Skip to content

CRW1 Masdar

April 7, 2016

The homework question for today is as follows:

Would you like to live in Masdar City? Why or why not?

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 7, 2016 10:39 pm

    Sometimes, I imagine that I live in oversea countries which has good welfare system. There is a number of countries which has good welfare system. Especially, Arab nations have really good welfare system. Masdar which is located on United Arab Emirates also provide a lot of welfare benefactions to the public. For example, university is free not only to UAE people but also foreigners. When they get married, government also support subsidy about 18,000 dollars. And they even provide about 8,600 dollars subsidy a each person to medical tour.

    I think, however, in my case, I prefer living in Korea to living oversea countries. Because living in Korea is convinient in terms of mass transportation, medical care system and safety… etc. Of course, it is very hard to get a job in Korea, but I think it is up to indivisuals. Think about living in oversea! It is really expensive when you have to go to hospital. Mass transportation? It goes without saying. I just want to live in Korea without greed and enjoy myself. I am already reeaally happy now

  2. John Snow permalink
    April 7, 2016 11:48 pm

    Although there are clearly arguments on both sides, it seems to me that Masdar City is a good city to live in to me. Many people argue that protecting environment is a good idea. I absoultely agree that idea. And in that respect, Masdar City can be a roll model. There are three reasons why i want to live in Masdar.

    First of all, Masdar gets all of its electricity from the environment by using renewable energy sources such as solar power. This will be able to prevent air pollution from fossil fuel. And it can be a chance to avoid trade dispute between may countries. Second, there is no traffic congestion in the six-kilometer-square city of Masdar. I experience traffic gam almost everyday. Although i have to endure a desire to use a car, i can stand it because i usually take a bus more often. It can be a comfortable to me. Last, we can leave a green city to our descendants. We are in duty bound to leave a good environment to our children. If so, it is also a good thing to our parents and younger generation including me. I would indeed be fortunate to live in this city.

    For these reasons, i want to live in Masdar City.

  3. juyong permalink
    April 8, 2016 1:33 am

    I think that transportation system of Korea is even more convenient than other countries. However, I felt that transportation imbalance between metropolis and small city is very serious. When I lived in Changnyeong, which is my hometown, there is rarely traffic congestion even rush hour, whereas when I commuted from Suwon to Seoul last year, it took about 4hours in total every day. It seems to me that we can solve this problem by introducing a model Masdar city. A Personal Rapid Transit system(PRT) could not only reduce environment pollution like smog but also improve the quality of citizen’s life. If I have a chance to live in this city, I want to live. Of course, it is not easy to build this kind of city all at once, but I would say that introduction of PRT should be conducted progressively for future generations.

  4. saigonriver permalink
    April 8, 2016 8:34 pm

    Masdar city, planned to make better place to live in. For people in Abu Dhabi. I’ve never been there before but according to the passage, it seems Abu Dhabi is too really crowded city. Just like Seoul. As one of the human being who lives in one of the most crowded city in the world, I definitely want to live place like masdar city if this is possible. But, I would rather say to NO to this question. Because It seems this place is pretty impossible for this generation’s technology. Especially installing wall middle of the desert to protect sand is improbable. Maybe it might work at first, but then they will realize we could never win the nature. Also PRT, is too expensive to make, like writer mentioned, and still cannot ride that without any fright about safety problems. Maybe I will looking forward to live in this heaven-like city next life.

  5. ghrksk123 permalink
    April 9, 2016 11:06 am

    Masdar city is very environmently friendly city. This city get all electrocity from the environment by solar energy and there are no traffic congstion because of city law; no car in Masdar. They already has a metro and Light Rail Transit which both could take pessangers from here to many other stations and out of the city. Becuase of the convenient traffic systems stressless commute does possible. Also Masdar government has a plan to build PRT(a Personal Rapid Transit) system and 3000 ‘pdtcars’. Though this plan is a little bit substantial, in near future, the environmental problems offset the finalcial investment. In fact Masdar is the comfort city just in case of trffic.
    However I don’t want to live in city of Masdar because of the serious hot weather. As your can see in the second pharagragh, people need an wall to cool down the high temperature. No metter how much I can save my commute time, I really hate the hot weather.

  6. April 10, 2016 12:21 am

    The major strength of Masdar City is that it doesn’t have traffic congestion which makes people feel frustrated. Furthermore, the objective to become a carbon-neutral city seems really attractive for people who want to live in clean and natural environment. Therefore, it is obvious that many people want to move to the City. However, I don’t want to live in Masdar City, because of my serious homesickness. Since my hometown is far from Suwon, I have to live in dormitory. Thus, I cannot spend time with my family and friends a lot during semesters. Therefore, every year when I have to pack in order to go to the dormitory, I often feel depressed. Even though in school there are many people who I love, moving away from my house makes me feel lonely. Besides, when I went abroad about two-months, I realized that I have to live in Korea, where I can meet the people whom I love. As a consequence, despite of the advantages of Masdar City, moving to the City is not appropriate for me.

  7. Chicken permalink
    April 10, 2016 11:14 am

    If I can live in Masdar city in future, I should go putting aside all my work. First, Masdar City has no traffic jam because cars are not allowed in the city. It means we have to use public transport. It influences their environments well. Also, a Personal Rapid Transit System (PRT) run on solar energy helps too. The city which gets all of its electricity from the renewable energy should make most livable city in the world. Second, although some people may think that going to the Middle East is difficult to live because of hot weather, there is a wall around the city to keep out the hot desert wind so the city is about 15℃ cooler than others. It should make people feel pleasant life. That is why I want to live in Masdar City.

  8. rose04 permalink
    April 10, 2016 10:06 pm

    Masdar is a city that attracts the interest of many people and maybe it is the dream city of many of them. First I would like to live in a country like Masdar where many facilities are and there is neither pollution neither traffic. Actually, after reading about Masdar I get interest too much and I wish to experience the life there because I am so interest how many other technology they will invent to make the life more easy and comfortable . I liked the idea of the PRT [Personal Rapid Transit] because this thing will provide for people many things like travel long distance without stop between stations and also save time. On the other hand I thought too much about the think that they are not allowed to enter the city they must used public transportation, so I think this is a waste of money and time also. Maybe I can live few months to get experience and see what is the thing that I can learn from there but not for long time because I think I cannot live in city that I will feel I am in future and the other part of earth still in present. I want to live my life step by step to feel it and to live with human more than robots. I want that my live be active, to do work and learn, if we will use on everything the technology we will never learn anything, this what I believe. I want my life be simple life, is good to live life full of new technology but also is better to have a simple life.

  9. mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
    April 11, 2016 12:12 am

    Masdar City is an answer for Abu Dhabi’s traffic jams. It’s a new city being built near the airport on the outskirts of Abu Dhabi which gets all of its electricity from the environment by using renewable energy sources. Also, it’s more cooler than Abu Dhabi and planning to build PRT which is an acronym for a Personal Rapid Transit system. This is an electric machines that run on solar energy, also it moves by magnets pulling along. Although it seems like a high technology and well organized city, I would not like to live in Masdar City. First, even if it’s 15 degrees cooler than Abu Dhabi, it’s still going to be a sweltering heat which I cannot bear. I even hate the summer of South Korea, because I’m a person who prefers winter than summer. And, the only problem the city Masdar is facing is financial problem, so if I get to live in the city, I must pay a lot of taxes. To compensate the financial problem, the citizen who lives in the city gets a duty to make up for the problem. For these reasons, I would not like to live in a city, which accompanies hot weather and have to pay large amount of taxes.

  10. Noah permalink
    April 11, 2016 5:08 pm

    Although Masdar city has splendid transportation system, I suppose not to live in there. As the world industrialized, most of people depend on advanced machines. It is true that a lot of machines make convenient and efficient living. Nevertheless, this is way over the top. Now is enough. Even eraser was developed as automatic. More and more advanced machines are invading what human can properly do. (I don’t mean tools invading our area). Also in case of transportation problem, high-tech transportation is not needed like in Masdar city. Get accustomed to machinery require still more. Trying to handle and solve problems without no more high-tech is important.

  11. Eve21 permalink
    April 11, 2016 8:23 pm

    Masdar city seems interesting and living abroad is a good experience too. However, I would prefer living in Korea, especially the city I live, although Mastar city is built with efforts to yield green solutions. First, the law that does not allow car is the biggest reason. I once lived in Germany without a carfor few months. If we can use alternative transportation like train, tram, or bus, it does not fulfill the efficiency of cars. Also, I think that whether than PRT system, other solutions like planting trees or inhancing the efficiency of public transportation would be better. As a result, I would like to stay in Korea rather than living in Masdar city.

  12. daino permalink
    April 11, 2016 10:00 pm

    Masdar City is a world’s first eco-friendly future city with carbon and garbage free. It seems good to live in the eco-friendly city, but I don’t want to live in that city. I have two reasons why I don’t want to live in there.
    First, although it is a maintainable city with carbon and garbage free, there would be lack of humane. For example, although a crammed subway and a bus which I take every commuting time makes me tired and annoyed, I could meet many people and see all different kinds of styles people live in. Also I can see many episode among the strangers and feel humanity and sense of kinship. It seems to be hard to see these scene in the Masdar city because people use the PRT(Personal Rapid Transit System) which is kind of means of transportation alone.
    Also, maybe it seems clear that we have to pay too much taxes in the Marsdar city. Because the city is consist of high technology like solar panel, wind power, geothermal heat and water power. It’s good for environment but when it is break down it cost a lot of money to fix because they are not widespread technology.
    For these reasons, I don’t want to live in the Masdar city.

  13. Amy permalink
    April 11, 2016 10:34 pm

    I think that Masdar is a good model of future city. The system of city is environment friendly. The city uses solar power instead of fossil fuel. So it produces no methane gas. Although I have not been this city and I don’t know much about it, I want to live this city. The first reason I want to live in the city is, as I told you, it is environment friendly. When I commute to school, I’m sick of breathing vehicle exhaust. Not only commuting to school, when I go outside, the air of city is so dirty. Especially, in spring, the air is more dirty than other seasons because of fine dust from China. But I don’t like to live in countryside because it is uncomfortable. I think Masdar is a good city for people like me who live in clean city. Air pollution is the most serious problems of cities. I think this city can solve air pollution problem of city. Although construction costs is expensive, the system of Masdar is solar power generation system. Using solar charging system will be more cheaper than using fossil fuel system consistently. And if the fossil fuels in earth run out, the costs will be more expensive than solar charging system in long-term point of view. The second reason is that living in the city using clean energy is meaningful. Actually, I felt uncomfortable when I use fossil fuels. I thought using it is I destroyed environment indirectly. So I want to live in the city that I can use clean energy without feeling uncomfortable. That’s why I want to live in Masdar city.

  14. Jukebox permalink
    April 12, 2016 1:10 am

    Masdar is very attractive city, but I don’t like to live in there because of two reasons. The first is temperature. According to the text, Masdar is about 15 ℃ cooler than Abu Dhabi. However, the highest temperature of Abu Dhabi is about 40 ℃ so, although Masdar is cooler than Abu Dhabi, the weather is also hot. I prefer cold weather to hot so, Masdar is not adaptable for me. The second reason why I don’t want to live in Masdar is because of vehicles. Cars are not allowed in the city, and people use only public transport. I think this system could be not so good. Of course it is environmentally friendly, but if we can’t use personal car, we feel uncomfortable. When we visit somewhere, we may experience inconvenience such as transfer to another transport. For these reasons, it doesn’t attract me to live in Masdar.

  15. Daniel permalink
    April 12, 2016 1:49 am

    I want to live in masdar city. Masdar is the first zero-carbon city, meaning the amount of CO2 releasded into the air will be close to zero. And masdar is an eco-friendly city to pursue a sustainability. This city is a good example of solving global warming. for example, renewable energy will provide most of the electricity for the entire city. So, Masdar City is to be fully energy self-sufficient. Also, a public rail transition system has been built in Masdar city to eliminate traffic congestion. In fact, a suburb residential form of the United States was planned for the development of the car. So this rail transit system is an efficient and innovative case. I think masdar is a city that meets both environmental and convenience.

  16. Polar bear permalink
    April 12, 2016 2:04 am

    Sure I want to live there. You agree with that Masdar city is advanced and planed city and most future city will be resembled it. As you know, there is eco-friendly city which gets all of its electricity energy from the environment by using natural energy it is most solar energy. Even, you don’t have to worry about traffic congestion. It is because they have a personal rapid transit system(PRT) which run solar energy and drive by itself. In addiction, Masdar city hold the temperature constant degree. These merits of living this town is attracted to me. Imagine! you don’t need to concern about weather and the worst traffic. I really happy to just imagine. Therefore, I wish to live in this city or like this city.

  17. April 12, 2016 2:28 am

    I don’t want to live in Masdar city. I assure that Korea has the most excellent public transportation system in the world, even though UAE build a special city, Masdar, for the solution of their traffic-jam. I think too that the traffic-jam of Korea sometimes aggravate our emotion and tight schedule, however, because of traffic-jam, we can enjoy several interesting cultures. We usually do listen to the radio program for the time-killing on the heavy road. Honestly, the traffic jam of Korea contributed very much to the developed radio program of the day. Listening ‘두시 탈출 컬투쇼’ and ‘두시의 데이트’ on the road, always makes me feel happy. Also, we can consider our schedule whether it is the right thing to do or not on the crowded road. Or we can have a enough time to reflect on our past with a silent music. In my case, I can do my assignments if I find a empty seat in the 5100 bus. (I swear that I have not done the crw1 assignment yet.) For these reasons, I would like to say that I don’t need to live in Masdar city, because I can enjoy well my life and time although I am on the terribly crowded road.

  18. Yolo permalink
    April 12, 2016 4:34 am

    I definitely would like to live in Masdar city for several reasons. First, I’ve been living in seoul for 22 years and i think i am used to breathing polluted air. Because of polluted air, i am suffering rhinitis and suffered from asthma when I was young. It had always been my dream to live in a city with no air pollution and is environmently friendly. As Masdar City use renewable energy sources for its electricity, it is preferred for people who loves to live in environmently friendly city. Also, i experiece traffic congestion every single day when i commute to school from seoul. It has been pretty stressful for me to be in the bus with trafiic jam. This problem could also be solved by living in Masdar City.
    Even though i have to pay a lot of tax for its settlement of this environmently friendly plan, i believe that Benefits in the longrun outweigh its’ input money. The city could develop as a green city and attract tourists, also could have no worries about making electricity as it uses limitless renewable energy such as solar energy. It seems to me that living in Masdar City is a preferable choice for me.

  19. jelly permalink
    April 12, 2016 10:29 am

    Contamination is a serious problem in Korea. Especially today, society tends to focus on the technological developments that they relatively ignore about the environment. At this point I think Masdar city is necessary for the society and I would want to go and live there. I believe that this move will improve the quality of my life.
    The best thing I like about the Masdar city is a traffic. It is obvious that every city has a traffic problem.Traffic problems cause many environmental issues such as air pollution because of the exhaust gas came from vehicles. But I don’t have to worry about this in Masdar city. Because they only use public transportation that is run by solar energy and some magnet power. The only problem is the cost. But even the cost of building Masdar city is substantial, it is worth it in a long term. The enormous cost of environmental problems will be saved.
    To be honest, Masdar city seems to be impossible to exist in reality. Also it has many problems too. But it doesn’t have to achieve everything that is written on the text book. I think every each step it is taking significance.

  20. The flaming lips permalink
    April 12, 2016 11:43 am

    i think i want to live in masdar city. the polititions there seems to be dealing with contamination and infrastructure. and i think this is the most important thing to deal with for city. seeking convenience without considering contamination and infrastructure leads to many problems in the future. in case of contamination, there are example in china. china has developed rapidly to a large city but without proper way to deal with contamination. as a result, major city in china is facing with the most severe air polution problem in the world. in case of infrastructure, the roads and buildings are hard to destroy, clean up and build again than anything else. so like masdar city, it would be great if the city is planned before constructing to deal with contamination and infrastructure problems.

  21. Elephant permalink
    April 18, 2016 11:00 pm

    I sure that masdar is very creative and attractive city. However i would say i don’t want to live in masdar. One reason is beacause i’m the biggest fan of engined car.
    I agree that CO2 caused by fossil fuel engined car is one of the most serious problem of air pollution, But for some people include my self, a car is not just transportation but the joyful interest. I just love the roaring sound of engine, feeling of driving a car. and one of my goal is to afford V8 engined car. for that reason, i don’t want to live in masdar where i can’t drive my own car

Leave a Reply

