Skip to content

CRW1 What’s Your Favorite Movie Clip?

March 22, 2016

Movies can be a great way to relax and spend time, either alone or with friends. Most people have a favorite scene or clip from a movie that they like to talk about with friends. The scene might have made you laugh or cry; it might have inspired you; it might have taught you a useful life lesson. This week’s activity is to find a movie or TV show clip, upload the clip or provide the link, and write about it. The clip might be a funny scene, something serious, or something visually spectacular. It is up to you to decide what would be interesting for other students to see. Tell us about it.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 22, 2016 9:37 pm

    This is one of my favorite clip throughout all kind of moives. 0:07~0:19 scene(Is that the best you can do? You had to ask) is really funny. and 0:28~0:35 scene(How can you possibly hope to stop me? Like the old man said, Together) makes me impress. Even fight scenes are totally awesome. I want you guys to watch this and have fun 🙂

    • proftodd permalink*
      March 23, 2016 4:38 am

      I laughed when he said, “With the benefit of hindsight…” at the end. Hulk punching him away.was the topper. Nice!

  2. Eve21 permalink
    March 22, 2016 9:58 pm

    My favorite clip is not actually a movie-well it was also made into movie recently-it is a BBC series drama ‘Sherlock’. There are 3 dramas in each season, and they are all like well made movies. I personally like this series more than other dramas, because I was (probably) the first person in my school who was into this, and told everyone I met and said ‘See Sherlock!’. I first saw this series because of the recommendation from my English teacher, the original version without korean subtitles. Later, the clip with subtitle was released, and Sherlock fandom swifted Korea, and I was really proud of it 😉
    So this is the scene I personally like the best where 2 main characters in Sherlock meet, Sherlock Holmes and Doctor John Watson. If you have not seen this series, you definitly have to see it. I swear it worthes it!

    • proftodd permalink*
      March 23, 2016 4:46 am

      I’ve heard about this series, but I haven’t seen it, yet. This clip does a good job of introducing Sherlock’s unique character. I liked the humor about the lipstick.

    • Anonymous permalink
      March 25, 2016 10:21 am

      Actually, I do not like watching kind of drama things. However I want to watch this drama ‘Sherlock’ because of this clip. It looks interesting!

      • daino permalink
        March 27, 2016 12:08 am

        I love ‘Sherlock’. I am wating for the next series but it comes nexy year…

  3. March 22, 2016 11:04 pm

    I want to introduce a move named “BEAUTIFUL MIND” released in 2001. The most impressive part for me is that this movie is based on a real story about John Nash. He was very famous mathematician in Princeton university even people called him “The second Einstein”. He made a theory called “Nash equilibrium” which denied Adam Smith theory. It was surprising achievements at that time. But he has lack of society and suffered schizophrenia which is kind of a mental disease. In movie, Nash didn’t give up and has been working as a professor in Princeton university. Moreover he won a Novel Prize in Economic Sciences in 1994. I could feel what human victory means from the bottom of my heart. In his Novel award address, he said to wife “You are the reason I am, you are all my reason”. It was very touching for me. He could exist because there was devoted wife who always respect and listen to him. Attached movie clip shows his Novel prize ceremony address. You can see his address from 5minute. Also you can feel the love for his wife from 6′. I recommend you to watch this movie sometime. If you want, I could send you a full movie file !!

  4. mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
    March 23, 2016 12:38 am

    I want to share about animation movie call ‘The Princess Mononoke’ which was released in 1997. Although it’s been more than 15years, still I learn a lot from the movie. I love Hayao Miyazaki’s works, it’s a masterpiece, it not only gives you a deeply moved feelings but also moral. And each time I see his movies, it comes to my mind differently. As an example, when I was young scene A seemed to show the main character is happy, but now it comes to my mind as melancholy. You see, every and each time I appreciate his works, I learn different lesson and recognize different feelings for each characters. And my favorite one is ‘The Princess Mononoke.’ I think it shows Asia’s religious and traditional attitudes toward nature very well. It’s a story about nature and how human being could become so greedy. Princess Mononoke is a heroine and San is a hero. They and the wolves family fight against human beings who is destroying the nature. In this sentence, it seems that the people who is destroying the nature is a bad guys, but they also had a unavoidable reason to develop the forest. During their fight, there’s a people who plays the both ends, by daring to cut the neck of God, which is a symbol of nature. At the end, I was awed and there’s not enough words to appraise this masterpiece.
    I tried really hard to find the clip, but I couldn’t find any but only the original sound track video, which is really famous. But I found a clip about Hayao Miyazaki’s animation themes or characters in the Simpsons. Although it’s short, I think it showed quite well about Hayao’s works. Please enjoy!
    P.S. You should search or see ‘The Princess Mononoke’ if you are confident with cruelty!

    • proftodd permalink*
      March 23, 2016 4:50 am

      “Why did I drink the fish wine?”
      “That was the aquarium!” 🙂

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 27, 2016 10:29 pm

      My goodness, I never thought that I could see Hayao’s works in the Simsons! They are my all time, holy grale favorites everrr! It was so interesting to see, thanks for the nice clip!

      • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
        March 29, 2016 10:51 pm

        Good to hear!! 🙂

  5. March 23, 2016 1:53 am

    There are many different kinds of movies which I enjoy. However, among them, I want to introduce “Tangled” for several reasons, even if it seems to be childish. First of all, the original sound tracks of this movie are super fantastic! “I see the light”, the music you can listen by playing the clip, has beautiful melody. Two main characters’ voices mingle harmoniously, which makes atmosphere so romantic. Therefore, I think this music is appropriate for the people who want to be touched. Secondly, the scene provides us with a lesson. At first, the male character, Eugene, was just interested in a crown which Rapunzel has. In addition, Rapunzel really wanted to go outside and watch lanterns. Therefore, she required Eugene to bring her to the city where she can watch lanterns and promised that she will give the crown in return for a guide. However, as they hang out together, they realize that they fall in love with each other. Therefore, Eugene doesn’t want to have the crown anymore and they try to focus on each other. It provides us with a meaningful opportunity to contemplate about the power of love which makes us overpass a desire for wealth and treasure. Last but not least, the clip has visually spectacular and magnificent scenery. When people fly lanterns to the sky, you are unable to take your eyes off, since it is super impressive. Consequently, I’m completely sure that people who want to enjoy beautiful background music and magnificent scenery or be aware of the true love can appreciate this movie.

    • proftodd permalink*
      March 23, 2016 4:32 pm

      The lantern scene is spectacular. Bet it looked amazing in 3D.

    • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
      March 25, 2016 11:50 pm

      All Disney’s music is so good! Rapunzel’s voice’s was Mandy Moore and she said it all! Just love her voice!

    • MINA permalink
      March 26, 2016 1:09 am

      How beautiful ! It is an eye-catching movie. It may look more fabulous in 3D:) It’s so romantic.

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 27, 2016 10:16 pm

      This is personally my best Disney movies! (Well, until Zootopia came out lol)
      I think they really made the Rapunzel story so beatiful and lovely ;D

  6. March 23, 2016 5:14 pm

    ‘Sometimes it is the people who no one imagines anything of who do the things that no one can imagine.’ It is the most famous line of the movie, ‘Imitation Game’. The main character, ‘Alan Turing’, was a great genius mathematics of UK in the world-war2, try to decode the ‘Enigma’, which is the secret code system that has a uncountable number of cases used by German army. Then He make his own decoding machine, ‘Cristopher’, the ancestor of computer, and finally succeed to solve ‘the Enigma’. Because of him and his team’s dedication, the allied-force can take all military information transferred through ‘Enigma system’ of the German army, and finally bring the World-War2 to an end. ‘Alan Turing’ is the real person and valuated the most genuine mathematics.

    There is a link of ‘imitation game’, the part of decoded scene.

    • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
      March 24, 2016 11:35 pm

      I’ve seen this movie, and really amazed by how they found a solution of decoding Enigma. Also I felt sorry for Alan at the end!

      • March 25, 2016 12:05 pm

        Thank you for your comment! Alan’s apple is also famous!

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 27, 2016 10:19 pm

      I was really suprised after founding out that this was actually based on real story. The book about Alan Turing is amazing too!

  7. Noah permalink
    March 23, 2016 5:20 pm

    One of the interesting movies I saw is “Edge of Tomorrow”. When I saw this movie first time, it was amazing. Actually, I love movie which is SF genre and also make me think about the meaning it involves. This movie applies both of them.
    First, this movie invent us to where we are not able to experience yet. (SF movie’s feature). And by using tremendous special effect, it give us visual impression. That’s the reason why we don’t have time to boring or dull while we watch this movie.
    Second, it has internal meaning. (Don’t get me wrong, this is just my view). I think this movie is influenced by Francis Bacon. In detail, it is concerned with empiricism. Bacon insisted that “By far the best proof is experience”. In this movie, main character go back to the certain past, when he become dying, still remembering all the circumstance. Therefore he can predict what will happen until right before his death. All of people are born without any knowledge. However, as we growing up, we acquire many by reading books(other’s knowledge), experiencing and so on. In other word, I think this movie indicate that even if we cannot go back to the past, we should treat our present and experience worthily.

    • Anonymous permalink
      March 25, 2016 10:24 am

      It looks interesting. I am downloading this movie now. Thank you for knowing this movie

  8. saigonriver permalink
    March 23, 2016 9:39 pm

    The most impressive movie clip for me was from the documentary kind of movie named twinsters. This movie was released last month i guess? I wanted to see this but haven’t seen this movie yet. But the reason why i chose this as my favorite clip is because just looking at this trailer makes me feel so touching. I think i was so moved by this is because I am identical twin too just like them. This is based on true story of twin sister. They’ve been apart for like 25years after they adopted to separate places. But one day one of her friend found who has exactly same appearance with the other twin. That is the time they were connected for the first time. When they met for the first time by Skype, they were so surprised. Even tough they’ve been apart for really long time, felt something really strong feelings with each other they said. And then they met, got a gene test, they confirmed that they are twin. Finally.Surprising thing is that when they first met in reality, not by Skype, they had same manicure color, same hair style and even their height was same. I heard that people usually effected by environment more than genetic, but for twins, they are genetically more affected than environment. This is so amazing. Almost everything of me and my sister is same including face,height,personality and preference. Just like them. And we have stong bonding too. Maybe these are the reason why i feel sympathy. I loved it.

    • Jelly permalink
      March 26, 2016 1:54 pm

      I have always wanted to be a twin!! So I envy you. I think twin is awesome that they can be a best friend and family at the same.

  9. rose04 permalink
    March 24, 2016 12:37 am

    my best movie is A Walk to remeber i really love this movie and i watched it several time without getting bored .

    some information about the movie:

    A Walk to Remember is a 2002 American coming-of-age romantic drama film directed by Adam Shankman and written by Karen Janszen, based on Nicholas Sparks’ 1999 novel of the same name. The film stars Shane West, Mandy Moore, Peter Coyote, and Daryl Hannah, and was produced by Denise Di Novi and Hunt Lowry for Warner Bros.

    Why I love this movie:
    I really like this movie because it show how much most of relationships based on appearances and provoke simple people like the girl on the movie, judging her without know her situation or her condition. This movie also teaches how even though you are so near to die never give up and keep going. It is prove too that real love can be despite of all the difference between the two couple. it is really great movie have many meaning and I suggest to whom is interest in this kind of story and he or she did not watch it to watch it .

  10. John Snow permalink
    March 25, 2016 2:22 am

    I want to introduce a movie named “Battle of Red Cliffs”. It’s a part of History of Three States.
    There are lots of wars in that period. Battle of Red Cliffs is one of them.
    In this movie, Kingdom of Shu formed a confederation with Kingdom of Wu for fighting against Kingdom of Wei.The war was disadvantageous to these two kingdoms. So Zhuge Liang of Shu and zhōu yú of Wu established a strategy. Their troops was modeled after turtle’s shell. And they drived enemy troops to their camp. Enemy troops were emarrased. After all, most of them are dead. In this scene, Zhuge Liang’s widom and zhōu yú’s confidence in Zhuge Liang shined. In addition, the war scene was showed realistically. Especially, martial arts scences acted by Guan Yu, zhang Fei and zhao Yun are very impressive.
    I knew this story because of books about History of Three States. But this scene was more than live up to expectations.
    After I saw this scene, Battle of Red Cliffs became the most impressive war of every war in History of Three States to me. If you are big fan of History of Three States, you need to watch this movie. I highly recommend this movie.

    • Anonymous permalink
      March 25, 2016 10:29 am

      I remember I saw this movie when I was in high school! It was really good movie as far as I know. This clip is so good to represent whole entire story.

      • March 25, 2016 12:07 pm

        I also remember this movie. I am a big fan of ‘chocho’.
        Thank you for your clip!

  11. Chicken permalink
    March 25, 2016 12:53 pm

    The most interesting movie I watched recently is Zootopia. It is an animation which was released one month ago. Zootopia is very popular because it’s enjoyed by children and adults of all ages. The movie has been showing quite a good popularity all over the world. In the movie, Judy Hopps, a rabbit from rural Bunnyburrow, fulfills her dream of becoming the first rabbit officer in the police department of nearby city Zootopia, which is the world populated by anthropomorphic mammals. However, upon arrival, she is initially assigned parking duty by Chief Bogo, an African buffalo, who doubts her potential ability. During one of her shifts, she meets Nick Wilde and Finnick, red fox-fennec fox partners-in-crime. This video I introduced describes her journey after she met him, which is the most exciting scene in this movie. The point which makes this scene hilarious is the character named Flash who is the Sloth. This is because, it is he who has critical clues and tries to help them. However, he acts so slowly that it takes more than one day for them to get those clues. It is still available nowadays so I would like to highly recommend you to enjoy this fun, touching film on this weekend.

    • Polar bear permalink
      March 25, 2016 6:31 pm

      How cute sloth is!
      I had not seen ever this movie. After I saw your review, I determinate to see this movie.
      Thank you mate!

    • MINA permalink
      March 26, 2016 1:04 am

      I still have not seen this movie. I really want to see it!!!

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 27, 2016 10:24 pm

      I LOVE this movie. I watched in the theater 2 times, and still don’t get bored. This has the story that no other Disney princess movies have! Also, the 2 main characters, Nick and Judy were so lovely. If anyone who hasn’t seen this movie, you need to see it.

    • Yolo permalink
      March 28, 2016 12:16 am

      I have seen this movie and this is one of my favorite animation movie! Love the plot and cute characters.

  12. Yolo permalink
    March 25, 2016 11:12 pm


    The movie i want to share with others is called ‘ 3 idiots’. I am pretty sure most of us have heard of this movie as it is shown as a educational purpose in middle or high school. However, there could be some people who haven’t heard of this movie, so i took a chance to share with others. ‘ 3 idiots’ is a movie about a 3 students having each problems and trying to solve it. I think what the movie is ultimately trying to tell us is to do what we want. From the movie, ‘Farhan’ and lots of people choose a job or a major against their will. They are told to do what their parents ask them to do. You only live life once so the movie tells you to live a life doing what you want and love. Also from 3 idiots, you can see friendship, love, and the importance of your will to do what you want. There are lots of things to learn from this movie. I definitely recommend to others who haven’t seen this movie to watch it for real.

    • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
      March 25, 2016 11:46 pm

      Ah- such a good movie! I’ve seen it like twice. This made me feel catharsis, when Rancho criticizes the education system and love the music “All is well.” 🙂

  13. MINA permalink
    March 26, 2016 1:00 am


    These days I enjoy watching movies starring Jim Carrey. There are many his movies which are very fun and impressing, such as ‘The Truman Show’, ‘Bruce Almighty’, ‘Fun with Dick and Jane’, ‘Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind’, and etc. Movie clip above is the ending part of the Truman Show. Truman lived in a set of the drama about 30 years and he believed that place as a real social. He grew up there since he was born. However, in the end, he tries to find the truth and eventually he succeeds in escaping from there. In this scene, I was very impressed and could think about human’s freedom and rights. I have imagined that the same thing in this movie may be my life. This film is both funny and philosophical. And I really love Jim Carrey’s acting.

    • juyong permalink
      March 26, 2016 2:49 pm

      I also much impressed by this movie. It asked me who I am. Am I a protagonist of my life or just an actor of other people’s play? It is still interesting for me to think about it.

  14. Jukebox permalink
    March 26, 2016 1:36 am

    I would like to introduce a movie “The Lord Of The Rings : The Return Of The King”. The most impressive part of this movie is ride of the Rohirrim. The king of Rohan and his cavalries went to war to save Gondor. Before the charge, the king hit spears with his sword to raise the soldiers’ morale and some soldiers blew bugles. The sound of the bugles was very awesome. After that, the king and his cavalries rushed into the enemy camps and swept them. I was impressed by the king because, he bravely stood first. When I saw this scene, I was so excited that my heart was thumping wildly. I’d like to say this is the most brilliant scene I’ve ever seen.

  15. Amy permalink
    March 26, 2016 12:34 pm

    I want to talk about the movie ‘The Martian’. I think this movie is very famous so all of people know this movie. When I first saw this movie’s name, I couldn’t understand the meaning of martian and actually I don’t like movies about space. I can’t understand scientific terms using in space movies. So I didn’t have expectation about this movie. But this movie was very interesting.
    Before talking about story of this movie, we should know about Martian’s meaning.
    Martian is the people who come from Mars. In this movie, the main character ‘Mark Watney’ is an astronaut. He went to Mars with his colleagues. But when they tried to leave Mars, they met big sand storm and Mark didn’t get on the spaceship that came back to Earth. He was left alone in Mars and he tried to survive. He tried to cultivate potatoes in Mars because there are no food in there. Because he was a scientist, he overcomed trials successfully. Finally, he came back to Earth.
    I moved to this movie’s ending because Watney’s colleagues decided to go back to Mars to rescue him. They delayed the date that come back to earth as 1 year and they destroyed their spaceship to save him. When I saw Watney’s effort to survive, I just thought he was very good scientist and that was amazing. But after I saw ending of movie, I was moved to their fellowship and friendship.
    I think this movie is great movie. The graphics of this movie are amazing because those are very realistic. Also, the scientific terms used in the movie are not too hard to understand. So I want to recommend this movie to people.

    • juyong permalink
      March 26, 2016 2:24 pm

      I have ever seen this movie by 4D in YongSan theater. It wasn’t nice than I expected. There wasn’t surprising things compared to 2D moive. If you want to see ohter movies by 4D, I don’t recommend you. Save your money 🙂 But ‘The martian’ movie had outstanding graphics. I hope to release movies that have lively space scenes.

  16. Polar bear permalink
    March 26, 2016 3:49 pm


    This is my last movie, it is the frozen,I had seen, before I was enlisted in to the Korea navy. So I remember that I watched it very nervous. This theme is that Anna try to find her older sister Elsa who was cursed and it show to me family love.
    The frozen is sucessful in the world though, it is animation movie. I didn’t like watch the animation. However, I changed after I saw this movie. I was impressed by this movie osts. It have a lot of good osts which one of the osts was the album which won the first place in the U.S. billboard chart. What is the album which won the first place in the billboard chatrt? Can you guess it? Yes, it is ‘Let it go’. Can you watch this movie clip? As you are wathing it, remind your memory when you was young that you liked animation movie.

    • Yolo permalink
      March 28, 2016 12:21 am

      This moive also changed my prejudice to animation movie. I learned that animation movie can be a such moving movie and it really touched me.

    • Noah permalink
      March 28, 2016 4:53 pm

      The greatest advantage of animation movie is actor. In animation movie, the actor can express anything producer want to express. I think there is no one do like Elsa in ‘the frozen’.

  17. The flaming lips permalink
    March 26, 2016 9:33 pm

    my favorite movie is mad max:fury road. it’s an sci fi action movie. the movie sets in post apocalyptic world where resources like water and food is very short that many gangs fight to steal resources and to monopolize valuable resources to control people. the movie has a very primal atmosphere. like the early human ancestors. war boys and people obey the powerful leader, immortan joe, like the human ancestors obeyed the powerful shaman. they raid people like ancesters hunting animals, and has a powerful religion like the ancestors had. so it’s very similar to the human ancestors behaved, except they have high technology products like cars, bombs and guns. when they raid, they play very loud rock music with electric guitars and big speakers but it sounds like what primal tribes would play when hunting. I think this kind of similarity to primal human ancesters shows how the human life would be if the apocalypse like nuclear war happens, and make the movie very enjoyable.

    • The flaming lips permalink
      March 26, 2016 9:34 pm

      i think this video is better

      • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
        March 29, 2016 10:53 pm

        FURIOSAAAA!!

  18. jelly permalink
    March 26, 2016 11:48 pm

    The movie of 2015 nominated by me is ” Beauty inside”. I think story of this movie is very fresh. It is about a man named Woo-jin whose body and face changes everyday. He can be a woman, foreigner, or anyone. The problem is that he don’t have his own appearance. Also he cannot choose who he wants to be. Therefore, in his room there are various kind of things for every other person. For example, woo-jin have every size of shoes and ever number of glasses. However, one day he fell in love with a woman name Lee-su. But because of his uniqueness, Woo-jin have to find the way to show his love. This movie is focusing on their love and the process of overcoming all the handicaps between them.
    In fact, almost everyone will agree that appearance takes huge part when we meet others. I mean it’s obvious. We recognize each other by it. What if I have a friend like Woo-jin? I might take quite a long time to find who he is. And I might have hard time getting used to new appearance. But what I want to say is that even appearance takes huge part of that person, still it is just a part of it. That person has his own characters other than appearance. The important thing is who that person really is. We have to see what is in it. This is how the couple could understand each other.
    I think the way how Lee-su accepted Woo-jin is the virtue that our society have to carry on. Especially theses days many people only cares about the way they look. Beauty seems to be requirement. But what as we can see from this movie, inside beauty is all that matters. Not the outside beauty.

  19. daino permalink
    March 27, 2016 12:01 am

    I saw this movie, ‘the Book Thief’, by chance on the TV last month. Since then, it became my favorite movie. Background of the film is the Second World War, in Germen. So it is quite a dark atmosphere overall. But this scene is the one of the vibrant, bright and warm scenes. I like this scene the best because the family looks happy by snow. The main character whoes name is Risel, was adopted by Hans couple. One day, they became to give a shelter to Max who is a Jew. Hiding at the underground, he asked the weather and the everyday events to Risel. To show the outside’s weather, Risel brought snow to Max. As her father saw Risel was bringing snow secretly, he stated to carry the snow with bucket. And they had a snowball fight excitingly. The mom got angry for the noise and came to the basement. But the husband throw the snowball to her and she became to play with them without any worries. At that moment, they was peaceful and didn’t think about the war. I realized that even then, there are any hard moments, the innocence of childhood makes us happy. So we should live like a child sometimes. That’s the lesson I got from this scene.

  20. Daniel permalink
    March 28, 2016 10:56 pm

    I want to introduce a movie “mamma mia’ which movie is one of my favorit movie. This scene was very impressed especially. Meryl Streep’s acting is excels
    and the Mediterranean’s view is fantastic which is Background of this film.
    In addition, the title and lyrics of this song implies a lot of meaning “the winner takes it all”. this song that I pick shows rule of our life. In conclusion we can figure out the sad truth that winner takes it all but loser get nothing. Moreover we can find this rules in our relationship. for example love or friendship.

Leave a Reply

