Skip to content

CRW2 Money Can’t Buy Happiness

May 10, 2016

I once say a advertisement for a horse called Happiness. Then I remembered the expression above and thought, “I guess you can buy happiness. You just need $400 dollars and a bunch of oats.”

 

Students: Please write why you agree or disagree with this saying.

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Incredible permalink
    May 11, 2016 12:38 am

    Unfortunately, as I grew up, I came to think that a saying that “Money can’t buy happiness” is just based on idealistic optimism. Money CAN buy happiness. With money, we can do whatever we want to. There would be no obstacles and restrictions on the way toward our dream. For instance, we can study abroad, buy books, participate in volunteering camps, travel anywhere, and go to academies for further study with plenty amount of money on our hands. However, with lack of money, which is exactly the case I am dealing with, we face with difficulties. We have to worry whole day about financial problem since everything in our lives are related to money. From daily meal to one precious opportunity such as overseas internship that is helpful in our career but requires financial support, money and our lives are interrelated. Therefore, money can surely bring us happiness.

    • Lily permalink
      May 11, 2016 11:28 am

      Actually I agreed with the opposite side with your opinion but surely your argument is strong enough to convince us.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 11, 2016 6:53 pm

      You speak a lot of truth. I wonder if the person who came up with the expression ever went to bed on an empty stomach, or had to decide between medicine or rent.

  2. Jerry permalink
    May 11, 2016 2:08 am

    People who insist that money can buy happiness have often been criticized because they so leaned on materialism. Usual people who criticize them wanted to live in a different way against them and were afraid of materialism even though they felt like money is a important part of maintaining their life. But, as the communism have disappeared, many countries have adopted the capitalism, so money have become inevitable element of society. As a result, people have been trying to have more money since the capitalism appears. That is, they have pursued happiness through gaining money. This claims I offer can be proved anywhere, especially in a daily life. Eating some foods, using a smartphone, and living in home can’t be achieved unless you don’t pay for them. These kind of things are all an evident part of our lives and are related to money. In this sense, I thought money can be happiness in my life though I was in a position like them who criticized money can buy it.

    • Lily permalink
      May 11, 2016 11:32 am

      “…….I thought money can be happiness in my life though I was in a position like them who criticized money can buy it.”

      Yes. I think so. Now I’m person who think money can’t buy happiness but perhaps it could be changed in the future when I meet certain circumstance.

    • Bob permalink
      May 11, 2016 10:07 pm

      I agree that money may can buy happiness. But still, people should not rely on or be obsessed with money to reach happiness even if it could buy happiness. There may be things that require no money and make them happier than things that require money.

  3. Lily permalink
    May 11, 2016 11:26 am

    Based on my experiences, money does not buy me the happiness. I started doing part time jobs since in high school and earned much more money than my friends. I did it because I had to. When I first received my monthly pay, I was so happy, feeling as if I became a rich person. However, that that happy moment didn’t last long. After using all the money, I just felt an emptiness. So I tried to earn mote money, overworking my body. Then I realized that the happiness the money gives us is not a permanent thing. It just gives us only a short and shallow happiness and even we suffer from the aftereffects when the money is gone. Since then, I found happiness from the other things like taking a break after work or like see beautiful things which make me comfortable. Those things clearly do not leave the aftereffects! Therfore I cannot agree with the statement “Money can buy happiness.”

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 11, 2016 7:01 pm

      You seem to have gained some important and useful insight from your work experience and by earning you own way. Spending money on experiences is often more worthwhile than spending money on material things, which is often a fleeting sensation of superficial happiness. Of course, many good experiences can be gained for free, but having money can also increase one’s opportunities for other enriching experiences. Unfortunately, our society focuses too excessively on money and superficial consumption, which leads to more feelings of emptiness than happiness. I’m glad you have discovered this insight at an early age.

  4. Jennifer permalink
    May 11, 2016 1:26 pm

    I disagree with this statement. I think we don’t need lots of money to be happy. However, if someone want to live with happiness, a little money should be needed at least. That is because our world is the place where money moves in cycle. For this reason, we can’t buy delicious food and can’t live in warm houses, which are necessary part of happy life without money. Therefore, money is able to control our life’s happiness through blocking what we really want to do, that means money can buy happiness.

    • BingBong permalink
      May 12, 2016 12:17 am

      I agree your opinion up to a point, but I think money cannot guarantee happiness. If money can buy happiness, all the rich will be happy. However, that is not true in the reality and there are so many things people cannot control in the world such as health, friends, time and memories. When people feel unhappiness because of these factors people cannot control, people could not be happy by getting or using money.

  5. Friends permalink
    May 11, 2016 2:24 pm

    I disagree with “Money can’t buy happiness. When i was younger than now, I thought happiness is not related to money. I considered people who pursue money for happiness as materialistic. However after i live alone without family and meet various people who from the poor to the rich, now i can see a reality of society. Of course happiness does not fully consist of 100% money. Also the fact that rich people are all happy is false. But at least people with money can buy elements of happiness such as comfortable house, delicious food, clothes and so on. Anything we want! Nowadays “there is no such thing as a free lunch”. This is why people need money to maintain their living. If homeless people have money, Maybe they must become happy because they get the necessities of life. Paradoxically, people should earn money in order to spend money. And it can satisfy people’s desire. In sum, money is means of getting happiness. We can buy happiness by money.

    • BMW permalink
      May 11, 2016 8:11 pm

      I also faced the “reality” as I grew up. I feel quite bitter because It feels like we have lost so much of our innocence and pureness.

  6. Cindy permalink
    May 11, 2016 7:23 pm

    I partly agree with the saying, “Money can’t buy happiness.” I agree that there are a lot of priceless values we cannot buy with money, such as love, relationship and friendship. However, we can get much higher possibility of being happy with money. With money, people can buy whatever they want, and it usually makes people feel happy. When I was young, I thought that I was the most unhappy child in the world because I did not get the fancy, expensive diary which all of my rich friends had. Plus, if people want to help their friends or other people, they also need money. Good will without money cannot help others a lot. In addition, money is necessary for maintaining best condition. Without money, people cannot get proper treatment in the hospital. Many people are dying because they do not have enough money to treat their illness which can be treated. For them, money equals happiness. I do not mean I disagree with the saying. Money can’t buy happiness. However, at least it can help people go closer to happiness.

    • BMW permalink
      May 11, 2016 8:19 pm

      I also used to compare the things that I got and what others got. It is sad that we as humans have this instinct to compare one and others. I hope I will be more mature and a grown-up one day. By the way, I like your very last expression of “at least it can help people go closer to happiness”.

    • Corinne permalink
      May 12, 2016 12:28 am

      I totally agree with your statement saying that people get much higher possibility of being happy with money.

  7. BMW permalink
    May 11, 2016 8:04 pm

    I also disagree with the statement. I believe that there are different kinds of happiness and even though we cannot buy the whole complete happiness, we are able to buy some parts of it. Most people feel very stable and comfortable when they have enough money in their pockets and these days money is a crucial element, which affect on one’s mood or emotion. It is pretty interesting that there was a time when I believed that this statement was true but then I have changed my value as I grew up. “Money” is important and without “money”, we can be led to unhappiness things or events. However we should not consider “money” as the most significant value in our lives.

  8. Bob permalink
    May 11, 2016 9:38 pm

    I once thought over the expression that money can’t buy happiness, but now I think it is an wrong expression. Combining all of my experience and information of everything that I know, my conclusion is that having more money than having less is always better, including in case of getting happiness. Money and happiness are relevant. Frankly, money broadens people’s choices in any situation, including same situations. For example, the hungry with no money have only two choices; struggle to get foods or do nothing and fast. On the other hand, the hungry with a plenty of money can have more choices, like go to a restaurant or buy snacks on the road, than the former ones. It would be needless to say which one would be happier. If an ideal-looking choice requires money, than who would mind to get it if there’s a sufficient amount of money? More choices leave more thoughts, and more probability to find and get the one’s happiness. There may be things that might be able to do even if there’s no money. But there are practically nothing that smaller amount of money have advantages over bigger amount of money. Money and happiness are just like that. Money can buy happiness. Money is not everything, but almost everything.

  9. ras7070 permalink
    May 11, 2016 10:10 pm

    I agree this opinion that money can buy happiness. Today, money is very important everywhere. people can’t have something what they wanted without money. First of all, if you don’t have money, you can difficult to maintain your relationship of boyfriend or girlfriend. It is hard to love each other without money. Because every activities needs money: eating, watching movie, buying clothes, and so on. moreover, money can decide your job, and fame. You must have a little money to live life. So I think money is essential element of happiness

    • Jennifer permalink
      May 12, 2016 12:44 am

      I have same opinion with you. Sadly, it is true that nowadays money has enormous power in our society. Lots of happiness remains in money.

  10. BingBong permalink
    May 12, 2016 12:05 am

    Can money buy anything, even happiness? Some people think that money could do, but I do not agree this perspective. Although it is apparent that people who have enough money are more likely to yield more positive and various experiences, money itself cannot make happiness. In other words, Even when a person get much more money than now, there will be no guarantee that the people will be happy more than now. Everything in the world we live, is relative and does not exist as original value. If people consider that they feel happiness thanks to money, that is just immediate response after earning money, it would not last very long, of course, and they look for more money than before.

  11. Corinne permalink
    May 12, 2016 12:32 am

    Unfortunately, money can buy happiness because it enables people to do everything they want. (I don’t mean impossible things like catching some stars in the sky or going back in time but things like buying some clothes or electronic devices) In reality, standard of living is depend on how much money they earn and it goes on to degree of happiness people feel. As you know, it is reported that people who have a high standard of living are likely to be happier than people who have a low standard of living. If people have a low standard of living, they can not afford to enjoy their life and they have to work all day long to maintain their basic livlihood. How can they be happy? They have to worry about their tomorrow right after the moment they pass through. It’s not that the richer people are the happier they can be, it’s just that at least people have to get enough money to be able to enjoy lives at more than a basic level. If they don’t, not only they are not happy but also they can not be happy. Thus, having enough money to live properly is a basic factor to be happy.

  12. red permalink
    May 12, 2016 1:00 am

    I partly agree with that saying “You can buy happiness”, but I prefer to say “People can not be happy without money”. The human need money to survive in the modern society, for example the human need food, house, clothes or education and so on, and money is requried to acquire them. Even if the person is rich, of course it’s hard to keep it and he or she can’t buy love, family or friendship which brings the happiness. However, if the person has no money, it’s hard to keep family, life, love or friendship in the modern society. Therefore, i think people need moeny some degree to be happy.

  13. Angela permalink
    May 12, 2016 1:50 am

    Can money buy Happiness? Most people think that money is related to happiness. Then, when somebody asked people all over the world about the degree of happiness, which country is the first? If money can buy happiness, it will be the first such as the United States, Switzerland, Canada, and so on. However, the survey London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is commissioned in 1998, which focused on the degree of happiness of 54 nations, showed that the predicted results and actual results are very different. Bangladesh that is ranked at the bottom of national income takes first place, the Azerbaijani Republic holds the second rank, Nigeria is in third place and the Philippines takes fourth place. On the other hand, advanced countries like Switzerland, Germany, the United States, and so on rank in the lower forty. That is, the survey suggests that the happiness level of poor countries was higher than the happiness level of advanced countries.
    How do you interpret this result? First of all, condition for happiness isn’t only money. Money is clearly the factor that leads to happiness, but the survey shows that only money cannot get happiness. Next, material wants aren’t easily able to meet. Human desires know no bounds and aren’t satisfied with a lot of money. In some case, if the desires grow faster than the income, it makes people unhappy. Lastly, if people compare themselves to other, however much they earn, people are difficult to feel happiness. Although there is overall income growth, the gap between rich and poor becomes great and the degree of happiness is reduced because of comparative deprivation. For these reasons, I agree that money can’t buy happiness.

  14. blue coffee permalink
    May 12, 2016 2:17 am

    I agree on the saying that “Money can’t buy happiness”. To explain simply first, money is just the simple thing regard to materials but happiness is the result of complex things composed various values. Money can buy materials and it make people’s life convenient, however it cannot purchase happiness. To get happiness, we have to obtain psychological things such as achievement, social relationship, freedom, rest or etc. To add my personal opinion if the world where money can buy happiness would come, it is tragedy of human. All men are endowed with inalienable rights to the pursuit of happiness. If money can buy happiness and if a person who do not have money cannot be happy, human rights are overthrown by materials what we created our own.

    • Barbie permalink
      May 15, 2016 7:29 pm

      I totally agree with your opinion. If all people in the world pursue money as a top value, the world would become terrible.

  15. wony permalink
    May 12, 2016 12:56 pm

    I disagree with this saying. I think money can give us just passing joys. It is not ultimate happiness. We can buy various materials by money but we cannot buy one’s heart and attitude on life. It is impossible to buy essential thing in our life. In my opinion, material which can buy makes people have more desire if anything. These characteristic of money not give happiness at all. Money is secondary things in life so it cannot control our life. True happiness only depends upon the habitual mental attitude.

  16. monge permalink
    May 12, 2016 1:30 pm

    Recently, money and wealth are important factors in our society. Even if money cannot buy happiness, we will not be happy without the money because money can make almost everything we need.
    Someone can think there are many important values more than money, such as love, health, or fun. But I think money can make those values more completely. So, if we have much money, we can get more bigger happiness.

    • Fairy permalink
      May 12, 2016 1:49 pm

      Yeah, I agree with your opinion. Money can satisfy one’s value.

  17. suyun choi permalink
    May 12, 2016 1:38 pm

    These days, I can not spend time for having a rest or going to a short trip because I try to increase my grade and read many books as many as I can to survive in a fierce job market and improve myself. When I buy something as reward for me, for instance, sweets, coffee, beer, and cosmetics, I feel happy by just having them. I personally think sometimes money can buy happiness.

  18. Fairy permalink
    May 12, 2016 1:47 pm

    I disagree with the saying “Money can’t buy happiness.” Though the saying could have worked rightly in the past, it does not today. Money is a capital for people to live on. Everything people do for a living requires money. For instance, from basic food, clothing and shelter to leisure or hobbies, people need support from money. However, people cannot satisfy their needs only by basic things. People desire to have a better quality of life and highly advanced surroundings. To live everyday stably and happily, people need money. Therefore, these days, money can buy happiness and make people happy.

  19. Tom permalink
    May 12, 2016 3:46 pm

    Nowadays, we live in a capitalistic society. It shows us that money is the powerful element among the human. We cannot deny the fact that markets have been operated by the money and in the near future, also the influence of money will become more important. Although, there is big relationship between money and human, there are something that we can’t deal with money. It is the happiness that I think more importantly than money.

    Happiness is not subordinated to money, but it is independent element that is not affected by money. Because there are some examples that proof this fact. Think about the example of Korea’s happiness index. Korea is authorized as rich country in the terms of high GDP or something. There are also rich people in Korea but we can easily hear the news of their suicide. Someone who was very rich and in high position killed himself. Frankly speaking, it is not inexplainable in capitalistic society. The examples of this incident are pretty common these days and we can think that the money can’t affect people’s happiness. Surely, it can partly help people happy but it is just temporary. There is also an example of lottery winner. Many news also showed us that many lottery winner waste their money in gambling. From this example, money is the method of attract more money not the happiness. All humans have greed in their mind, so much money can rather makes people greedy and unhappy. These were some reasons that I agree with the fact that money can’t buy happiness.

  20. Barbie permalink
    May 15, 2016 7:24 pm

    For me, I do not think money can buy happiness. I somewhat agree that money can be helpful to earn a living because we need at least some money to eat delicious food, wear warm clothes, and live in a cozy house. Although it seems that money can make everything possible, there are some things that money cannot buy such as care of family and happiness based on the close friendship and love. Some people may argue that these can be achieved by money in today’s society. However, pleasure through money is not the true meaning of happiness, but it is just a satisfying desire. Difference between satisfying desire and happiness is that the former makes people pursue more desire even after they possess pleasure. In other words, the more people feel pleasure, the more desire for huge pleasure emerge. If they cannot fulfil the desire, they ultimately feel pain easily. We cannot say that these kinds of moment’s pleasure are as same as happiness. Thus, while money is necessary to happiness, it is not sufficient.

  21. asdfgg permalink
    May 16, 2016 2:42 am

    Money can bring happiness. We can also buy happiness with money. I do not mean that happiness is about satisfaction from just materials such as home, clothes, and cars. I mean that people feel happy and satisfied when they do what they love and really want to do. For this happiness, money can provide opportunities to try and challenge those goals. For example, when someone wants to be a pianist, he or she has to get lessons from good teachers, study abroad, and buy some instruments every year. Without enough money, all of those prepares are impossible and should be big burden. If someone does not have enough money to support his or her goal he or she cannot help giving up. As a result, giving up what he or she really loves because of money, everyone cannot be happy. It is because satisfaction from achieving takes up huge part in one’s happiness. Although it sounds too realistic, I think money is a way to be happy.

  22. MintChocolate permalink
    May 16, 2016 11:13 pm

    Money cannot buy happiness, but money can definitely affect a person’s life. If we do not have efficient money to live, situations like not having enough money to have food, or buy some clothes, we could feel depressed and unhappy. Also, if we have excess of money, because we do not ever know who is going to steal our money, we may feel anxiety for keeping those tremendous of money from thief. For that reason, I think having enough money to live is the best amount of money and the best way to live happy. Because either having too small or too many money can bring a negative effect on human life.

Leave a Reply

