cannot go Mc’donalds to eat bamburger-incuding pattis or bacon- also they have to stop eat meatball or hot dog. i can’t give up the taste- it’s the etertainment of life- second, the price problem. it is more cheap than eating real pork meat ,chicken. as a student nat having enough money. it is not easy to buy the high qulity meat due to price. so many sudent replaced the real meat with the processed meat. and finally i thing the study result ‘ the processed meant make cancer’ is too exterem expression. if some people have a cancer . perhaps they may eating too much of only eatiing it except the other thing. people usually does eat mixing the other thing – vegetable, grain..- if the aricle want to pursuade people to stop eating the processed meat they have to maintain with plentiful reason to support or inform some way to diet or exercise.

  22. Silvia permalink
    October 30, 2015 11:19 pm

    I believe, even if people keep eating red, processed meats, there will be no serious health problem. First and foremost human beings have been consume them for long times. However, there have not been serious effects of them. Even though smoking and drinking is more dangerous for human and they have more clear cause-and-effect to trigger health problem than the meats, people do it.
    Also, because people unconsciously know that kind of meats is not good for our health, people would not consume them indiscriminately. People would naturally make at least small efforts to care about their own body. In my case, I usually try to be moderate in eating them and eat many vegetables whenever I eat them.
    As the saying which is at the end of the article, “moderation” is key point of this problem. Stopping eating them would not be possible becuase they are so prevailed in numerous parts of the world. Given this situation, it is ridiculous solution to stop eating them. So I think consuming red and processed meats depend on personal taste and choice. If a person want to keep eating them, the only one thing s/he should remember is moderation. That’s it. It would not be a huge problem.

    • mathjeongsuk permalink
      October 30, 2015 11:57 pm

      I agree with your idea. Especially Koreans really love the processed meat, called SPAM. If processed meat is carcinogen, it means we gave presents to our relatives a cancer.There’s nothing to worry about it. No matter what, many people would not care about it as times flow.

    • pugn permalink
      October 31, 2015 1:27 am

      I agree with you. as long as we intake the processed meats moderately, it does not cause harmful effect to our health.

  23. Comet permalink
    October 30, 2015 11:34 pm

    Yeah, the moderation is the most important thing. I think that although we should not excessively eat processed meats or red meats, we also should ingest protein, which is mainly located in meat.

  24. mathjeongsuk permalink
    October 30, 2015 11:54 pm

    Actually, there is no precise historical evidence that when the processed meats appeared. However, confidently, it has long history of more than thousand years. Recently, WHO announced that processed meats can cause serious health problem and set the level as same with cigarettes or even alcohols. I personally think that there will be no harm to ignore it and leave it from mind. This is because there are much more awkward thing in the Category 1 carcinogen. I believe most of people would not notice the sunlight is in it. Most of people are exposed to the sun all the day. However, it really cause you to get a cancer? What I want to insist is that don’t be sensitive to those arguments. There’s more things to be afraid of than eating the sausages!!!

  25. pugn permalink
    October 31, 2015 1:15 am

    I think the correlation between cancer and processed meats is quite small that it does not cause serious problems to our health. It doesn’t mean that professed meats are healthy food. Of course, it isn’t good for health to take a large amount of processed meats, since they were modified by various chemicals for long shelter life and added with amount of salt and artificial seasoning. However, as dealing with the cause of cancer or other diseases, ingestion of processed meats is just one small cause among many other causes like alcohol, smoking or body weight. In addition, nowadays, most of the foods people eat especially restaurant foods or fast foods seem to be unhealthy. If we have to stop eating processed meats because of the danger of cancer, we can eat nothing outside because they are all unhealthy in some part and have possibility to cause serious diseases. Therefore, in my opinion, we don’t have to worry about so much while eating processed meats but try to “reduce” them.

  26. lazyenough permalink
    November 1, 2015 12:03 am

    In my perspective, there is no perfect causation between cancer and processed meats ; the matter is the quantity of them, not the matter of whether eating or not. Processed meat, based on BBC, is not perfectly healthy for us. However, scientist announced that it harms not that much when we eat little. The problem is the quantity we eat. if we eat excessively, it becomes poison to us. In my opinion whatever the food is, if it is excessive, it might be harmful to our health. I am really fanatic about eating meat. After reading this article, I started to worry about my health. haha. I will try to reduce my consumption of meat.

  27. helen permalink
    November 6, 2015 4:23 pm

    1.What information do you rely on when you need to buy something? Ads, blogs, product reviews, friends?

    when I buy something, I usually get information from my acquitances. because the information from internet, like blog or review comments are likely to false. these days, many bloggers of reviewers get the money or product from company and they advertise to us in positive ways. so I belive my friends or any others comments more than them who are in cyber space.

    2.What kind of advertising techniques turn you off? Post a link or a screenshot of an ad you dislike, and say what’s wrong with it.

    I hate advertisement that are post at websites in side. that tiny things take away my attention from what I orginally have to do. so I always lost my way and waste time.

  28. Phil permalink
    November 7, 2015 2:49 am

    I read the whole article. And I think this article cause cancer by giving me tremendous stress. I have read an article about stress. It explains difference of weigh between women in Belgium and women in Korea with chocolate. Although they eat the same amount of chocolate, the result is different. The women in Korea get fatter than the women in Belgium. The article explains the reason is difference in the levels of stress. The women in Belgium eat chocolate without any care. Unlike these people, Korean women eat chocolate with tremendous stress. I believe although the product has a bad effect on us, it is more important how we accept it.

  29. VibeFriday permalink
    December 2, 2015 7:56 pm

    I have a good idea for you Professor you should make very thin slices of cooked pork and just replace it with your bacon strips although it might not taste the same it may be a new sensation?

  30. Richard permalink
    December 5, 2015 11:40 pm

    We eat everyday and we can’t stop eating. Even though majority of people are living well. I’m not that believe that carcinogenic things every where. To comfort people who can’t stop eating, I found a science article in carcinogenic matters. It is said there are four rumors in carcinogenicity food.

    1. Confusion of toxicity and carcinogenicity. Certain foods if stored properly, it may corrupt and degenerate. In this case, part of the food itself tends to produce toxity. These toxins if people eat is likely to lead to physical discomfort, but never could soon cause cancer.

    2.Some foods under certain circumstances indeed produce toxins, and processed foods in the number of illegal additives. There are also carcinogenic controversial, but the accumulation of toxins need to go to a certain dose, that could have an effect on the human body. For example, a consumer rights organization before the United States declared that Coke can cause cancer, it is true that cola contains carcinogen, but its content in cola is very small, only when a person drank 1000cans per day. When more than cola, can lead to cancer risk.

    3. There are scientific errors. Similar rumors have “microwave food cause cancer”, “drink milk cause breast cancer,” and so on, so do not too worry about food cause cancer theory.

Leave a Reply

