Skip to content

CRW1 My Music

March 29, 2016

Musicologists and musicophiles have long wondered why music provokes such intense emotions in people. In 2001, a McGill University study by Anne Blood and Robert Zatorre provided some interesting clues. The two neurobiologists discovered that when people listen to pleasurable music, the neurotransmitter dopamine is released in the brain. Dopamine plays a major role in reward-motivated behavior and can provide a euphoric effect such as when one has sex, good food, or an addictive drug. What causes music to stimulate dopamine release is still not fully known, but experts who study music cognition suggest that it is a complex interplay of expectations and desires. Although the leading theory is complex, it goes something as follows. People have certain expectations or make predictions related to sonic events, like a song. The expectations and predictions could come from the melodies, notes, chord progressions, lyrics, etc. When their predicted outcomes are met, their desires are satisfied and dopamine is released. Therefore, music is a drug!

Students: Find a song and/or video that you like and provide a link to it. Describe why you like it. How does this song and/or video make you feel? What is it about the song/video that makes you feel this way? What do you imagine when you listen to this song?

If you would like to post more than one song, fell free to do so.

 

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 29, 2016 9:39 pm

    I want to introduce “Symphony from the New World” produced by Antonín Leopold Dvořák. It is actually not kind of pop or R&B song but I used to listen this music when I was 18~20. I was athlete for 2 years and before I started the match I was always listening this music to relax. Its 4th movement is known as OST of Jaws. When I was listening this music, I can imagine nothing but me. It just makes me concentrate on myself. I had a kind of jinx. I had one lose throughout whole entire my athlete career. At that time, I didn’t listen this song. BION 🙂
    Please enjoy this music!
    http://blog.daum.net/lgs297/464

  2. March 30, 2016 12:23 am

    I want to show you a music video “Whatever you do” sung by Crush. This song was released 2years ago. It is not only good match for spring but also makes me be flutter. Lyrics of the song is a love story between men and women. In the music video, you can see dancers express delicate emotion to match the lyrics. I’m not good at dancing, but from this video, motivated to learn to dance :)……Let’s enjoy it comfortably!!

  3. mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
    March 30, 2016 12:28 am

    I spend part of my life with music, such as when I walk to school, wait for the bus or subway, study in unsettled café, etc. Music really helps me to make a mood for the day, in my occasion, when I feel melancholy or lethargic, I could either listen to more sad songs to make my day gloomy or listen to exciting music to cheer me up. And for the class, I would like to introduce the latter one which could make you hum involuntarily. It is ‘Hymn For The Weekend’ by Coldplay, and the music video is interesting. I think the song is about weekend as it says on the title. The weekend could be interpreted as ‘you’ in this song and it shows how he feels about ‘you’ and ‘you’ means a lot to him, described as an angel. But, he mostly described his feelings drunk and high.
    The music video takes place at India, which is shown very exotic. Also, Beyonce appeared as a Goddess of India movie, I thought she was really gorgeous on the India traditional outfit and her part in singing seemed to make the song more dreamlike. Anyway, India shows very exotic atmosphere and miraculous. And the scenes are very colorful, especially the part when Indians throw colorful powder to each other and the Coldplay. Every scene has its own powerful colors and it was a delight to the eye. My favorite parts are when the Coldplay band plays with the background of fireworks, and the next scene with one Indian female throwing a floral leaves and flies away. The fireworks look so beautiful and the vivid pink and red color floral leaves flying in the background of dark stone temple was really impressive. I also like the title, because I’m sure almost all the people love weekend, including me. So that during the weekend, they could drink or rest or on their own way to feel high to recharge for the weekdays! Please enjoy! And let’s wait for our lovely weekend with this song!

  4. Polar bear permalink
    March 30, 2016 11:14 am


    I would like to talk about this music.
    I listened to this music at the first time in Australia when I went to there to meet my friends on last winter vacation as soon as I discharged from Korea navy. I’m not sure how famous this song is in the world or our country. However, it is sure that whenever I was driving, I could always listen to this music on the radio. Therefore, I am addicted to its’ beat and I was passionated by ‘Keeping score’. Once you listen to this music, I’m sure that you will fall in love with it. I don’t know what keeping score means. If you know the meaning of ‘Keeping score’, please let me know it. And why don’t you listen to ‘Keeping score’? Let’s start to music, drop the beat!

    • Noah permalink
      March 30, 2016 5:47 pm

      OH! I know this song. Last month, I got this song from my favorite cafe. As far as I know, LDRU is producer. By the way, this song has really meaning lyrics.

    • Lucy7 permalink
      March 30, 2016 9:40 pm

      As you said, this music is really interesting and attractive! I like this music video, even though I cannot completely comprehend intended meaning of it! Anyway, lol!

    • Polar bear permalink
      April 3, 2016 10:07 am

      Thank you mates! I am happy to heard your answer that you like this music.
      See you~

  5. Noah permalink
    March 30, 2016 5:24 pm

    Today, I’d like to introduce “Daddy” from PSY. Undoubtedly, most of the world already has known about who is PSY. And this song and music video is one of the amazing music I’ve heard.
    At first, “Daddy” has unique melody. I am sure anyone who listen this music will be addicted to melody, even though doesn’t even care the lyrics. As any other songs also do, repeated hook play crucial role. Secondly, this song carry impressive and amusing lyrics.(Especially “I got it from my daddy”.) In my case, I have a lot more respect for my father than other son’s has. Since I had many memory with him whether good or ill until now, naturally I have had this emotion. By the way, therefore whenever I feel depressed, I often listen this song and think like ‘I am from my father, it means i can do anything like him’.
    You will be more impressed, when you listen this song with video. If you already know this song, enjoy once again reminding lyrics. And otherwise, try it.

  6. March 30, 2016 5:35 pm

    My favorite song is ‘Cherry blossom ending’ sung by Busker Busker. This song was released 4 years ago, 29th March 2012, when I was a freshman of Kyung Hee. At that time, me and our department friends were on the road to come back our campus from Seosan, where our department MT was held. All schoolmates and I listened this music on the bus, and admired very much. Because this song expressed the full-blown cherry blossom very beautifully and realistically. Also the sweet rhythm of acoustic-guitar and very pretty well-matched vocal sink me into the illusion as if there is beautiful cherry trees just in front of me. While I listen this song, I used to imagine that me and my girlfriend go on a picnic at Yeoui-Do cherry blossoom festival. Even though this song was released 4 years ago, many people still love this song during every spring season.

  7. Chicken permalink
    March 30, 2016 6:15 pm

    I like to listen to the music “Pick me” by Produce 101. Produce 101 is one of the Mnet programs that 101 trainees have a competitive contest. It is very famous program and this contest picks up 11 trainees a final result. During competition, viewer should vote trainees who are excellent. It is so important that trainees make an effort to win. Produce 101 means viewer can produce 101 trainees. So this song “Pick Me” appeared attracting viewers. Anyway, “Pick Me” is very addictive and repetitive sound. So we can see ourselves about humming song easily. Also it’s easy to imitate the song’s dance moves. When I watched Pick Me music video, it makes me very funny and happy. Actually 101 trainees mostly are middle school and high school students. So when they were singing and dancing in TV program and I was watching them, I was very pleased like a father because they are very cute and pretty.
    Do you guys know about the song already but let’s try singing one more time!

    • Lucy7 permalink
      March 30, 2016 8:01 pm

      At first, I thought that it is weird song. However, finally I enjoy listening to this song, since it has incredibly easy and addictive chorus. Also, the girls who appears in this program are really attractive. 🙂

    • Lucy7 permalink
      March 30, 2016 8:03 pm

      At the first time, I thought that this song is weird, because all girls repeat “Pick me, pick me, pick me up”. However, finally I enjoy listening to the music, since it has a incredibly easy and addictive chorus. In addition, the girls who appear in this program are so attractive. 🙂

  8. ghrksk123 permalink
    March 30, 2016 6:51 pm


    It is very interesting for me the process that sources of a music like the melodies, notes, chord progressions, lyrics, etc as Todd said are met to expactation inspiring which is orginated dophamine. So I have searched an imformation about the fact. Some musicologists say well-balancing the sources of music, predactable and un-predictable things, makes masterpiece.
    I really love Piter kater’s ‘ ‘River’. This song is newage classic which is shorter than old classic. I can imagine the peaceful river whenever I listen this song. Recalling the image of river makes me have an illusions. A bird swimming at glitter water surface or a chair at the shore of river side. The slow pace and soft pitch come up with these picture. This come upping process let me be calm. That’s the reason why it is my favorite song.

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 30, 2016 10:10 pm

      I am also a big fan of these lyricless songs. They really helps me to calm down and also, it is helpful when concentrating on something. So I used to listen to these kind of songs when I was depressed, or I am studying. And also, the images in the video is really beautiful so thank you for a nice clip!

  9. Lucy7 permalink
    March 30, 2016 9:21 pm

    I want to introduce one of my favorite music “Sugar” sung by Maroon 5, which has a great history to score at least 20 weeks in the Top 10. I’m a big fan of Maroon 5, because of Adam Levine’s attractive voice. Even though you can’t remember who he is, if you watched a movie “Begin Again”, you can notice him. Among many songs by Maroon 5, the reason why I choose this song is that it is pretty appropriate to the atmosphere of spring. In the beginning of the music, it has soft and mellow melody, but the chorus makes the song more exciting and cheerful. Besides, the song provides us with a great opportunity to appreciate the rhythmical beat of drum. Furthermore, lyrics are so sweet that many listeners, especially women, can be captivated by the song. To be specific, a man confesses his love by comparing his lover to sugar. (Need a little sweetness in my life, Sugar, Yes please, Wont’ you come and put it down on me) More interestingly, the music video is famous for the process of making it. Maroon 5 films the music video by secretly visiting weddings that were happening in L.A. Imagine that Maroon 5 come to your wedding in order to celebrate you! The couples who appear in the music video must be surprised by unexpected guest. If I were one of them, I cannot forget the spectacular wedding day. I hope you enjoy watching this incredible video clip!

    • Eve21 permalink
      March 30, 2016 10:11 pm

      I really love this M/V too! I wish that I had Maroon 5 in my wedding 😉

    • juyong permalink
      March 31, 2016 8:57 pm

      Is this situation real? If so, I really envy couples!

    • Yolo permalink
      April 2, 2016 12:11 pm

      This is one of my favorite song too. Love the music video when Maroon 5 appears and a couple get surprised!

  10. Eve21 permalink
    March 30, 2016 10:06 pm

    This music was which I used to listen when I was sad and depressed. The song is one of the most famous songs of Britney Spears, Lucky. The Lucky, as the title says, is the song about a lucky hollywood girl. She is a famous celebrity, loved by everyone, has many fans. So she seems that she is always smiling. However, she cries everynight. I like this song because of this story, that even a famous hollywood person can have hidden loneliness and sad emotion. Also, I thought that the Lucky itself actually meant for Birtney Spears herself. So it came really touching to me, and was one of my favorite pop songs for many years. Now, it is hard to listen to Britney’s songs, but this is the one I would pick if I only had 1 choice in her songs.
    Especially, the lyrics that I like in this song is ‘If there’s nothing missing
    in my life, then why do these tears come at night?’
    It tells me that a girl who got everything except true love, and this is the reason that she cries all the time. Even if a person is envied and loved, the person is lack of important things in life.

    I posted a link that goes to Lucky M/V, please enjoy and listen carefully to the touching lyrics!

    • mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
      March 31, 2016 10:15 pm

      oh my gosh!!! I love this song!!

  11. rose04 permalink
    March 30, 2016 10:09 pm

    Music, I don’t know how to explain but music it is really part of my life which help me sometimes to go ahead. There is a love story between me and music. so my story is: I am a kind of person if I get hurt I like to be alone and listen to songs which express my feeling , because music it is the only thing that can make person feel relax and make out our sadness . whenever I am sad I like to listen to this two songs I know it is very old but whenever I listen to it or sing it I feel like I put out all my pain.

    When I am happy also I like to listen to good music and dance that’s make me feel so happy because I really love to dance special when I listen to Indian song or our traditional song, because that’s make me start good day with good mood, do good work and study. Anyway music for me is like medicines no need to go to the doctor. Music is the thing that can touch human heart and express our feeling.

  12. John Snow permalink
    March 30, 2016 11:01 pm

    I want to introduce one of my favorite musics “The First Summer in 8 Years” sung by BUZZ.
    Buzz is idol of Korean male. Buzz has many hit songs such as “thorn”, “Don’t know man”, “A vacation to me”. And this song is come back song after last album in 2008.This song’s scenry is summer of various countrys. This song has a quick rhythm and an exciting mood.
    It’s lyric says let’s get out of boring daily life and let’s sing along one more time. When i heard this song, it makes me cool and i was tempted to go on a trip. So when summer comes, i certaily used to listen this music. And when you want to freshen up the atmosphere at a vacation place such as sea, valley, you can use this song. If so you can be a golden boy.
    Because it also has a hummable melody. I think this song is just the thing for the younger generation.

    • juyong permalink
      March 31, 2016 8:54 pm

      I also like Buzz! I think I know most of their songs, but this song is unfamilar to me. It is very cheerful! Thank you for introducing it!

  13. Yolo permalink
    March 30, 2016 11:53 pm


    I’d like to share a song that has been in my playlist for more than 7 years. It’s ‘Say it ain’t so’ by Weezer. I happened to hear this song in America when i was 13 years old. I never got sick of listening to this song for about 7 years. I don’t know the reason but the simple guitar sound and interesting lyrics made me listen to this song for a long time.
    I didn’t know what the lyrics meant when I was young, but hearing the song for numerous times, i felt the lyrics are kind of strange.
    The lyrics of this song are about a alcholic father from the vocal of the group. The lyrics are what he had experienced from his father when he was in childhood. It takes a lot of courage to talk about a experience like that, but the open-minded attitude from a vocal made a nice song. At the last part of the song, he wrote a letter to his father. It’s quite touching and and made me be himself from the song. I recommend you to listen this song. It’s not that special but an addictive song. I bet you will listen it over and over again.

    • The flaming lips permalink
      March 31, 2016 11:15 am

      it’s my favorite song, too! the whole album is very nice. I first heard weezer’s blue album at 16 and it’s been my favorite since then. I think why it hooked me is that , as a kind of sad nerdy kid, I could relate myself to this song/album 😦
      anyway the song is great! 🙂

  14. Jukebox permalink
    March 31, 2016 12:44 am

    I would like to introduce a song “Brother” by Norazo. Originally, Norazo is a duo who usually sing funny songs, but this song is really serious. The genre of this song is Rock Ballad which is my favorite. I love the melody of this song, but the best part is the lyrics. In the lyrics, a speaker encourage his brother not to give up and he says it’s okay to fall down and fail. So, when I listen to this music, I feel encouraged. Unfortunately, this song doesn’t have a music video but, we can enjoy this music well without it. If we consider the lyrics of this song, we can appreciate this song better. Please enjoy this music!

    • March 31, 2016 1:15 am

      I really love this song. In fact, I wanted to introduce this song before i do my assignment. When i was in the military services, everyday i listend this song and usually wiped my tears. Thanks for your choice!

  15. saigonriver permalink
    March 31, 2016 1:09 am

    Music is one of the thing that i really really love. It’s weird that even though we cannot see or touch music, music gives us a lot of things. For example, it’s reminds me of memories and sometimes demonstrate me feelings that i cannot explain. There are many songs I love, but among them, I love the song ‘Young and Beautiful’ by Lana Del Rey. When someone listens to this song, It would give little gloomy feelings. Yes it’s true that melodies are quiet gloomy. But it has it’s own charm. One another attractive point of this song is singer herself. she sings always like this. Her voice has a dreamy atmosphere. So whenever I listen to this, or every song of her, I feel calm,dreamlike even sometimes, happy. But the reason why this is my favorite song is because this song is part of my memory too. Due to that I love this song so much, I listened to this song everytime when I first found this song. That time I was preparing for the university. Unlike students in Korea, I was in Vietnam and so I didn’t have to do as much study as Students in Korea do. So I had a lot of times which makes me able to go on many trips. I not listening this song anymore, but sometimes when accidentally this song comes out from my playlist, I can go back to this time and the places i’ve been too. I really really love this song.
    https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=young+and+beautiful

  16. MINA permalink
    March 31, 2016 1:49 am


    I really like pop songs, especially ‘legend-songs’. I enjoy listening to musics, a lot of musics, almost everyday. My favorite songs are….”Shine”(Mr.big) and “Crazy”(Aerosmith). Musics give me some mistery power. These two songs are even more powerful and pleasant.This is a music-video of ‘Crazy.’ You might know Liv Tyler, who’s one of the main girl-characters of this video. She, also a heroine of movie ‘Armageddon’, is very famous actor. An interesting story is that she is a daughter of Steven Tyler who is a Aerosmith’s leader. When she was young, she didn’t know that he’s her father. He also didn’t know the existence of his daughter. The Video is so excited and funny(mischievous?). I feel somehow Freedom. When I go drive like those girls, I turn on this song.

  17. Amy permalink
    March 31, 2016 8:56 am


    My favorite music video is ‘Ordinary love’, song by Park Kyung of Block B.
    This song is my best song. I’m big fan of this singer. I have liked this group as 6 years. This song is the single album of one of group’s member. I like this song because the melody and lyrics are so sweet. This song is about the starting of love. It describes a couple. At first, they were friends. But they fall in love to each other. This song describes that process very well. So I think people who have the experience that fell in love with their friends can sympathy about this song more easily. Actually, I don’t like love songs. I was tired of love songs because most of songs are about love. And I couldn’t understand the songs’ feeling because I didn’t sympathy about the lyrics. But this song is different. It describes the emotion simply so I didn’t feel awkward to understand.
    I like this music video not only the song but also video. I like pastel colors. This music video uses a lot of pastel colors. Especially, they use pink color at large so it can show the mood of the fresh couple effectively. And this video uses many cartoon techniques. Those make the video more lovely. And, like the lyrics, the video describes the process of love in detail. The actors act like a real couple and that makes me feel sympathy more effectively with song.

  18. Jubbit permalink
    March 31, 2016 11:16 am

    http://m.blog.naver.com/freyr25/220658576154

    Recent music video I watched was “one of these days” song by Red Velvet. It was issued because the music video intend the accident of ship 세월. The ship 세월 was hot potatoe but did not last long. Now most of people have forgotten that accident, including me. Watching the music video reminded me of the ship 세월 and cherish the memory of deceased students. The most heartbreaking part from the music video was the member of singers who represented deceased students. She was blurred the most of time because she is dead now and ambiguous in people’s memory. We can not hold on to deceased students and the terrible accidents but we should not forget them. The music video, “one of these days”, reminded lot of people to commemorate the ship 세월

  19. jelly permalink
    March 31, 2016 11:29 am

    This song rock. It was the most popular song in 2013. It is “GROWL”. The singer of this song is an idol group called Exo. There are 12 people in this group. In Growl’s music video, twelve boys wear suits and dance to the song. There are several things I like about this video. Well, of course there are twelve charming guys dancing in front of me. I mean as a woman who would not like it? But the main thing is that the technique of this video. It was taken by ‘one-take’.One take is a technique consists of action, continuous in time and space, from the perspective of a single camera for a single long take. So it requires lots of effort. If one mistakes at the middle part, everyone have to do the whole thing again. Even the process is hard this technique makes the video awesome.
    This song is about a boy who growl to get his love. So it makes me excited. I feel like exo wants my love.Listen to the song at the same time watching the video makes my heart pound.

  20. The flaming lips permalink
    April 3, 2016 11:48 pm

    this is the song from my favorite band The flaming lips. i think this song is great because it is very atmospheric. it has kind of vast, sci fi themed vibe. the looped synths give electronic feel to the song, and drumming keeps the tension of this song and make the song not boring considering this song is kind of slow. the feeling of this song is very good, too. it has very melancholic feeling and i think the band delivered that feeling well without being too negative or depressing. the genre of this song is indie pop, psychedelic pop. I thought that psychedelic music is only for people who use psychedelic drugs before, but after hearing this song, I realized that it’s not only for drug users but also for the casual music listeners. I’m a psychedelic music fan now. so this song and album let me into psychedelic music and it’s very meaningful to me.

Leave a Reply

