Skip to content

CRW1 Discovery and Inventions

May 19, 2016

“One of the greatest labor saving inventions of today is tomorrow.” – Vincent T Floss

Students: What do you think is an amazing invention? Tell us about it.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 19, 2016 6:50 pm

    The motto of mine is: Live to eat. With respect to my motto, refrigerator is the most amazing invention in my life. It might be really difficult to eat lots of foods which are easy to rot, if there is no refrigerator. Before we invented it, we had to eat immediately or salt the foods to keep. Even we salted the foods, a few day later, the foods started to rot. If I lived in that time, I’m sure that I was gonna jump off the window. Actually, I really hate kind of the inventions because the more we invent something for our convenience, the worse lots of pollutions come up. Even though I tend to hate the inventions, I love refrigerator. This is why I choose it as an amazing invention. I can live without TV, computer, phone, car, and the others but refrigerator. I love you.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 22, 2016 9:39 pm

      A good thought experiment to do is to imagine life without that invention. You are right. You could live life without a smartphone or car, but life would be poor without refrigeration. I suppose you could say the same thing about toilet paper.

  2. juyong permalink
    May 20, 2016 6:29 pm

    imagine using the high speed internet while walking on the street. Smartphone offers people tremendous convenience. For example, I can not only keep in touch with my friends or family promptly, but also study English by application of a phone. Moreover, I can check time when bus arrives at the bus stop. It saves my time efficiently. These conveniences are innovative. Most of people including me, if smartphone is absent, they would feel uncomfortable. Of course, there are many problems by using smartphone, but the thing is that our quality of life has been much better than before. Therefore, I think smartphone is an amazing invention.

    • proftodd permalink*
      May 22, 2016 9:44 pm

      I agree that a smartphone has many benefits. However, when I go to Canada in the summer, I do not use one for 2 months. And I don’t miss it.

  3. May 21, 2016 1:12 pm

    In my opinion, one of the most impressive inventions is Virtual reality (VR), a technology that offers new and existing ways to consume information and entertainment. The technology VR enables to improve film technology. Since I really enjoy science-fiction movies, the contribution of well-developed technology to film technology may be significant for people like me. The improvement of this new technology has provided a great opportunity for moviemakers to develop new field of movies. Moreover, this amazing technology makes people enhance their imagination by watching a delicate scene which seems really realistic. Moreover, the progress of new technology facilitates a huge amount of cartoons to have been made into movies, which affects the advancement of pop culture. Consequently, the improvement of such technology cannot directly affect human lives, but this incredible invention contributes to human life by offering new chances to enjoy entertainment.

  4. Polar bear permalink
    May 21, 2016 5:44 pm

    I would like to talk about the smart phone which have a effect on me. Whenever you want to see it, you will be able to see it. And the smart phone exists everywhere we can find it easily. It becomes part of our life. As smart phone come into our life, it gives to us a lot of merits. However it gives to us disadvantages. One of disadvantage is addiction. Smart phone addiction is new social problem in South korea. Therefore, many people worry about this addiction. How about you ? Do you addicted by smart phone?
    Through this test, you can confirm whether you are addicted or not.
    First, if you don’t have smart phone, are you nervous and shaking hands ?
    Second, Can you memorize phone number more than 5 except your family?
    Third, Do you bring your phone even if you go to the toilet?
    If you applied by two of this question, you are already addicted by your phone.
    I don’t addicted by it not yet. I just bring my phone whenever I go to toilet. Great invention gives us to a lot of merits. Whereas, it gives us to disadvantage also.

  5. Amy permalink
    May 21, 2016 6:09 pm

    Although there are many amazing inventions in the world, I think car is most amazing invention. Before car invented, people usually walk or ride horse. But horse is very expensive so ordinary people usually couldn’t pay for it. And if horse get tired, horse had to take rest even though riders had to go quickly. Moreover, walking and riding horse were bothered by weather. For example, if people go from Busan to Seoul on foot, if they plan to walk at least 30km in a day, it took about 30 days. However after inventing of car, people can move faster. It save a lot of time. If we use car, people who live in Seoul can go Busan in 6 hour. People can save about 29 days and 18 hours if they use car. That’s big difference. Also, car is machine, not animal, so it doesn’t need to take rest. Moreover, car has roof. So weather problems like raining and snowing don’t matter to move. People can go everywhere at every time they want. That means, people can move more comfortable, faster and safer.

  6. John Snow permalink
    May 22, 2016 1:45 am

    In my opinion, Smart Phone is the most amazing invention. Smart Phone has many amazing functions. In the past, these wasn’t imaginable. For example, we can use internet services such as Naver, google, twitter etc, and watch movies, and also make some materials.
    Including these things, smart phones is must-have item to contemporary man. It gives advantageousness to people from all walks of life. For example, students like me can exchange messages whenever I want. In addition, we don’t have to look up encyclopedia any more. We just use electronic dictionary. In the case of workers, they don’t have to use computers to send some documents to their boss. They can use mobile mail service wherever they wat. Besides, It is contributed to economic growth. For example, Smasung smart phone industry comprises a large portion of the amount of export.
    Like this, Smart phone became indispensable thing. Its importance will getting bigger and bigger.

  7. Chicken permalink
    May 22, 2016 11:27 pm

    I think the most amazing invention is a vehicle. Thinking simply, if there are not this transportation, we should have long times to move other places. Before vehicle invented, people have to walk or ride horse. So, when people are going to Seoul in Joseon Dynasty, they screw themselves up to go. However, after vehicle invented, human life became a lot easier. For example, if they want to go from Busan to Seoul, they just can use KTX taking about 2 hours. But there are also some problems. More our life is faster, more people feel to act quickly. So people should easily get angry with something to slow. Although this problem, this invention is more helpful to our life. We can go anywhere and time consumption also can be saved because of vehicle.

  8. rose04 permalink
    May 23, 2016 7:37 am

    I believe that every invention is a good invention because we need it for something, as internet which rules now almost everything. so by using it through the smart phone or the laptop can help me to do many work as communicating with my family and my friend because getting their new make me feel happy. Also, we are able to do research or work whenever and wherever we are. These things make our life easier and do the work in short time than before. I think the world now become in need of it without it they can’t do nothing. Even though, sometimes it can be a waste of time but it is helpful for everyone. For me I think I can’t live anymore without it because when I went to my country for vacation I face some problem with internet and I get crazy specially that period it was the last chance to choose subjects at university but I manage.

  9. Elephant permalink
    May 23, 2016 1:38 pm

    I think the most amazing invention is the Time system. We tend to take this for granted.
    Maybe it’s because we can’t even imagine what will happen without time system. We are absolutely affected by the time system. Any social behaviors like going to school, going for work is based on time system. Surely, we can live without timesystem, but i sure that this highly developed civilizations couldn’t be here. It speicify our behavior, systematize the world.
    Further more, in this highly globalized century, unified time system works even more.
    So i enormously appreciate the invention of time system.

  10. daino permalink
    May 23, 2016 9:15 pm

    To me, smart phone is the most amazing invention. Smart phone enable people contacting, especially people who are in long distance. In my case, because my boyfriend is a professional soldier, he is living at the front and we couldn’t meet often. In this situation, smart phone became a valuable medium to us because it make us keeping in touch everyday. We could see partner’s face, hear the voice, and share our moments by smart phone. Also we can send the presents each other with mobile gift. For these reasons, my amazing invention is smart phone.

  11. Jelly permalink
    May 23, 2016 9:16 pm

    Telephone is the most innovative invention for centuries. Because of smartphone these days, people are forgetting about the real use of phone. People use phone to contact with other people which is the main purpose of this invention. When there was no such thing like phone, people had to walk thousand miles to deliver the news. But thanks to the phone we don’t need to spend our energy. Pick up the phone and press the number is all we have to do. Also contacting with others and delivering the new are the basic sources to maintain the society. So the phone is essential invention to individuals and society.

  12. mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
    May 23, 2016 10:45 pm

    There will be some fabulous invention that looks cool, but I think ‘water supply and sewerage system’ is the amazing inventions. Most of people will probably say it’s nothing important, dirty or gross, but if there wasn’t a clean water supply system or well organized sewerage, the world would be full of germs and stink. According to the book I read, it shows how important hygiene is. Around 1830s, city grew explosively because of industrial revolution. And most of the cities’ streets were covered with wastes and garbage, also the lake was contaminated. There was an epidemic that killed more than a 60,000 people, which was later found out to be ‘Cholera’. In other words, public hygiene was terrible that time and people didn’t even know concept of it. After making the water supply and sewerage system, actually the disease decreased and there was no big epidemic caused by an unclean conditions. First, a doctor name ‘John Snow’ found out the fatal disease were caused by a dirty water, and then a lawyer call ‘Edwin Chadwick’ constructed a hygienic system for people. They are given much of the credit for making a clean world what it is today. If it were not for them, we would still be living in a poor condition, such as easily being exposed to virus. Since I’m a person who thinks bathrooms are important, I thank them for making us living in a clean and convenient world. So, that’s the reasons, why I would choose water supply and sewerage system as a great inventions!

  13. Eve21 permalink
    May 23, 2016 10:57 pm

    I personally think the greatest invention of all thing is makeup products. I know there are so many great scientific, technology-based gadgets, but in my daily life, makeup product is the best! I am not sure that if I can call it as invention, because I know that makeup was done in many countries from thousands of years ago. But, these days, there are so many products and tools that can help us to become ‘more pretty’ and ‘more attractive’ ; probably most people’s interest too. These makeup skills are also applied in many other areas, in decorating so that it can look more attrctive. For example, there are many people who think ‘appearance’ of product, like mobile phones, cars, watch… is the number one priority when they buy them. Therefore, I think that makeup peoducts are the most important and greates invention in our life.

  14. May 23, 2016 11:47 pm

    In my opinion, Internet is the most amazing invention in the world. I can’t live, even imagine my life even a day without the internet service. Because of internet, I can contact with my family and friends through the ‘Kakao talk’, enjoy my rest with the Facebook, and play On-line games. Also, I can get any information comfortably whatever I want to know from the internet, Because of the internet, I can become a more intelligent university student. Especially, there is no border in the internet. I can visit anywhere wherever I want through the internet, over the border. For example, I can visit Marvel company in Usa, the Louvre museum in Paris, watch the premier league soccer game in England in my room, and watch the major league baseball game which is my favorite hobby on the street. So, for that reasons, I think the most amazing invention in the world is the internet.

  15. ghrksk123 permalink
    May 23, 2016 11:55 pm

    I think many things are invented becasue of human laziness. Becasue of my laziness I think an elevator is an amazing invention. The elevator makes skyscryper possible. The skyscryper makes urbanization possible. If there are no high buildings it would be impossible to live in city that much. And I really don’t want to go up stairs with my legs. And also handicap people should need the elevator for their welfare to go calss and take public transportations like metro or airplane. In fact, these are the reason why I thought the elevator is the best invention.

  16. saigonriver permalink
    May 24, 2016 1:27 am

    In point of view of travel-lover, airplane is the most significant invention. In the past, traveling all around the world was super overwheming problem. Because in this big world, there are ymany different places exist and tiny, powerless people cannot across some of those places. So people in the past usually never traveled from their home town or even if they did, they moved by horses or by their own two legs. Which takes forever. After long time passes, airplane was invented. I don’t know how Wright brothers thought about this heavy stuff to fly and people processed this after Wright brothers. Anyway I’m just so thankful that this is invented before I was born. If this was imaginary thing, I would never experienced all of things that I have been through traveling, Anyway, I’m just so grateful!!!

  17. Jukebox permalink
    May 24, 2016 1:28 am

    I would like to talk about a chair. Chairs are eveywhere such as in houses, vehicles, schools, and streets. Nevertheless, people may not realize the importance of the chair, but we cannot live without the chair. Most people usually sit on the chairs for hours at least. People sit on the chair on a bus, eat a meal on the chair, and study or work on the chair. Even at this moment that I am using a computer, I am sitting on the chair. It can reduce people’s tiredness, and they can rest on it. If there are no chairs, people have to stand up everytime, and they would feel tired. The chair is indispensable for entire people. We cannot imagine the world in which there are no chairs. Therefore, I think the chair is one of the greatest inventions.

  18. Yolo permalink
    May 24, 2016 8:38 am

    There are a number of inventions that had led us humans to live until now on, but the most amazing invention that contributed to the survival of human is ‘Penicillin’. Penicillins are the first antiobitics that human had invented to fight against bacteria. Before it was invented, humans were so vulnerable to epidemics or diseases. Sometimes, almost half of the population of human had been affected by a single disease. Penicillin has been helping humans from having a resistance to bacterias. If there were no Penicillin, humans might not have get over from the danger and threat from the disease. Even though it was invented from accident, I think Penicillin is one of the most amazing invention that human have ever invented.

  19. The flaming lips permalink
    May 24, 2016 10:26 am

    I think internet is amazing invention of our time. It was slow and inconvenient first, but as it is developed, it has changed many thigs in our lives
    It changed how the news is distributed. Before, the news is distributed through newspapers. After news is distributed through internet, many people are now able to get the latest news as soon as possible, nearly anywhere
    It also changed how entertainment is distributed. Before tv shows need to be recorded to watch later. Now we don’t need to record tv shows, we can watch it later using smartphone applications on the internet. Before if you love a song and want to listen, you should record radio or buy a cd. Now we can just download on internet like itunes.
    There are other many changes that internet brought us, but news and entertainment is what internet changed the most I think

  20. Jubbit permalink
    May 24, 2016 10:54 am

    I believe plastic is the most amazing invention.
    People use plastic to contain every materials including liquid and even gas too. Also plastic is used to create another thing. Everything you can imagine is made of plastic. It is possible use other resources to replace plastic but without it, convenience will rapidly be reduced and the cost of materials will significantly rise.

  21. 안준용 permalink
    May 24, 2016 11:21 am

    In my opinion, calculator is most valuable invention. We definitely can’t live without number. And now, there are many kinds of calculator. When we go shopping, drinking, or else, we have to check ‘how much to pay'(normal calculator). When we go army, we have to check how much to stay more in there(date calculator). When we get discounted, we have to check how much to pay(discount calculator). When we go on date, we have to check when is anniversary(anniversary calculator). Even ovulation calculator is appear. Though we are not good at math, we live well. Because of calculator. Just click several times, it’s done. We tend to take calculator for granted. It means, calculator is indispensable.

  22. MINA permalink
    June 14, 2016 2:07 am

    There have been numerous great inventions in our history. I think ‘smartphone’ is innovation in the current ear, since 2010. Smartphone is a device that I have not even imagined when I was middle and high school student. In just a few years, however, this became a thing that exerts the most influence on people. Almost all people always look into their smartphones and without these smartphones, it’s very uncomfortable and anxious. This means the smartphone provides a lot of useful works. All of the necessary is kept within a single device. How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

