Skip to content

CRW1 Fashion

May 31, 2016

This week’s homework is as follows:

Choose ONE and write a response.
1. What kind of clothes are you most comfortable in? Describe your favorite outfit.
2. Do you like the idea of fast fashion? Why or why not?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2016 7:01 pm

    In my view, fast fashion is efficient and interesting business, because it represents how the world has changed. These days, most people want to reveal their own individuality and they deny being similar with others. In addition, there are many people who consider that clothes are one of the significant ways to express themselves. Thus, it is natural that people tend to prefer fast fashion, which makes customers feel that they wear something unique. Besides, fast fashion tries to react to latest fashion trends. Therefore, this new fashion trend can widen the variety of choices for customers when they buy clothes. Moreover, the main advantage is that people can purchase clothes in low price, since fast fashion handles the high volume of small orders. Clearly, people could possibly benefit from the contemporary fashion trend.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    May 31, 2016 9:33 pm

    I am so sensitive to environment problems. This is why I hate the idea of fast-fashion. Actually, before I read essay about disadvantages of fast-fashion in this class, I have no idea about the fact that the idea of fast-fashion can cause lots of environment problems. It does not matter, even if lots of workers have got low wages or the problem of child-labor comes up in a developing countries. With respect to environment, however, it is really important issue. Most people tend to think selfish like, “I don’t care, it’s not my business.” or “It is inevitable consequences for our convenience.” But please remember this: without nature, human beings are nothing. I have preferred fast-fashion clothes to the others, but I swear I will never use it again. I hope you guys join me. 🙂

    • Jubbit permalink
      June 1, 2016 3:32 pm

      Oooh, I did not know about fashion influencing the environment. It was helpful to read your opinion. It let me see another side of disagreement to fast fashion. Thank you;)

    • proftodd permalink*
      June 1, 2016 4:26 pm

      Yes, the fast fashion trend has several negative effects on the environment, including: excessive use of water for growing cotton and industrial processing, water pollution from chemicals and dyes, burning fossil fuels to power container ships globally and power plants for energy, lead and other toxic chemicals that leach from the clothing into the environment, microfibers from clothes that enter into the rivers and oceans every time you do the laundry, etc. Fashion has become one of the dirtiest industries.

  3. John Snow permalink
    June 1, 2016 12:29 am

    In my opinion, fast fashion is a good idea. Time goes by, people gradually get interested in fashion industry. So, people tend to be sensitive about trend. Also, these people demand more various and something different clothes. In this way, fast fashion can fulfill thes desires.
    Moreover, there is another advantage about fast fashion. Fashion shops will probably can release more carrying-overs than before. Then, people who don’t have enough money can buy clothes with money of small denominations.
    But some people worrry about envrionment problems results from fast fashion. There would be some left clothes that remain unsold. However, I think cloth donation can be a good solution. If fashion business owners donate their unsold clothes to poor people, we would be succeed in killing two birds with one stone.
    So if we complement this problems, fast fashion can be a refinement industry.

    • proftodd permalink*
      June 1, 2016 4:30 pm

      Unfortunately, Korea currently has a poor used clothing recycling system. Also, there is a social stigma about wearing second-hand clothing, so few people do. However, people may change there opinion in near future if they understand the seriousness of the environmental effects that fast fashion has.

  4. JuYong permalink
    June 1, 2016 12:33 am

    In my case, I agree with fast fashion. In an age of globalization, fashion has been also changed continuously. Nowadays, fashion does not just mean clothes but it is considered as kind of human culture. People express their personality and thought with fashion. Moreover, on an economic level, fast fashion has positive influence on development of country. It creates a lot of jobs for people so that economy could be grown. However, the idea that fast fashion has detrimental effect on environment is reasonable to some extent. People tent to consume excessively clothes. There has to be proper solutions to protect nature. One such example is to develop environment-friendly textile. Another example is to impose a duty on fashion items. If these problems could be solved, fast fashion could possibly be catalyst for economy and device to show personality of people.

    • proftodd permalink*
      June 1, 2016 4:33 pm

      “One such example is to develop environment-friendly textile.”

      Actually, why develop a new environmentally-friendly textile; our ancestors already new that hemp was a great natural source of fiber for clothing. Perhaps, more R&D could be done to find better ways to grow it for industrial purposes.

  5. Jubbit permalink
    June 1, 2016 3:29 pm

    I disagree to fast fashion because I believe even fashion has no need to be fast. Nowadays, everything is fast. The technology is developing fast, the trend is changing fast, and even langauge we use is changing very fast. Many people get confused because of so many changes in short term.
    That is why fashion, which shows individual’s characteristics, has no need to be fast. Fashion is for the person who wears clothes. It is not for its industry growth or the economy. Therefore, promothing fast fashion in order to make the economy activate or the industry grow seems like losing the origin purpose of fashion. I agree on the point that fashion is not only a clothe but it has became culture for human. However, if fashion which has became culture were to be fast, most of people could be possibly confused. They could get lost in too many suppliers. A lot of choices to choose is not always beneficial. Even though it is helpful and effecient, too much always cause problems.

  6. Chicken permalink
    June 1, 2016 3:55 pm

    In my opinion, I think fast fashion is very good things to young people. Fast fashion clothing collections are based on the most recent fashion trends. Also, fast fashion clothing are designed and manufactured quickly and cheaply to allow mainstream consumer. As influenced by mass media, young people will probably want to imitate an ideal of their celebrity. Although their clothing is very expensive, fast fashion retailer should make similar clothing inexpensively. So, young people can buy it and satisfy because they feel sensual by following the present trends. Therefore, following the trends is very important to the young because they will mostly be sensitive about the trends. That is why people should be more supportive of fast fashion.

  7. Amy permalink
    June 1, 2016 4:05 pm

    Now days, there are many fast fashion brand like UNICLO, SPAO. In Korea, fashion trend is changing fast. So I think that fast fashion industry is needed to follow Korean fashion trend. However, fast fashion can cause serious environment problem because of its stocks. Not only fashion industry, the tend of all industries are changing very fast. Fast fashion is kind of trend of modern society. Consumers want new things steadily and industries have to satisfy their consumer. So I think fast fashion is not strange. It is efficient! Moreover, fast fashion is kind of a surviving strategy in the rapidly changing fashion trend. However, there are some problem in fast fashion. One of those is environment problem. If fast fashion fail to predict trend, the stocks have to be thrown away and that causes a lot of trash. But I think that this problem can be solved if they donate their stocks to other poor people who need clothes. This way doesn’t make a lot of trash and can help poor people. That’s why I think fast fashion is efficient way.

  8. daino permalink
    June 1, 2016 7:02 pm

    I agree with the fast fashion idea even though some people argue that fast fashion has some negetive effect on the envionment. In this world, there is almost no industry that don’t affact the environment and only few industries like New Regeneration Energy industry for example, generationg the wind and water power energy are eco-friendly. Many industry like manufacturing and transport business has some negetive effect on the envirionment and even though, our daily lives affact the environment. Therefore, people are finding and developing a new way which is eco-friendly and trying to graft those technique onto industry and our life. But in terms of fashion industry, it’s hard to develop eco-friendly clothes. Even if the eco-friendly clothes are developed, they could possibly expensive than general ones. Also, when we buy slothes, it’s hard to know whether the making process of this clothes have a bad effect on the envionment. That’s shy people buy fast fashion clothes with any hesitating about the environment. Finally, fast fashion usually attract people’s interst because it is reflected in trend, so that fast fashion industry is getting bigger and bigger affecting the market economy.

  9. June 1, 2016 9:41 pm

    My favorite outfit is a training clothes. I am used to wear training clothes since I was a elementary student. When I was young, I was a baseball player. So my parents used to buy sports wear for me, because most of athlete need many spare sports wear. There are many reasons that I like to wear traing clothes. First, Training clothes can absorb my sweat, so It makes me feel more fresh. Also it is well ventilated, so it makes me cool. And the textile of training wear is well stretched. So I can exercise more comfortably, and, even in the ordinary routine, I can move more freely. That’s why I prefer wearing a training clothes.

  10. 안준용 permalink
    June 1, 2016 11:12 pm

    1.What kind of clothes are you most comfortable in? Describe your favorite outfit.

    In my case it is different between comfortable clothes and pursuing clothes. I think clothes are represent the man. Someone who have forceful personality express theirs by wearing colorful clothes or unique item. Someone who are sensitive express themselves by wearing tidy. Therefore it is important to choose what to wear. (actually I am a little delicate) For me, comfortable clothes are fabric jean and loose fit t-shirt or sweat shirt. In addition, sneakers and velcroed shoes are most comfortable shoes. These clothes and shoes are not too poor to show my comfort. Therefore, if there is nothing particular, I usually consider these fashion.
    However, my pursuing clothes are different. When I have date or important presentation, I usually wear slacks and shirts. Especially, I pursue round shirt with 2 or 3 button. And semi – suit is also my pursuing clothes.Semi – suit is the suit which wearing alternative T-shirt instead of shirt. (V-neck, round, or hood). Besides, I really like loafer. It is not too much fashion.

  11. saigonriver permalink
    June 1, 2016 11:47 pm

    For me, the mose comfortable clothes is something old and loose. Just like the mean word “comfortable” has it. Also I’m sure that most of people will same with me. It doesn’t have to be old but for me, old clothes, which was mine for a long has own texture and smell in a good way. That maybe means I’m really used to it and that cause me to feel so comfortable. Loose clothes are my favorites too. Especially when I gain little bit of way, nothing can cover me like loose clothes can. I originally love cozy things, and of course these kind of comfortable clothes are my besties

  12. Eve21 permalink
    June 2, 2016 12:01 am

    First, when I heard the word ‘fast fashion’, I didn’t think it as negatively, because I liked the fact that we can by clothes in affordable cost. However, after reading the article and knowing the business of fast fashion, I cannot fully agree with the idea. The cottons and other resources were wasted more than I thought, and because the trend changes fast too, the waste will get worse. For good quality and long lasting clothes, I think that fast fasion is not the best way of fashion area.

  13. mydogiscuteasteddybear permalink
    June 2, 2016 12:52 am

    I once ran into a person, who was wearing a same top. Suddenly, we both made a tacit promise to walk quickly and move far from each other but I was very embarrassed. Even I like that top, I started to avoid this top in case of bumping into people who has same top as mine. This is the main reason why I don’t like the idea of fast fashion. Next, fast fashion seem to waste money on useless clothes. When I look around the fast fashion shops, I could easily see some clothes that looks like it was made only to full fill the number of designs. So, I think it would be better to use money to make clothes in high quality but in low quantity, which will make scarcity value higher.

  14. Elephant permalink
    June 2, 2016 1:04 am

    For me, the most comfortable wear is the clothes that looks good on me.
    I think ‘comfortable’ doesn’t only means physical way, but also mental way. For example when i wear a clothes that doesn’t looks good on me, i may feel uncomfortable regardless of physical comfort my body and vice versa. So my favorite outfit which looks good on me and makes me comfort physically is the basic T-shirts without any printing on it. I think it makes me really comfortable in a both way. So i wear those kind of T-shirts often. Actually i wore white T-shirts that has nothing on it last time 🙂

  15. rose04 permalink
    June 2, 2016 1:11 am

    1. What kind of clothes are you most comfortable in? Describe your favorite outfit.

    I prefer casual clothes. Personally I think it’s possible to look good in a pair of jeans with sweater or t-shirt because while I am wearing this I feel comfortable and more confident. Even though, when I am wearing casual clothes my way of walking is the way that I like to walk and the way of talking also. so I like to be myself because many times when I am getting dressed up for special occasions first I will spend a lot of time to choose clothes that I am just oblige to wear . Second, I will pass all day not comfortable; moving like robot, even my way of talking is change. That’s why I hate to wear formal clothes or special clothes for some special occasion. So I just like to dress well with simple clothes that can suit me with a sense of style. So I don’t care if I follow the fashion or not the most important thing for me is to have a sense of style and dress with things that make me feel comfortable and beautiful because I believe that the secret behind the beauty is the simplicity.

  16. Polar bear permalink
    June 2, 2016 1:27 am

    I think that fast fashion gives us a lot of benefits rather than negative things. We can find easily fast fashion brands which are UNICLO or H&M or ZARA in the world. Benefits from fast fashion are that they can keep up with trends which change rapidly and customers who don’t have enough money to buy famous brands or designer brands may be able to buy fashion items inexpensively. For example, most students like me want to buy clothes which are low prices and high quality. Therefore, fast fashion is perfect option to people who don’t have enough money to buy expensive clothes.

  17. Jukebox permalink
    June 2, 2016 1:53 am

    I don’t think fast fashion is a good idea. First of all, there is an environmental problem of wasted clothes. A lot of textiles are thrown away, and more pesticides and chemicals are used. Of course, I would like to buy cheaper clothes, but I prefer to pay for quality. Usually, fast fashion clothes are of poor quality compare to brand-name clothes. Although I buy fast fashion clothes, I usually wear them only few times, and throw them away. I want to buy good clothes even though they are a little expensive. I think one good clothes is better than several bad clothes. That’s why I prefer brand-name clothes to fast fashion.

  18. Yolo permalink
    June 2, 2016 8:40 am

    As fashion had become a part of culture and industry, fashion-related corporates have found a strategy called fast fashion which goes same with ‘fast food’. Fast fashion gets a grasp of a current fashion trend and make clothes within 1-2 weeks. This type of strategy benefits both consumers and manufacturers. Consumers who are very trend-sensitive believe they should keep up with trend at all times and fast fashion helps them as clothes have the reflection of the latest trend. Also, it is not priced that expensive, so consumers can afford to buy these types of clothes. To manufacturers, fast fashion causes a greater volumes of sales and almost all types of clothes have its own scarcity because every clothes get changed from store every 1-2 weeks. As time goes by, there might be comsumers looking for old clothes and these clothes can be priced high as there are not many clothes that are released.
    If fast fashion can minimize its affect on environment and satisfy consumers’ tastes, this type of marketing can become a mainstream in fasion industry.

  19. jelly permalink
    June 2, 2016 10:30 am

    1.What kind of clothes are you most comfortable in? Describe your favorite outfit

    I know that some people might not understand but I am most comfortable in long pants. The reason why I am emphasizing on long pants is that I wear that all year even in summer. So every summer, I get questions like “Don’t you feel hot?” Well my answer is that I don’t care about it. There are two reasons why I prefer long pants.
    First, it feels like long pants is protecting my leg. It covers my leg from ankle to waist. Because of this I can protect my leg from sunburn in summer. And for me, people might think weird but I don’t like showing skins to others. So long pant is perfect out fit for me.
    Second, long pants matches with almost every kind of clothes. When I wear long pants, it is easy to choose what to wear on the top. Every time I have to spend quite a long time to choose my daily out fit. But when I wear long pant, it make me to decide easily and savr the time.
    As a result, my favorite outfit will be complete with long pants.

  20. Daniel permalink
    June 2, 2016 11:21 am

    In my opinion, fast fashion is a good idea. The reason is that we can buy a clothes cheap and moderate quality in anywhere. I think the clothes of a designer brand are unreasonable price. Therefore, To consume a fast fashion is depends on personal preference and situation. for example, the growing youth and travelers can buy clothes easy. Also, It is able to reflect the changing trends fast. so it give a satisfaction to fashion-conscious consumer. Some people blame that fast fashion is causing environmental problems. But I think this can be solved by donating clothes to the developing countries.

  21. The flaming lips permalink
    June 2, 2016 7:21 pm

    My favorite outfit is adidas tracksuit. Some people say it’s not a proper outfit, but it has many advantages wearing tracksuit. First, comfortable. Everybody understand that tracksuit is very comfortable. since it’s sportswear, it absorbs sweat very well. It is stretchy so it gives wearer good ability to move their body. Second, it is not very noticable and looks natural. In casual place you don’t have to worry about your outfit since it’s looks ordinary
    There are also some disadvantages, if you start to wear tracksuit, it’s hard not to wear it and wear other clothes because of comfortableness, which is not very good since tracksuits are not as good looking as other proper outfit. Also, you can get quiet lazy because it makes people want to be comfortable.

  22. ghrksk123 permalink
    June 8, 2016 3:12 pm

    I don’t like fast fashion. Because I have to worry about what to wear every seasons. Fast fashion is simmiler with fast food when it comes to destroy an environment. It should be bad becuase when clothes are made, they will nessesarlly need the CO2 and methane gases. These will possiblly cover the surface of the earth and lead to greenhouse effect. In addition, the fast fashion will surely deprive the chance of retailers and self-employees to sell a clothings. The system of fast fashion causes a large group to be succeed which is a frontier of fashion trends like ZARA, SPAO or etc. The more the large goup became a preceder, the less filed would be opened for the small sellers. In fact environmentally and economically I disagree with fast fashion.

  23. MINA permalink
    June 13, 2016 6:26 pm

    I’m most comfortable in sports wear and one-piece. As you know, training clothes are very flexible so it’s easy to move arms and legs…On the other hand, one-piece is also comfortable to me because I don’t have to worry about what to wear in the morning and one-piece dress is not tight like skinny jeans. Moreover,,I think one-piece is pretty clothes, among many kind of clothes. Maybe, I wear training clothes or one-piece more than three times a week, especially in the summer. In summer, I want to buy ‘ThursdayIsland’ (brand’s) one-pieces and already have some. The design of this brand seems very free and peaceful. There are lots of flowers on almost all design of dresses, and really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

